We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Bay

Sunset Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Singaporean, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Its right on the beach front at the end of the Atlantic beach club promenade.
Nieuwegein
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Good food, large portions and nice service! Great location, on the beach and a great and pleasant view. Recommendation for a nice stay!

Helpful?
2 Thank Robbertvanos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    36
    12
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not as good as anticipated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I came here on our last night looking for a good meal with nice drinks and views. The staff are very nice I will give them that and I feel slightly bad not giving them a higher rating but my food was just simply a bit disapointing.

I ordered a Mojito which was really good and one of the best in the area and for a starter the Chicken Spring Roll. This came out pretty quickly and we were provided with accompanying sauces such as sweet chilli and soy sauce. The presentation of the starter was excellent and it tasted really good. I then had the Sweet and Sour chicken which was not to my taste at all. The sauce was stodgy, thick and didnt have that tangy sweet and sour taste to it in fact it didn't have much flavour at all. My partner ordered the garlic prawns and said they weren't bad but not great.

Overall I can imagine this would be fine for a lunch by the beach but for a dinner I wouldn't recomend it as it was just not up to stratch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tabitha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent Singapore food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Really enjoyed a long lunch here with the Singapore style food a real treat. Friendly staff and good value for money. Seating very comfortable and good views. A little difficult to find but well worth hunting it down. Would definitely go again. Thanks

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Kebabstar27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sunset Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

Nice restaurant & bar located above the first aid station near the beach. Staff friendly good service and a good selection of small snacks and meals. There is a Singapore element to the menu and i was able to get there crispy tofu served with their homemade spice hot sauce. Great favours.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Anthony2uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“First-Class in Every Respect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

During our weeks' stay in Playa del Ingles we, by accident, came across the Sunset Bay restaurant and initially stopped for a drink. Having sat and had our drinks we decided to stay for lunch. Suffice to say we paid a further visit to it later in the week, again for an extended lunch! On both occasions we were very impressed....the range of food, the service, the furniture ( the seats and general layout are so comfortable ), the location sitting above the Atlantic, the attitude of staff, the toilets so clean and well kept, and the prices were really good. The Singapore influence gives it an added value. Super!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank J.D.Newcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Bay also viewed

Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Gran Canaria
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
 

Been to Sunset Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing