We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”
Review of IFA Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
IFA Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in San Agustin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Friendly and quiet hotel at a high level, right on the beach. purity, no problems, excellent food and a great selection. During our stay with the family but children should feel that there is little entertainment for them - offering animators still the same. Evening programs at the hotel were not very imaginative, but it was the ability to reach close to Playa de ingles, where there are bars, discos. We finally took the kids to Palmitos Park and Zoo to the island of Tenerife, where they saw whales, dolphins and seals. We were all satisfied. (Mai, 2010)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Director General at IFA Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear customer,
We thank you for your comments, which help us to constantly improve and offer better service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 639 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a three star hotel with direct access to the beach in san Augustin .It has a very nice pool area ideal for a relaxing holiday .The area is very quiet but with good public transport services to Playa Del Ingles and the Meloneras area .The hotel is three star with small bedrooms ,no toliteries in bathroom and no hair dryer .The food is average with limited variety . The staff are very friendly and helpful.I though that overall it was good value for what we paid .If going again I would request a double room at the front of the hotel facing the sea directly .

Room Tip: Request a double room at front of hotel facing the sea .These rooms are very nice .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maturecoupleIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Director General at IFA Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear guest
We thank you for your positive evaluation , which allows us to improve every day.
We take note of your suggestions and continue working to satisfy our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Hotel: good service (in particular: excellent service in the restaurant and hotel bar & very thorough and professional chamber staff); good, clean amenities (in particular: hotel pool with Jacuzzi/water massage beds; free Wi-Fi in the bar area; use of courtesy room on departure (when departing after 12:00 check out time); supermarket on the premises); location (right on the beach, perfect for watching sunsets). Rooms: we had a room on the 2nd floor with view of the car park. The hotel was full during our stay so it was not possible (we asked reception on a number of occasions) to move us to a room with a sea view. On the plus side, the room was big, clean; bed linen was changed three times during our two week stay & towels daily. Room safe is available at an additional cost but we have found this to be standard practice at Spanish/Canarian hotels irrespective of the number of stars a hotel holds. Beds were comfortable/not soft. No kettle facilities in the room so don’t forget the travel kettle if you are not on full board/all inclusive. No toiletries in the bathroom but you can buy these locally – there is a supermarket on the hotel premises; a Spar within a 3 min walk or a supermarket across the road from the hotel (this one located near Swedish church & Rocco hospital appears to offer good choices and vfm). Clientele: mainly German (not surprising as this hotel appears – internal advertising – to be strongly affiliated to the German Neckermann travel agency), followed closely by the Swedes. Very few other nationalities when we were there. Everyone was extremely friendly, though best to brush up on your German a bit beforehand for best results 
Food: we stayed on half board. Both breakfast and evening meals contained lots of choices; something for everyone. I found the soups were great: in particular pumpkin soup deserves a mention! Choice of fish & meat was good as well: during our stay we had grilled salmon; tuna; prawns; perch; chicken; lamb; pork chops; ribs; beef steak. There was always a delicious rice dish. From local dishes, we enjoyed in particular the papas arrugadas with mojo sauce and pimientos de padron.
Resort: St Agustin is very quiet, best for mature folk; there are minimal entertainment facilities, and as such this resort is not a good fit for families with children or young people who are looking for a good time/clubs/bars etc.; definitely a nice quiet retreat if you need to get away from a hectic lifestyle & want to relax on the beach (a blue flag beach). There is lots of amazing fauna and flora to explore near the hotel and further afield. The lady at the local information centre (2 min walk from the hotel) is extremely helpful and a repository of knowledge about the island; how to get around it & what to see. If you want to use a Thelasso Spa, there is an excellent one in the Gloria hotel (a 10 minute walk a bit uphill); EUR23 per person.

Room Tip: The hotel appears very busy so if you are hoping for a sea view room best to book this/pay for such...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Monipest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Director General at IFA Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear guest
We thank you for your positive evaluation which allows us to improve every day.
We take note of your suggestions and continue working to satisfy our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Just returned from IFA Beach hotel. Had a lovely time. The hotel was very clean. The staff were very polite and helpful. The food was plentiful and was off a very good standard. The hotel is situated on the beach and is in a quiet resort, ideal for getting away from it all. The evening entertainment was good for 3 out of the 6 nights I stayed there. The beds were a little too hard,but the staff changed the mattresses after I had mentioned it to the guys on reception. This was my first visit to Gran Canaria and I will definitely go back to the IFA Beach at some point.
This hotel is only a 3 star with 5 star staff. I booked with "on the Beach". The whole package was great value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Director General at IFA Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear guest
We thank you for your positive evaluation , which allows us to improve every day.
We take note of your suggestions and continue working to satisfy our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Me and my partner have just returned from a lovely 2 weeks trip to San Agustin, staying at the IFA Beach hotel.

The rooms were clean and fresh and were cleaned daily. We had a balcony that had a sea view and also got the sun in the afternoon which gave us alittle more sunbathing time after the sun had moved off the pool area. The bathroom was spacious and also clean however for the whole two weeks we didn't have a single shower where the water pressure and temperature were constant. This seemed to be worst around the peak times of people using the shower i.e. breakfast time and just before dinner in the evening. Sometimes the pressure would reduce to almost a trickle and the water would go icy cold followed by a sudden burst of high pressure with hot water. We found that it was best to wait till alittle after the dining room opened when the water pressure was alittle better. The rooms were quietish but there seemed to be alot of guests in surrounding rooms that thought it was ok to slam their doors early in the morning and late at night and our next door neighbours slammed thier wardrobe doors constantly. Dampners on the doors would be a very good idea!!!! Guests would also walk past the door shouting and talking loudly, but this was a problem with the guests rather than the hotel itself. There also wasn't much storage space, only a wardrobe. Other than these problems the room was very pleasant. Generally the hotel was quiet as 90% of guest are over 50 years of age.

The pool area was immaculate and a very pleasant area to chill out and enjoy the sun. We struggled to get a sunbed in the sun for the first couple of days, as there are alot of trees and permantley fixed parasols in the pool area which create alot of shade, however the presence of these trees added to the chilled out atmoshere of the pool area and we were glad of them when looking at the other hotel grounds which I would describe as concrete holes. The reason for struggling to get a sunbed in the sun was due to the fact that people 'reserved' their sunbeds in the mornings knowing which ones were the best. This was despite a 'no reservation of sunbeds' policy which was NOT enforced. After a couple of days we decided to join them and started reserving our sunbeds at about 8 in the morning. My partner went down at 8 one morning and counted 42 towels on sunbeds. The majority of guests in the hotel are German can I just add!!!!!!!!!!!!! I don't mind reserving of sunbeds so much if they are going to be used, but some had towels on which the guests didn't use for hours at a time. In this instance their towels should be removed. But anyways, reserve your sunbeds early. Who cares if the managment don't?? The pool area at night looked beautiful as the lighting was perfect. It really is the best thing about the hotel. It was great chilling out in the hotel bar by the pool.

The food was ok, however I thought it got a but samey after a while. I must admit I was looking forward to getting home and having a good Sunday lunch. The breakfasts were good though abit unusal. One morning they were serving peas and carrots (?) and some white sausage things that looked so unappetising they nearly put me off my food. You could get toast, meats, cheese, cereal, coffee, tea (not the best) and a variety of different fruit. One night I got chicken and it was still pink in the middle. As I'm 4 months pregnant this was not good, so check the meat before you put it on your plate. The atmosphere could be alittle chaotic, grow eyes in the back of your head and don't walk out from your table without checking your blind spot!!! Don't bother trying to form a queue either, just go for it otherwise you'll be waiting all day for a cup of coffee.

On the whole the hotel was lovely. The staff are attentive and plentiful and are always on hand to help. Be aware of all the little extras though when it comes to staying at the hotel. For example; it costs 26 euros to hire a safe for 2 weeks, 20 euros to hire two towels (5 euros each just to hire them + 5 euros each as a deposit), which you get back at the end of your stay, but make sure you tell them. They seemed to 'forget' when we checked out. If you want to replace the towels it will cost 1 euro per towel, you have to pay for English speaking tv channels. We watched BBC news for 2 weeks (the only English speaking channel). You also have to pay for internet access; 6 euros a day (I think) which I thought was abit steep. The location of the hotel was perfect. Close to a bus stop where you can catch buses all round the island. Top tip; don't use the suoermarket in the hotel grounds. Use the one by the bus stop; it is about 50% cheaper. You could buy 5 litres of water for 1 euro. It cost 2 euros in the hotel supermarket. Also if you get approched by a woman offering you a scratch card walk away. It is a scam. I won the 'star prize' which would have involved me and my partner getting into a taxi there and then to collect it. We wised up and walked away but after getting back we researched it and it is a total scam; stories of people being whisked away to the opposite of the island, feeling pressured to pay thousands of pounds for timeshares etc.

On the whole a great hotel just be aware of afew things and it'll be even better. Great for couples who want some peace and quiet. Ladies if you are pregnant and want a holiday before the baby arrives this hotel is for you. Quiet, clean and every young couple were expecting. We realised we'd chosen well after noticing this. Avoid if you are wanting a more lively time.

Room Tip: rooms on the top floor are quieter. You don't have people walking around above your head. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank courts186478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Director General at IFA Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear guest
We thank you for your positive evaluation , which allows us to improve every day.
We take note of your suggestions and continue working to satisfy our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

A hotel absolutely perfect for couples who want quiet and refreshing days together. The hotel is situated only fifty (?) metres from the beach, where you can also walk the promenade for miles and miles. Beautiful surroundings!

The staff service was absolutely excellent, especially the countless waiters/waitresses who do everything to make your breakfast and dinner (if you like) a pleasant one. Truly excellent!!!

Room: Very clean, refurnished, sea view from the balcony. I would have preferred, though, to have perhaps some more space and a shower shelf where you can put your shampoo :) Too, you might be disturbed in your sleep if the neighbourinig room has occupants walking on high heel shoes... (Ours left after the first day, fortunately)

All in all : A hotel which I can recommend and which is good value for your money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesGatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Director General at IFA Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear guest
We thank you for your positive evaluation, which allows us to improve every day.
We take note of your suggestions and continue working to satisfy our guests

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We spent a week at this hotel in December 2012, and we were all very happy with our stay. Our rooms were excellent. The food was delicate, and we looked forward to every meal. I have a weakness for Caffe Latte, and they had a reallly good Caffe Latte at the lunch restaurant by the pool. The staff was friendly in every aspect. In fact, the most friendly staff we have ever met. We are all (7 people) very happy with our stay. Everything was also clean and nice. Best place we have ever been... We had the best holiday ever... Wheather was also good...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carina999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Agustin
0.2 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,837 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
2.2 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
IFA Faro Hotel
IFA Faro Hotel
#12 of 217 in Maspalomas
790 reviews
0.4 mi away
San Agustin Beach Club
San Agustin Beach Club
#9 of 19 in San Agustin
300 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dunas Don Gregory
Dunas Don Gregory
#4 of 19 in San Agustin
982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Beach Hotel

Address: Calle Los Jazmines 25, 35100 San Agustin, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Agustin
#2 Green Hotel in San Agustin
#6 Family Hotel in San Agustin
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range: $92 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — IFA Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your IFA Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifa Beach San Agustin
Hotel Ifa Beach
IFA Beach Hotel San Agustin, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing