We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Less than average stay”
Review of IFA Catarina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IFA Catarina Hotel
Ranked #27 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
GreenLeadersGold level
Cork
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Less than average stay”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Having been to the ifacatarina last year we returned again this year with great expectations of a super weeks holiday. Our week got off to bad start with the allocation of our bedroom. We had booked a room with a pool view but what we got was room 108 on the ground floor. The view in front of the balcony was a four foot high hedge and beyond trees and shrubs. Our requested room was not available till the following day so no unpacking done on day one. Our second room 354 was as we had expected, bright airy and stunning view from the balcony. Reception staff were helpful and efficient. Restaurant seemed to be a free for all. There appeared to be nobody in charge of this area. Food was very good as was the variety on offer. We loved having our breakfast each morning and then taking cup of coffee to the terrace and relax, a ritual which we did last year and for the first three mornings of this years holiday. But then the restaurant enforcer came on duty and we were stopped bringing our cuppa to the terrace on day four. You will not pass this person she will stop you she will take food from you she will charge you ridiculous money yes €1 for a bananna! She is not a very pleasant person but must love what she does!
Younger members of the bar staff were excellent and the older grumpy barmen could take a lession from them in how to deal with clients. The use of plastic cups for pre dinner drinks was appalling. I can understand their use while the pool is open but the pool closes at 6.00pm and then you go on to use glassware for the evening entertainment. Same bar same location. I have to agree with a previous reviewer about the bar by the reception being such a waste of space by not being used particularly for the nightly entertainment. Instead we were huddled around the pool area in jackets and scarves. Entertainment was poor with the exception of Pavarotti and friends which we enjoyed. Overall we didn't think our expectation of a super weeks holiday was met and we were certainly not wowed by our experience at the ifacatarina and won't be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorkVisitor2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks for your review and thanks for taking the time to wright the comment on your last stay at the hotel. We are sorry you had not been allocated to the wished room due to the booking situation and we would like to welcome you again once more to show you how good we can perfomed as you had it at your visit before.
With "sunny" regards,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    729
    306
    91
    52
See reviews for
501
827
83
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed 16-23.2.13. Room 521 which was great (NB see below as to how you get rooms on the 4th/5th floor, which is the one thing I do strongly recommend). It's a typical hotel for the area, in that it's classed 4* but feels more like a good 3* - but i've stayed twice and no complaint this time. Friendly staff, food quality actually improved and rather good for hotel fare, clean, modern, nice gardens - don't be fooled by the view from the main road as it looks like a multistorey car park on the exterior. The interior/gardens are nice. The pool is a bit disappointing, and can be shady, but I don't stay-put in the hotel all day anyway so wasn't an issue. You can't expect luxury in Playa del Ingles - if you want high end, go to Maspalomas - but I find this hotel to be at the top end of standards for the area and far better value/more friendly than Riu Palace next door. I won't tolerate rubbish and so staying a second time speaks volumes.
Incidentally, not sure why people complain about German tourists. This is Gran Canaria, and Playa del Ingles does not attract UK tourists any more. You get lots of Germans, Dutch, and some French. If you don't like that... GC isn't for you.

I would stay here again. Can't give a better recommendation than that...

Room Tip: Go for a high floor (4/5 floor) in the south wing of the hotel, ideally under the solarium, facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickdevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks for sharing your review and your experience at the IFA Catarina and we are very pleased that your stay was as expected.
Gran Canaria is a destination specially for UK and German visitors and in minor amount, Dutch, Belgium, Austria, Swiss and also Scandinavians. We try to please every guests and according to the Nationality the taste and expectations may change.
We hope to welcome you againnext season and we remain
hasta la vista...
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed at Catarina last month. The reception staff very rude. The first big disappointment was when I found out that I had to pay for the Internet in the room and additional tv channels. The guy at the reception asked me sarcastically whether I came to relax or work that I need the Internet in the room. Another big minus- awful scrambled egg and luck of mushrooms for breakfast. Poor service too. Sometimes there was nobody available to collect our dirty plates. Drinks are not included in half board. We had to pay for them separately. And one more- if you start your day with a cup of coffee, bring your own stuff as the coffee seced at Catarina is absolutely disgusting! One thing I cannot question is cleanesness. The hotel is very clean and they change your bedding on daily basis. To sum up, I would never stay there again. I travel regularly and stay in a number of different hotels. I am very surprised that Catarina got 4 stars. The worse 4-star hotels I've ever been to. Sorry, but I'm being honest.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrbejm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks for your review and thanks also for your honesty and we are sorry you had a disappointing moment with a receptionist. Regarding WiFi service, we offer at the Bar Madison free WiFi during whole day. According to the brochures of tour operatos as ell as our web page, we offer WiFi in room on charge. Referring our food, we try to satisfy every Nationality and it is not easy but according to other reviews our perfomance is quite appreciated by our guest.
We hope to welcome you at Gran Canaria and and give us another chance to show you a good perfomance to our 4 stars.
With "sunny" regards,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I had read the wonderful reviews for this hotel and was expecting big things from them for my first Christmas break abroad since I was a teenager. I was sorely dissapointed. Firstly, the hotel caters mainly for German guests, however this is not normally a problem as I have stayed previously in hotels where one nationality dominates. However on Christmas night the entertainment, if I can call it that, was a play in german. I couldnt understand a word of it. This lasted approx 40 mins then we had the usual duo playing middle of the road music. Fine for hot summer evenings but not so fine having to sit outside in the freezing cold for a few hours. The hotel had a perfectly good room upstairs tha t could have been used for the shows but instead we were all forced outside in the cold as that was the only bar as an all inclusivenguest that I could use.

The food was heavy on the sauces and obviously aimed at a more continental palate tha some but overall ok. At the Christmas meal no effort was made to make it at all special. No crackers or party hats, no small gift, just a sparkly candle either silver or gold placed onto the table.

The whole of Christmas day was not made special at all by the hotel, nor was Boxing Day. The entertainment was very poor, and consisted of an overweight woman dressed in fairy wings shouting through a mike. I know times are hard but I feel the hotel did not try hard enough and the Christmas decorations in the dining room were a few giant paper bells pinned to the ceiling.

Our room was okay but dated and we had a good view over the pool. As everything seemed to stop at 11 when the all inclusive bar stopped it did not appear to suffer from noise from the outside bar area

Overall the hotel I feel only deserved a 3 star rating rather than a 4. It was clean and near to a few shops and bars. The resort seemed fairly quiet when we were there but the weather was fantastic so overall we had a pleasant stay. I do not think I would return to this hotel at Christmas again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wickedqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks for your review and thanks for sharing your comment on your stay at christmas time. We feel sorry, you did not have the perfomance expected specialy at Christmas Eve.
Traditionally on the Island and in Spain, Christmas Eve is different and all hotels offers on Boxing day a Gala-Christmas-Dinner with a special menue, well decorated restuarant, buffet as well as tables. Information regarding X-stmas program could be find at our web page as well as the brochure of your agency. We are also sorry you did not mention the special program on Boxing-day.
We hope you have comprehention for different cultures and traditions and we would like to welcome you again for another period.
With "sunny" regards and hasta la vista...
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed for one week at this hotel which was very clean and spacious. We had a lovely view from our balcony of the swimming pools and gardens plus the dunes and in the distance the sea. There was plenty to choose from at all mealtimes, so always something for everyone. The entertainment was good in the evenings, we were out and about so cannot comment on the day time entertainment. Only a few minutes walk away from the stunning dunes and a lovely walk along the pathway to Playa del Ingles beach. IFA Catarina is situated in a quieter part of Playa del Ingles and Maspalomas but not far to walk to the shopping centres, pubs and restaurants if needed.

Room Tip: Room 444 was next to the lift so some noise but the view was good from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoyandDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and thanks for sharing your experience. We are please that your stay was great and you could enjoy not only the hotel also our charming perfomance.
We hope to welcome you again at the IFA Catarina for your next vacation and remain
with "sunny" regards and hasta la vista...
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

On first arival the hotel looked ok... The large writing is missing on the front just leaving an outline which wasn't a great site to see but things got better as we got inside. The reception was clean and smart with welcoming reception staff. We checked in quickly and easily. We was given our key to our room on the first floor... Well what can I say.. The corridor was dark and dreary.. Stains on the carpets and just totally un welcoming. We opened the door to find a room half the size as described in the brochure and online.. With ROCK HARD beds and a dirty stained rough old sofa bed which had definitely seen better days. We went straight back to the reception where they were happy to assist us and move us to a better location looking over the pool. Perfect.

The room: great size with adequate wardrobe space but lack of shelving. Large safe which you can pay for at the reception to use which is handy. The shower has good power to it but occasionally runs hot then freezing cold. The tv had 3 English channels.. But only 1 worked.. And the other 2 switched the tv off. For a room this size u would think they would have a spare plug socket or two.. But nope.. There is one in the bathroom, the other 2 occupied by lamps.. And none by the beds. This is a bit awkward when wanting to charge your phone or anything like that. But all in all the rooms were clean and tidy. Just needs updating especially the beds... I managed to take the mattress from the sofa bed and put it on mine which made it bare able.. But on request to reception for another one.. We was told it would be sorted.. But after asking twice.. Still nothing. Back ache it is I guess!

The food: a good selection for everyone.. Always chips and salad along with other varieties of meats veg bread and desserts. Breakfast lunch dinner and snacks were great on the all inclusive deal. Drinks around the pool at the pool bar and a good waiter service of an evening whilst watching the entertainment.

Entertainment: plenty going on, Francois and Simon do a great job of getting people involved in the day and work very hard until the evening. Evening entertainment by what I can assume is a house duet called rainbow. Very chilled and relaxing but can get a bit dull. But the professional shows have been at a good standard and nice to watch.

Location: close to shops bars and the beach including a free shuttle pretty much every hour which is perfect. The beach is lovely... Big and clear goes on for miles. Plenty of little shops to walk to and restaurants to chose from. For the party goers, the nightlife is great too plenty of bars and clubs all located close together so no need to travel far and a taxi is only about €3.50 each way, safe and a good way to travel.

All in all the hotel is very nice just mainly let down by the rooms! But the weather has been amazing.. The staff are great and overal a great stay. English are few and far between though, the hotel is mainly full of People from Germany, Sweden and the Netherlands!

Room Tip: Floors 3 to 5 facing the pool good views and sun through the evening!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks for your review and thanks for taking the time to share your comment.
We had noticed your comment specially on mattresses and we are working to get brand new ones in a close time. We are glad that the general perfomance was as expected and you could enjoy the fantastic weather on Gran Canaria.
We hope to welcome you once more at the IFA Catarina.
Wit best "very sunny" regards and hasta la vista...
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013

What time is breakfast here and are the drinks at breakfast included in alinclusive. What sort of things are there for brealfast lunch and dinner? Is there supper? What times are breakfast lunch and dinner? What is the shops like here? Cheap? Expensive?

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickiH2506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thanks for your request and here you find the answers:
- Breakfast starts form 8.00 am to 10.30 am and coffe, tea, hot & cold chocolate, water are inclusive.
- Lunch starts at 01.00 pm to 3.30 pm and dinner from 6.00 to 9.00 pm and drinks are included during meal times too.
- Snacks are opened at pool bar from 11.00 am to 1.30 pm and coffee, cakes & pastry from 3.00 to 5 pm. Drinks are from 11.00 am to 11.00 pm at the pool bar avaiable.
Regarding shops, you find in a walking distance shopping places for every pocket and at Meloneras area (5 to 10 min driving distance) you have the more exclusive shopping area.

We thanks for choosing the IFA Catarina for your next stay and for any other inquiries you can send us an email via our web page.

Best & "sunny" regards,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
1.5 mi away
IFA Continental Hotel
IFA Continental Hotel
#25 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,337 reviews
0.7 mi away
IFA Dunamar Hotel
IFA Dunamar Hotel
#21 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.9 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#20 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#3 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Catarina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Catarina Hotel

Property: IFA Catarina Hotel
Address: Avenida de Tirajana 1, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#18 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — IFA Catarina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your IFA Catarina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
IFA Catarina Hotel Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria
Ifa Catarina Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing