We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday, Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of IFA Catarina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IFA Catarina Hotel
Ranked #28 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Holiday, Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

My partner and I have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Playa del Ingles from Christmas Eve to New Year's Eve. We had a fantastic week with perfect weather - very relaxing and a perfect break from the rain in the UK.
We enjoyed the IFA Catarina. Like most hotels, it has its good points and areas to improve, but overall, we thought the hotel was good value for money.
On the positive side: heading the list are the staff - from reception, to dining room, to bar, to the room cleaning, all were very helpful and very friendly. We also thought the food at breakfast and dinner was very good, and the Christmas dinner was very nice. The location is also very good, just a five minute walk one direction to the dunes overlook and entrance to either the dunes or the beautiful upper promenade to PDI beach, and a 10-15 minute walk the other direction to the Yumbo Centre with all of its shops, restaurants, shows and bars. The grounds of the hotel are lanscaped very prettily and are well-maintained, with plenty of room to find a lounger. We also enjoyed the free wifi in the first floor bar area. The hotel was nicely decorated for the holidays, with beautiful pointsettias inside the hotel and planted outside as well.
On the negative side: our biggest disappointment was lack of AC: we spent three days trying to get our AC fixed before someone at the front desk finally admitted that the AC was not on; the literature has now been admended to reflect that room AC is "only during the summer". We were loaned a very dusty desk fan but this really did not help. Other disappointments included the AI drinks - red wine and beer were fine, but the white and rose wines were undrinkable and mixed drinks and tropical cocktails were mediocre at best. The lunch by the pool bar was always hot dogs, pizza and chicken nuggets, which became very repetitive and not very healthy. The beds are very hard and narrow, and the entertainment was dire several nights.
Would we return? Probably not in the winter due to the AC issue, but probably yes in the summer. It is a good hotel, and each person should determine what factors are most important for one's enjoyment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank London20122013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thanks for your review and thanks for sharing your comment. We are glad that the stay was all in all a good stay and we appreciate specially your comment on the friendly staff. We had read your concern aboutt AC and are sorry for not informing you before.
We hope to welcome you again at least comming summer and remain,
hasta pronto!
With "sunny" regards,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    729
    304
    91
    51
See reviews for
498
823
83
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
welwyn garden city
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We've just returned from a family holiday from the Catrina and went all inclusive or semi inclusive as it turned out. If you have kids dont go!!!
The food hot plates still dont work as the food is cold,dont care what anybody says as all the food was not up to scratch. Why is there microwaves if the food is hot…
Beds are rubbish but the sofa bed is ok. Not enough plug sockets. 70's hairdryer worked sometimes. Bath tap fell off. Tv only worked for an hour but was all german anyway.
My 1 year old had a bad night so my 3 year old was still asleep while my wife took the 1yr old down for breakfast then i went down, the wife asked me to bring a banana up for him, I grabbed 2 just in case and as I left I was stopped and charged for the banana's from the buffet restaurant, a friend had to pay as I had no money and we tried to explain it was for a youngster but they just shrugged their shoulders and took the money, disgusting as we paid full price for a 3 yr old.
They note down what you drink aswell and these drinks cannot leave the restaurant either.
Pool is very small,photos are very deceiving and also very cold,,my boys didnt want to go in much,my 1yr old wouldnt go in. The ice cream only opens for an hour or 2 usually around nap time for the youngsters so £700 for a 3yr old is an absolute joke.
Ive been on a few all inclusive holidays and this is the worst and we've never spent so much on one before.
We got there at 5pm 31st december and was then told we had to eat by 7pm as the gala meal then starts, €30 per person and apparently they only got wine extra, bar for all inclusive shuts at 11pm even on new years eve then you have to pay for drinks.

Would never go back. Alot of others complained about the same things.

Room Tip: Dont book a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We thanks for your review and we feel sorry that your stay was not as pleasant as you expected. We had read carefully your comment and we need to say that it is very important you take note of the information you got at reception desk during check-in with infor regarding opening houres of the diffeerent outlets, which outlet you got which meals, etc. The all in offers goes from 11.00 am to 11.00 pm.
We hope our responde was enough and we hope to welcome you at least on the Island to spend a warm and sunny holiday.
With best regards,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We as a family stayed at the Ifa Catarina from NYE and returned today 7/1/2013. On arrival we were greeted by very professional, friendly staff who explained all options for NYE entertainment. We chose to purchase a ticket to the private party, which did not disappoint. We had a fabulous time with exceptional food, entertainment, fellow guests and staff. Staff who genuinely embraced the NYE spirit. At the end of the night there were fireworks that were splendid. However if we didn’t purchase a ticket there were other options available free of charge.

As for the staff, starting with the manager Enrique Giersberg was nothing but attentive and professional. We observed him regularly walking around the hotel speaking to clientele and staff to ensure a high standard was maintained. As for the rest of the staff group, as a family, who regularly take 4 to 5 holidays a year, and have NEVER made a comment on a trip advisor regarding any previous holidays, can only say that the whole of the staff team were superb, helpful, polite, courteous and would go that extra mile to ensure you are having a happy holiday.

We stayed in room 519 which overlooked a road and had a gap to overlook the sea. I would suggest previous tourists in this hotel who are not happy with their room and the sunshine available every morning, continue to spend their Christmas and New Year in miserable England and not have these luxuries.

As for comments about the staff speaking mainly German, we witnessed the staff conversing with all nationalities. Maybe the people complaining about the languages staff spoke need to maybe learn some basic Spanish themselves.

As for the food, it was of a good quality with plenty of choice, however other tourists may have noticed this at times is not sufficient for some people who find the need to try and eat all morning, all day, all night in the restaurant whilst between these times using the pool snacks, dropping food on the floor and expecting staff to pick it up, picking food out of trays as they are walking, overfilling their plate and generally being rude and aggressive to achieve their objective of getting to the ‘fried egg’ first. Thankfully, such tourists are like most hotels, a small minority. The hotel staff dealt with this sensitively, politely and with the upmost professionalism, and such behavior from the greedy ones should not put you off booking this hotel.

We have read previous reviews and would like to spend time making a whole host of comments. However we would like to comment to potential future tourists who are planning on booking this hotel that it is superb in a variety of aspects. Overall we had a fantastic start to our new year at this hotel, complemented by all staff and will definitely return and look forward to the sunshine and facilities and services on offer at this time of year.

Thankyou to IFA Catarina.

Room Tip: It depends what people are looking for
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank griley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thanks for your review and thank you very much for your comment. I appreciate very much your sincerity and me as well as all the staff thanks for mentioning the friendly service staff. This motivates all that the way is the correct one and cirtisism is good as far it is objective and constructive. We want to improve in all the ways to make happy our international clientel.
Thanks again for taking your time for this review and I hope to welcome you again this year at the IFA Catarina and remain
hasta pronto...
With "sunny" regards,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

Firstly we paid for a garden view £126 extra which we were hoped to get ie no nosie what did we get on a room on the 4th floor above bar pool area so woke up at 8am with sun lounger being moved by hotel staff then all day music till approx midnight every day and we oaid extra foe this the hotel state that anything on 4th and 5th floor is garden view all the garden view we had was from the next door bungalows, so watch what room you are given!!!!!
As for food always had to wait for breakfast items ie eggs/bacon most day didn't have what all family wanted as some was always missing ie still being cooked i felt sorry for the poor lady by herself trying to be ontop of all food by her self as for rest lunch if you didn,t eat in resturant pool food very poor chips chips chicken nuggets pizza we are not children. you could not even order of pool menu unless paid full amount not good.
I came home with bad back i have never had such a hard bed sun loungers more comfortable.
As for plugs not in good position so making lights poor to do hair make up out of bathroom.
Now the big one don't go for christmas as this was a normal day nothing special no fuss etc as for new year it was a good job we left as you had to pay extra even though all inclusive which you were not told pre only when on your holiday
Also a very gay area so not really ideal for family out and about.

Room Tip: not above pool bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suneng3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thanks for your review and thanks for the time taken and we feel sorry that your stay was not as you expected. We try hardly to satisfay all different nationalities specialy for food and as general we succeed. It is important to read information available regarding the hotel meal plans to avoid surprises.
We thanks again for sharing your comment and remain,
with "sunny" regards,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Spent Christmas here with my husband and 5 kids, had a brilliant holiday the staff went all out to make christmas special even throwing in a ride on a polar express themed land train with santa on christmas eve. The animation staff were exceptional and really made the holiday. The kids club was fantastic especially Victoria who my kids will never forget and francois from the animation team kept us all entertained. The barstaff were friendly and nothing was too much trouble same as the resturant staff. The food was tasty and varied. Only critism is the beds were hard and would of really liked some tea\ coffe facilities in the room. But overall the hotel was well worth the money and would definatly go back

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisabrogden2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Many thanks for you review and for your comment and we thanks for the time taken. We are gald that your stay was as pleasant as you expected and your children could enjoy with our Animation team and Panchi...
We hope to welcome you again at the IFA Catarina and remain
hasta pronto...
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

went on the 22nd Dec for a week and i was disappointed. We went all inclusive the only saving grace was the food. On christmas eve we had champagne for breakfast and xmas day we had red and black caviar! There was plenty of choice each day and the food was hot, fresh and delicious. The other good thing is that there is a room where you can put your cases on the day you check out and so if you have a late flight, you have the opportunity to have a shower (towels provided free of charge) and get changed. Now to the not so good points which there are several, firstly, there is only 1 all inclusive bar and that is outside by the pool! In Dec at 9pm when the entertainment started, it was quite chilly. The inside bar which was usually empty is not part of the ai. next problem, you have to pay for towels which i think, was 1 euro per day, also it cost 2 euros per day for the safe, and 14euros for the tv (which only has 1 english speaking channel, news.) so is not worth it. At xmas we always have to pay more and at £700-£900 per person per week, i dont expect to have to pay these silly extras. Even though we had a wristband on, we also had to show our room key to get into the restaurant. this mean we had to charge camera/phone etc over night. The pools (2) were small and very cold. The sunbeds around the pool were touching each other and was very overcrowded. there was an area behind the pool which wasnt very large but was quieter and much more room. only problem then was that the bar and toilets were a long way away. Our room overlooked the road but was not a problem. we had the morning sun on our balcony. There are no spare sockets in the room unless you unplug the lamp. my partner has a sleep machine and we asked at reception for an extension lead which we got but it was right across the floor so it was a trip hazard. I found the bed comfy but my partner said it was too hard and he slept on the pull out settee a couple of nights. The room was clean and very nice, but the corridors were dismal. The gym was very small and the shower area was disgusting. the gym was not easy to find. On the roof, there is a nudist balony.this is mostly used by same gender couple but if you go up when the sun has gone down, you get a great view of the surroundings.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roo-yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thanks for your review and thanks for sharing your comment. We are glad that your stay was as expected and you had a nice time on Gran Canaria. We already put attention into you comment regarding sockets and we will check what possibilities we have to add some in the room.
We hope to welcome you again at the IFA Catarina and remain
hasta la vista...
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We arrived at the hotel on the evening of 22nd December 2012. Staff were very polite and helpful.

We were roomed on the ground floor in the far garden area. This was a lovely and quiet area. The room was larger than we expected with a sofa, twin beds, fridge, plenty of storage space and a fine bathroom with good shower. TV was also available, but we didn't really need this.

All Inclusive consisted of a personalised card and wristband. We didn't really need to use the card for drinks after the first order, and the card was used to check in and out of the restaurant.

All The staff at the hotel were polite, helpful and went out of their way to look after the guests.

The hotel is a Garden style hotel, with about three quarters of the room facing into the garden area.

I could best describe the garden area as being similar to Centerparcs, but outside!

Most drinks were all inclusive and were absolutely fine for our needs. All Inclusive at the bar ran from 11am to 11pm. As well as ordering at the bar, there were always table waters and waitresses who would take your order whilst you sat at tables. On Christmas day we were all treated to a glass of champagne in the afternoon for a toast. There was a special buffet meal on Christmas day, included in the AI, but we went out to a local restaurant instead.

Although this was a big hotel, it never seemed too crowded. Customers were a mix of UK, German, Dutch, Swedish with some Spanish thrown in for luck.

The rooms were cleaned daily to a high standard.

Food was a vast buffet style with something for everyone. Drinks were ordered and delivered to the table. My wife and I mostly had half litres of wine each evening. Some meats were cooked to order at a chef counter - Steak, fish etc.

We didn't stay until New Year's Eve, but a word of warning here - They have a grand NYE Buffet which costs an extra 45 euros per person. As far as we could make out, there would be no All Inclusive free meal that evening.

In summary, a lovely hotel in a lovely, clean resort with plenty to do and see. My wife was lucky enough to win the Bingo one afternoon and we won a bottle of Cava and a free massage (for me) and fish pedicure (for her). What a bonus!

I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: It;s worth the walk to have a garden room away from the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thanks for your review and thanks for sharing for other viisitors. We are glad that your stay was satisfactory and you could enjoy our X-Stmas time with us.
Just for general information, the price of € 45 was for a function that does not have to do with the gala buffet. We had a party at the pool bar for those who did not want to share the NYE party with brand drinks during the evening.
We hope to welcome you again and we take the chance to wish you and your family a happy new year.
With "sunny" regards,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
1.5 mi away
IFA Continental Hotel
IFA Continental Hotel
#23 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,294 reviews
0.7 mi away
IFA Dunamar Hotel
IFA Dunamar Hotel
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.9 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#21 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
#5 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#3 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Catarina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Catarina Hotel

Property: IFA Catarina Hotel
Address: Avenida de Tirajana 1, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#18 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — IFA Catarina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your IFA Catarina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
IFA Catarina Hotel Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria
Ifa Catarina Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing