We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place, will go back again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bungalows Dona Rosa
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place, will go back again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here last week for 8 nights, 4 adults, plenty of room in bungalows, very clean, maids clean on a daily basis, changing towels everyday and beds once a week, they even supplied towels and washing up liquid.The gardens were well kept and the pools cleaned everyday, all the staff were friendly and helpful. There was a majority of Scandinavian/German tourists when we were there.The Cita center was okay for shopping and food, but the Yumbo center has lots more shops and restaurants, a little warning, if you go to Yumbo later in the evening there is a lot of gay men parading around, and a few gay and drag clubs.Went to the 'Kasbah', it was ok, had nice restaurants, and shops, but didn't stay out there later than 10.30 as we had heard that it can be a bit boisterous late at night, lots of hassle from 'lookie,lookie' men.!
The shops and the restaurants at the 'Lighthouse' are very nice, a bit expensive but worth a look, we went to the overpriced Aqualand, it is very tired and needs doing up, the food is very expensive, but fresh and tasty.,The pavement is rough and hurts your feet and could do with sweeping up and generally tidying up, wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: Rooms numbered 101 to 110 are in the sun all day long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    42
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
48
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sompting
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

Wow - we stayed there for 17 days at the end of June. Wonderful location and friendly staff - Juan, Angelica and Alexandro not to mention the cleaning staff who were incredible in the soaring heat!
We would definitely recommend this marvellous place - pools were lovely, gardens and facilities. We will return!
Lesley and Rick from Worthing West Sussex xx

Room Tip: All bungalows are quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed for 5 days 3 of us. Same as all the other reviews and more, really clean, quiet, relaxing, everything you need down to the bottle of water in the fridge waiting for us along with washing up liquid, cloths etc. so no need to get or bring them with you. So near to everything if you want to venture out, but without having to put up with noisy neighbours when you come back. Will definitely be back as could not find anything at all to complain about. :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

No point in re-stating all the good points already made by previous reviewers. The Dona Rosa is a class above what you'd ordinarily expect and stands out from the crowd in terms of cleanliness, facilities, location etc.

Spent six fabulous days lounging by the pool in the company of a (mainly) German & Scandinavian clientèle. Some young, some old, all respectful of each others entitlement to a relaxing holiday. House rules like keeping music down ( i.e. not audible much beyond your own terrace ) and coming and going quietly in the evenings were scrupulously adhered to. Suppers out on the terrace or drinks before heading off to one of the local restaurants were an absolute pleasure.

Seventh day ruined for virtually everybody by the arrival of a troupe of drunken Spaniards with learning difficulties, a ghetto-blaster and no qualms about subjecting the neighbourhood to their taste in music. ( It wasn't actually all bad, but, you know, I like to have a choice... )

ANYWAY, if we'd been staying more than one further night we'd have asked to move to the other half of the complex. The trouble would have been that I think that everybody else would have done too ;-) I wonder whether the management would have had the good sense to move them on...

Not as cheap as some of the bungalow complexes in the neighbourhood, but you get 24 hour air-con included in the price ( and that is charged by meters @ 1Euro per 90 minutes nearby ) a generous supply of good quality towels (but bring your own beach/pool towel along) a fairly well equipped kitchen (bring your own chef's knife if you want anything sharp!)

The bus stop @ the Commercial Centre CITA is a stone's throw away with an hourly service to / from the airport that's actually quicker than the communal transfer coaches that stop at every hotel along the way.

Room Tip: Rooms that back on to the street at the rear of the property are said to suffer from traffic noise a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martyn27_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
83 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We stayed for 10 days in the off-season and were very impressed by the location, cleanliness, calm, space of our accommodation and the efficiency of the staff. We had two large bedrooms and a fair-sized kitchen in a comfortable bungalow. The bungalows are sitated round the pool. What luxury to stap off the terrace directly into the water. Previously, we have stayed in hotels and were rather wary of self-catering holidays. However, the greater space and not being subject to strict hotel dining hours were a definite plus. Furthermore the accommodation is conveniently situated for the beach and there is wifi access throughout.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

We stayed in Dona Rosa Bungalows 5 days in the end of april 2012. We were 4 friends (27-36y). The bungalows are nice, 2 bedrooms (in total 4 single beds), kitchen, decent shower, own terrace, free wifi and clean swimming pool. Near to the beach (Dune de Maspalomas) and to the Yumbo Center (10 minutes walking), 2 minutes from supermarket and CITA center. There is also free parking. The only bad this was the bad smell from the bathroom... 70€ for night for 4 person!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dziuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We went to Bungalows Dona Rosa, booked with Travel Republic, the first 2 weeks in August last year. Flew RyanAir which we were dreading, but it was all good. We arranged our taxi transfer through Sky Transfers and that was perfect and only about 25 minutes transfer time.

We arrived at Dona Rosa evening time and were shown to our lovely villa. It couldn't have been more perfect. 2 bedrooms, separate little kitchen, comfortable lounge area (the settee can be used as a single bed if you take the back cushions off), and good bathroom. The villas are arranged in a 'figure 8' layout. The reception in in the middle and each side of the '8' has 20 villas which are around 2 pools. You can see this if you look on Google Earth. The villas are cleaned and beds made almost every day (i think there were 2 days of no maids) and you get clean towels and tea towels. Beds were changed once or twice through the holiday. (Take your own pool towels though).
The kitchen only has a 2 ring hob and a toaster and a microwave but this was perfectly adequate. BUT there is no kettle! You do get a coffee pot thing but they had no idea when I asked for a kettle! There's plenty of pots and pans though so we just boiled enough water in a saucepan for a couple of cups of tea every time. In fact is was quicker than waiting for a kettle to boil! The tap water was fine to boil for tea/coffee.
We quickly got our bearings and located the Cita Centre which was a 5 minute walk and has 2 supermarkets, loads of shops and loads of restaurants.
After stocking up (expensive euro though) we turned in for the night.

We had 14 nights of beautiful weather, about 28 degrees every day. None of that awful Lanzarote wind here! You open your patio door onto your own patio which has a table and 4 chairs. 10 strides from the patio and you're in the pool! Wonderful.
This is just what we love. Each villa has 3 sunbeds allocated to it, with the villa number written on them so no-one can take them. There are also lots of 'free' yellow sunbeds for anyone, we had 4 sunbeds all holiday.
It is so perfect for families. You can take drinks, food etc out to your sunbed. Its so close you can talk through the kitchen window!
Our villa was at the deep end of the pool so it was great for our 2 kids (age 13 & 7) for diving. It says no inflatables in the pool but everyone did! There's also a kids pool at the other end. All around the pool is astroturf which is lovely and soft to walk on but beware, it does get incredibly hot to walk on!

Out and about there's the Cita Centre I've mentioned, there's the Jumbo Centre which is a 15 minute walk away and all the beach restaurants 15 minutes the other way.
The Jumbo Centre is massive. It's full of restaurants and the usual tacky gift shops over 3 levels. Be aware, this is the gay capital and my kids eyes were well and truly opened by what they saw! There are also posters for 'late night clubs' everywhere with rather explicit names! In saying that, it's a great buzzing place.
The sand dunes are directly behind the Dona Rosa and they are huge. They get red hot so only attempt to walk on them early morning or in the evening! You walk along a promenade to get to the beach restaurants - there are loads. Mainly pizza, pasta, steak etc and 2 fab Chinese's where you can eat all you want for a really good price. Kids loved those. The only drawback here is you are constantly pestered by the waiters as you walk through, trying to get you into their restaurants. It becomes a real pain after a couple of visits and you feel like telling them to bog off!
The beach here has loads of sunbeds. They charge 2.50 euros per sunbed and 2.50 euros per umbrella. Red hot sand so a sunbed is a neccessity! We all prefer the pool though so we spent most of our time at the villa.

We went on a boat trip to see dolphins, eat lunch etc. A great day but it was expensive. The kids jumped in the sea off the boat, went on the banana boat but we didn't see dolphins!
The market is a 5 minute taxi drive away and sold the usual stuff. My son bought a 'rolex' but it doesn't work particularly well!
We went to the Go Carting, that was good. A small track but good fun.
Everywhere you need to get to is only a short taxi drive away. Most journeys cost no more than 5 euros so you really don't need to hire a car unless you fancy driving out into the island.

A word of warning - we were caught by a timeshare guy who gave out scratch cards. Being a sucker I got reeled in big time!! Amazingly I won(!!!) and we had to go to a 'wonderful resort' called Anfi Beach where we awould spend a great day using all their amenities. No mention of timeshare at this point. Free cab there and back. But my husband twigged and had the right hump that I'd agreed to go! We all piled in taxi on the promise of lots of food and a wonderful day. Even the cab driver agreed we were mugs! We got there, saw there was a tiny sandwich after a 2-3 hour grand tour and got the next cab back! You live and learn!!

Back to my title - No English! This is a very Spanish resort. My daughter made friends with a little girl next door who went to an English school so she could speak to us. We were told that the same families come here every year and spend the whole summer holiday here. They tend to live in the city so they all drive there. There were a few Dutch families and a few German families but more English would have made it perfect. Luckily my daughter became one of quite a gang of small kids but my older son had no-one to be with apart from us, so keep that in mind.

Dona Rosa Bungalows are very safe and secure. You enter the resort via locked gates which you get a key for. There is a back gate which is handy but they lock this at 7pm.
The reception sells basics: water, rolls, lollies etc and Miguel speaks reasonable English. The kids were made to feel really comfortable in there as they ran in & out and generally mucked around. There is a computer in there too which you pay a few euros to use.
The windows in the villas are quite high and they are double glazed with bars on the outside - fantastic security. We backed onto the carpark and this gets a bit noisy Friday/Saturday nights with the local teenagers. So we just closed our windows those nights and put the air conditioning on which was absolutely fine. The air conditioning is activated by a box on the wall which you just poke your key thing into and leave on.
The villa has loads of satellite tv channels but only 2 in English. BBC World news and a film channel showing old very 'mans' films like cowboys or Terminator! But you can get WiFi in the villa and around the pool so take your laptop or iphone and you'll be fine!

We found a beautiful restaurant upstairs in the Cita where the old chef cooks a flambe steak in front of you. Beautiful food and fabulous service. Only 8.50 euros for a big dinner. We went 3 times! He has a parrot that wanders out the front too!
We didn't bother with the water park as it's expensive so can't comment on that.
All in all a really lovely holiday and if you're looking for a central location, quite low key and relaxing and you're happy with your own company then this is for you.

Room Tip: They are all good, around the pool but try not to back onto the car park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jo_B_10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.1 mi away
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
Santa Monica Suites Hotel
#5 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#3 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bungalows Parque Romantico
Bungalows Parque Romantico
#34 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
0.8 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#10 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bungalows Dona Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bungalows Dona Rosa

Property: Bungalows Dona Rosa
Address: Avenida Alemania 23, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bungalows Dona Rosa 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the south coast of Gran Canaria, next to Playa del Inglés and its famous dunes, you will find Doña Rosa Bungalows. Its privileged location makes it an ideal destination for an unforgettable holiday. On one side of the Bungalows you have a relaxing and calm environment, with the sea and the dunes a stone's throw away, whilst on the other side you have at your disposal a shopping area with all the kinds of stores you might need (including pharmacies, restaurants, cafés, and supermarkets). Doña Rosa is a complex made up of 40 single story bungalows. Each bungalow contains two double rooms (or twin rooms), a bathroom with shower, air-conditioning, living room with 32" TV and satellite channels, telephone, sofa and armchairs, a fully-equipped kitchen, fridge, and terrace with its own outdoor furniture. Each bungalow comes with 3 outdoor chaise lounges (daybeds), a safe (at extra charge), and free Wi-Fi connection. Bungalows Doña Rosa also has bungalows especially adapted to guests with reduced mobility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bungalows Dona Rosa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bungalows Dona Rosa Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing