We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apartamentos MarinaSol
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in San Agustin
Reviewed April 15, 2012

Just returned from the Marinasol after spending 4 days with my 21 year old daughter. As has already been said the area is not ideal but we found the 15 minute walk to San Agustin very pleasant and did it every night before we got a taxi into Playa Del Ingles.
The apartments were very spacious and modern. The rooms were spotless and we were brought a toaster when we asked at reception. We booked into the spa on a rainy morning and found it to be very good with modern facilities.The pool area was nice with plenty beds and parasols.
The reception staff were very pleasant and helpfull. All in all a good standard of hotel for the money. We would not return due to the quiet location.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms have no balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mikey-Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 250 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2012

The advertisement for this aparthotel looked promising; spa facilities, adult only, fully fitted kitchen with modern applicances, wellness centre, cafeteria 100metres from the beach ocean views.
we booked an ocean view with baclony and arrived in early february 2012 with temperatures in low 20's. what we were to experience aithiong the first 12 hours meant that we relocated to a nearby hotel.
The Aparthotel and it's pool are smaller than one might imagine from advertisements. The reception area is small and you start at this point to get a fell that all might not be what you expect. the reception staff were friendly enough
the apartment we were given was on the third floor at the far end of the complex. This actually afforded us two balconies.
the 'fully fitted, modern kitchen' consisted of two hobs and a fridge. not microwave, toaster, cooker, kettle (although one was provided on request). little or nothing in the way of cooking utensils, certainly not sufficient for the basics for a week's self catering.
the two balconies received only an hour of sunlight inm the moring before going into shade by 9am, This resulted in cool uncomfortable room and balconies. Most apartmetns were int he shade by 1pm. The heating didn't respond making for a cold night on hard beds with little bedding provided. the room was depressing but clean. bathroom pretty good.
i took awalk around the complex and found it too quiet. The Spa and fitness area was in darkness, unstaffed and not being used. i was latterly informed that there was a 22 euro charge for 2 hours use but with hardly any staff about i wondered if they could adequately resource it. the Jacuzzi pool was cold and it was altogether very uninviting. the cafetria area was devoid of life during the day and i think i saw the light on in it for half an hour in the evening. No atmosphere at all.
The pool temperature seemed ok for the time of year and people albeit very few were swimming due to the shade perhaps. The infrastructure of the pool looked jaded with flakey decor.
the roof top sun terrace was spacius but lacking in atmosphere and the rear of it was actually at road level taking away some of the privacy.Mattrasses were not permitted so the plastic sunbeds would make for uncomfortable sunbathing.
dull, depressing no atmosphere or staff.
The beach was certainly more than 100metres and requried access via alleys and stairways and not particularly inviting as the sands at nearby San Augustin.

Room Tip: Get a room at the reception end of the appartments to ensure maximum amount of sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank dandjaxb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We arrived after a very brief transfer bus journey from the airport, the driver dropped us at the bottom of the hill and told us the hotel was 100m away. The walk uphill was more like 600m and steep so not good for people who have limited ability. The reception was welcoming and we were given a room key even though we arrived mid morning. The apartment was very clean, spacious and well equipped. There was also a good bathroom with large shower cubicle and mirror and powerful hairdryer.

The bedroom had ample storage and large wardrobe with mirrors, bedside lights, twin beds and cabinets. There was also a safe. The lounge had suite, coffee table and sideboard and TV but it had mainly Spanish & German channels. There are 3 English speaking news channels. The kitchen had adequate utensils, 2 ring hob, and fridge. We requested a kettle and this was given to us free of charge. The apartment was cleaned daily and the sheets were changed twice during a weeks stay. The actual hotel facilities could be improved, particularly the restaurant and the roof top terrace. We decided to pay 10 euro for an all you can eat buffet in the restaurant. We went down at 7.00pm and were met by a very miserable, unhelpful waiter who looked as though he didn't want to be there. The atmosphere was none existent and the food was luke warm. There was no starters and only ice cream and jelly for dessert.

The pool area had lots of sun loungers and these were never reserved by others, however, the pool area was in complete shade by mid afternoon and you could then move to the sun terrace. This terrace again lacked atmosphere, there was a rule that no mattresses were allowed and a numb backside ensued.

The area is primarily German with restaurants to suit at very high prices, we walked to the centre of San Augustin about 20 mins walk and ate there a couple of times. We also went to the Spar and bought food etc, this is a 10-15 min walk, head uphill behind the hotel and follow the path. The bus stop is at the bottom of the hill and buses are frequent.

Overall, a very pleasant hotel with excellent apartments but there were only a few expensive German restaurants locally .

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank supascuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

The hotel itself is comfortable, with large rooms – we had a one-bedroom apartment with a balcony with a sea view. There is a swimming pool, which is essential in view of the location. There is also a sun deck on the roof of the hotel, though it is very windy at certain times of the year. There is also a fitness spa, with gym, sauna, Jacuzzi etc, but there is a charge for using these facilities. The hotel is located in a residential area, on a high rocky part of the coast, about a kilometre from the centre of San Augustin. Because of the nature of the terrain, there is no road around the hotel which does not involve a steep uphill or downhill route. The nearest sandy beach is about 5 minutes walk downhill at Playa del Aguila. The large sandy beach at San Augustin is a 20 minute walk away – with a couple of steep descents (uphill coming back!).
There are 5 or 6 restaurants (with bars) within a five minute walk – though most were closed at lunchtime, possibly as it was not high season. There are lots of bars and restaurants at San Augustin, while Playa del Ingles is about 5km away – a cheap taxi ride.
The hotel is very quiet, in a quiet area – not a place for a buzzy nightlife, but good for a relaxing holiday, if you don’t mind a good deal of walking.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 06D123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We staied there one night. Rooms are big and clean. Staff is very nice and helpful. Better if you ask a room at the second floor or more so you can see the romantic S. Augustin bay. Some improvement must be made in the quality of breakfast since it is very poor and badly presented. The hotel is nice but a more qualitative b-fast would assure it a better rate and longer stays.

Room Tip: Room on the second floor or more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AliEnrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My friends recommended this hotel cause they visited it last summer (2011), two couples. Now I've confirmed all their comments and I want to give the hotel a high score according my own experience. Good breakfast, best Spa Centre, relaxing, quite, clean, free call for taxis, and most important is really good staff. Of course, room, pool, reception, views, .. are ok.

Room Tip: As rooms are sound isolated, I think you can enjoy all them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ESTEBAN V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed here 02/2011.
very quite location.
spotlessly clean.
might need a car.
Playa del Aguila is an excellent beach for strong swimmers, (Five minute walk)

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dublin_IrelandJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Agustin
0.7 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,932 reviews
3 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#9 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,726 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Folias
Hotel Folias
#10 of 19 in San Agustin
328 reviews
25.1 mi away
RK Hotel El Cabo
RK Hotel El Cabo
#2 of 8 in Agaete
173 reviews
3 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#19 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos MarinaSol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos MarinaSol

Address: C/ Los Pinos, esquina Los Geranios s/n, 35100 San Agustin, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range: $65 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos MarinaSol 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Apartments MarinaSol & Aqua Spa, a comfortable apartment resort with spa on the beach of Morro Besudo, lying between Playa Aguila and San Agustin. Designed to the detail, it provides a new concept of holidays and wellbeing. Visit our new restaurant "Restaurante El Molino". Enjoy the comfort of an apartment in Gran Canaria, with spa and fitness centre, at an incredible price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Apartamentos MarinaSol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Marinasol San Agustin
Marinasol
Aparthotel Marinasol Hotel San Agustin
Apartamentos MarinaSol San Agustin, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing