We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been here twice, want to go again for sure!”
Review of IFA Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
IFA Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in San Agustin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 9, 2012

I have come here twice so far and plan on going again! The hotel is located very nicely in San Agustin directly at the beach and you can walk along the beach on the promenade to Playa del Ingles. It is in a quiet area so if you want the hustle and bustle, go somewhere else! The beach is really nice although it was always to cold to swim when I was there. The rooms are kind of basic but I still really liked them, comfy beds with a little balcony. You could pay a few Euros extra and rent a beach towel for the entire time - same with a little fridge in the room. The bus stop to go to Las Palmas or Arguineguin was only a few minutes away and there was also a little Spar supermarket very close to the hotel to buy drinks and snacks for the room.

There were always more "older" then younger people there so it wasn't filled with children hence more relaxing as well. The staff was very nice and helpful too!

I loved the breakfast with a wide selection of things and always something special which changed every day - churros and hot chocolate or crepes e.g. The coffee wasn't great though so I did not drink that more than once ;) Dinner was nice too with a wide selection of meat, fish and side dishes and great deserts including ice cream!

Definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TravelQueen1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (625)
There are newer reviews for IFA Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 625 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2012

We stayed here for New Year and our first impression of this Hotel was WOW! We were really impressed! And this impression stayed with us for the whole holiday!
It is a high quality modern building with large clean rooms, good size and clean bathroom/toilet areas. The room was cleaned every day with the request that if you want the towels cleaned leave them in the bath. We were half board and the restaurant was large with a good selection of foods set out on four to five severs. Breakfast 8 -10 had cold meats and cheese with various salads, hot meats and veg including scrambled eggs and beans ect, cereals, and fruits with various yoghurts, Dinner 6 -10 had salads and cold meats, veg, cheeses and sauces, hot vegs and braded meats and breaded fish, and hot placed with chef cooking meats and sometimes fish to order, more vegs, pizza's and chips, lots and lots of cakes and ice creams to chose all that are lovely. All the staff where first class, polite and helpful. There are two pools and two whirlpools all set out in a clean nice environment. In the evening there was at a bar at the bottom of the complex where you can sit relax with the usual drinks including cocktails and free entertainment, which was ok. This hotel is next to the beach which is a small bay which this time if the year was quite with only residential properties plus one other hotel, the properties are expensive to rent or buy and this makes this area special with a few restaurants. You can walk to Playa del Ingles is 5 euros by Taxi and 30 min walk and bus stop is outside that are easily used to explore the island.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colin0908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Booked this hotel quite randomly really as I needed to go to San Agustin to sort out some personal matters and it proved a really good choice. Very pleasant surroundings around the hotel - lots of trees and greenery, really nice to look at.
The reception area is very spacious and the staff extremely helpful, I needed directions to places probably a bit different to those they are normally asked about eg a cemetary and they couldn't have done any more to help me.
The room was lovely, there were 3 sort of areas to it, a bathroom, sleeping area and a sitting room part, also a balcony. Breakfast was included and there was a huge range to choose from.
The hotel grounds are very nice, lots of trees, a pool with a bar/ restaurant and plenty of sunbeds. A gate at the back leads straight onto the beach. You can go for long walks along the promenades that go round the edge of the island.
There are several bus stops nearby where you can get buses to Las Palmas or Maspalomas etc. There was also live entertainment at the weekends in the hotel, also a useful little shop in the courtyard.
If I had to return to San Agustin I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kathy184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Hi All,

the hotel is very pleasant from outside it looks like a 5 star, inside it is a 3 star indeed.
Rooms are very basic with a tiny TV. Dont forget to take a towel and shower gel.
You can obviously rent a towel but You have to pay for it.

Food : very good but go for a all inclusive option, if You dont You will have to pay 6£ per lunch and 15£ per dinner per person ( drinks not included).

If You want to buy a food in hotel itis quite expensive comparing to prices on the strip and in city centre.

Buffee is very good with a variety of products.

Language : german and spanish, we have been only couple speaking english. reception is struggling with english and the other staff as well. It is better to communicate in german as 90% of the customers are a retired germans.

The average age was over 60 years old!!! so it is a good quite place.

regarding the town, oit is rather cheap. You can rent a car starting from 9£ per day for Vauxhall corsa.

Coffee in town costs between 1-1.20£, meal - pizza 6-7£, paella-12£.
Good restauratn is EL Capitano - we have had a paella for 2 over there and they speak english.

There is a lot of market in the town, mostly ralph lauren clother, leather and other goods that You can nuy very cheap, however they are fake probably.

Beach is around 150 meters from hotel, you have to pay 7£ per day per deckchairs on the beach.
Weather was superb - 25 to 30 degrees in the middle of December.

Have a good Holiday

Room Tip: ask for a balcony because it has a seaview (meerblick in german)
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rafal E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2011

We were pleasantly suprised at the quality of this 3 star hotel. The reception staff were very professional and the wating staff curtious and efficient. The location was great as the hotel pools and bar area lead naturally onto a quiet beach (at the time we were there anyway). Going half board was a great option and at £250 per person for a week during half term holidays. The food way surpassed any other 3 star hotels that we have stayed in and whilst you did need to be selective over the meat dishes the salads and fresh fruit options were excellent.
Notes of cautions: For us only hearing one other set of english voices in a week was a real bonus; for others it might not be (80% German and SAGA plus some!). It was very quiet at night which suited us. Beds are very firm and there is no hair dryer.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank simoncoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2010

First of all impresions were not great when we arrived at this hotel around 10pm after being traveling from 9am that morning, because of the man behind reception. We were the only couple there but he stood as spoke to his friend and made us feel like we were being ignored. When we got to our room, it was ok sized, had a table and chair in the corner of the room which was handy. The balcony was good, you could see to the beach. Bathroom ok, just what you would expect, small but clean. No air con in our room so we had to sleep with balcony door open, which did not bother us but the bin men came around 5 in the morning which did wake us. It was a basicaly a german hotel, no other british couples that we came across. Food looked great, but it was so bland, no taste to anything. The pool was the highlight of this hotel, there were 2 large pools and a jacuzzi. We spent all our time here, there was music and a bar. The hotel was nice looking and it did have a little shop which was handy for juice, magazine's ect. There were around 5 stray cats roaming around too which were sweet. The area was quiet, only a few resturants dotted around. There were busses to maspalomas, but I prefered to take a taxi as it was so much quicker and cost around 5 euros each way.
I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marina_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

This just about sums this place up.
Lovely grounds. Rooms are very basic. Don't forget your hairdryer, and your shower gel/ shampoo. We've always had these supplied.
Plenty of food. Very samey ,. Fabulous icecream. Great to take small children, if you don't want to spend any money. Long way to the beach.149 steps. Nothing down there when you get there.
About 1 hours walk to Playas Inglis

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fatfudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Agustin
0.2 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,794 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
2.2 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
San Agustin Beach Club
San Agustin Beach Club
#9 of 19 in San Agustin
296 reviews
4.3 mi away
IFA Faro Hotel
IFA Faro Hotel
#11 of 216 in Maspalomas
777 reviews
2.4 mi away
MUR Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
MUR Hotel Neptuno Gran Canaria
#11 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IFA Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Beach Hotel

Address: Calle Los Jazmines 25, 35100 San Agustin, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Agustin
#2 Green Hotel in San Agustin
#6 Family Hotel in San Agustin
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range: $104 - $329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — IFA Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your IFA Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifa Beach San Agustin
Hotel Ifa Beach
IFA Beach Hotel San Agustin, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing