We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, quality food, good value”
Review of Tango Tapas

Tango Tapas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Tapas and Love
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Visit 15th November 2013, arrived 2015, 3 persons

Restaurant is set slightly back from the road and comprises of a charming inside seating area and a airy, yet pretty outside area, both have bars, making service always easy and efficient.

Ordering is easy, you are given a menu and a pen and advised how many dishes to order for the size of your party, (for 3 of us 6-8 dishes) all you do is selected your dishes and circle the size you want to order.

We ordered 7 dishes between us, and the highlights included chicken crockets, octopus, lamb in herbs, chicken kebabs, chorizo, all were excellent and came at intervals making the meal an experience rather than just dinner.
BTW. 7 dishes, we are all good eaters and at the end all felt content.

We drank the house wine, 2 bottles over the meal and 1 of our party had two beers.
Can recommend the house red, very good

Staff were very attentive, checked everything was ok, told us what each of the dishes were and cleared the empty plates, but most of all, made us feel very welcome.

Total bill came to €78, (€26 per head)

It is now the following morning as I write this, the first thing we say to one another, "Wasn't dinner good last night, will be going back there!"

1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanTango, Owner at Tango Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2016

Gracias amigos !! And welcome back. Pls tell all your friends when visiting Gran Canaria !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (675)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

198 - 202 of 675 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

After reading a lot of restaurant reviews on tripadvisor, we really wanted to visit Wapa Tapa in the yumbo center. But they were closed the entire vacation. So we asked the hotelstaff, of where to go for good tapas.

They recommended Tango Tapas, and we went here one evening, and were meet by a sweet swedish waitress and a good atmosphere.

They recommend about 6 tapas for 2 people to share. And you get a menu, where you set a ring of what you want. The selection is good, very good.

The tapas then arrive to the table by the time it gets done, so you eat for a long time, and everytime you done, a new dish comes in. The dishes were beautiful decorated and extremely tasty.

We went here twice, and can warmly recommend Tango Tapas - both for prices, selection, quality and atmosphere.

2  Thank WeaverDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanTango, Owner at Tango Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2016

Gracias amigos !! And welcome back. Pls tell all your friends when visiting Gran Canaria !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I visited this restaurant after reading reviews on trip advisor and it was also reccomended to us by our hotel rep.

We got a taxi, then we realised it was a 3 minute walk from our hotel (sunprime)

Walking up to the restaurant, it seemed pretty basic. A few tables skattered about and not set (no table cloths etc.) and the lighting was a bit too bright.

We were greeted by one of the staff members who gave us a peice of paper an told us to circle the tapas we wanted. We thought this was a really good idea!

We ordered: bread & olives, canarian potatos, serrano ham, calamares, chorizo in garlic, marinated steak and chicken skewers

All the food came out at different times which was a bit annoying but i suppose this is the spanish way.

The food was all lovely and we really enjoyed although they do use a bit too much garlic and became a bit sickening. I especially loved the calamares.

I would defo reccommend and i would defo return!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GlasgowSugarCandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanTango, Owner at Tango Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2016

Muchas gracias amigos and welcome back !! Pls tell all our friends when visiting Gran Canaria !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Very lovely staff and authentic looking restaurant. Sangria was nice but food was disappointing. Very small menu to choose from and food was not very exciting. I've had better tapas in England.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank Sez567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

One of the best restaurant experiences I have had in a very very long time. I have eaten in some of the best restaurants in London, what this place lacks in glitz and glamour it more than makes up for in tremendously simple tapas, coupled with good service and great mojitos.

For me it's the staff that make this place so great, with many other restaurants in the resort I would encourage you to find this place and devour the delightful food. All in all I visited 3 times during my stay, each time leaving a little bit more tipsy after up to 4 mojitos....in 1 sitting! :)

Food wise top notch, from the lovely serrano ham to get things going. Other lovely dishes are chunky prawns wrapped in bacon, cheesy jalapenos, small squid and pork in garlic.

However, take note the prize dish of this venue is the chorizo in garlic....devine is the only way I can describe it. If there is 2 or 3 of you, I would encourage you to order 1 each.

Cracking cocktails, amazing service.....a little bit off track, so please go out of your way to find this place and you won't be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank WillOneill_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JuanTango, Owner at Tango Tapas, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2016

Gracias amigos !! And welcome back. Pls tell all your friends when visiting Gran Canaria !!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tango Tapas also viewed

Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 

Been to Tango Tapas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing