We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6th time at this hotel”
Review of IFA Catarina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
IFA Catarina Hotel
Ranked #28 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Due to now being terminal cancer this time we stayed for just one week to see how I coped it was the best time ever, Oscar on the desk was very helpful and spoke to myself personally about my problem

I was determined to join in everything and the animation team were just the best ever don't lose them, food was a high standard again and we just had the break we needed

Sadly while I was there I found a lump that was the cancer growing we hope to come back in November but will have to see how things go

I would like my ashes scattering on the island in the pool when the time comes is this possible ?
Anyway thanks for a great time

O my one complaint turn the music up by the pool nothing worse than trying to listen to a song you can hardly hear there are many quiet places for those that don't want to listen

Clive & Kelvin

Room Tip: Well we liked to be over the pool but there are quiet areas if that's what you like
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear guests,
Many thanks for your review and many thanks for your kind words. We are very concerned about your health situation and we have send you a private message.
We hope all the best and remain,
with best regards,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,893)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

524 - 530 of 1,893 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

After a 10 day holiday at this hotel, it is top of my list for a return visit. Some areas of the hotel are a bit tired, as others have noticed, but overall, it is very well maintained, and very clean. The garden areas cannot be criticised.

Beds have been described as hard, and I would agree, but after a couple of nights, we did not notice, and were sleeping well.

My companion is not keen on stews and casseroles - so hotel buffet meals are often not up to her standards, I choose the Caterina as there were restaurants within easy distance - but we never used them. At each meal there was a huge choice, so we were always happy. Not 4 star a la carte, but the best buffet I have had in a holiday hotel. On my companions birthday, we got back from a day trip to find a chilled bottle of Cava in our room. Big :-) to management - it was appreciated.

Initially, we were given a room with a double bed, on the "road view" side of the hotel. We asked for a change to twin beds - no problem, we immediately got a swap, directly above the pool bar. Sometimes a bit noisy, but not enough to be a problem.

The sun beds round the pool are very close together, but if you want more space, there are plenty round the garden areas, with as much space as you could want. More secluded and quieter. Unlike most hotels, the sunbathing areas are not open to view from every bus passing by. The pool and gardens are between the hotel buildings, and a villa complex, so there is also a bit of shelter from the wind

The naturist sun roof was an important factor in my choice of hotel - it is a bit bleak - quite a number of sun beds, but enough for the demand, but it is what it says, a solarium, and nothing more. There are a couple of showers, and a unisex loo. The location near the dunes was also important - just a few minutes walk to the edge of the dunes through the RIU Princess - or the bus to the beach. Overall, easy access to the magnificent naturist area.

We were a bit disappointed by the shopping in the area - either tat or very expensive. We did not find anything good, middle of the road quality.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

We are very pleased you have had enjoyed your stay and we thanks for sharing your experience as well as taking the time for your detailed comment.
For your next stay please ask at the reption desk and we will be very happy to recommend you very good placed for shopping close to Playa del Inglés were you can find good choice to an affordable rate.
We are glad to welcome you soon and wish you a nice Eastern week.
With best & sunny regards,

Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Just returned from a week's break at this hotel and had a fab time. Staff lovely, entertainment team, Francois, Jose and Donna great fun and worked hard to entertain without being pushy at all. Hotel spotless and location really good for beach, sand dunes, shopping. Hotel absolutely spotless and food great. We had a room flood in bathroom from upstairs room and got moved no problem at suggestion of hotel reception staff to ensure no more hassle during our stay. Would recommend this hotel and would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melarkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

We are realy very pleased you had enjoyed your holiday and we are sorry about the inconvenience you had during your stay.
We hope to welcome you again and please do not forget to mention your favorite room nomber when booked.
With best regards and hasta pronto,

Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from the Catarina, and whilst it is an ‘OK’ hotel it’s not really a 4 star – I will only presume that others who rate it so high have not frequented other ‘4 stars’
I cannot agree with others that the choice of food is good – having a choice of veal stew, processed veal and veal steaks all on the same night is not my definition of a ‘good choice’ The cakes were OK, but there was no attempt at any other sweet other than melon every single day and rice pudding – but made with just a handful of rice in a big bowl of milky liquid. On the positive side we did have Lamb and Pork once in the 2 weeks we were there – but the ‘staple’ meat did seem to be veal veal veal. However top marks must be given for the choice of fish.
People were always waiting for food to be cooked – the technique was to cook 20 steaks at a time and then serve them and then cook another 20, a much more accepted system would be to ‘cook to order’ – just place a few steaks on the heat and add more as people join the queue – so there are always steaks at different ‘heats’
The fresh pancakes were very good – but they sometimes used pre-cooked pancakes from a freezer, which is OK IF they have been thawed out – one morning they were still icy cold and full of frozen jam.
There were often queues at the bar, mainly because the staff were trying to serve the waitresses at the same time, and spent time chatting amongst themselves. The measures for spirits was very mean, my whisky and lemonade was 90% sweet sickly lemonade and a dash of whisky – I needed to order 2 extra whiskies to make it drinkable. The most astonishing thing was that the Madison bar on the ground floor closed at 10:00 (even if the room was full) and the outside bar closed at 11:00 – so when the weather was chilly in the evening you could not get a drink and sit inside…………..
The coffee and tea in the restaurant was OK – but at the bars was absolutely disgusting, specifically the tea which consisted of half a cup of warm water and a cheap tea bag in the saucer - after providing holidays for the British for 40+ years I’m amazed they don’t realize that tea MUST have boiling water.
This hotel was split between all inclusive and half board, we were all inclusive – but there was still a charge for sun bed towels, certain cakes and for using the hotel car park (which was empty) – this is just mean and the hotel needs to learn from other proper all inclusive hotels.
Overall we did enjoy ourselves at the Catarina, our room was good and the staff were very helpful - but this hotel could be so much better with a little effort -BOILING HOT WATER FOR TEA!!!

Room Tip: Do not pay extra for pool side views - the majority do face towards the pool and gardens, only a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wheelpusher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Many thanks for your review and we are sorry we could not fullfil your expectations. Thanks for the time taken for your large report and as you can observe other reviews the perfomance is very good apreciated.
We hope you will find a hotel with ghe same value for money and wish you a nice spring time.
With best regards,
Enrique Giesberg
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

just returned from this hotel and it deserves the 4star. food was brilliant, great choice and the meats cooked in front of you.
excellent staff service friendly and helpful.
the hotel was spotless
definitely recommend this hotel to all, young and old as there is something for everyone
i have already booked to return in 5 months time!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msdyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

We are happy to welcome you again in five months! We are also very glad you enjoyed not only the good food and good location also our friendliness. Please, let us know your favorit room number to assign you the same room.
Best regards and hasta pronto,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I had the chance to have a very nice bedroom with views of the gardens and dunes, very quiet and, i believe, one of the largest available. Good food with a large choice of different types of food for breakfast and dinner. I did not get the all-in experience so cannot judge the lunch food. Very good location, close to the dunes and a short walking distance from the yumbo center with its shops and bars or the beach. There are free shuttles to the beach, though never used it.
Two slight disappointments though.
First of all, I could not enter my room at my arrival at 11 am, after being dropped by the tour operator shuttle. Fortunately, there is an hospitality room where you can store your luggage and change clothes/take a shower if you'd like. Convenient, though access not entirely secured, so be aware. You can, of course, rent a locker if you think you secure your valuables.
Second, the wifi is expensive (6 euros daily or around 25 euros for a week) and public networks very slow and quite crammed when many people are connected at the same time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Arnaud G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Many thanks for your review and many thanks for sharing your experience at the IFA Catarina. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay.
We hope to welcome you for next season and remain,
with best regards and hasta la vista!
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

Just returned from our 3rd stay in 12 months.Rooms large and clean,staff really friendly,food good,best value for money we have had.we think the People who rated this hotel poor must have been to different hotel to us

Stayed: March 2014
2  Thank Gordon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

We are very happy to welcome you for the 3rd time and we are also very glad to make your stay an enjoyable again. Please, let us know your booking for next stay to assign again your favorite room.
Best regards and hasta pronto...
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#6 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,710 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,303 reviews
0.9 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
5,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
IFA Continental Hotel
IFA Continental Hotel
#23 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
2,612 reviews
1.0 mi away
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
ClubHotel Riu Papayas
#9 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
610 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Catarina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Catarina Hotel

Address: Avenida de Tirajana 1, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#19 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $186 - $474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — IFA Catarina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your IFA Catarina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
IFA Catarina Hotel Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria
Ifa Catarina Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing