We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Nice”
Review of Guarapo II

Guarapo II
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really Nice”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Really nice food, lovely outdoor seating and very friendly and helpful staff. Would definitely go there again if I were to visit the area again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kayleighlb1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    110
    43
    23
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Guarapo II Tropical Center, view over the ocean”
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Guarapo II is located at Tropical Center and is overviewing the ocean. They accept serving breakfast dishes at night which is convenient when you travel with difficult people not to say teenager. The Cesar salad was just ok, nothing to be thrilled about... :-(

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Newenvies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Used to be fantastic ...... but now..... not so good”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My wife and I first started visiting Guarapo 11 in 2004 and each time we stayed at our apartment we visited the rerstaurant at least three times a week. It is a very big restaurant with fantastic views over the sea to the Dunes of Maspalomas. The staff were always welcoming, friendly and professional, especial Head Waiter Raphael who supervised the other staff extremely well. Our latest visit was our first for 2½ yrs due to illness and sadly everything has changed except the menu. Raphael has moved to another restaurant in the same group and the staff are nowhere near as attentive with two or three waiters employed just to tout the boulevade to entice diners in. The food too is not as good as previously.
But the main difference is the 'entertainment'. On our previous visits we endured giant screens showing football, football, football. We often speculated to ourselves that the restaurant could do with some live entertainment such as a trio or duo playing modern and older classics. Perhaps we should have been more careful what we wished for. There is now 'entertainment' of sorts. A rather elderly gentleman who mainly plays music via computer and occasionally sings to a backing track. He has frequent breaks (fortunately) leaving the music to play, only to return and stand on stage clapping in time to the music. His efforts we supplemented later in the evening by another act. Over three nights we visited we saw a Chinese juggling duo, a Flamenco act and a conjurer. The size of the place and the fact there is no raised stage for the performers, it is difficult to see properly. We decided enough was enough for us and did not visit again during our stay. We will be going to Gran Canaria again in July and will see if anything has improved.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank summerhouse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff.”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Although we were all inclusive this year we still visited Guarapo because we loved it last year. The food is really good and if you want an English breakfast then this is the place. The staff are very friendly although some of their English isn't very good. Drinks are reasonable and if you like sport they show plenty here.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank shellstyring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballater
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“great find for lunchtime meal”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

After looking a various places nearby this one was most welcoming and the food already on the tables looked good.We were not let down, great lunchtime food at a resonable price.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theo15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guarapo II also viewed

San Bartolome de Tirajana, Gran Canaria
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
Playa del Ingles, Maspalomas
 

Been to Guarapo II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing