We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tamarindos”
Review of Melia Tamarindos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melia Tamarindos
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in San Agustin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just returned from this hotel, arrived late at night check in smooth and fast in my room within
10 minutes.Room good size very clean with sea view, bathroom had all one would need,i.e.
shampoo, tooth brush, shower gel and hair dryer. Breakfast was great everything you would want
and as much as you can eat. Pool area very large good size lots of space and sun beds around.
Staff all friendly and helpful just ask and it was there. Would go back again.
Tony Fellows

Room Tip: Any room with a sea view is good and rooms are quite.with good size TV all with A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank am_fellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear Mr. Fellows:

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with the online community on Tripadvisor. We would like to express our satisfaction after reading your positive valuation about the amenities of the room, our buffets and the friendliness of our staff. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon and we send you sunny regards from Gran Canaria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,875)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

435 - 441 of 1,875 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

We arrived to be greeted by the friendly reception staff, within minutes we were taken to our room.
We were impressed with our room which had a sea view on the 4th floor. The balcony was a good size. The hotel was clean comfortable and situated on the beach front. Very good choice of food on offer especially the Cava served at Breakfast !
There was ample sun beds around the spacious pool and gardens .
The staff were friendly and helpful.
There was spa treatments available. There was certain activities going on, but no pressure to join.
Would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: We had a corner room 432 which gave good views and had sun on balcony late afternoon and evenings. V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chablis54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:

Many thanks for taking your time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to read our staff gave you a warm welcome and that you had a very enjoyable stay thanks to the views from your room and its comfortability and cleanliness. Your feedback shows us that we are on the right track and motivates us to continuous improvement. Many of our guests love starting the day with a glass of cava; take it as an excuse to come back as soon as possible! We all send you sunny regards from Gran Canaria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just returned from another wonderful 2 weeks at the Tamarindos - our third stay at this hotel.

Everything was absolutely brilliant, particularly the staff who were always very willing to please.
We stayed in a Junior Suite again and enjoyed the Level service, ie reserved area for sunbathing, jacuzzi and fresh fruit, tea/coffee, juices etc in the morning. At lunchtime white and rose wines, champagne and savoury nibbles were also brought down to this area. These were then replenished during the afternoon when cakes/biscuits etc were also served.

I would certainly recommend this hotel and would like to thank Lorena (Customer Service) and all the team for making this another great holiday.

See you in September

Eve and Derek room 619

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank therustlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2013

Dear Eve and Derek,

Thank you very much for posting a review on Tripadvisor after your recent stay at our hotel. We very much appreciate your positive feedback and for choosing us once more to spend your holidays. We agree with you, the Royal Service area with its amenities is one of the most beloved places in the hotel; we are very happy to know you find it brilliant! I personally would like to thank you for your kind words and we all look forward to welcoming you in September. Sunny regards from Gran Canaria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel has a Spanish flavour, which is great as many hotels in chains do not have any cultural identity. The staff were helpful and friendly, could speak English well (and German). All areas of the hotel are clean, especially the deliciously crisp sheets. I agree with the comments about the worn carpets on some of the stairs (might it be better to remove them entirely as there appears to be marble flooring underneath?). Loved the smells in the common areas - sandalwood in reception and incense in the spa/poolside loos. I booked direct on the hotel's website and took advantage of a great offer to upgrade to a junior suite- this was spacious with fab sea views, and included access to Royal Service with secluded terrace areas and selected free refreshments during the day. A beachfront walkway is accessed from the hotel, which stretches for some miles. We found good restaurants for lunches and evening meals along the way.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank minibreaker89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:

We wish to thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We agree with you that we have a special atmosphere and a typical Spanish shape. We are also very pleased to read you spent a wonderful holiday thanks to the spacious Junior Suite and the amenities at our Royal Service area. All our staff is proud to know that you recognize their efforts, which is a high motivation for all of us. We are very happy to know you liked our “Blue Velvet” aroma; you will find it in all Melia Hotels around the world. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back on a future occasion at Meliá Tamarindos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We will really recommend this hotel !
Great location, great food and excellent overall service.

We had halv-Board and was impressed about the food an service in the restaurant and the rest of the hotel

We will Return to this hotel shortly !!

Busch Iversen from Norway

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Svein Busch I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Dear Mr. Iversen:

Thank you very much for sharing your positive experience on Tripadvisor after your recent stay at our hotel. We are very happy to read that you liked our location on the beach and specially relished our buffets and service. Your positive feedback is of great importance to us and therefore we thak you again for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you again at our Hotel and we hope to have the possibility to thoroughly spoil you once more. We send you kind regards from the whole Meliá Tamarindos staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We have just returned from a two week stay and cannot wait to return.. The hotel may be in need of refurbishment in the bedrooms and some of the stair carpets which the management are addressing. This did not detract from the fact that everything was spotlessly clean everywhere in the hotel. We had a junior suite with sea view which was well worth the money. The bed was extremely comfortable with crisp clean sheets, towels changed every day and bathroom well stocked with toiletries. The grounds to the hotel are superb and the gardens look splendid and are well cared for. The pool area was massive with plenty of sunbeds and again spotlessly clean. We had half board and both breakfast and dinner were buffet service and there was an abundance of food to suit everyone. The staff in all departments were very friendly and Lorena Rodriguez, the Quality Manager was seen on numerous occasions walking through the hotel, gardens and poolside areas stopping to have a word with everyone and checking that all was ok and there were no problems. She was always interested in listening to any views you may have. The hotel is situated in a quiet location, not many shops, but for those who like walking there is a promenade stretching for miles with access direct from the hotel. As I said cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Definitely either a superior room with sea view or a junior suite with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:

Thank you very much for posting a review on Tripadvisor after your recent stay in our hotel. We are very happy to read your enjoyed the nice views and the comfortability of your room as well as the bathroom amenities. Our huge garden is a very precious area for us and we put our heart in taking care of it. Your positive feedback regarding our buffets and quality of service are the strongest motivation for us to continuous improvement. I personally would like to thank you for including those kind words about myself and we all look forward to welcoming you the soonest possible. Warmest regards from Gran Canaria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I stayed at Tamarindos for 22 days, it was a fantastic stay.
The staff are excellent, the location was excellent, the breakfast was excellent ( Ate out each evening ), so can not judge evening meal.
The room was with a sea view with balcony, the room had everything I needed and most importantly, the bed was very comfortable.
The room had daily cleaning service, and tea and coffee making facilities.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone that is visiting Gran Canaria.

Room Tip: Room with a sea view would be a good choice, as it is a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:

Many thanks for taking your time to write a review on Tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure for us to hear that you fully enjoyed your holiday in our hotel and specially relished the breakfast buffet and the room comfort. Our staff will be very proud to read your nice comments about their friendliness and good service. Thank you again for your comments and we do hope to welcome you and your family again in a near future. We send you warmest regards from Gran Canaria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Agustin
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
2.4 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#19 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
5,216 reviews
4.0 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#5 of 217 in Maspalomas
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Sheraton Gran Canaria Salobre Golf Resort
3.9 mi away
Seaside Grand Hotel Residencia
27.0 mi away
NH Imperial Playa
NH Imperial Playa
#4 of 44 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Tamarindos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Tamarindos

Address: Calle de las Retama 3 | Playa de San Agustin, 35100 San Agustin, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Agustin
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Agustin
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Agustin
#5 Family Hotel in San Agustin
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range: $155 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Tamarindos 5*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 1 minute walk from the beach. Set in large gardens, the Meliá Tamarindos overlooks Gran Canaria's San Agustín beach. It offers a spa, fitness centre, 2 outdoor pools and has its own observatory. The air-conditioned rooms feature a pillow menu, satellite TV and plenty of natural light. They also have free Wifi. Hotel Meliá Tamarindos has 2 outdoor hot tubs, and the spa offers a sauna and massage services. There are also tennis and squash courts on site. Meliá Tamarindos' restaurants offer buffet dishes prepared in the show kitchen, including Chinese and Italian dishes. The bars serve snacks and drinks throughout the day. The Level services are available in some rooms, and include a private lounge with free snacks, cafeteria services, private solarium for adults, Nespresso machine in the rooms, and 30-minute daily access to the spa. The hotel is 500 m from a shopping centre and 3 km from Playa del Inglés. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Melia Tamarindos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Tamarindos Hotel San Agustin
Melia San Agustin
Melia Hotel Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos San Agustin, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing