We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Break Feb 2014”
Review of IFA Catarina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IFA Catarina Hotel
Ranked #28 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Nice hotel in a good location. Great food with plenty of choice for breakfast, lunch and dinner in the main restaurant, not so much in the a la carte El Rancho. Self service restaurant with waiter service for drinks. Very comfortable indoors also a nice garden area for al fresco dining.

The main bar area is by the pool where the entertainment takes place. The day time activities are the normal aquarobics,, darts, etc. and are very good but the evening entertainment is not so good. A duo sing and play every evening at the pool side before the 'main event' and are excellent but apart from an evening of a Queen tribute act and another evening of salsa dancers the professional acts and in house evening entertainment are best forgotten. A ten minute walk out of the hotel to the left finds the Yumbo Centre with plenty of shops and bars and drag cabaret acts. A 20 minute walk out of the hotel to the right past the amazing sand dunes behind the RIU Hotel and along the flat promenade takes you to the beach bars which is quite lively. It turned quite cool in the evenings sat outside but really warm during the day.


The hotel is very clean and welcoming with plenty of sunbeds available in the sun or the shaded areas around the lovely gardens. Be aware that although other 4 star hotels I have stayed in have always provided pool towels this hotel does not but they are available for hire at a cost of 5 euros for the week and an extra charge of 1 euro to change them. The rooms are a great size but the beds are not very comfortable, I think the mattresses could do with replacing in room 185! Plenty of storage and hangers. Cleaned daily. All the staff are a credit to the hotel.

Not many English amongst the guests who were in the main German.

All in all for the internet price paid we were very happy with the hotel (but there is room for improvement in the detail) and we had a nice break in the sun.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickythumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Thanks for sharing your experience and many thanks for the time taken for your large comment. We are very happy we could fulfill your expectations and that you had enjoyed the Island as well as the friendliness of our staff.
We hope to welcome you again for next season and please do not froget to mention your favourite room number when booked.
With sunny regards and hasta pronto,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

531 - 537 of 1,873 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

We have just returned from IFA Catarina 22nd Feb - 1 March 2014. Reading the Tripadvisor comments swayed my decision to stay here and I am very grateful to those who accurately reviewed the hotel and guided us to a great place to stay. The weather this time of year was perfect, between 21 and 25 degrees which is hot enough for sunbathing and pool swimming. The IFA Catarina is situated in a good position, quiet outside and only a 5 minute walk to the Maspalomas Dunes, which are a must see for everyone. We walked over them a few times, they are quite a phenomena. It is also a 5 minute walk to the Cita shopping centre and 12 mins to the Yumbo Centre. Both centres are a warren of shops and market stall types, mainly all selling the same type of stuff, either fairly expensive leather, clothes, watches and perfume or holiday tat. This resort is solely angled at the German market and there are a lot of them about, it was rare to hear another English voice. There is a very large gay scene in PDI as the resort is the gay capital of Europe, the Yumbo centre becomes a huge party place at night, but we never made it over there. Being an older married couple. The rooms at IC were adequate, the shower was really good and although my husband struggled with the hard bed, it was perfect for me, even though I have osteoarthritis of the spine and scoliosis amongst other conditions, I had a great nights sleep. The TV had a few English news channels and channel 30 constantly showed English speaking films. Wifi connection was brilliant in Madison bar and drinks were all ok as was the food, the staff worked extremely hard and are a credit to the company and the animation team were very enthusiastic. Food was varied and again mainly catered for the German market but they did a great job catering for so many, always fresh fruit, salads and bread for those who didn't fancy a hot meal. The pool system was compact but adequate with isolated hot tubs around and a beautiful garden with an aviary and gym. Our room was cleaned everyday and bed covers changed everyday Carmen Vega did a great job. I would recommend this hotel to everyone, try it out you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We were in 231 next to stairwell, and nearest room to reception, we occasionally heard revellers ret...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m0therearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

We are very pleased you have enjoyed your stay at the IFA Catarina and we thanks for sharing your experience. Thanks for the time taken for the large comment and it will help other guests travelling to Gran Canaria.
We hope to welcome you again at next season and remain
with best & sunny regards,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed 4 - 18th January
Handy for the sand dunes, CITA CC (although looks badly run down) and the Yumbo
Hotel very clean although décor looks a bit dated and in need of some TLC.
Breakfast very good from a British perspective (bacon, fried/scrambled eggs, baked beans and sometimes mushrooms) although the sausage was very poor and tasteless, looked like undercooked nearly raw bangers with an almost cheap frankfurter taste – very odd. Oh what happened to the dining plates for breakfast? From Thursday of week 1 to the end of my stay, they disappeared at breakfast leaving only small side plates which you could just about fit a slice of toast on – most odd.
Lunch a bit disappointing, same old tired looking salads, usually some freshly cooked meat and fish – just fried “as is” without any seasoning so very bland. Although every now and then surprisingly good with some interesting choices – various pates/decent cheese, the aioli did help make the meat palatable.
Dinner, very much a hit and miss affair for me. Some evenings were excellent, sadly most were mediocre. You won’t go hungry but as someone once said “food is meant to be enjoyed not endured”. I prefer seafood paella but most were meat and I would guess using the leftovers from lunch. I think there was a Canarian food night as the Canarian flag was hung over the buffet island and Canarian stew was on offer – but that’s my guess. The red wine was very acceptable especially with the rich blue veined cheese, plus the soup was always extremely good. The restaurant staff were extremely friendly and helpful bringing your drink order (lunchtime & dinner) promptly

Entertainment – well this was held outside by the pool almost every night. Apart from being cold outside, it was a smoker’s paradise. There were about ten no-smoking tables bordering the smoking area so absolutely pointless. Even the bar notionally positioned in the no smoking area was right next to a smoking area. I suppose the hotel has fulfilled its obligation by removing ashtrays from certain tables and putting up signs but, I would compare this to having a “no urinating” area in the swimming pool.

The Madison Bar – described as being open until 2200 – except that it wasn’t. Depending upon who was working the bar, this meant it closed anytime from 2100 to 2130, sometimes with a flat refusal to be served with any drinks well before 2200. Although one night, having “closed” the bar early with the till locked and AI spirits cleared away, paying guests were given free drinks and AI guests were treated to premium brand spirits at no extra cost – very odd.
The spirits were the usual "local" versions which I find acceptable, if you want branded spirits you can pay extra. I think the beer was the local "Tropical" brew, again quite acceptable

As said by others, we found the beds were incredibly uncomfortable even with the mattress toppers we found it difficult to enjoy a good nights rest. Our room had a “street view” and overlooked the gardens and tennis courts which was fine as we spent very little time in our room. Sadly we will not be going to IFA Catarina in the future as I now know that there a better three star and of course four star hotels in the Canary Islands.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jj_cz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thanks for your review and thanks for the time taken for your large comment. We are sorry we did not fulfill your expectations- We had read your comments and we will take action to improve in sepcial at the Bar Madisson. As you can read in other reviews guests feel very good in our 4* proerty and we hope you give us the chance to show you how our perfomance can be.
We wish to welcome you again and remain
with best regards,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Stayed 8th to 22nd Feb 14 . Room 573 ovelooking road not bad clean a bigish room and balcony. The room had a 22inch flat screen TV with BBC & Sky news and an arab channel showing english films with German, Spanish. Italian, French and Russian channels if thats your cup of tea BUT BE WARNED THERE IS NO SMOKING ON THE BALCONY BED ROOM AND WE GOT A NOTE TELLING US WE WOULD GET FINED 95 EUROS IF WE CONTINUED TO SMOKE ON BALCONY we did not smoke in the room, only one of us smoked but we saw loades smoking on the balcony. There is a no smoking policy in GC like the UK but most hotels dont take any notice as long as its on the balcony. We have stayed in 4 diffrent hotels over the last 8 years and it was never a problem. SO BE WARNED IF YOU ENJOY A CIGARETT . There is a fridge free to use and safe payable with a deposit for key. Food is good plenty and varied with salad all buffet style . If you have mobility problems its not great there are ramps some a bit steep and if they are wet very slipery I sliped but I was lucky. I walked with a 4 wheeled walker with a seat I managed ok but there are one or two steps I did see guests in wheelchairs. All ages and nationalitys stay here. Pool smallish not that many sunbeds free most with towls reserved we sunbathed by tennis courts on the grass not great if you are disabled but it was worth it as nice and quiet and a loo near buy. Take your own towl or buy a cheap one out there as there if a charge of 5 euros plus 5 deposit and 1 euro to change to a clean one.Good location next to CITA center and 10 to 15 mins to yumbo up the road, banks and cash point 200 yards away. We traveled First choice and got a taxi to hotel there an back we did tell F Choice, much cheaper then booking with first choice 39 euros there and 40 euros back plus a tip the drivers are very helpfull and always plenty taxis at the airport. We spoke to other guests on our flight, we got there intime for dinner as we landed at 19.00 but the coach did not get there till just after 21.00 so they had a cold buffet. No one bothered to contact us from First choice not even a note to say hope everthing is ok, not that we needed anything as we have been many time to GC before but it would have been polite.
Staff were good at the hotel if a little under presure somtimes . All inclusive wine was nice but alcohol served was a bit rough cheap vodka, brandy ,gin and campari was not campari cocktails were OK ask for extra shot of alcohol !!!!! also ask for spanish coffee with hot milk better then machine stuff (Cafe con Lechie Caliente por favor !!!!!)
We Live in Jersey CI. and travelled the evening before and stayed overnight at a hotel and I know you can check in for Thomson flights the night before if it departs before 12.00 our flight was at 14.25 but the check in girls let us check in the evening before so THANK YOU VERY MUCH as it ment we did not have to take our luggade to hotel with us it was a great help flights were ok, coming back a short deley of 1& half hours due to late arrival of aircraft and four missing passengers. It was a cheapish holiday £800 each from Gatwick all in with flights so not to bad you gets what you pay for our freind had a single room and she payed about £1.160.00.
Would we go back ? yes if it was cheap enough but there are pleny of other hotels in GC.

Room Tip: Rooms that overlook the road get sun in the morning rooms over lookig pool and garden get sun in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdljersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Many thanks for your review and many thanks for your comment. We are happy you had enjoyed the service and the friendly staff and we have read your comment in special referring smoking.
According to the regulations in Spain, the balcony is part of the room and according to that data, it is also smoking forbidden. In case you do smoke be aware of other guests who feel disturbed by the smoke and in case of claim we are obliged to take action.
We hòpe you undestand our situation and we hope you keep Gran Canaria and Spain as your favourite destination.
With best regards and hasta la vista,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Hotel is massive and the rooms are spacious, bathroom is big enough to fit 2 at a time. Plenty of lights but no big lighting in the room. No adequate plug sockets but they will do for 2 of us.
Our balcony was scenic and beautiful!
Plenty of seating in the rooms too, enough for 4-5 people to sit and the TV was big enough and nice with mixture of television.
Free 30 min wifi in room after that 5euro, however, free wifi in lobby with unlimited usage.
TROUSER RULE at evening meal, do not forget otherwise you get sent away and have to come back.
The Queen tribute band was brilliant whilst the other nighttime entertainment was suitable for all.
Pool is very cold and takes some getting used too, the pools little spa areas were cold but very nice and pretty.
breakfast, lunch and dinner all buffet which is suitable for all to eat and serves nice food.
The chambermaids were brilliant and pleasant. Speak some Spanish to them, they love it!
Staff speak multiple languages so just find the right one who has a great accent.
Waitresses were sometimes very quick to take your plates and glasses then other times took a while to serve you so pick a table that is visible to them.
Not enough covers for sunbeds so suggest putting covers and towels down on bed before you eat breakfast so you get them reserved.
The foreigners in the hotel can be very rude, the amount of times they bumped into us or got in the way and never said sorry (I would always say sorry in Spanish but only receive a blank face form them).
Bottom of road is Rui hotel and behind it is the beautiful sanddunes which you NEED to visit. Only a 5 minute walk from the hotel.
In addition, moonlight cinema is worth a visit (English owned) to watch a film outside on a sofa with a blanket and being served food/drinks.
Aqua land is a good day out for all but water is even colder than hotel there so be prepared.
Overall, great hotel and would come again.

Room Tip: Call beforehand or book early. Further the room, the less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caallum13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Thanks for your review and many thanks for the time taken for your comment. We are very pleased you had enjoyed your stay, our performance as well as our friendly staff.
We read your comment regarding the cold pool and indeed, depending on the sunshine the pool could reach 24º or 25ºC. We heat the pool with sun collectors what is better for the enviroment.
We hope to welcome you bag at the IFA Catarina and remain
with sunny regards and hasta la vista,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

Never been to gran canaria before so took pot luck booking a hotel/resort. We went not expecting too much but were pleasantly surprised. The location was great. Rooms clean, spacious and comfortable for family of 3 with teenage son. The food was good with plenty of salad choice at lunch and dinner for me who is veggie. The hot choice was a bit limited for me but there was always pasta but plenty of meat and fish dishes. The heated pool was nice and plenty of sun beds available. Our flight home wasn't till 8pm but we kept our room till 5pm for 5euros per hour. Looking forward to a return trip

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank how-hel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

We are glad to meet your expectations and we are also very glad that you enjoyed your first trip to Gran Canaria. Thanks for the time taken for the comment and we wish to welcome you soon again. Please do not forget to mention your favourite room number when reserving your trip at the agency.
With best regards and hasta pronto...
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Will definately be back, food was fab, staff excellent can't do enough for you, hotel spotless clean, rooms were good size but beds are very firm which was only downfall, would recommend to anyone, can't wait to go back x

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Debbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

We are very pleased to make your holiday very enjoyable and we thanks for sharing your experience and specially the time taken for your comment.
We are already waiting for your next reservation and please do not forget to mention your favourite room number.
With best & sunny regards and hasta pronto...
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.9 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
5,082 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#6 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,287 reviews
0.7 mi away
IFA Dunamar Hotel
IFA Dunamar Hotel
#19 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
803 reviews
1.5 mi away
IFA Continental Hotel
IFA Continental Hotel
#22 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
2,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Catarina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Catarina Hotel

Address: Avenida de Tirajana 1, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#19 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $198 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — IFA Catarina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your IFA Catarina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
IFA Catarina Hotel Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria
Ifa Catarina Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing