We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Food, Poor Entertainment”

Restaurante Skansen
Ranked #116 of 381 Restaurants in Playa del Ingles
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Average Food, Poor Entertainment”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Went for breakfast which was ok nice service peaceful location to watch from the balcony. Avoid the coffee not that good. Although coffee, tea and juice (concentrated) we all free to refill as many times as you want. Also had dinner on a different night what a contrast extremely loud entertainment, annoying overbearing staff on in particular who got the message to leave us alone eventually. The ABBA tribute act consisted of two female who drag two male dinners up on stage to make four, making them wear wigs and strum on guitars - poor entertainment. Had the T-bone steak very large but lacking in taste. All in all very disappointing there is better places to eat your evening meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RSandry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    109
    80
    35
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“very enjoyable meals”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We went here a couple of times during our stay, the food was very good and reasonably priced. You get a complimentary sangria to start your meal experience. The staff are very friendly and helpful in explaining the menu. The food service was good and we didn't have to wait too long between courses. They have a cabaret on at 9.15pm every night prior to this they have a singer/keyboard player on who is pleasant. Free wifi. A very enjoyable meal and evening out .

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annecoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place to eat with very friendly staff and good atmosphere.”
Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We ate here twice and as they seat you they bring you a complementary flute of Sangria. The first night was a Thursday which was rib night, all you can eat for 6 euros. The meat fell of the bone, when we finished they brought more, that was more than enough. Each plate had four very large ribs, with BBQ sauce in a side dish. Excellent value for money, the bill with two soft drinks came to less than 20 euros.
The second time we tried something from the usual menu, Mexican kebab which you can have with chips but choose Canarian potatoes with mojo sauce. The Whiskey chicken breast was also good, it also came with a choice plus rice.
At the end of each meal we were served a good shot of Canarian rum, which usually comes at most good eating places with your bill.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TailsTonbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service, great food what more do you want?:)”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We only tried this place n the last day of our stay. I only wish we had found it sooner! The staff where very polite and cheerful unlike some of the sour faced people we had encountered at the yumbo. We ordered the mix grill for 2 for 30 euros i thought at 1st it was a bit pricey but on the foods arrival there was enough to feed an army, it was huge! beautifully prepared and excelent value for money, give this place a try you should not be dissapointed thums up!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Better Elsewhere”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Four of us ate here and although the food was okay, the "entertainment" of so-called Brazilian dancing was so extraordinarily loud we had absolutely no opportunity to have any conversation during our meal at all as absolutely everything was utterly drowned out by the painfully loud music.

Not an enjoyable experience and personally I couldn't wait to get out of there.

The food was... Average. My partner and I shared a chicken paella. It was just "okay". They had not used good quality chicken and it was mostly bone I'm afraid.

There are plenty of eateries within the Yumbo, sadly most of them offer very poor quality food with little variety.

This restaurant is just another one of those.

Staff were nice though.

Personally I would recommend the Restaurant OK, just outside the Yumbo....excellent quality and service for the same price as you get in the Yumbo.



  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Skansen also viewed

Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
 
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
 

Been to Restaurante Skansen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing