We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific tango!”
Review of Tango Tapas

Tango Tapas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Tapas and Love
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stumbled upon this place by accident when driving around the resort - so glad we found it. The outside eating area is really ambient and the inside is very rustic.

We ordered a variety of dishes between four and no one dish was negative in the slightest. The dishes come out one by one once prepared in a traditional tapas style. Beautifully cooked meats and freshly prepared salads/veg. Price is fairly expensive compared to average prices of restaurant's in the area but well worth it. The staff are very friendly and 2 of the waitress's are stunning. We went back on the last night and ordered even more food than before and we weren't disappointed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alk3ste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanTango, Owner at Tango Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2016

Gracias amigos !! And welcome back. Pls tell all your friends when visiting Gran Canaria !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (665)
There are newer reviews for Tango Tapas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 181 of 665 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

I eat out almost every day and rarely have to complain about food. With all the good reviews about Tango Tapas, I feel it's only fair to say how disappointed I was with this restaurant.

The entrecote steak looked good but was tough and tasteless - I had to send it back, the first time in years. The mojo pepper sauce (a local specialty) was shop-bought and bland whilst the stuffed peppers were nothing like what they should be (ie. creamy, smooth and delicious), not thin, vinegary and bland. I gave up after two failed courses and went to eat somewhere else.

It's fine for tourists who want cocktails and a tacky 70s live singer, but not if you're looking for authentic tasty Spanish tapas. The prices are high for Spanish standards considering the low quality of the food and they even charge you for tap water. I suspect that many of the tipsy Swedish tourists there don't really care that much.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Gastroshark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

This is the best restaurant in Playa. Excellent food and great atmosphere. We come back every year and pray it is still there and it never fails to disappoint. GO GO GO

Thank Bardwellion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanTango, Owner at Tango Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2016

Gracias amigos !! And welcome back. Pls tell all your friends when visiting Gran Canaria !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Only restaurant on the area that we could find that served a good variety of tapas. Great experience, really nice staff. Great food, Mojitos were excellent, I think it was the owner lady who made those. Loved the old guy with the guitar. Table reservation is a must.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanTango, Owner at Tango Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2016

Gracias amigos !! And welcome back. Pls tell all your friends when visiting Gran Canaria !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

From start to finish an excellent evening. The service was friendly and helpful, the food was excellent, the prices were very good and the ambiance upbeat.
A good range on the menu served in a well chosen order, the house red was very good and not over priced, a singer playing traditional songs. Great for couples or families or big groups.
A good sized free drink of our choice at the end (not just a little shot) was a nice bonus.
Couldn't recommend enough!

Thank sgrids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanTango, Owner at Tango Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2016

Gracias amigos !! And welcome back. Pls tell all your friends when visiting Gran Canaria !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tango Tapas also viewed

Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 

Been to Tango Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing