We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smashing Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of IFA Catarina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IFA Catarina Hotel
Ranked #27 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
GreenLeadersGold level
huddersfield west yorkshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Smashing Hotel”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Been to this Hotel at least ten times now thats how good it is ! Over the years it has cotinued to supply great service, It is mainly populated by the Germans but more recently the Brits have been more visible.
It has two great swimming pools, several jacuzzis, baby pool with slide. The grounds are magnificent stretching the full length of the Hotel, If you dont want to sunbathe by the pool there are many secluded spots you can get to read or doze in perfect tranquility. Plenty of sun beds with mattresses if you want and parasols .
In the high season the evening entertainment is outside by the pool and in the cooler times it is inside. The shows are usually over and done with by eleven o clock so you can get some peacefull sleep .
The three bedded rooms are massive and the four bedded rooms are even bigger, cleaned daily by friendly cleaners.
There are several shopping centres within walking distance the YUMBO centre being the main one or the nearer CITA centre here you will find all that you need and smaller corner shop type shops just across the road along with the smaller bars.
The Hotel runs a regular free bus to the beach but if you want to get some exercise you can walk across the sand dunes to the main resort centre
The Catarina is situated in a quiet location away from the bustle of the resort centre and the many other Hotels if you dont want to walk the dunes there is a nice promenade to take you to the main resort centre and the many sunbathing areas .
The large Catarina restuarant provides a good selection of food for breakfast and dinner no need to starve at this Hotel
To sum up then a great hotel, good food, tranquil surroundings, friendly staff, super swimming pools, shops nearby, you dont need to go out of the Hotel if you dont want to, therefore recommend it to anybody .

Room Tip: The best rooms are on floor 4 upwards overlooking Maspalomas, you can sit on the massive balconys an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GEORGE4819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2012
Thanks for your comment and we appologize for your experience at the breakfast buffet. We only serve our meals to paying guests as you have to pass your key card at the entrance. No card available, no breakfast!
On easter Sunday we had some rain at sudden moment and for that reason all guests beeing at the terrace went in and place was filled for a short time.
Regarding the beds, we ordered new mattresses and we hope to solve the problem referring sleeping on the hard beds.
We hope to get the chance to welcome you once again to show our improvements and as you can observe on ohter reviews, guests are confortable with our service perfomance.
With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    617
    728
    304
    89
    49
See reviews for
495
821
83
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
reading
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Rubbish. Easter Sunday beakfast a complete shambles, no tables, and when we did get a table all the food was gone. The reason for this? the breakfast was open to all, not just the PAYING guests, clearly just interested in making as much as possible at the epense of the PAYING guests. Staff unhelpful behaved as if we were being unreasonable. Sent an email to the official website and no response, such a rip off - find a hotel that actually cares about the guests, steer clear of this one.
PS beds very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dolores k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
126 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We've spent a very enjoyable week at IFA Catarina.
We've stayed half board and the choice was excellent and diverse. The prices for the drinks were reasonable. We've found it nicer to eat the breakfast/dinner outside, the restaurant interior looks a bit boring.
The hotel is not located directly on the beach and you will have to walk 15-20 min to the closest one (through the city or via the dunes). We did not have any problems with that. The dunes are located 5 min away (you can also enjoy the view on the dunes from the Riu hotel nearby). The hotel garden is beautiful, you can enjoy an evening reading there. We did not spend a lot of time at the hotel pool, which seemed rather busy.
The rooms are simple but comfortable, nothing to complain. Good daily cleaning service.
All in all, recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tetra29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thanks for rating us as well for the comments that help others to get a view of the property and the destination. We woul add to your information regarding the way to the beach: we got a shuttle service to the beach 3 times in the morning and 3 times in the afternoon.
We hope to welocome you again in the IFA Catarina and meanwhile we remain,
hasta la vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We went to Catarina as a couple and it was very enjoyable 2 weeks.We stayed on half board and we could not fault the food or drink on offer as it was excelent there was always so much choice.Room was cleaned daily,no complain about that.Great service,very helpful all the time.Very good location, just 30 meters away from maspalomas dunes.Pool area sometimes very busy but we always got sunbeds.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin19761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

I booked a 5 days stay here as it was out of the main centre of PDI but not too far from the beach. We arrived at the hotel at about 12.15pm and got our room keys straight away, which we werent expecting. I had emailed the hotel a few weeks before,requesting a garden view room, as advised in prev posts and we were given exactly that , room 382 overlooking the beautiful garden area. The room was basic -2 single beds & a sofa bed for 2 adults & 2 children- but was spotless and adequate for us, and overlooked the garden , away from the pool/bar area. Room was cleaned/towels changed daily. There are 2 decent sized pools & several jacuzzi type pools dotted around, and more than enough sun-beds with mattresses. The gardens are beautiful , several terraces where you can get away from the crowd & sun bathe in peace ,all spotless and well maintained. We were half board, and while the food wasn't outstanding, it was very nice and , you'd have to be very fussy not to find something to enjoy, likewise breakfast. It is a pleasant 15-20 mins walk to the beach alongside the dunes and about 10 mins to Yumbo centre. There are plenty of restuarants nearby & the bus stop is just up the road. All in all a pleasant stay, lovely clean hotel, friendly helpful staff and lovely pool & garden area. Cannot comment on entertainment , tho it did appear to finish quite early and seemed in German from what we caught. If your after a party holiday , this isnt the place for you, but if your after a calm, relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: ask for a garden room - over looking beautiful gardens , catching last of the rays and away from bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank helb368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, General Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Thanks for your rating and your detailed comment of your stay. In fact we would like to enfasize that the hotel property is for a calm and relaxing holiday but we are not that far of the quirly party centres... We got also a nice place for families with children.
We hope to see you soon in the IFA Catarina and remain,

hasta la vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Stayed here March 2012 2 friends. Good location, but Not for sure a 4* hotel. Rooms basic and the most uncomfortable beds so no proper sleep for 7 nights, the sun loungers far better. Reception ok, went half board, boring bland food, chips, pizza, pasta, salad, same desserts most nights...basic comfort and style ...not 4* for sure not even 3* most disappointing. Would not recommend as a 4* not value for money at all. Do not buy in hotel shop rip off prices. . Air con did not work very well so always humid, Most rooms around pool do not recommend especially for family, late loud music in the Area every night. Not recommended for young groups more over 70's club. .

Room Tip: Not the pool area for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2012
Thanks for posting your rating as well as for the comments. We are sorry that your stay wasn't as expected.
It is very important for us to get an objectiv feed back to be able to take actions and improve our perfomance.
Regarding the food, we got additionaly different fresh meat, fish and poultry offered on the grill or at the show cooking area as well as fresh fruit and an action with 1 dessert as flambeed, fried, etc. Our selection of cold starters with salads freshed made in just eentering the restaurant and you shouldn't missed it...
We hope to see be able to welcome you again on Gran Canaria and we remain,
with best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in August 2011. The hotel is in a relatively quiet location but all the amenities of Playa Del Ingles are within easy reach. The Yumbo centre is about a 20 minute walk and the Kasbah is a bit further so it was easier to get a cab there. The main beach is about a 20 minute walk along the promenade that you can access by the Riu Palace hotel. This is a very easy walk and you also get fantastic views of the sand dunes.

Rooms were well equipped with everything you need for a beach holiday. Very clean and maid service provided daily. Air conditioning was good also, which was very welcome in August. We stayed on a half board basis and there was always a good selection of food for both breakfast and evening meals. We were there for a week and there seemed to be a good amount of variation and the food was always hot. Desserts were a bit repetative but that didn't bother me to any great extent.

The swimming pools were busy but there is a garden area away from the pools where you could always get sun loungers which was also peaceful.

Reception staff were helpful if needed. We wanted to go to Las Palmas for the day by bus and the receptionist gave us maps and advice on wehat to do when we go there. The bus stops are about 200m from the hotel by the Cita shopping centre.

I would certainly recommend this hotel. Whilst others may be more luxurious, this hotel was great for a week in the sun.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveller1500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thanks for your comments as well as for the rating you did at TriAdvisor of the Ifa Catarina.
We read your comment on the desserts and we already informed our Chef to make a larger variation of the sweets starting from the cakes and mousses.
We hope to see you soon at the IFA Catarina.
With best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
1.5 mi away
IFA Continental Hotel
IFA Continental Hotel
#23 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
2,289 reviews
0.7 mi away
IFA Dunamar Hotel
IFA Dunamar Hotel
#21 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
724 reviews
0.9 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#3 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
#6 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#4 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Catarina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Catarina Hotel

Property: IFA Catarina Hotel
Address: Avenida de Tirajana 1, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#18 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#20 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#22 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — IFA Catarina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your IFA Catarina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
IFA Catarina Hotel Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria
Ifa Catarina Playa Del Ingles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing