We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, friendly and amazing value for money”
Review of Walkirias Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Walkirias Resort
Ranked #74 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Reviewed April 19, 2010

We stayed here for a week in April and I must say I would defiantly stay here again. The rooms were basic but more than adequate. The location is great, just behind the Yumbo centre and only a short stroll to the beach in the morning, and just over 2 Euro in a cab if you don't fancy walking back to the hotel. All the staff were very friendly and helpful and really did not care what nationality you are! as mentioned in other reviews. There is also a nice pool area if you fancy a change from the beach. These apartments are not the height of luxury, but have everything you need and and fantastic vale for money.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philipbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

141 - 147 of 266 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2008

I returned from Gran Canaria last week. I am just listing what I found:
The flight outbound and inbound was My Travel a subsidiary of Thomas Cook. The space between the rows of seats was cramped. The inflight entertainment system did not work on the out bound flightTCX714K 8th March and some sections of the cabin could not recieve sound on the returwn flight TCX714L 22nd March
The Walkirias are undergoing some refurbishments which do carry on until about 10pm. The appartments have new curtains, bedspreads and kitchen units with sink and draining board. The mattresses are uncomfortable with the springs leaving indents on your flesh. The pillows were very flat and only one per bed. The third bed/settee had on a thread bare and torn cover.
The sheets and towells were changed but they were torn and of a grey colour.
The pool looks good and the surrounds are cleaned regularly. As is the case on the continent sun loungers are 'knabbed' early in the morning. There is a stereo CD player available for the guests to select their own music and this can be loud. Whilst I was there, the Scandinavians and the Germans had a battle over which music should be played and, loud enough to drown out the opposition conversation!!
Some late afternoons a couple of local lads and a fews time four would descend on the pool area and being active/healthy teenagers their actions were a little intimidating for any young girls and some older folks.
All the appartments face south and get a good show of the sun all day.
The staff were friendly and polite
The ground floor of the complex is occupied by bars, restaurants and cafes and there is a constant smell of cooking and some noise.
It is very conveniently situated.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank velsatis1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2007

Stayed in the most uncomfortable bed ever in history with a pillow as deep as a wafer in this accommodation. We spent most nights working out what we could use to increase our comfort using beach towels, blankets, cushions etc, then waking up with backache the next day!

The noise is particularly bad at night with the balcony side of the apartment facing the Yumbo centre which has nightclub music banging on til the early hours and the other side backs on to a main road where the traffic never ceased (this is the same for all rooms). Therefore, it was not possible to leave windows open at night. During the day however, it was peaceful and very pleasant.

The apartments are basic with only the minimum of self catering requirements, no electrical items such as toaster or kettle which made breakfast imaginative but not impossible.

The hotel rating on most websites says 3 stars but really it is closer to 2. The exterior of the hotel looks well maintained but the apartment itself , whilst clean, was a little tired around the edges. On the plus side, the pool is excellent - the crazy golf has seen better days though!

The location of the hotel is the best offering with everything close by including a minimarket, the Yumbo shopping centre and being central in the resort means everything is accessible. At the south end of the Yumbo centre there are regular buses where you can get more or less everywhere, Puerto Rico and Puerto Mogan are a must-see.

The hotel is south-facing which means you get all-day long sunshine on your balcony and around the pool area which was truly wonderful compared to the UK weather in November!

Overall, we were looking for some sun and a place to stay offering good value for money and we were not disappointed. This is not somewhere to stay if you expect any form of entertainment or if you suffer from insomnia !

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nikki1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2007

Booking a ast minute holiday our expectations of our apartments were hopeful.

On arrival, Viktor the most pleasant man we met at Walkarias Apts greeted us. Unfortunately they had no record of our booking, however he kindly provided us with a room until this was sorted.
The rooms were very basis and the bathroom had not been cleaned properly, allot of dust, grim and dirt in and around the shower area. Over all the partment was average and house keeping was done regularly.
The down side was that compex was 99% full of large Spanish family's, the pool side manners were terrible, with spitting in and around the pool, cigarrets ends lying around and all the kids taking up all the beds, depsite being in the pool all day, the best were being kept for the adults who appeared late afternoon.
Despite various brochures advertsiging a pool bar, this was closed our whole stay (2weeks) and any drinks, snacks had to be bought at the local super market, however this proved a cheaper option.

The noise through the day and early eveing was a reminder of what it was like staying at an 18-30's complex 10 years ago, except it was kids screaming and running riot, mothers happy to ignore them.

Staff rarley spoke to British residents with the exception of the lovely Viktor who we chatted with every might (he works the nigth shift)
Depsite being directly behind the yumbo centre, there was little noise, once the patio doors are closed no noise can be heard. The balcony's had wonderful sea views, however the volume of Spnaish peering round in your balcany and apratment wasn't ideal.

Playa del ingles was extremely quiet and not as popuar compared to 5-10 years ago, where have all the British gone? Lots of Germans, Dutch, Swedish and even more spanish. During our stay there was on 1 other British couple and 1 Family, the rest was made up of 1 German couple - everyone else -Spanish.

If you are looking for chep and basic, go here, if not - pay extra and go somwhere better located with less noise - making sur eit's not a popular destination of r the Snaish and there large family's.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cutescottish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2007

We were met by the lovely Victor on our arrival at the Walkirias at 4am. We were qucikly shown to our room and offered advice on where everything was.

The room was clean and had everything you need, asides from a kettle and hairdryer....

Perfectly located next to the Yumbo centre. Though we did not get in until 5 most mornings i would definately not say it was too loud in the evening if you wanted to get an early night. .

24hr porn was hysterical but do watch out for it if you have kids...

Pool was pretty large and did not seem to be filled with as much eye stinging chlorine as other pools in the area...

All the staff were charming and helpful. The clientel were mainly 20-40 years and gay. This may not be the case as much when pride is not on.

Only problem with this hotel was that they did not seem to supply fresh towells on a regular basis so be prepared to chase up the maid for new one...

Overall the hotel was great and we would definitely go back and in fact probably will next May for Pride...

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank token65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2007

i went to stay here with a mate of mine in aug last yr. the hotel is in a great location but can be abit noisy if your on the yumbo facing side, but the up side of that is if your on the upper floors you do get a wonderful sea view room at no extra cost. as said in another review it is locally run and service can be abit on the slow side if you encounter a problem. a few things do let this hotel down 1st off having to rent basic things like a kettle and an iron and pay tv, i asked for a kettle and iron on the day we arrived for our weeks stay and found out you dont hire them from the hotel but from another company (silly) was told they would arrive the next day finally turned up on the thurs no good if most of your holiday is over though a saucepan boiled very quickly we found. another gripe was that it seems the locals tend to bring the kids after school to use the pool so was overrun with em come 3pm and no sunbeds and very noisy. but saying that the hotel was very clean, the staff friendly, good central location the maid even made a swan out of my beach towel and left it on the table one morning. there are plenty of shops and places to eat on hand and the beach is a short taxi ride or 20 mins walk away. the shopping centers on the whole sell inflated tourist price tat and shop owners can be over eager to say the least haggle then haggle again is the best policy.for bargains try the markets and there are a few. or if its a shopping center you want try atlantico halfway between the airport and playa its a medium sized center and the locals shop there. i have have had many a good bargain from there but remember its not aimed at tourists its just like a center you would find at home with spanish high street names as well as your designer lables but without the tourist prices. but would suggest you get a bus there and back as a cab will set you back about £20 one way. on the whole i liked this hotel and enjoyed my stay there so much so we are planning to stay here again in aug this yr, so we might just see you there.

Stayed: January 2007
4  Thank markdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2006

We stayed at Las Walkirias back in September 2006 for 2 weeks (14 nights). Booked through Travel Republic, we arrived late in the evening expecting service to minimal, however immediately on arrival we were welcomed and made to feel very comfortable.

A party or 3 we opted to book two double rooms. Both were of very high standard for Playa Del Ingles. With more than ample storage facilities for clothes and property, along with the normal room safe. No strangers to the area we all knew what to expect and to be 100% honest we were very pleasantly surprised! Both rooms were cleaned to a high standard at least 5 times a week.

With regards to location, the hotel is situated directly behind the Yumbo Centre, for us this was perfect however I can understand that for families this would be less than ideal. Music continues well into the early hours but it appears that from 02:00hrs the nightclubs turn down the volume slightly.

The facilities within the complex are basic but adequate, the pool is of a decent size with plenty of sun beds available.

There is an "advertised" mini market, do not be fooled by this, the shelves were bare during our stay, and it is literally an opportunity to purchase water and not much else. However, you should not be put off by this as there is an abundance of small supermarkets within a 5 minute walking distance.

The hotel appears to be locally run, which unfortunately means that the staff are all local too and English is limited amongst employees, however with some patience they eventually understand your requirements. Some basic Spanish is an advantage.

I would definitely stay at Las Walkirias again, and my only real advice to new travellers is write down the address. Many local taxi drivers did not understand where the hotel was. It is not very well advertised from the main road (Avda. Alfeceres Provisionales).

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank AlanStuartM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.2 mi away
MUR Aparthotel Buenos Aires
MUR Aparthotel Buenos Aires
#12 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
880 reviews
0.1 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#9 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,753 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tagoror Beach Apartments
Tagoror Beach Apartments
#72 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Apartamentos Amazonas
Apartamentos Amazonas
#61 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
183 reviews
0.4 mi away
Santa Fe Bungalows
Santa Fe Bungalows
#57 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
88 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tamaran Apartments
Tamaran Apartments
#81 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Walkirias Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walkirias Resort

Address: Avda. Alfeceres Provisionales 33, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $46 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Walkirias Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort in Playa del Ingles newly renovated. Something completely different in the heart of Gran Canaria! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Walkirias Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walkirias Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Walkirias Resort Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing