We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MONTEMAR. THE RETURN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Apartamentos Montemar
Ranked #97 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“MONTEMAR. THE RETURN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

As promised Chris and Chris returned yet again to the Montemar for Christmas and New Year 2013/14.Once again the service was 100%.Many thanks to Diego/Miguel on reception and to Pedro and Yanelda (crazy in a good way) and to Maria and Mary the cleaners and to all the staff.We have visited the montemar so many times we are almost family.We were in room 40 as requested and as usual our balcony was colourful and festive.Yanelda and Pedro allowed us to decorate the pool bar and between Christmas and New Year,Diego allowed us to have a party on the Saturday night.Although the weather tried to spoil it along with a few Whinger/Moaners,it went ahead and everyone there including couples from Iceland and Denmark and Norway and our Canarian family had a great night.Thankyou all.The montemar is not 5 stars and does not pretend to be and if you respect the staff they will help in any way.We were so upset to leave once we got home we thought Sod it and booked a surprise visit in February 2014.Like the Terminator says. WE'LL BE BACK.Once again,Thankyou to all at the Montemar. SEE YOU IN APRIL. xxxxxx CHRIS and. CHRIS.

Room Tip: Room 42 is very good or any on top level
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    52
    25
    11
    17
See reviews for
34
46
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I visited these apartments from the 7-14 December 2013.
Its in a fairly central location about a 3 minute flat stroll from the Kasbah centre with its shops, restaurants and bars / clubs.
There is a Santander cash machine about 1 minutes walk away.
The promenade is a minutes walk away but the annoying African women are on the corner and do hassle you a fair bit.
The apartment was a 2 bedroomed twin room with a living area, kitchenette, bathroom and large balcony.
I was on the second floor and you could see the sea from it which was lovely.
The place was clean but it did smell of drains in the bathroom. I just bought a bottle of bleach and gave it a clean down the plugholes and waste.
The cleaner was there every day - she was early ... too early for me.
There was a lot of noise when the cleaners were on duty - it felt like they were trying to wake the building up.
The street outside was narrow and you would expect it to be quiet but it was the opposite with lots of buses and speeding cars. The bin men came about 5AM and were VERY noisy.
The kitchen area had one socket which was high on the wall and that is where the kettle was plugged into - that was dangerous.
There was a coffee machine, 4 ring glass hob, fridge and associated pots, cutlery, crockery and glasses- all of them were clean.
The living area had a couch, 2 chairs and a 19 inch LCD TV.
The balcony had a table and four chairs.
The pool area is lovely as is the kids play area and cacti garden.
There is a washing machine on the ground floor and 24 hour reception.
The onsite shop was well priced for your basics.
Would I stay there again ? Yes - if the road was quieter and if the cleaners made a bit less noise.

Room Tip: Probably the higher floors would be better for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael_Harkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

This hotel is ideally situated for the beach, pubs and restaurants. Our room was a 2 bedroom S/C apartment situated on the top floor in the 1st block. Although on the large size this room was very "dated" and could do with a splash of colour to brighten it up. It had a very big balcony which caught the sun first thing until late on. This hotel is situated on the main one way route through PLD and what with it leading to the bus station we had constant noise from dusk till dawn of heavy noisy traffic. My opinion was maybe with the room being high the noise was amplified. Not GOOD.! The maid service wasnt that good either, it was a good thing we had 4 beds to choose from because in 10 days we only had 1 linen change. A good point for this place was the pool bar. The staff running this bar were quality and any requests either for drinks, food or music was carried out enthusiastically. Would I book this place again. NO! Get your rooms sorted. Ah! and it would be good to get a few English channels for your English visitors for those lazy days/nights in.

Room Tip: Our high floor room was very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geepSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed for two weeks from 11th November. We had a two bed apartment for four of us. The bedrooms were a good size as was the lounge. The kitchen could have done with a microwave though I understand you can hire one. The cleaners were in 5 days out of seven and were very thorough. Maintenance was excellent. The water heater failed and we had a brand new one fitted within one and a half hours. The pool was cleaned every night. There is a childs pool. There were plenty of sunbeds. There is a shop on the complex though it is a little expensive. However there is a supermarket only a couple of minutes away. There is a café/bar on site and a car park under the apartments.
The complex is close to the beach and several good restaurants and within 10 minutes walk of three shopping centres with more restaurants. It is about 15/20 minutes from the Yumbo centre.
There is a main road in front of the complex which can be a little noisy but not throughout the night.
We have been to Gran Canaria several times but this was our first visit to the Montemar and it was a good choice. We have all decided we will return.

Room Tip: All rooms face the same direction. Some have a slightly better view of the sea between the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baz6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We have had maybe 10 holidays at the montemar.We enjoy every stay.Diego and Miguel,the managers are both pleasant and helpful.We are now considered part of their family and they part of ours.If booking direct you get a good deal.Rooms are clean.pools great and the pool bar is cool.If people made more of an effort to communicate with fellow guests and made use of the pool bar and made suggestions re what's on offer things can change.Every member of staff at the montemar is friendly and all you have to do is ask rather than complain and you will find your needs will be met.Myself and Chris are back there for 2 weeks over Christmas and new year andyou know what.staying at the montemar is what we are looking forward to most.Not father christmas.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christopher822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Excellent stay much better than I thought! Less than 1 minute to the playa del ingles beach, I was abit scared as I noticed it was a 2 star and staying with 2 infants and 1 child I was very nervous, to our amazement apartments where so nice and comfy we had a 1 bedroom for the 5 of us as we had taken the last room available on that date the living room had a sofabed so my eldest son slept there while we had 2 cots provided by reception for both our infants, everyday we had clean bed sheets and clean towels changed by the cleaners, apparently they clean 3 times a week except thurs and sundays but I think we had our apt cleaned about 4 times whilst our stay there. The staff where the best of all so friendly and always wanting to help everyone, they made us feel at home, the swimming pool was clean and there were enough sunbeds for everyone, they have a washing machine and dryer in case you want to wash your clothes although I never used it, they have a small shop where you can find just about everything from spring onions to swimwear etc. They also provide free car parking inside the resort for ppl who have rented cars. All shops and restaurants very near. Only downfall was that I paid 24EUR for a whole weeks worth of Wi-Fi but unfortunately only works on 1 device so whilst my hubby was on the internet I couldn't go on my ipad cause of this unless I paid another 24eur, apart from this 5**** I would definitely recommend this place to anyone and will definitely be staying there next time we go.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tatianal426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

It was a group of 5 people. We got 2 apartments so I will review both. One was a one bedroom apartment and one was a two bedroom. When we arrived, we were put into 2 different blocks so we asked to change but they told us to come back the next day when someone else checks out. The first block has better sea views especially on the higher floors. The apartment was spacious and has enough cutleries and utensils but it's not of the best quality. We moved to the second block and it was the same but the view wasn't as good. The two bedroom apartment was the same as one bedroom but it just had an extra room. It was close to the beach. Yes, there are steps leading down to the beach. The beach gets better if you walk a bit furthur down. We were also located less than 5 mins away from the nightlife but a bit furthur away from Yumbo. There was always a member of staff on site, even at night.

We never had any problems, just a bit of a language barrier but they would try to help you once they understood what you wanted. We were only at pool on the last day. There's always a sun bed for everyone. The main pool is small and wasn't even that deep which is ideal for relaxing. The shop on site is more expensive. Go to the broncemar which is left and across the road. There was also a guy who sold us a booze cruise on site which was cheaper than other places but always try to haggle the prices down. It was good fun. Also don't buy any bar crawls because everywhere is basically free entry as long as you buy a drink and normally you buy one and get 2 or 3 free with it.

Overall, it was good holiday with friendly staff. We didn't pay that much and we went with an open mind so it was a good holiday. We just needed somewhere to sleep and cook and it was ideal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MockingjayLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Las Faluas
Apartamentos Las Faluas
#77 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Las Gondolas Apartments
Las Gondolas Apartments
#31 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roca Verde Apartments
Roca Verde Apartments
#130 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Guinea Apartments
Guinea Apartments
#56 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.8 mi away
Walkirias Resort
Walkirias Resort
#49 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.3 mi away
HV Agaete Parque
HV Agaete Parque
#127 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Montemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Montemar

Property: Apartamentos Montemar
Address: San Cristobal de la Laguna, 3, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Apartamentos Montemar 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montemar Apartments are 5 minutes away from Playa del Inglés, in Gran Canaria. Facilities in the common areas include adults and child pool, solarium, tennis court, table tennis, minimarket and pool bar. The apartments are basic but comfortable, including an equipped kitchen and spacious living area. All the apartments have a great balcony with sea or pool view. Public transport to all destinations can be found witihin 100 meters from the apartments, and the sea promenade is only 20 meters away. Commercial and leisure centers are in a 5 minutes walk distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apartamentos Montemar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montemar Apartments Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Apartamentos Montemar Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing