We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty steaks and tasty side dishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of el poncho

el poncho
Ranked #111 of 376 Restaurants in Playa del Ingles
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: see: http://www.qype.co.uk/place/368125-El-Poncho-Steakhouse-San-Bartolome-de-Tirajana
Farsund, Norway
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tasty steaks and tasty side dishes”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

4 person ordering 3 different dishes. Roquefort steak, kebab and filet mignon. I had the first one it it was fantastic. Tender and tasty. My two kids had the filet mignon and ate like I have never seen before. My mother had the kebab (meat on a skewer) and she was happy with her dish.
Price on the high side, but food and service was really good. If you are fond of roundabouts and bus stops you will probably love the view :-)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Josvald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    71
    29
    13
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good.”
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We just wanted a good dinner with nice service and this place delivered just that. Both the meat and the fish were nicely prepared, and the service friendly. Nice environment with proper setting. A good experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank Nilmak O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Worst Meal Ever !”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I cannot comprehend how this restaurant has slipped so badly. We have been coming here 2 or 3 times a year since 2003 and have never had a bad meal, sometimes they got the order wrong and bought more wine while they recooked the meal with the correct order and the meal we had on the first night of our holiday was good... HOWEVER the second time we came in and ordered the same meal we have always ordered everytime (other than the visit 4 days earlier where we tried something different), no we are not simpletons ordering the same dishes everytime, it was simply because they were the best versions of these dishes we had eaten (and we eat in burger joints and michelin starred restaurants). The second visit was catastrophic, sloppy service being ushered down to the lower part of the restaurant when there was plenty of tables up front. Then the food arrived, my Rib of Beef was the most flavourless piece of meat ever.. it tasted of plastic like it had been cooked in a wrapper and the wrapper then peeled off, except it hadnt been cooked- I ordered it medium rare and it was not rare it was raw- blue I can cope with but raw is inedible. To add to this it was full of sinew and the waiter saw me trying to chew and then having to spit it out clearly upset that a special meal was being ruined. It had no flavour at all. When the waiter came to clear the plates he made no mention of the car crash on my plate or ask me whether the meal was ok and for that reason he made history as the first waiter I havent tipped. We paid and left.... dreadful and I fully agree with the review earlier on. As a contrast stand outside El Poncho and look over the road at the Italian, with the guy outside trying desperately to get you in, but you resist because it looks like a tourist trap- BUT GO, it was some of the best pasta I have ever eaten and they clearly know how to cook.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Westernparkboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Good food and service and nice surroundings. Located a little bit outside San Agustin in Anfi. We willrecommend this restaurant

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan-Erik J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

The meat was delicious! We were two adults and one child (10 y.o.) and the staff was very nice and attentive.

Good prices considering the quality of the restaurant and the food. I would definitely go there again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mirella H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed el poncho also viewed

Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
 
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 

Been to el poncho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing