We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my eye opening experience of this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunprime Atlantic View
Ranked #8 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“my eye opening experience of this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

i was with my partner . the hotel was very nice ,rooms good,service was good aswell,but a big BUT didnt realise an adult hotel meant i had to be acceptable to the exhibitionism an over flambouyantness of gay an extrovert couples. the beach pool is like cat litter tray,which the local cats used.having said that the staff were lovely an helpful,food was also good.i met a lot of really nice people from kent, which were the only people that wanted to talk to us,who were there on there annirvesaries. an also disappointed with the clientle.we also think u could have done with an outside sitting area due to the air con not working ??? would i reccommend this to young couple like myself no.to my parents no because noone talks to you. found there is no atmosphere here an no entertainment for young couples,had it not been for the 10 people there my holiday would have been non eventful an bland

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank wesley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    371
    90
    16
    7
See reviews for
87
682
27
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent ,england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

On first impressions the hotel was fantastic, clean , modern,inviting .
however, on arriving on our very much deserved holiday with friends we soon realised we were not welcome !!.
There are 3 pools , one claiming to be a beach pool, yes it looked like a beach pool until you looked closer.
The beds around said pool are on shingle which i have to inform you the local cats use it as cat litter !!.
Also said pool which was the nearest to members of our parties rooms is known (we were informed) as the quiet pool.
As a large party of mid 40's - 50's adults we were slightly louder than the couples at this hotel, bearing in mind we are all professionals and not on a 18-30 we took it on board regarding the "quite pool" and started using the pool farthest away.
We were still made to think we were something one would scrap of a shoe!!!.
We made friends with an elderly group who assured us we were not loud or intimidating , surely if we were elderly people would not want to join us on every occasion .
The hotel is primarily for Gays and couples, which is not a problem for us as a few members of our group have Gay family members, my self included, but when sitting around the pool enjoying the sun and a well deserved holiday you do not expect to see two men laying on a sun bed described only as grinding their lower bodies together, we are all open minded but really !!!.
Also on another occasion whilst relaxing around the pool a man decided to parade him self on his balcony stark naked !!! again each to there own but the said man the decided the same eve in the bar area to pleasure his female companion on one of the sofa's in full view of people and in front of the elderly group we met earlier.
The hotel , food etc is very nice but be aware if you are in a group of more than a couple you will be victimised as we were so much so after one of our group being called homophobic , a joke really as she has a close family member who is gay !!! and then called something so bad i would not put on here , so not to offend ,thats when we asked our rep to move us to another hotel or get us flights home early.
Just to put any record straight to people or persons that may put comments on this site, we were not thrown out , removed or asked to leave this hotel (Mr_J_D197) It was totally our choice!!!!.
There is no air con in the bar area and so gets very hot & stuffy, and there is no outside seating as the hotel is next door to residential buildings even though there is a restaurant near the homes which can play music up to 1am, be aware if you like a night cap with your partner, spouse etc on your balcony u will be told to be quite and go to bed !!!!.
This hotel is not for groups of more than 2 people and not for people who are easily shocked.
We have travelled the world and have 3-4 holidays a year but i would not recommend this hotel to any one and we are grateful that are rep helped us move to a hotel where you were allowed to laugh and enjoy your holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank deena1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Ive just returned on the 27th of sept 2012. Spent 10 days at this wonderful hotel. On arrival, you get the wow factor and not to be dissapoint by any thing else either. Very clean, house keeping fantastic, staff polite, friendly and helpful, though reception staff could improve slightly.

Felt relaxed the whole time except for some ignorant people who were after 4 days removed from the hotel for upsetting guests. Oh the shame of being kicked out because you cant behave as adults. Anyhow, this is not to take away the beauty of this remarkable hotel. I will deffinetly be returning next year.

Big thank you to all the housekeeping, the bar staff and the team on reception.

See you all next year
Room 71 xxx

Room Tip: Yes go for the quieter end of the hotel the pool is to the left as you enter the hotel from the rece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mr_J_D197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed at Sunprime Sept 20 -27th. We had a third floor apartment which was very spacious, clean and pleasant with good air con. Balcony over the pool was lovely and a great place to have a drink before going out for dinner. Food was good quality and we always found something to eat. Choice was limited but given that the hotel is only 250ish rooms this is to be expected. Pool area is great and it was good to have no children running around. Cocktails in all inclusive was great. However restaurant, reception and bar area had no air con and even in Sept was difficult to deal with. Entertainment was poor, especially when it is the same person and songs 3 days of the week. This hotel needs an outside bar area, somewhere to chill in the evening - maybe remove the small pool with the decking opposite the supermarket.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at the Sunprime 11th- 25th September. On arrival at 8.00pm we checked in and were given our all inclusive wrist bands in order that we could get our evening meal.

We had requested three ground floor adjacent apartments which we got opposite the beach pool area and were pleasantly surprised when we went inside. Each room was very clean and provided enough space and facilities for two people although the kitchen area if you were self catering is less than adequate. There is only a two ring hob and a microwave. No oven or toaster but a filter coffee maker which seemed a bit redundant. There is also a kettle, a steam iron and ironing board and a hairdryer in the bathroom. The beds are extremely firm and the 2" mattress topper does little to help, and most nights our sleep was disturbed due to the lack of comfort. The maids cleaned the rooms every day and changed the sheets and towels whenever you requested it, although they did start quite early it never caused us a problem. The maids were outstanding. There is no bath in the apartments, only a wet room shower but it did the job. The sun beds around the pool are plentiful but not that comfortable due to a gap in the bed which causes back pain after a while.

The apartments have a very efficient air conditioning system which is great as everywhere else in the hotel it's never turned on. The restaurant, lounge bar and reception areas were oppressively hot, especially in the evening, but we deduced that this was deliberate to keep the all inclusive customer from spending too much time there. We found that you can ask for your drinks in a plastic cup and take them outside or back to your apartment but you cant remove food from the restaurant. We found the choice of food to be somewhat limited at certain meals although there was always something to eat. The main problem was the warming plates were either not on or turned down so low that everything was luke warm or cold. If you only ate salad you had a excellent choice. Breakfast was like most hotels in Europe, you had a choice of cold meats, lots of breads and the usual hot items which weren't unless you got them as soon as the chef put them out. The young woman cooking the eggs each day seemed to be reluctant to serve them until she had cleaned the griddle even if a queue had a formed. We should stress that we don't normally do hotel food and in general it was of an acceptable standard. The prime market next to the main pool and under the restaurant was fantastic for all inclusive guests. You can help yourself to sandwiches, baguettes, salads, soft drinks, beer, water, tea and coffee or ask the barman for wines and spirits. This service we thought was excellent.


The staff in the hotel were in the main very polite and helpful and the drinks supplied at the lounge bar were more than generous in size. They provide the most extensive range of drinks we have seen for all inclusive, including cocktails and liqueur coffees. The bar does get crowded at times but we never had a problem getting served. The seating in the bar area are large square sofas which were not the easiest thing to sit on as the cushions keep sliding off and are meant for younger people. There are small velour chairs which are much more practical.

The hotel is very isolated from everything and you have to get a cab or a bus even if you fancy a walk around the shops. The yumbo, Kasbah and cita shopping centres are not that good unless you want a bag. The cab fares are very reasonable but the buses which can be found by turning right out of the hotel entrance and walking about 500 yards are even cheaper and take you anywhere. The beach area is full of bars, restaurants and some shops but beware on arrival near the taxi rank for timeshare touts disguised as information centres with people trying to push scratch cards into your hand. If anyone approaches you don't be polite, tell them to get lost. They tend to target the older person.

We visited Puerto de mogan (by bus) and found it to be very pretty and picturesque. It was also where we booked our dolphin trip with a nice lady called Madeline on the quayside for the Multiaquatic boat. It cost 30 Euros each which included pick up and drop off to your hotel. The tour guide Mordoc was very entertaining and we saw loads of dolphins and a large whale. The Irish bar in mogan was very good with a nice pint of Guinness.

When in maspolomas we decided to do the camel safari which can be found near the sand dunes by the campo de golf on avenida oceania. It costs 12 Euros each and lasted for half an hour and was great fun. Maspalomas sand dunes are also a must visit but wear proper shoes as the sand gets very hot. Nice shopping in maspalomas with more up market designer shops than the rubbish sold in the centres in playa del ingles.

We must finish by saying that overall the hotel was to a high standard but could be improved by switching on the air-con in the public areas and keeping their food hotter. Just before we came home the hotel was visited by a group of Londoners who seemed to have no regard for anyone else with their constant shouting at 1 o clock in the morning and the hotel did nothing about this. Even after numerous complaints from one of their neighbours who had to endure personal abuse and cleaning up their mess the hotel did nothing until he insisted on being moved to another apartment which they agreed to do. If you are going to have security people in the hotel, use them.

Would we return to this hotel, No. Would we return to Playa del ingles, No. Would we return to gran canaria , yes but only to Puerto de mogan. Rather go back to Tenerife.

Room Tip: ask for block D opposite the beach pool. a ground floor apartment means you can keep popping back fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank openmindedEastLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and i along with friends (four other couples) arrived at the hotel about 9 in the evening in anticipation of a relaxing week with plenty of laughter and generally a good time!! First impressions...lovely clean hotel,beautiful pools and spacious apartments and friendly staff (well most of them)...as the all inclusive dinner finished at nine we were told we had been saved a plate of food as we were hungry so we were grateful for that! although thought nine was a bit early to shut up restaurant!...but generally first thoughts were so far so good....Day 2...our apartments overlooked what was known as the beach pool as there was shingle with beds on around one side of the pool but on closer inspection it was more like cat litter which we saw the local cats making good use of on several occasions!! We noticed we were the only group around the pool and that it was predominantly couples and didnt think much more of it..we had booked an adults only hotel thinking that we could let our hair down and not have to worry about offending parents with kids but what we hadnt realised is that it meant quiet hotel too!!! so we started to feel guilty about being noisy but the only place we could be lively was the bar in the evening which was made difficult by the fact there was no outside sitting area and bearing in mind that the evenings were hot and stuffy and we asked for the air conditioning to be turned on several times! the bar wasnt allowed to open the windows or doors as the hotel was situated next to some residential housing so at the end of the evening some of our group decided to have coffee on our balcony enjoying the late evening air and talking about the day!.when a security man approached our balcony and told us to be quiet and go to bed!!...shocked we felt like we were naughty kids on a school trip and had never experianced that before bearing in mind we were all well travelled and take 2 or 3 holidays a year!!..slightly amused we went to bed .Day 3...talking about the night before we were then told by another holiday maker that this was a quiet hotel and that we were staying in apartments outside the quiet pool!!..ok we thought well go and sit around the other pool at the other end of the hotel but were a bit miffed that we couldnt sit around the pool outside our apartments but no we thought we would be a bit respectful to the fact that we were a large group and it would be impossible for us to be quiet and besides we didnt want to be quiet..we were after all on holiday too!!..but from then on we were made to feel like we shouldnt be there and couldnt quite relax....resulting in us having to ask our rep to move us to another hotel!!....there were also other things going on in the hotel which we were not happy about and we had complained to our rep about a few days prior to us demanding we be moved!..definatley would not recommend this hotel to any of my friends and definatly not to any of my family!! So overall view lovely hotel...food was good and we did meet some lovely people there but definatly not a hotel for groups and the faint hearted!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessheim, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

The first impression of the hotel is very good, but if you are looking for a relaxing holiday pay attention to this:
The beds are extremely hard and not ment for a comfortable sleep. Ask for an extra soft top- mattress, that will help a lot.
The cleaning staff starts to clean (read: rebuild) the rooms at approx 8.00 am every day = no more time to sleep due to extremely much noise from the cleaning staff.
Remember that old concrete blocks do not insulate sound, so be prepared on a lot of sounds from the nearby rooms. It also feels like the doors are made of card board.
The Hotel offer all inclusive !! Which means that a lot of guests will take the advantage of an open bar, and therefore expect a lot of noisy persons in the evenings – especially from outside evening smokers.
No kids present at the hotel, but remember adults can also be annoying.

The positive:
Very clean rooms and area. Highly service minded staff and a very good restaurant. The food was excellent.
Nice location, not too close to the highway and main city street.
Very nice pool area, and almost always sun beds available.

Room Tip: Make sure you do NOT get a room close to the elevator. The elevator has a bell which ring every tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bjorn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.8 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,400 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#21 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#4 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
#11 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
0.4 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#10 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunprime Atlantic View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunprime Atlantic View

Property: Sunprime Atlantic View
Address: Avda de Gran Canaria 48, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Sunprime Atlantic View Suites & Spa)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#6 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunprime Atlantic View 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunprime Atlantic View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunprime Atlantic View Suites And Spa
Sunprime Atlantic View Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Sunprime Atlantic View Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing