We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could do better”
Review of IFA Catarina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
IFA Catarina Hotel
Ranked #26 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
GreenLeadersGold level
south wales, uk
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“could do better”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Very clean hotel. staff friendly and helpful. The food was hot and replenished often but as usual for all inclusive became a bit repetative. Pool are clean but sunbeds far too close together.

The bedrooms are a good size but the beds are far too hard as are the pillows, not a good sleeping experience.

Our safe was broken and it took over 2 days to fix, they did not offer to move us to another room though. We spent time waiting for 4 lots of repairs and having to store our valuables in the reception safe. At the end of our stay we were refunded 4 euros which was 2 nights safe rental. BAD move if they think that made up for all the inconvenience we went through for 2 and a half days of our holiday. I work for a major tour operator that sells this hotel and was not impressed with the fact they did not even want to refund us the 4 euros.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotwel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Gerente at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thanks for your review and thanks for sharing your comment. We are sorry regarding the safety deposit bos and we would indeed try to accommodate you in another room but the hotel was at the moment fully booked. We had already fixed the dafety box. The Reception Desk Manager already mentioned to the team to deal better with that kind of troubles and to help guests immediately with a good alternative.
We hope to welcome you again at the IFA Catarina and we wish a merry Christmas to you and all your family.
With sunny regards,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    630
    739
    309
    95
    52
See reviews for
517
834
83
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Just returned from 7 days all inclusive at the IFA Catarina, Playa del Ingles. First impressions the reception, clean and spacious, reception staff efficient and courteous, check in very smooth. Reception staff very helpful when my wife injured her arm and directed us to 24 hour clinc which dealt with the injury. Rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean. Rooms on higher floors, 4th and 5th, have the best sea views, but these are classed as 'Premium Rooms' and are available at a supplement. We were on 3rd floor but had nice views overlooking the well kept gardens but with large palm tree hanging over the balcony! Room itself very clean with maid service every day. The beds were a touch on the hard side for our taste but a request to reception for matress toppers promptly dealt with.The food was very good with good selection at all meals. Restuarant staff very polite and helpfull.Only very small criticism that at breakfast, tables are slow to be cleared and reset leading sometimes it being difficult to find a table for later arrivals. Pool bar excellent, All Inclusive drinks of good quality and large selection. Evening entertainment was OK, the professional acts were of good quality and animation team worked hard, Overall a very nice 4 star hotel Maspalomas beach stunning...but Playa del Inges itself large, busy and cheerless,

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fifersdownsouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Gerente at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thanks for sharing your review and thanks for the time you taken to whrite it.
Regarding your comment of the waiter service at the restaurant we had already talked to the responsible to imporve the service and to clear tables as fast as possible.
We hope to welcome you again at the IFA Catarina and we wish you and all your family a merry Christmas and a happy new year.
With best regards,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I totally agree with Hugh and Jean K. All the points apply. The AI started and finished at 11. If you wanted a drink after breakfast you had to pay until the pool bar opened. Although the quality of the food was great it was cold a lot of the times. When it was fresh it was great but you shouldn't have to wait for the hot food. The selection of drinks on the AI wasn't very good. You could only choose from 3 cocktails and they were not very strong at all. With regards to the spirits the bar staff were very generous with the measures. You couldn't have AI at the upstairs bar which was quite annoying and some of the snacks you had to pay for like hot waffles that were served in the middle of the day. On some days there were activities in the pool very early in the morning and although we were in the block furthest from the pool it did wake me.

The staff were really friendly and always smiling. Cant fault the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise437
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Gerente at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thanks for your review and thanks for your comment. Our AI services starts at 11.00 am finnishing at 11.00 pm as we anounce it in our information in all brochures including information of the tour operator.
Regarding friendliness, it is one of our best of our staff and we use to show them in the social the importance of it.
Thanks again and we wish you and your familiy a merry Christmas and a happy new year.
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel. We were all inclusive and we were both delighted with every aspect of the hotel.The food was absolutely brilliant both in choice and quality. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and because we went for my wife's 60th birthday we were greeted with a bottle of Cava in an ice bucket waiting in our room. We arrived at 10.30 p.m. after the dining room had closed but there were 2 plates of very nice salad and cold meats and cheese waiting for us in the dining room. We were happy with all the drinks we had, wine or beer could be chosen at both lunch and evening meals and the pool bar served drinks from 11 a.m. until 11p.m. We had a great experience at the Catarina and we felt very welcome,we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone. If we had to say what could be improved it would be the evening entertainment could be better and the beds were rather hard. We really enjoyed our week there and would definately return. My wife's birthday was on the Friday, the day before our return and we were astounded when we went back to our room after breakfast and there was another bottle of Cava in an ice bucket waiting for us. Absolutely amazing and very thoughtful. The hotel was the best part of our holiday and it really is a shame that other hotels we have stayed at didn't come anywhere near the Catarina's high standards.

Room Tip: The hotel is very large and some rooms are quite a way from both the reception and dining area's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Gerente at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks for your review and thanks for sharing your nice experience. We are glad you liked our detail to your wife's birthday with the personalized greetings.
We are pleased to welcome you again for next birthday and we wish you merry christmas and a happy year 2013.
Hasta pronto!
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Just returned from a weeks stay and found the following:
The staff were brilliant and were always helpful.
The hotel needs a 'makeover' with the carpets in the corridors stained and worn, and the walls could do with a coat of paint.
Our room (487) only had 1 accessible socket which was in the bathroom not a good place to charge cameras, phones etc. there was one other socket i found but to use it meant re-arranging the furniture to get to it.
The air conditioning did not work meaning the temperature in the room did not get below 25oC which we found uncomfortable especially when trying to sleep.
The bathmat was not replaced after the first day meaning getting out of the bath onto a wet floor dangerous.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Gerente at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks for sharing your comment of your stay and thanks for taking your time to whrite your review. We had adviced our head of housekeeping regarding the changing the towels and we inform our guest to put towels in the bathtab to be replaced but probably the made did not put enough attention to it.
We hope to welcome you back at the IFA Catarina to show you our changes and we wish you a merry Christmas and a happy new year.
With "sunny" regards,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Just arrived back from 2 weeks in this 4 star hotel november 20012, the staff very happy to help with anything you want,rooms very clean and the pleasant maid in every day,and again nothing was too much trouble for them.



Booking in was simple, with a help to your rooms with your cases, thanks victor.food was plenty full and had a Buffy style ,so you could always find a nice meal but for my liking could be a bit warmer,went all inclusive. drinks,bar staff very help full 11.am to 11.00pm



Down side.we had a pool view 2nd floor we were woken up every morning before 8am by a group of about15/ 20 foreign guests have fitness lessons in the pool with their tutor shouting loud instructions for an hour ,even with ear plugs in she still made it annoying,entertainment loud in this room 246,but finished at 11.00 pm.on the dot. Overall I would go back to this hotel but have a room at the garden side/end of the hotel if you want some peace and quiet,

Very nice 2 weeks in this hotel ,We have paid more money at other 4 star hotel not as good as this one.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms for the people that like to sleep untill 9.00/9.30 avoid pool view rooms .reed ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Gerente at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thanks for sharing your review and thanks for your comment and sorry you have been disturbed your morning sleep at 9.30 am. The had aquagym and we understood that this time was a good time not disturbing anyone.
We will sent Victor your positive comment and we hope to welcome you again at the IFA Catarina. We wish a merry Christmas and all best luck for comming year.
Hasta pronto!
Enrique Giersberg
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2012

i also was at ifa catarina at the same time as hugh from airdrie and i would agree with all comments made . as for the managers reply that foreign guests were not in the pool till 09.30 i would strongly disagree with this as i was woken before 8am on the mornings they were in the pool and find this totally unacceptable for people who are trying to relax on holiday !! i also will not be returning to this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Gerente at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thanks for your answer regarding the your stay while ohter guests where at the hotel at the same time. The foreign guest had a programm starting at 9.30 am at the pool and not earlier. We still have the programm running and at the time you say we are completing the pool cleaning.
We hope to be able to clear for other guest.
We wish you a merry Christmas and a good time with your familiy,.
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.7 mi away
IFA Dunamar Hotel
IFA Dunamar Hotel
#20 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
778 reviews
0.9 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,741 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#5 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,259 reviews
0.7 mi away
MUR Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
MUR Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
#12 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,249 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
#2 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Catarina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Catarina Hotel

Property: IFA Catarina Hotel
Address: Avenida de Tirajana 1, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#18 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — IFA Catarina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your IFA Catarina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
IFA Catarina Hotel Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria
Ifa Catarina Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing