We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of IFA Catarina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IFA Catarina Hotel
Ranked #28 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
GreenLeadersGold level
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Recently returned from a 10 day all inclusive holiday which was absolutely fantastic. I was not sure about booking this hotel as the pictures on the "First Choice" website did not "sell it" to me - however when reading the reviews on tripadvisor I was impressed by the majority of good reviews received. I am so glad I booked this hotel as the pictures on "FirstChoice" do not do this hotel any justice - its is a fabulous 4* hotel, with gorgeous lush gardens and sunbathing terraces. The food is amazing - plenty to choose from , staff are efficient and always polite and courteous, barstaff are quick to serve and clear tables - very friendly and jolly! Bedrooms are spacious and comortable, on arrival we were allocated a ground floor room at the very end of corridor facing the front of hotel, which was not to our liking, we asked for a change of room and was moved to the 1st floor with a view over the pools and gardens - thanks to the reception staff for doing this. The hotel is extremely clean, inside and out, pool areas washed and cleaned every morning. Entertainment in the evening was good and the animacion team were brilliant. We would not hesitate to return again for another holiday, thankyou to all the staff for making it so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ground floor bedrooms facing front are quiet - maybe ideal for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SCATCAT53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thanks for sharing your review and thanks for the time taking for it. We are glad that your stay was more then you expected. Just as general information for the next stay, all special room request done via facebook will have top priority.
We hope to welcome you next year at the IFA Catarina and we don't want to miss de occasion to wish you and your family a merry christmas and all the best for coming year.
Hasta pronto and "sunny" regards,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    729
    304
    91
    51
See reviews for
498
823
83
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
south wales, uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

Very clean hotel. staff friendly and helpful. The food was hot and replenished often but as usual for all inclusive became a bit repetative. Pool are clean but sunbeds far too close together.

The bedrooms are a good size but the beds are far too hard as are the pillows, not a good sleeping experience.

Our safe was broken and it took over 2 days to fix, they did not offer to move us to another room though. We spent time waiting for 4 lots of repairs and having to store our valuables in the reception safe. At the end of our stay we were refunded 4 euros which was 2 nights safe rental. BAD move if they think that made up for all the inconvenience we went through for 2 and a half days of our holiday. I work for a major tour operator that sells this hotel and was not impressed with the fact they did not even want to refund us the 4 euros.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Gerente at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thanks for your review and thanks for sharing your comment. We are sorry regarding the safety deposit bos and we would indeed try to accommodate you in another room but the hotel was at the moment fully booked. We had already fixed the dafety box. The Reception Desk Manager already mentioned to the team to deal better with that kind of troubles and to help guests immediately with a good alternative.
We hope to welcome you again at the IFA Catarina and we wish a merry Christmas to you and all your family.
With sunny regards,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Just returned from 7 days all inclusive at the IFA Catarina, Playa del Ingles. First impressions the reception, clean and spacious, reception staff efficient and courteous, check in very smooth. Reception staff very helpful when my wife injured her arm and directed us to 24 hour clinc which dealt with the injury. Rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. Rooms on higher floors, 4th and 5th, have the best sea views, but these are classed as 'Premium Rooms' and are available at a supplement. We were on 3rd floor but had nice views overlooking the well kept gardens but with large palm tree hanging over the balcony! Room itself very clean with maid service every day. The beds were a touch on the hard side for our taste but a request to reception for matress toppers promptly dealt with.The food was very good with good selection at all meals. Restuarant staff very polite and helpfull.Only very small criticism that at breakfast, tables are slow to be cleared and reset leading sometimes it being difficult to find a table for later arrivals. Pool bar excellent, All Inclusive drinks of good quality and large selection. Evening entertainment was OK, the professional acts were of good quality and animation team worked hard, Overall a very nice 4 star hotel Maspalomas beach stunning...but Playa del Inges itself large, busy and cheerless,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fifersdownsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Gerente at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thanks for sharing your review and thanks for the time you taken to whrite it.
Regarding your comment of the waiter service at the restaurant we had already talked to the responsible to imporve the service and to clear tables as fast as possible.
We hope to welcome you again at the IFA Catarina and we wish you and all your family a merry Christmas and a happy new year.
With best regards,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I totally agree with Hugh and Jean K. All the points apply. The AI started and finished at 11. If you wanted a drink after breakfast you had to pay until the pool bar opened. Although the quality of the food was great it was cold a lot of the times. When it was fresh it was great but you shouldn't have to wait for the hot food. The selection of drinks on the AI wasn't very good. You could only choose from 3 cocktails and they were not very strong at all. With regards to the spirits the bar staff were very generous with the measures. You couldn't have AI at the upstairs bar which was quite annoying and some of the snacks you had to pay for like hot waffles that were served in the middle of the day. On some days there were activities in the pool very early in the morning and although we were in the block furthest from the pool it did wake me.

The staff were really friendly and always smiling. Cant fault the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Gerente at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thanks for your review and thanks for your comment. Our AI services starts at 11.00 am finnishing at 11.00 pm as we anounce it in our information in all brochures including information of the tour operator.
Regarding friendliness, it is one of our best of our staff and we use to show them in the social the importance of it.
Thanks again and we wish you and your familiy a merry Christmas and a happy new year.
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel. We were all inclusive and we were both delighted with every aspect of the hotel.The food was absolutely brilliant both in choice and quality. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and because we went for my wife's 60th birthday we were greeted with a bottle of Cava in an ice bucket waiting in our room. We arrived at 10.30 p.m. after the dining room had closed but there were 2 plates of very nice salad and cold meats and cheese waiting for us in the dining room. We were happy with all the drinks we had, wine or beer could be chosen at both lunch and evening meals and the pool bar served drinks from 11 a.m. until 11p.m. We had a great experience at the Catarina and we felt very welcome,we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. If we had to say what could be improved it would be the evening entertainment could be better and the beds were rather hard. We really enjoyed our week there and would definately return. My wife's birthday was on the Friday, the day before our return and we were astounded when we went back to our room after breakfast and there was another bottle of Cava in an ice bucket waiting for us. Absolutely amazing and very thoughtful. The hotel was the best part of our holiday and it really is a shame that other hotels we have stayed at didn't come anywhere near the Catarina's high standards.

Room Tip: The hotel is very large and some rooms are quite a way from both the reception and dining area's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Gerente at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks for your review and thanks for sharing your nice experience. We are glad you liked our detail to your wife's birthday with the personalized greetings.
We are pleased to welcome you again for next birthday and we wish you merry christmas and a happy year 2013.
Hasta pronto!
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay and found the following:
The staff were brilliant and were always helpful.
The hotel needs a 'makeover' with the carpets in the corridors stained and worn, and the walls could do with a coat of paint.
Our room (487) only had 1 accessible socket which was in the bathroom not a good place to charge cameras, phones etc. there was one other socket i found but to use it meant re-arranging the furniture to get to it.
The air conditioning did not work meaning the temperature in the room did not get below 25oC which we found uncomfortable especially when trying to sleep.
The bathmat was not replaced after the first day meaning getting out of the bath onto a wet floor dangerous.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Gerente at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks for sharing your comment of your stay and thanks for taking your time to whrite your review. We had adviced our head of housekeeping regarding the changing the towels and we inform our guest to put towels in the bathtab to be replaced but probably the made did not put enough attention to it.
We hope to welcome you back at the IFA Catarina to show you our changes and we wish you a merry Christmas and a happy new year.
With "sunny" regards,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Just arrived back from 2 weeks in this 4 star hotel november 20012, the staff very happy to help with anything you want,rooms very clean and the pleasant maid in every day,and again nothing was too much trouble for them.



Booking in was simple, with a help to your rooms with your cases, thanks victor.food was plenty full and had a Buffy style ,so you could always find a nice meal but for my liking could be a bit warmer,went all inclusive. drinks,bar staff very help full 11.am to 11.00pm



Down side.we had a pool view 2nd floor we were woken up every morning before 8am by a group of about15/ 20 foreign guests have fitness lessons in the pool with their tutor shouting loud instructions for an hour ,even with ear plugs in she still made it annoying,entertainment loud in this room 246,but finished at 11.00 pm.on the dot. Overall I would go back to this hotel but have a room at the garden side/end of the hotel if you want some peace and quiet,

Very nice 2 weeks in this hotel ,We have paid more money at other 4 star hotel not as good as this one.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms for the people that like to sleep untill 9.00/9.30 avoid pool view rooms .reed ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Gerente at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks for sharing your review and thanks for your comment and sorry you have been disturbed your morning sleep at 9.30 am. The had aquagym and we understood that this time was a good time not disturbing anyone.
We will sent Victor your positive comment and we hope to welcome you again at the IFA Catarina. We wish a merry Christmas and all best luck for comming year.
Hasta pronto!
Enrique Giersberg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
1.5 mi away
IFA Continental Hotel
IFA Continental Hotel
#23 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,294 reviews
0.7 mi away
IFA Dunamar Hotel
IFA Dunamar Hotel
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.9 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#21 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
#5 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#3 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Catarina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Catarina Hotel

Property: IFA Catarina Hotel
Address: Avenida de Tirajana 1, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#18 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — IFA Catarina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your IFA Catarina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
IFA Catarina Hotel Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria
Ifa Catarina Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing