We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”
Review of Los Tilos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Los Tilos
Ranked #104 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Another Review of a New Year in Gran Canaria.

We stayed for 4 nights from 1st January 2013 to the 5th January as part of our 2 centre stay (the first 4 nights in Maspalomas). We arrived at 12:30pm and were welcomed by an attentive reception for a quick and easy check in. We were allocated a ground floor room (116) which we didnt want. We asked to move to a higher floor but the hotel was full and we had to wait till the next day.

We moved the next day to the third floor (307 on the road side) and was a little worried if it would be noisy. No need as the windows on the road side (Bathroom and Bedroom) were double glazed.

Room: Basic but clean. Free TV in room with the obligatory English news channel. Sofa bed and chair with low table. Kitchen area was bigger than the usual, 2 electric rings and enough plates, cups etc for 3 people. Large breakfast bar which counted for a ‘Lets dump the stuff there’ kind of area. Large fridge freezer. Maid service was daily and friendly.

Large Balcony area overlooking the pool and on site restaurant with the normal plastic chairs and table. The noise in the rooms on the road side was little, I was worried we would hear the revellers coming out of the Yumbo at all hours but we didn’t. Although there is a bus stop right outside and you could hear these pulling up and pulling away at times.

What lets this place down, and many have said this, is the beds!!! They are camp beds with a mattress on top. Every turn, wiggle or stretch ended up with a chorus of squeaks from every single spring on the thing. In fact, kept me awake and when I did sleep I awoke to the song of squeak every time I moved. Most annoying!

Only ate at the restaurant once during the stay for a lunch time snack of cheese burger and chips. Good price at 5 Euro with a soft drink.

The thing that we loved was the location. You are literally a stone’s throw from the Yumbo Centre main entrance. A 1 min walk if that. On the corner of the hotel was a supermarket and round the corner a Subway. Beach was 10 min walk in a straight line.

Clientele in the hotel was mixed, not young, not old, not all gay. But, I’m surprised the Pigeons still go there as the 6 cats around the grounds always looked Hungry!

This place was a ideal base for the new year due to the location, but they really need to sort the beds out as they really were that bad!

Would I stay again? If they got new beds and got rid of the cats!

If you have found the review helpful please click the link below.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor NOT on the road side of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jjohnboy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 81 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is the 3rd or 4th time I have used the Los Tilos. The hotel is just across the road from the main shopping centre in Playa del Ingles, the Yumbo. This fact means that the hotel is only a few minutes walk away from a large selection of restaurants, clothing shops, duty free shops, bars, show bars, bus and taxi ranks. Only 10 minutes walk away is the main tourist information centre. The hotel is basic but of a high standard. The door staff, front reception staff and cleaning staff are all helpful and I have no bad words for them at all. The hotel has a large pool are and a good number of loungers and because the pool are is large there is plenty of room to have your own space. The hotel has its own restaurant which has a good selection of food. The rooms are cleaned almost every day. Most rooms come with free TV and basic self catering facilities. There are a selection of supermarkets within 5 minutes walking distance. The beach is only a 15 minute walk away. This is a good basic hotel. I fully recommend it. However if you are used to 4 or 5 star luxury it may not be for you. But for a strong value for money, no hassel hotel to use as your base for a sunshine Gran Canaria holiday it is ideal.

Room Tip: I have been to this hotel a few times and I never have had a bad room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in May this year .. Hotel is very basic but has all you need .. Hotel staff very friendly and always helpful .. Rooms are basic but for the price you can't complain .. Hotel pool was big enough and always plenty of sun loungers .. The best thing about this hotel is the location .. Right facing the yumbo which has all bars/clubs/shops! Supermarket on the corner with everything you need .. 15 walk to the beach! Would defo stay here again!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Great location across the road from the Yumbo Centre. Walking distance to the Kasbah centre and beach front. Tourist office, taxi rank and local buses directly outside, (bus timetables free from the tourist office). Well stocked supermarket on the corner of the block or 3€ taxi to San Fernando supermarkets (bigger and cheaper).
Some traffic and late night noise if you have the bedroom and bathroom windows open but suprisingly quiet considering the location.

Friendly and helpful reception, front door closed at night for security, buzzer entrance. Wifi available, we paid 20€ for 7days and got a fast connection on the 5th floor. 2 lifts. Good maid service.

Basic clean one bedroom apartment, bedroom was small with twin beds (not the comfiest), good sized built in wardrobe, safety deposit box (32€ for 7 days, 20€ back when you return key).

Lounge and kitchen area was fine, sofa bed and chair, tv, electric hob, full size fridge freezer, no kettle but there was a coffee filter machine, enough pots, cutlery, plates, cups, glasses etc for 3 people.
Large balcony with table and chairs overlooking the pool and the sea in the distance.
No air conditioning so we were glad we were on a higher floor so we could leave the balcony door open at nights!

Decent sized pool with steps and ramp at one end but gets very deep very quickly (2m). Small kiddies pool. Plenty of sun loungers, only a few reserved with towels!

Unfortunately pool side cafe/restaurant was closed for holidays during our entire stay and the tennis courts are no longer there.

Overall i would definately recommend these apartments, excellent value for money in a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank di73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I've stayed here 5-6 times in the past 3 years. The apartments are pretty basic but serviceable (though a microwave would help!) and decent value for money. Hot water units are very small - 1 person capacity. Rooms cleaned 5 days pw. Its location opposite the Yumba centre is perfect if you want to do the nightlife, and the apartments are surprisingly quiet. The pool is a big plus - decent size for laps - and the restaurant on site serves BIG portions for reasonable prices. Internet is available for a price.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingAussie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Stayed here for a week cannot fault the position of the hotel. Right oposite the Yumbo Centrum but no noise at night.

The hotel was very basic but you get what you pay for. We had a self catering room. One bedroom, Bathroom and Balcony.

Maid service often, I think it was 6 out of 7 days. Bus stop right outside if you want to go anywhere or a 10 min walk to the beach.

I would stay here again if i was looking for budget accomodation.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Just back from 11 days at Los Tilos. Check in was fast and we were allocated room 416. Perfect for all day sun, and great view over the huge pool. The room was basic, but for 2 key property it was fine.
Traditional Spanish furniture, twin beds, lots of wardrobe space, and regular bathroom. The hot water ran out if you had a long lengthly shower, but after 30 mins wait it was ready to go again. Kitchen was well equipped, and we boiled the water in the saucepan if it was needed. I think you could rent a kettle if you needed one. Spacious balcony with table and 3 chairs and a clothes drying line.
The apt was cleaned regularly, and the linen was changed once during our stay but fresh towels were changed 4 times. The apt was kept clean but little dust bombs could be found blowing around under the bed or in a corner sometimes, but to be honest on any tiles floor that's gonna happen. The cleaning ladies were prompt and friendly although any of my spanish is limited to ordering 2 beers, they were happy to sign and gesture if everything was ok!
So in general, the location was perfect as we only needed the Yumbo which is across the road. The bus stop outside takes you to maspalmomas beach for 1.40, and you can also get it to the airport. 10 min walk down to the beach front, and over all I was impressed. The bar by the pool does great food and well priced. Will I be back???
YES, and have already reserved!!!

Room Tip: Room 416, but any room from 111-120, 211-220, 311-320, 411-420 are all on the sunny side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IrishDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Ingles
0.2 mi away
Walkirias Resort
Walkirias Resort
#62 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
251 reviews
0.1 mi away
MUR Aparthotel Buenos Aires
MUR Aparthotel Buenos Aires
#11 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
857 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos El Palmar
Apartamentos El Palmar
#52 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
MUR Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
MUR Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
#13 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apartamentos Amazonas
Apartamentos Amazonas
#66 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
177 reviews
1.0 mi away
Club Vista Serena
Club Vista Serena
#63 of 217 in Maspalomas
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Tilos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Tilos

Address: Avenida de Espana, 11, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 134 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $51 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Los Tilos 2*
Number of rooms: 240
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Los Tilos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Tilos Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing