We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful palm trees in Maspalomas”
Review of San Nicolas

San Nicolas
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
San Nicolas
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This accomodation is run by a very friendly German lady and offers 14 wonderful appartments. It is situated inside a wonderful green oasis, close to the promenade and points of interest (shops, clubs, restaurants) and yet it is very quiet and relaxing in the night.

At the reception you can find a map of the island as well as books in several languages, left by previous guests. The personell is very kind and friendly and are ready to give you tips on where to go. Most of the people in Gran Canaria speak German and/or English so don't be afraid to ask! Depending on the type of holiday you want, I suggest renting a car and driving around because the island is beautiful.

The building is small but the appartments are very spacious and clean, the ones facing the sea and pool also have big balconies - with a sunbed and a big table and chairs to have breakfast while watching the sunrise.

Guests also have access to a rooftop terrace equipped with sunbeds and a small shower.
The pool is cleaned every morning. Since there are only a few appartments the pool was not used by many guests (who preffered the sea pehaps). We stayed for a week and preferred the pool and there were rarely more than 5 people there at the same time (including us!).

The best part of the appartment is its garden. The whole building and pool are surrounded by several palm trees and green plants. What I liked most were the big, colourful bushes of bougainvillea. Thanks to the plants there is enough shade on the balconies as well so it was never too hot inside and air conditioning was not necessary - in mid-July! Moreover, you can also go access the promenade through the garden so you don't have to go around the block.

It was a truly wonderful accomodation and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Take a sea-view room and have breakfast there in the morning. You won't regret it! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bea-on-the-road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 17 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

​Positives:
Nice flowers in the hotel. Nice view from promenade.

Negatives:
Location of hotel is at promenade but when you want to go to beach you have to climb around 100 steps up and down few times a day so not very nice if you have kids or problems with walking.
No restaurants nearby and no food option at hotel.
Cleaning 6 days a week but towels and bedsheets changed only 3 times a week and they do not wipe the floor so there was always lot of sand in the room and it was impossible to walk barefoot in the room because of dirt. We had black feet from all the dirt on the floor.
We got “bran new refurbished” room at arrival but there were hanging powersockets not holding in the wall with live wires and we have a toddler and a baby so very dangerous as they could touch it.
Bedrooms had only very tiny windows with size 20cmx40cm so no daylight and we felt like in caves and we were unable to get fresh air during night so we had 27C in the rooms and babies could not sleep all night as there is no AC in this hotel.
​There has been just way too many cats near and in the hotel. During the night we could not sleep as cats were “fighting” near our apartment. Once one cat scratch our son on the hand.​
Found several cockroaches in the rooms almost every day.
We had noisy german couple above us which had a visit twice from different hotel and they were drinking until23:00 so we could hear every word in bedrooms and then they had to move all furniture after they finished so babies were up again. When we invited our friends to check our hotel during the day to swim in pool some people complained so that was last time they visited.
Overall if you go by any chance to this hotel you HAVE to complain or otherwise you will get complaints, we never complained and I think that was our biggest mistake.
Last 2 nights our baby boy got stomach bug and he was sick all night throwing up around 15 times per night and we suspect water in the pool as there was always lot of flowers in the pool on the surface all day long.
​N ext day after the night when he started to be sick we got NO clean bedsheets at all.​
​​Once my wife and baby boy went to the roof where you can see sunset and sundown and they found there old german couple without any clothes sunbathing.
Reception is open only few hours per week so if you want to complain you have to get back there from the beach.

Room Tip: avoid any room in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kralcak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Perfect location, steps away from the beach, very close to shops, restaurants, not too far from the airport, and well connected. The views are spectacular! The staff was very friendly, multilingual and helpful, gave tips on where to go, how to get there, and the staff went out of their way to ensure I had a great stay. As a single traveler, I always felt safe staying here. There is a beautiful sun terrace with a wonderful view of the island where you can sunbathe and relax while you enjoy the great weather. It is a great option if you don’t feel like walking down to the beach or lying by the pool. The apartments are very clean, comfortable, and quiet. You have a great size apartment with all the amenities you will ever need (including FREE internet), and then some… much more than you will ever get from staying in a hotel for the price.
This was the second time I visited the Canary Islands and have enjoyed staying in these apartments each time. The first time I stayed for a month, the second time for two weeks... and each time it has been hard to leave such a great place. Will definitely enjoy returning and staying in these family owned apartments in the future!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aiaki_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cphez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: En la parte superior del complejo hay un solarium el cual no te informan de su existencia
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jorge D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pereac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos Las Orquideas
Apartamentos Las Orquideas
#62 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#6 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,292 reviews
0.3 mi away
Las Gondolas Apartments
Las Gondolas Apartments
#32 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Parque Tropical
Hotel Parque Tropical
#3 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,458 reviews
0.7 mi away
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
#4 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Nicolas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Nicolas

Address: Avenida de Madrid 35, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $66 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — San Nicolas 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your San Nicolas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Nicolas Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing