We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Agustin Beach Club
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in San Agustin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We spent 10 days in this wonderful hotel which is situated right on the beach front. The hotel is very well maintained, very clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful but not intrusive. The pool area is large with plenty of sun beds so no need to reserve beds which is discouraged and the rule adhered to. The hotel is situated in a very quiet part of the island but the bus service from here is excellent so it is easy to see the island without hiring a car if one wishes. It is also possible to arrange trips via the hotel. From the hotel it is possible to walk for miles on the beach or on the promenade. All beaches are clean and surrounding areas well maintained. The beaches also have life guards. All in all a lovely place to stay and would certainly stay in this hotel again

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 310 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2012

A great hotel with excellent food, friendly staff and a great location on the beach. The rooms are very comfortable and the pool area is sheltered from the wind with glass walls that allow you a good view of the ocean. The holtel is great if you are looking for a quite loation and yet the hotel is only a 30 minute walk along the sea front to the resort of Playa des Ingles and the sand dunes.

This was our second trip to the Beach Resort and will denifitely return again.

Room Tip: Request a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stefan_m58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

The hotel is nice, especially the pool area which has walls around protecting from the wind, and the rooms are very Northern European, with high standard and maintenance. The location is a bit of Playa del Ingles but that we just liked and it gave us good opportunity for long walks.

The biggest challenge with this hotel is the varying degree of service, from Excellent to really bad.

One dinner we had the best steak ever with super service, next lunch they tried to serve us old food, completely ignoring what we ordered. We did not have to pay for the dish, but it ruined our lunch and day since we got a bit sick from the the old seafood, which they did not even bother to reheat.

Same goes for the bars, one day the guy went out of his way to help us, next day the lady did not want to serve us (and other we talked to) coffee.

Break fast same thing, some days good service with smiles someday the just wanted to get rid of everyone and were awful.

Reception, same some excellent helpful and also some who could not even bother to great when we came in.

The only things that were constantly bad was the bed, and the breakfast food was partly really bad and partly OK. I would rate it a 2 for quality and 4 for variety, compared other 4 star I stayed at.

Room Tip: Not on bottom floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tiger751023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We spent a marvellous week at this gem of a hotel, situated right next to the beach on the lovely long flat sea front of San Agustin, which is one of the quieter and very nice resorts, with its sandy beaches, attended by lifeguards. The hotel is small and intimate compared to many on this tourist coast of Gran Canaria. The 50+ rooms are very comfortable, with balcony, and for the most part overlook the sea. The bedrooms and bathrooms are quite traditionally Spanish and charming. All the amenities are up to date, although the shower is an over-bath,not power shower. The staff are very helpful and attentive, with the reception desk always happy to help with information. The food is fine-dining in the evening and there is an extensive wine list. The menu is small but select on the half-board deal, with, in general two starters, two main courses and two desserts, but don't let this put you off as the food is really nice and of a very high standard. If you really can't find anything to your liking, they are happy to do you an alternative. Breakfast is an extensive buffet and caters for all tastes for different nationalities. The waiters and waitresses were extremely efficient, charming and polite. The swimming pools looked fabulous and clean, and the pool area and gardens were kept very neat and tidy. There is wifi in the lobby and internet availability in the rooms, and each room has a safe and fridge. The airport is about 30 minutes from San Agustin and other local resorts of interest can be reached by bus at a very reasonable price. The No.1 bus takes you to Puerto di Mogan (approx 1 hour) and the No.30 will take you speedily to Las Palmas (about 45 minutes). The bus stops are only 5 minutes walk from the hotel in both directions. There is a shopping centre, again,only 5 minutes walk from the hotel up a slight slope, where there is a supermarket and some restaurants. We loved the whole resort and seafront for its accessibility and we shall not hesitate to return there in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the reception floor or the floor above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RAP&FMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

The hotel is nicely situated at the beach with a lovely pool and in general good food. The staff is most of the time friendly and helpfull and tried their best to make you feel at home.
We stayed with 4 adults and a 2 year old in two standard room for a week in October. The rooms were well decorated but rather small - everything worked, but I find it strange to be charged a fee to use the roomsafe. The garden and pool area are well laid out and look very nice - there were always enough sunbeds, if required. The major downside here was that the pool was not heated and with a water temperature of well below 20 degrees it was there mainly for decorative purposes. We were on half-board, so had breakfast (excellent to Spanish standards) and dinner at the hotel. The food quality was very inconsistent, ranging from excellent to inedible. Twice there was a buffet/bbq, which was good. The other times it was a choice menu or a firm menu. We had the impression that the kitchen staff were trying too difficult dishes and at times got in timing trouble or overcooked some dishes dramatically. Pity, as the waiters - an interesting mix of spanish guys and foreign ladies - did a great job.
Also a pity that the menu was not very Spanish, so missed the local delicacies and spices.
It was very windy during our stay - so the beach was mainly deserted. The main San Agustin beach, however, was better protected, so we ventured to that one. Fortunately the seawater (at 20 degrees) was slightly warmer than the pool.
Check out proccess was a bit cumbersom as staff refused to refund us the security money you had to give for the towels (I am also not used to having to give money, although refundable, for towels in a hotel - they must have had bad experiences in the past). But it was later all settled in the final bill, but it required several trips up and down from room to reception.
So, overall not a bad experience - but smallish rooms, inconsistent food quality, very cold pool, but in general very helpfull and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank expat_sealover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The hotel is located in a quiet place perfect for swimming, walks along the promenade and watching stars at night. If you are looking for nightlife, a taxi can take you to the centre of Playa del Inglés in less than 10 minutes (the fare is 4 euro) at any time. But San Augustin is much more beautiful, and the atmosphere is so quite and relaxing that we kept coming back here after we moved to Playa del Inglés.

The staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly, and pretty efficient. The choice of meals is not very wide, but the food itself is very good indeed. The interior of the hotel is decorated with taste, creating a nice atmosphere. Nothing special to say about the rooms: everything was up to our expectations.The only disadvantage is rather slow Internet connection, especially wireless around the pool. The pool is also not very large. Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evgeny_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

This is a beautiful 60 room hotel, located beside a sandy beach, with a promenade stretching to Maspalomas. It has been rebuilt to look like a ship and with Delfin, the Hotel Manager, at the helm it is a very smooth ride. All the staff work very hard and and cannot do enough for you - a special thanks to Tino. The food is presented exquisitely; we were there for a fortnight on half board, and the evening meal wasn't repeated once. Dinner was waiter service but breakfast, and the twice a week barbecue, was buffet.

The setting is lovely and peaceful - if you want noise and activity, then go to Playa del Ingles for the evening. There is a nice Jaccuzi just behind the two swimming pools, which was never crowded, and nice and warm. There are two saunas, a health spa and some exercise machines. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel, and certainly hope to return in the near future.

If anyone would like any more details, please feel free to contact me.

Room Tip: They are all sea views, but probably best seen from the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Agustin
0.3 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,934 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dunas Don Gregory
Dunas Don Gregory
#4 of 19 in San Agustin
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#6 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,324 reviews
0.4 mi away
IFA Beach Hotel
IFA Beach Hotel
#3 of 19 in San Agustin
674 reviews
11.1 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Agustin Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Agustin Beach Club

Address: Plaza de los Cocoteros 2 | Gran Canaria Las Palmas, 35100 San Agustin, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Agustin
#3 Spa Hotel in San Agustin
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Agustin
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range: $125 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Agustin Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Agustin Beach Club is a superior 4 star hotel located on the beachfront in a quiet area of San Agustin. This exclusive hotel is beautifully furnished to create the ambience of a ship cruise and the majority of the 57 perfectly equipped rooms have a sea view. Between other facilities and services are the open reception 24 hours, free WIFI access in the reception area, different bars, principal restaurant, restaurant a la carte, a Wellness center and Room service (limited timetable). The hotel features a good range of on-site facilities to ensure an unforgettable stay for all who visit such as a small gym, sauna and a fresh water outdoor jacuzzi. Outside, there are 2 open-air swimming pools (one fresh water and other sea water) which are surrounded by terraces, making it an ideal place to soak up the sun, while the restaurant and the bars provide delicious cuisine, exotic cocktails and a relaxed atmosphere. The en suite guest rooms are spacious and well appointed with all of the modern amenities you would expect of a hotel of its class, including air conditioning and satellite TV. The airport is 25 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your San Agustin Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Augustin Beach Club Hotel San Agustin
San Augustin Beach Hotel
San Agustin Beach Club Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing