We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melia Tamarindos
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rocas Rojas(San Agustin)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Folias Aparthotel(San Agustin)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunsuites Carolina(San Agustin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Dunas Don Gregory(San Agustin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
    Reviews (2,066)
    Filter reviews
    2,066 results
    Traveler rating
    823
    768
    315
    92
    68
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    823
    768
    315
    92
    68
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewslevel loungesea viewpillow menupool areagran canariafive star hotelhalf boardmini barevening buffetbit dateddirect access to the beachjunior suitestandard roomaqua aerobicsa la carte restaurantreception staffwinter sun
    Filter
    Updating list...
    451 - 456 of 2,066 reviews
    Reviewed February 2, 2014

    Let me get this straight: I know the stars of the hotel tells nothing about the attitude and helpfulness of it's workers, but in a real five stars hotel also service is top of the class.

    In a real five stars hotel a bellboy comes outside the hotel to greet incoming guests and carries their luggages without guests having to ask for it.

    In a real five stars hotel you don't see shirtless men walking around the reception area.

    In a real five stars hotel someone comes to ask you what you want to drink during your dinner as soon as you sit down.

    In a real five stars hotel the hotel guests don't reservate the sunbeds by the pool at 7:40 AM, and then go to have a breakfast.

    In a real five stars hotel you don't hear everything what happens in the neighboring room while you are in your room.

    In a real five stars hotel if the gym opens 6 AM in the morninng, there is also fresh towels and water to drink 6 AM in the morning.

    In a real five stars hotel the receptionist doesn't try to fool you to give money what they actually should pay you.

    In a real five stars hotel you can sleep when you want, not after the noisy program in the night-club one floor below your room has ended.

    In a real five stars hotel the hotel workers know the words like 'Thank You' 'Please' and 'We are sorry', and they also use them to make their guests feel important and taken care of.

    In a real five stars hotel the hotel workers know other languages than german.

    In a real five stars hotel there are some movie-channels in television.

    In a real five stars hotel's breakfast Mr. Payne gets his milk from the same table where he get's his tea from, he don't have to walk 20 metres to get milk from the cereal-table.

    In a real five stars hotel the bacon is not made a day earlier and only warmed for the breakfast, then served as a dry beaf-jerky.

    In a real five stars hotel they clean your room before they give it to you. Also the rings made by a former guests drinking glas on the bedside table.

    Room Tip: As high seaside as possible to get away from the noise coming from downstairs & streets.
    • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    6  Thank MrPayne
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

    Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:

    Thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We are very concerned about the points described on it and you can believe they are all being seriously taken into account. We constantly put efforts in education of our staff, trying to minimise misunderstandings and to increase communication with our guests. We apologize should our efforts have not been entirely successful on some occasions. If there is anything we can do to meet your expectations during your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us directly; we will do our best in order to fulfil your expectations. Warm regards from Gran Canaria.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 31, 2014

    We had an amazing stay here. The hotel is well maintained and cleaned - after reading previous reviews I expected it to be somewhat shabby or dated but didn't find it so. There is marble and granite everywhere which wears well and lends a high quality feel. The bar and lounge area near the dining room were very dark during the day however which meant the hotel didn't really have a nice indoor public refuge from windy weather.
    The waiting staff are happy, friendly and super-efficient - if you dropped something a replacement was whizzed to you before you'd picked it up - and the bar staff quite funny. There was more choice at the breakfast and dinner buffets than I've ever seen, and more emphasis on freshly cooked items at dinner than the usual trays of stews. There were lovely pizzas from a proper pizza oven at the Italian counter, and sliced fresh fruit and baked goods out of an oven at breakfast and a chef cooking omelettes and fried eggs etc. The sports staff conducting the daytime activities were again very spirited and motivational from what we saw.
    The area was peaceful and higher-end with some bars and restaurants around, but the cheaper and livelier areas are only a short bus or taxi ride, or pleasant beach walk away for a change of scene. As usual, getting into the Atlantic was a terrifying prospect, but we did manage a sea swim in the sheltered bay at the sophisticated, small resort of Puerto di Mogan after a walk on an unused road along the coast there. Although the hotel is well served by buses, we hired a car and bought Rambling Roger's walking guide and experienced some very different terrains and wonderful views all around the island. Although distances aren't vast from this hotel, even by car travel is generally slow due to the winding inland roads so we didn't end up fitting in as much as we would have liked but still had time to laze by the pool as well most days.
    My only niggles were the extremely uncomfortable backs of the chairs in the dining room, the lack of a larger-sized bottle of water on the menu for better value drinking at meal times, and the disappointing gym (the equipment was largely home gym-style and so some of it a bit rickety, the running machines were beyond me to operate, and there was no sign of any air conditioning facility). We opted for an inland view room given that we weren't likely to be in the room much during daylight to see the sea, but I did find the nearby main road to be too noisy and had some disturbed nights even with ear plugs in.
    But it's definitely a hotel and an island I'll be visiting again, but with a more peaceful seaview room next time.

    Room Tip: Don't choose an inland view if you're bothered by traffic noise.
    • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank AllyMcBally
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

    Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:

    Thank you very much for posting a review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at our Hotel. We highly appreciate your positive valuation and comments. It is a pleasure for us to hear that you fully enjoyed your holidays with us and specially relished the friendliness of our staff and the peaceful atmosphere. We take note of your comments regarding the chairs in the dinning room and the gym. We agree with you, the rooms to the sea-front are the beloved ones and have stunning views over the Athlantic. We all look forward to welcoming you again at our Hotel and hope to have the possibility to thoroughly spoil you once more. Sunny regards from Gran Canaria!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 28, 2014

    We arrived before the Christmas decorations were taken down and so glad we saw them. They had a huge and amazing nativity scene in the lobby and Bar Jameo had lovely snow scenes. We all thought the hotel was lovely. Nice gardens and plenty of sunbeds. Pool was really nice and pool bar staff very friendly. We had six days of lovely weather so we made the most of the area. We all had drinks from the bar, which weren't overpriced and a couple had lunches there which they said was very good. Pool towels provided. The spa is in this area too. My daughter and her chap had a spa afternoon and absolutely loved it and they thought it was reasonably priced. We had mountain view rooms. We liked the view, pretty at night when everything opposite was lit up. During the day we watched the green and yellow birds (parrots?) in the trees beneath and people playing tennis on the hotel courts. Some reviews made us worry that we didn't have sea view rooms but don't see what the fuss was about. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean with average sized balconies. We went B & B. The (buffet) breakfast choices were varied and plentiful. The bar has regular evening entertainment. We saw Chinese acrobats on our first night and a Flamenco show later in the week, both enjoyable. The hotel's location was great. Nice and peaceful in San Agustin but easy to get about from there. We had a couple of evening meals at Loopys just round the corner, a couple at El Capitain which you get to by exiting the beach gate and turning left along the promenade and one at Nito's across the road from the front of the hotel. All similar menus and prices and all very good. There's a shopping area in walking distance and bus stops are just across from the front of the hotel. We went to Playa Del Ingles (sorry if that's not the right spelling!) by bus which was something like E1.80 one way then got taxis back for E6 per taxi. On our one rainy day we went to Las Palmas for shopping. E5.60 each one way on the bus. A lot of people had the same idea and it wasn't a great journey as we had to stand. The taxi back was E60. We all were sorry to leave but as the checkout time wasn't until noon we caught some sun by the pool before we left, which was nice. I only have one complaint and it isn't an important one. The pool tables and cues aren't very nice and some of the balls were missing. Apart from that it was all perfect. Great staff, all friendly and helpful.

    • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    3  Thank jasperandlucy
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

    Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:

    We are delighted to read that you fully enjoyed your holidays at our hotel and specially relished the service of our staff and our location in front of the beach, made of your holidays an unforgettable experience. We have checked the poll tables and cues and they are fine now. Thank you very much for your positive feedback and we truly look forward to welcoming you again very soon. Warmest regards from Gran Canaria!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 23, 2014

    this is my 1st trip to Gran Canary, the hotel has a old fashion feel but not 5 star, it require updating especially bathrooms, I noticed plants around the balcony was left unattended. I like the gym in the pool area. this could be a very nice hotel if they just paint it on the outside especially the back and some updating. the lobby is very dated and dark.

    • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
    1  Thank tongsan
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

    Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:

    Thank you very much for choosing us for your first visit to Gran Canaria! We have taken good note about the plants on the balconies and it is already being care of. We will very soon make some updating in rooms and common areas; we hope you will enjoy the new look upon your second visit to the island. We are glad you enjoyed the gym and the extense pool area. Receive warm regards from the whole Meliá Tamarindos team!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed January 17, 2014

    This dated hotel has a real charm to it. It is in need of modernisation and I am surprised it has managed to hold it's 5 star rating. We stayed over New Years and the staff are what make this place. Everyone is very professional in all aspects, you don't have casual staff working here, these are all seasoned professionals, the waiters and bar staff are not kids, they are people who do this as a profession and it really shows. The food is fantastic and as for drinks they are pricey as expected in a hotel. The nightly entertainment is good evening there is live shows of some sorts and there not always singers. The rooms as mentioned are very much in need of updating, what is disappointing nothing is complimentary in the room(e.g. water, tea and coffee,etc) you have to pay for everything and it's expensive. Disappointingly, there is also only 2 english channels which are both news, however if you speak german, french, italian or spanish then you have no shortage of channels.

    • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
    4  Thank Louie1968_17
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

    Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:

    Thank you very much for taking your precious time to post a review on Tripadvisor. Your positive feedback about the friendliness and the service of our staff is of great importance to us and therefore we thank you for your kind words. We are very pleased to read that you liked our buffet and the evening entertainment; sometimes it is difficult to please every nacionality and group of age. Some changes will be done in a near future and the renovation of the rooms is among them and we will probably offer tea and coffee making facilities at no extra cost. We would like to thank you once again and we all look forward to welcoming you at our hotel very soon!

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews