We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst holiday ever!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunprime Atlantic View
Ranked #11 of 135 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Arrived at this over 18s hotel for a 10day stay, and got a shock! Hotel room had dirty marks on the white walls, bathroom installation very poor standard. Second night here, a group of young 20 something lads checked into the room next door and their mates checked in on the other side of us. For 3 nights in a row after that all we heard in the early hours of the morning was the lads shouting to each other, and banging on each others door, and moving furniture around their rooms, and playing loud music! I complained to reception who told me that i had to report it when the incidents were happening by using the room telephone only to realize that the phone did not work! My husband had to go down to reception on 4 occasions to explain that the phone wasnt working, only for the reception to be adamant that it was. When they realized the phone wasnt working, a replacement was not offered. The food here is cheap rubbish, very greasy, strange taste, even the cornflakes were bland!! All inclusive is strictly time limited, soft drinks were only fizzy, no still soft drinks. The food leaves you very constipated and bloated if you are used to quality food. On one of the occasions were the lads had us up at 2am, i was woken again by a couple at 6am having a screaming row down below. When i booked a adult only hotel, i did not expect young lads in their early 20s or "rift raft" to be here. This was our honeymoon, which was a very unpleasant stay. Has put me off coming abroad for a lifetime!!!

Room Tip: Check hotel before you book, brochure said that shops and beach were closer to the hotel than they a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 657 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2012

I got back on Saturday evening after spending 10 days at Sunprime with my boyfriend. We were a bit wary as we were usnure that the pictures we had previously seen would not match up to the actual place, but we were worried over nothing. The hotel itself is very nice, modern and in a nice discreet nook away from other hotels. Our room was lovely, we had our own kitchen area which was fully equipped with everything you could possibly need, modern styled bedroom, flat screen tv and a lovely view of the beach style pool from our balcony. We were given free bath robes and slippers on our beds too :). Your room is cleaned as often as you'd like, we opted for every other day and sometimes we'd only pop out for half hour and by the time we returned our room was immaculate. The TV caters mainly for the German guests which is understandable as there is a lot more of them than English people, although we did get radio 1 which was great for when we were getting ready to go out in the evening. The staff were incredibly friendly, i don't think i saw a single annoyance or frown the whole time we were there and they were always incredibly happy to help with anything you needed, this was both bar staff and reception staff. There are three pools around the hotel, even though we stuck to the pool closest to our room but the others looked wonderful too and there was a daily aerobics class in one of the bigger pools. There are plenty of sunbeds around the resort so no need to wake up at 5am to claim one for yourself, which i've done before in other places. The food was never a dissapointment, with something new everyday including meats, vegetarian dishes, salads and there was always fresh fruit. It was only really breakfast which stayed the same but you can't really do anything different with breakfasts so thats no bother.
The bar was our favourite part really, there was a wide selection of drinks to choose from on the all inclusive lists, our favourites were definitely the strawberry daquiries and moquitos. Entertainment was decent, three days a week there is an Irish man singing acoustic and he was absolutely brilliant, me and my boyfriend adored his music and made sure we were there when we new it was his evening to perform, plus we are both in our early 20's so if we enjoyed it then he must cater to all ages :P. Other than him there was a Spanish guy on the guitar who i found rather boring, he milked his performance a bit too much but after a few drinks and a few games of pool his music certainly wasn't unwelcome. There's a shop within the hotel where you can stock your fridge up with snacks and drinks, however literally two minutes from the hotel is a Spa which is much cheaper, so i'd recommend going there first.
The beach isn't that close to the hotel, apparently there is definitely a free shuttle bus that can take you daily to the beach but we always walked as it only took about 20 mins to half hour each time, plus it was nice to explore the surroundings. We didn't really find anywhere outside of the hotel to eat when we fancied a change of scenery from the all inclusive buffet, there was a pizza hut about 10 minutes away but other than that we didn't find any pretty places which is odd but on this side of the Island there didn't appear to be many shops or restaraunts as it was more of a beach place.
Overall I had a wonderful 10 days and would definitely go back to Sunprime again as it really was wonderful and i would recommend it to anyone the same age or above as it caters to everyone's fancy.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor, which was perfect as we didn't get any bugs and there was a beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MunchkinM1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Fantastic, modern and clean hotel. Superb friendly, helpful staff who went out of their way to assist and ensure a comfortable stay. We stayed all inclusive and thought the food was outstanding. Lots of choice and of high quality. Loved the fact this complex is adult only and think this is a real selling point as well as no annoying entertianment staff annoying you throughout the day and evening. The evening entertainment is pretty standard and very repetative but the branded soft drinks and local alcohol made the evening fly past. The professional cocktails also went down a treat. The hotel is a ten minute (max) walk to the Yumbo and twenty minute walk to the beach although free coach service is very helpful.We would definitely return to this hotel without question!

Room Tip: All of the apartments overlook one of the four pools and all catch the sun for the majority of the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DavidBish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Arrived at Sunprime after a nice short journey from the airport and was very impressed.
The rooms are bright and modern and the beds are very comfortable! We also had a flat screen tv and couch area which was a nice aspect to the room. Not many english speaking channels but they did have radio 1! Self catering facilities were very good- kettle, microwave, fridge/freezer- the maids even wash up for you! We had a big terrace with our own sunloungers and this was a great suntrap! (if you can handle the heat!) The maids were brillant- they may wake you up early but they would always come back later if you wanted them too!
The pool area was fantastic- four pools all good size and even your very own sandy area incase the beach doesnt take your fancy! It was also never an issue getting a pair of sunloungers! The in-house shop was also very handy and there is a spar round the corner for a bit more variety.
The spa was very expensive- (90 euros for a pedicure!) but you could use the sauna and jacuzzi for 5 euros if you wanted to get out the sun for a bit.
One of the best things was the adult only policy- very peaceful around the pool and just what you want for a relaxing time. The nightlife/restaurants aren't far away either but a local taxi is just 3euros and they are all metered so cant rip you off!
The reception rooms and restaurant were also to a very high standard- we ate the buffet for lunch a few times and thought it had a good selection.
We throughly enjoyed our stay here and would reccommend to everyone!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Tallu22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Stayed here for 10 nights with my girlfriend and we were very happy with everything this hotel provided . Very clean all the time as cleaners always working so rooms , pools , facilities always very clean . Staff in general are very good in particular young lad at reception , cleaners and bar staff . We had no compaints at all . Food was fine for an all inclusive and drinks at bar were very good as it had good selection . Was never too busy so you didnt have to wait too long for a drink .
My girlfriend loved the strawberry daiquiri's and reccomends them highly !
We had room on 2nd floor and asked for one with bigger balcony which reception staff sorted for us and it was very good .went out few times to break up the holiday and would suggest the lighthouse area at maspolomas beach as has lovely restaurants . Wee tip the shop in hotel is good but spar 2mins away is cheaper . This is an adults only hotel so really good for quiet relaxing break . Real mix of people from scottish , english , german , dutch , swedish . Everyone in our opinion were fine . Entertainment each night bit varied but 1 guy who sang and played his guitar was excellent . You wont be dissapointed if you stay here ......

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

This hotel was perfect for us, As an adult only hotel there was no children making it less stressful.

The accommodation, facilities, service and staff were great. The selection of drinks on all exclusive was brilliant and worth the extra cost for all inclusive as was not much more than sc.

The quality of food was not as good as I have experienced in other ai nor was it as traditionally Spanish as I would have hoped but with less than 3 euros in a taxi to yumbo centre there was plenty of good value restaurants nearby and worth a couple of nights out - at least for a meal. Well recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SLH_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Just returned home from a fab week All Inclusive at the Sunprime. We arrived early afternoon, very fast check in with maps of the resort and information on how close we were to everything.
Our room was on the 4th floor, it was lovely, extremely clean, very very big. Rooms were cleaned everyday, you chose when you wanted fresh towels and bedding. the balcony was a very good size with comfortable seating with a lovely view of the pools.

Pool area was kept really clean, as were the toilets. Drinks during the day were at the Sunprime Supermarket where you could help yourself to tea, coffee, water, beer & soft drinks. Food was also available there in as pre-packed sandwiches, salads etc.

Food in general was very good, to a high standard everyday. A good selection of salad, cheeses, meat & desserts.
The All Inclusive bar ended at 11:30pm, they had a great selection of cocktails available.

Would recommend anyway to go here, it was a lovely week and will be returning next year guaranteed!

Room Tip: Balconys are larger with sunbeds on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Tiger55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa del Ingles hotels
0.8 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,622 reviews
1 mi away
Bohemia Suites & Spa
Bohemia Suites & Spa
#2 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#9 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,695 reviews
0.2 mi away
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
HD Parque Cristobal Gran Canaria
#25 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,871 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Riu Don Miguel
Hotel Riu Don Miguel
#15 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunprime Atlantic View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunprime Atlantic View

Address: Avda de Gran Canaria 48, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain (Formerly Sunprime Atlantic View Suites & Spa)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#6 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range: $118 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sunprime Atlantic View 4.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunprime Atlantic View is a popular adults only hotel with a good location in Playa del Inglés, close to a few of Gran Canaria's best golf courses. The hotel has a lovely pool area with three heated pools and offers a variety of activities if you want an active holiday. You can also indulge yourself with a spa treatment or enjoy a good meal at the restaurant followed by a cocktail at the bar. Sunprime Atlantic View is the perfect option if you want to treat yourself to a restful and enjoyable holiday in beautiful surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunprime Atlantic View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunprime Atlantic View Suites And Spa
Sunprime Atlantic View Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Sunprime Atlantic View Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing