We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in IFA Beach”
Review of IFA Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
IFA Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in San Agustin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great time in IFA Beach”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

We had amazing time in IFA Beach hotel. Location, value, rooms were perfect. Just a little minus for service in the restaurant, many times we get our drinks after we finished dinner and there was no specific waiter sering us during same evening ( who can I give tip to?) One of the hotel's description was non smoking and people can smoke just in designeted area, unfortunately people were smoking on pool's area where deckchairs are very close to each other and also on the restaurant's terrace during serving meals. I prefer smelling food not a ciggarette's smoke.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
10 Thank Eliza N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    256
    79
    16
    15
See reviews for
52
415
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
derby uk
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

My husband and I had a very different experience at this hotel to a recent review. We were treated well by all our German and Dutch co- holiday makers. No one picked on us or pointed us out. Most people thought we were German.
I was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Finances meant we had to look for a reasonably priced holiday. My expectations were in check, but I was so pleased.
Location is excellent, right on the beach, nice and quiet, just what we needed.
Our room was compact, recently refurbished and modern. Superb bathroom. Our bed was very hard, my only gripe really. When asked, reception did arrange for a soft topper to be put on our mattresses. These helped a little. Great air on, always a comfortable temperature. Loved the wonderful Corallium soap and gel. Hairdryer blasted my mop dry very quickly.
Entertainment was limp and unexciting, not a problem for us though.
Food, it's buffet and you will always find some repetition. However, apart from the salad and fruit, I never ate a repeat course in the two weeks in the hotel. I enjoyed it all.
Pool area was beautiful. Pools warm and gorgeous.
There is a supermarket on site and just a few more shops nearby.
I recommend Lund Car Rentals up by Hyperdino, they made us a good deal. We toured the beautiful island. If you do, consider a good size engine, the mountains are very high.
Just a few bars nearby, we found Balcon of San Agustin best!
Would we return? In a flash!

Room Tip: We had the cheapest room, still good and out of the heat of the sun for much of a day, making it ple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jackbry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, General Manager at IFA Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor and choosing our hotel for you stay in the island.

We do thank you for you nice words regarding our service and facilities and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Lovely little hotel, quite basic but lovely and clean. Nice pools, very close to the beach! All inclusive was great to help yourself to food and drink all day. Food and pool umbrellas a little limited

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, General Manager at IFA Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor and having chosen our hotel for your holidays.

We would like to thank you for your kind words about our hotel and inform you that you note regarding the food and umbrellas in the pool area will be forwarded to the deparments in charge to consider it for future improvements.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel and remain.

Kind regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 18, 2014

this hotel is in a lovely location, it has a lovely pool area..but u have to be very quiet as not to offend anyone..over 60 who is having 40 winks on a lounger. The food is bland and always the same..

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, General Manager at IFA Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor and having chosen our hotel for your recent stay.

We would like to apologize for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your holiday.
We would also like to inform you that our PR Department is gladly to help you regarding any suggestion or concern.

Thank you again for your comments, we remain.

Best regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Lovely Hotel nice food some of the staff ok. Hotel caters for mostly German and Dutch we were the only English in the Hotel and were very aware of this (one man actually pointing at us and stating YOU the only English in the Hotel) we met two lovely couples John & Lorraine, Nina & Ben what a group of livesavers, Poor Ben & Nina were picked on and told to sit elsewhere as they were English!!!!!!!
We tried to extend our room but were told there was nothing available for us ???
When you check out at 12.00 they cut your band from you so you then have to buy any food and drink we always go all inclusive and have kept the band until we have left the Resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view, very noisy at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank debbie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, General Manager at IFA Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your review on TripAdvisor and having chosen our hotel for your recent holidays.

We are very sorry for those inconveniences that you may have experienced during your stay.
We kindly inform you that you can always contact our PR service regarding any concern and they will gladly assist you.

Nevertheless, we would like to point out that room late check-out is subject to availability and, unfortunately, it cannot be guaranteed. Besides, we would also like to inform you that our All Inclusive service ends at 12 noon on your check-out day as you can see in the information provided by our reception desk upon check-in and in our website.

We thank you again for your comments, which will help us improve our service, and look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Overall I had a nice experience at this hotel. The staff was friendly and the hotel was beautiful with perfect location not too far from Las Palmas. However, the food was in such poor quality that I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to eat at this hotel. I'm sure they reused the food.. I could also not understand why the pool had to be closed at 18 o'clock when there is a Jacuzzi. Isn't a jacuzzi supposed to be enjoyed in the evening? Strange with these rules as the majority of people were elderly people.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank Sanna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

If TripAdvisor had something in between "average" and "very good" I would pick that to describe this hotel. Just got back from "Little Sweden" (I believe maybe 70% of the guests were Swedish during our stay there and the village of San Agustin is also very Swedish). I speak Swedish so that wasn't a problem. Swedes are a good bunch to spend a week with - quiet, clean, no fighting over food in restaurant and so on.

We had paid a little extra for a room facing the pool, meaning it was also facing the ocean. That was nice. The room was clean and neat but quite small. And there was absolutely no place to keep anyhing except in two cupboards. Our room got crammed with those little things you keep aroud you and there was nowhere to put them. For instance we had only one small nightstand and one tiny sofa table. Poor cleaning lady!

We had half pension since we hate All inclusive-food and have really bad experiences of that from the Canary Islands. We had a decent breakfast every day and either lunch or dinner, which was....not tasty. Boring. It's so easy to eiher walk or take the bus to Playa del Inglés (1,40€ by bus or 6€ taxi) in the evening to have a good meal at some decent restaurant. We recommend you choose half pension too if you don't want to loose your will to live because of the hotel food.

The pool area was the nicest we've seen in the Canary Islands. Lush, green, flowers, bushes, palm trees.. Great! And the ocean is right outside. Also great! It's nice to take a walk along the beach as well.

The area is quiet so don't expect any nightlife. But as I said - there's Playa del Inglés. We thought that staying in nice and quiet San Augustin just by the ocean, combining it with walks or bus rides to nearby Inglés for food and shopping, was perfect. Wouldn't want to stay at Inglés. Hopelessly crammed and dirty.

So finally the pros and cons list:
+ Nice staff
+ Nice pool area
+ Nice, quiet surroundings
+ By the ocean
+ Clean rooms
+ Small fridge in room
+ Seemed to be enough sunbeds
+ Playa del Inglés is close by when you get bored

- Only one heated pool, the other one which is bigger and better is freeezing
- Old sunbeds, many of them partly broken.
- The tiles in the pool area ("the floor") is in desperate need of cleaning. A man with a regular household mop doesn't make it clean, he just moves the dirt around a little. Get him a machine! Yuk. (all week we watched some stains by the pool. Red wine? BLOOD?! Never did find out, neither did they disappear... spooky...)
- Nowhere to keep your stuff in the room. Shelves needed.
- Food - boring. But this goes for all similar hotels.
-Drop the All inclusive. There are better beers and wines in the local Supermarket and very cheap.
- Expensive safetybox. Should be free or cost max. 5€ (costs around 15)
- Pool towels cost 10€ and they only give you 5€ back. Low class.
- Some Spanish and German (!? Unfair!) Tv-channels are free. They take charges for other common channels that we've been watching for free at other hotels in the Canary Islands.

-Shame on you Hotel for all your tricks to collect money from guests that have already paid a good bit for their stay!!! It's very cheap of you and I encourage all of you going there to not use any services they try to charge you extra for (except the safety box which is kind of necessary, though expensive).

Room Tip: If you like an ocean view pay extra for a room facing the pool. If you want evening sun you need to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fridolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Hotel Manager at IFA Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
First of all we would like to thank you very much for having chosen the Hotel IFA Beach for your recent stay inGran Canaria.

We are very satisfied that your overall valuation of your stay has been positive.

Thank you also for your constructive criticism, which help us to improve our services every day.
We would love to welcome you back soon in our Hotel and remain

With best regards
Mariola Barragán
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Agustin
0.2 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#6 of 19 in San Agustin
1,677 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
2.2 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
IFA Faro Hotel
IFA Faro Hotel
#7 of 216 in Maspalomas
739 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
#12 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,216 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Agustin Beach Club
San Agustin Beach Club
#9 of 19 in San Agustin
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Beach Hotel

Property: IFA Beach Hotel
Address: Calle Los Jazmines 25, 35100 San Agustin, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Agustin
#2 Green Hotel in San Agustin
#6 Family Hotel in San Agustin
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — IFA Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your IFA Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifa Beach San Agustin
Hotel Ifa Beach
IFA Beach Hotel San Agustin, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing