We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Part inclusive”
Review of IFA Catarina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IFA Catarina Hotel
Ranked #26 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
GreenLeadersGold level
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Part inclusive”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here on 2/03/13 to 10/03/13. If your are staying fully inclusive you are not allowed the cakes that in the little coffee shop in the counter, but you can have the cakes that were out for breakfast which have been sat on the table for a couple of hours. You are not allowed any food that is on the menu at the poolside restaurant unless you pay. The bar closes at 11p.m and you can not get a coffee unless you pay. You can not get drinks at the bar inside the hotel only at the poolside. If your half board the bar closes at 10 p.m then you have to use the pool bar. There are no tea or coffee facilities in your room. So take your own. If you are half board you can get fully inclusive (part inclusive lol) but I would not recommend you do this as you will feel that you are a lower class standard. I was told that the cake in the little coffee shop was expensive so,we could not have it, as we were fully inclusive. We paid for it and it was only €1.50 is that expensive? If you complain then the service you get is not good. The food in the restaurant needs to checked as the temperature is cool and not hot. You are expected to get dressed up for dinner then they expect you to sit outside all night in the windy weather. If it wasn't for Paris the rep for first choice then we would have had to sit outside in the rain to. To the management on your list for your fully inclusive when it says pastry is included. A pastry chef makes cakes and that is what is in your little cafe if you do not want people to eat them then either change your leaflet or put a sign up to say that they are not included. The rooms are large, but the cleaners need to make sure they clean all of the mirror in the bathroom not just what they can reach, as people write there names in the steam at the top. You do not get the sunshine at the pool until 10-11a.m you need to keep moving around to get out of the shade. The entertainment is not good. The best night was with the animation who gave us laughs and worked extremely hard.
I have been to many inclusive holiday's around the world and this hotel is not worthy of a 4 star. The quality of the inclusive food and drink is quite poor.
I understand the management read these reviews. So my suggestion to you is listen to the holiday reps when they come to you with complaints from customers and may be take on board suggestions made, because it only takes a few people on this trip advisor that could make your hotel not one to return to.

Room Tip: Room 167 and Room 168 has not view only a very large palm street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shell e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thanks for your review and thanks for the time taken. We are very sorry that your holidays wasn't as you expected.
Regarding the All-In offer in the IFA Catarina, we inform our guests via tour operator as well via our web page about our schedules, where and what we offer and not offer. At arrival you got a leavelet again with detailed information of the all inclusive offer like from what time until what time, snacks, lunch and dinner time, etc. Additionally we have a card with offer of drinks and cocktails included in the all in. In the lobby bar we also got a sign for "not all in" service.
As you can see we provide our guest with the information and it is important for you to take the time to read it during your holidays.
We thanks again for sharing your point of view and remain
with best regards,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    736
    309
    95
    52
See reviews for
515
833
83
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed here February 2013. Can't say I thought much of he place. This was my third trip to the Maspalomas area. I'd stayed twice before in Melonaras. Do yourself a favour and see if you can get into one of the hotels in that area. The service from the staff in this hotel is poor. The Thomson rep was nice enough at the welcome meeting. One day I was here my towel appeared to have what I probably think was human excrement on it. The receptionist acknowledged that it was disgusting. The All Inclusive drinks - especially the wine and cocktails are blatantly watered down. The fridge in the room didn't work. The food in the restaurant isnt great. Not a lot of choice. My girlfriend and I ate there 3 times and went out the other nights. I found the staff to be quite rude and unhelpful. The management seemed full of their own self importance. One day I called down to reception and requested an iron and ironing board. They don't offer this service. The will charge to have a shirt ironed if you need it doing. I ended up taking a few things over the road to a nearby laundry. If you want to take a piece of fruit out with you from breakfast/lunch/dinner you'll be charged €1 per piece. At about 3pm they start making waffles that you have to pay for. The sunbeds all get reserved with towels and never used. They just sit there all day with towels on them but no-one using them. There's not enough of them. As the sun moves around in the day you will find yourself in the shade frequently because you have the hotel one side and a high wall the other (only 80 feet or so apart) do yourself a favour. Stay elsewhere. Like I said. Look at the hotels in Melonaras which is only a couple of miles away, much nicer, far more up market and the beach that side of Maspalomas is better too.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the reception building. There are 3 buildings. If you end up in number 3 it's q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leachy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Thanks for your review and we are very sorry that your stay was not as confortable as you expected to be. We already forwarded your comment to our head of department for taking action inmediately. We are sorry also not to be able to provide you with some services like ironing and according to our precedures for safety reasons we ask our guest to choose better our laundry service.
We hope to welcome you on Gran Canaria in one of our hotels in Meloneras area and again, sorry for the inconveniences.
With best regards,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

First impressions of this hotel were very good check in was really smooth no problems at all.Our room was 5th floor last block from reception quite a trek but so worth it no noise and a view across the dunes and sea, the maid service was very good no problems.Now to the bar staff some seem to pamper to the german guests quite blatantly ignoring british guests in the queue in favour of them it was noticed by many not just us here i would like to mention two staff who work on the pool bar personally and thank them for their kindness and for not ignoring us Lorenzo a smiling young man who deserves praise for his hard work and very pleasant manner very well done.Also Maira who also always had a smile for us which was very welcome as the weather was not great for our week these two plus miramar on the restaurant door made our week at this hotel alot happier i really hope that the manager will praise them as they are a great big asset to his hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 201daisysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your review and thanks for taking your time for it. We are very happy that your stay was as enjoyable as you expected and we had already forwarded to all the staff particularly the one your named. Your comment encouraged them to continue with their friendliness and shows that their effort is compensated.
We hope to welcome come you again at the IFA Catarina and remain
hasta pronto...
With best and "sunny" regards,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Just returned from our 8th stay in 4 years and have to say this hotel works for us every time.
Staff are very friendly, Oskar on reception and Miramar at the restaurant reception always add a personal touch and greet us like old friends. Special thanks to both of them! We always stay on half board so cannot comment on the all inclusive option, but breakfast and dinner buffets have a wide variety of choice and you'd always find something that you like.
Housekeeping at the Catarina is second to none everything is kept spotlessly clean and smells lovely too!
If you're looking for an informal relaxed hotel in a nice quiet part of Playa del Ingles you won't find better than this!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experince and thanks for your comment on Tripadvisor. We are very glad your stay was as you expected and we hope to welcome you again comming season.
With "sunny" regards and hasta la vista,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Having been to the ifacatarina last year we returned again this year with great expectations of a super weeks holiday. Our week got off to bad start with the allocation of our bedroom. We had booked a room with a pool view but what we got was room 108 on the ground floor. The view in front of the balcony was a four foot high hedge and beyond trees and shrubs. Our requested room was not available till the following day so no unpacking done on day one. Our second room 354 was as we had expected, bright airy and stunning view from the balcony. Reception staff were helpful and efficient. Restaurant seemed to be a free for all. There appeared to be nobody in charge of this area. Food was very good as was the variety on offer. We loved having our breakfast each morning and then taking cup of coffee to the terrace and relax, a ritual which we did last year and for the first three mornings of this years holiday. But then the restaurant enforcer came on duty and we were stopped bringing our cuppa to the terrace on day four. You will not pass this person she will stop you she will take food from you she will charge you ridiculous money yes €1 for a bananna! She is not a very pleasant person but must love what she does!
Younger members of the bar staff were excellent and the older grumpy barmen could take a lession from them in how to deal with clients. The use of plastic cups for pre dinner drinks was appalling. I can understand their use while the pool is open but the pool closes at 6.00pm and then you go on to use glassware for the evening entertainment. Same bar same location. I have to agree with a previous reviewer about the bar by the reception being such a waste of space by not being used particularly for the nightly entertainment. Instead we were huddled around the pool area in jackets and scarves. Entertainment was poor with the exception of Pavarotti and friends which we enjoyed. Overall we didn't think our expectation of a super weeks holiday was met and we were certainly not wowed by our experience at the ifacatarina and won't be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkVisitor2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks for your review and thanks for taking the time to wright the comment on your last stay at the hotel. We are sorry you had not been allocated to the wished room due to the booking situation and we would like to welcome you again once more to show you how good we can perfomed as you had it at your visit before.
With "sunny" regards,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed 16-23.2.13. Room 521 which was great (NB see below as to how you get rooms on the 4th/5th floor, which is the one thing I do strongly recommend). It's a typical hotel for the area, in that it's classed 4* but feels more like a good 3* - but i've stayed twice and no complaint this time. Friendly staff, food quality actually improved and rather good for hotel fare, clean, modern, nice gardens - don't be fooled by the view from the main road as it looks like a multistorey car park on the exterior. The interior/gardens are nice. The pool is a bit disappointing, and can be shady, but I don't stay-put in the hotel all day anyway so wasn't an issue. You can't expect luxury in Playa del Ingles - if you want high end, go to Maspalomas - but I find this hotel to be at the top end of standards for the area and far better value/more friendly than Riu Palace next door. I won't tolerate rubbish and so staying a second time speaks volumes.
Incidentally, not sure why people complain about German tourists. This is Gran Canaria, and Playa del Ingles does not attract UK tourists any more. You get lots of Germans, Dutch, and some French. If you don't like that... GC isn't for you.

I would stay here again. Can't give a better recommendation than that...

Room Tip: Go for a high floor (4/5 floor) in the south wing of the hotel, ideally under the solarium, facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickdevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks for sharing your review and your experience at the IFA Catarina and we are very pleased that your stay was as expected.
Gran Canaria is a destination specially for UK and German visitors and in minor amount, Dutch, Belgium, Austria, Swiss and also Scandinavians. We try to please every guests and according to the Nationality the taste and expectations may change.
We hope to welcome you againnext season and we remain
hasta la vista...
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed at Catarina last month. The reception staff very rude. The first big disappointment was when I found out that I had to pay for the Internet in the room and additional tv channels. The guy at the reception asked me sarcastically whether I came to relax or work that I need the Internet in the room. Another big minus- awful scrambled egg and luck of mushrooms for breakfast. Poor service too. Sometimes there was nobody available to collect our dirty plates. Drinks are not included in half board. We had to pay for them separately. And one more- if you start your day with a cup of coffee, bring your own stuff as the coffee seced at Catarina is absolutely disgusting! One thing I cannot question is cleanesness. The hotel is very clean and they change your bedding on daily basis. To sum up, I would never stay there again. I travel regularly and stay in a number of different hotels. I am very surprised that Catarina got 4 stars. The worse 4-star hotels I've ever been to. Sorry, but I'm being honest.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrbejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks for your review and thanks also for your honesty and we are sorry you had a disappointing moment with a receptionist. Regarding WiFi service, we offer at the Bar Madison free WiFi during whole day. According to the brochures of tour operatos as ell as our web page, we offer WiFi in room on charge. Referring our food, we try to satisfy every Nationality and it is not easy but according to other reviews our perfomance is quite appreciated by our guest.
We hope to welcome you at Gran Canaria and and give us another chance to show you a good perfomance to our 4 stars.
With "sunny" regards,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.7 mi away
IFA Dunamar Hotel
IFA Dunamar Hotel
#21 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
774 reviews
0.9 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
#12 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,243 reviews
0.7 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#5 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Catarina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Catarina Hotel

Property: IFA Catarina Hotel
Address: Avenida de Tirajana 1, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#18 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — IFA Catarina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your IFA Catarina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
IFA Catarina Hotel Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria
Ifa Catarina Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing