We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay at traditional hotel”
Review of Melia Tamarindos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Tamarindos
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in San Agustin
Certificate of Excellence
DUNDEE
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay at traditional hotel”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I travelled here with my mum for a weeks holiday. We both very much enjoyed our stay and felt it was excellent value for money. The rooms are clean and comfortable, perhaps a little dated, although a large flat screen tv was provided with some English speaking channels. I had the comfiest pillow ever, wanted to bring it home with me! We were given a lovely sea view room which overlooked the beautiful gardens and pool area. We had Dinner, B&B and the variety of food was really good, complimentary Cava with breakfast. I think there have been a few efforts to upgrade the hotel and add some modern touches but some areas are still to be worked on. This is a traditional hotel which provides a high degree of comfort and service. The staff were all very helpful and courteous. The evening cabaret was mixed with some very good and some not so good, room for improvement here. We very much enjoyed our week and would recommend to all age groups as close to other livelier areas but far enough away to be peaceful and relaxing. Also close to local buses to all other areas. All in all great value for money, a more traditional form of 5 star on offer.

Room Tip: The sea view is worth asking for as also encompasses the beautiful gardens and you can hear the soun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BBR2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:
Thank you for your comments posted on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel. It is a pleasure to hear that you and your mum fully enjoyed your holidays with us and especially relished your room and the its breathtaking views. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our food and the nice sparkling cava to start the day. Thank you very much for your comment regarding the service our staff; we try to provide our guests the best experience possible during their holiday among us! As I wrote in the previous comment, we are now adapting the evening programme to the taste of our different guests coming from all over Europe. We hope you will see some more little changes upon your next visit; in the meanwhile, receive sunny regards from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    640
    281
    83
    57
See reviews for
454
892
79
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Obviously a lot of people on here have not yet experienced a good 5 star hotel. The hotel I would class as 4 star, the service 3 star and the entertainment I counld'nt rate as I always left after 10 minutes as it was so bad. Although saying this hotel was average I would say value for money it was poor so if you get a cheap offer on this hotel go for it, having paid well over £2000 for 1 week accommodation I did expect much better, I would say not worth much more than £1000. Not a experience I would repeat at that price.

Room Tip: Do not go for anything other than a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RussellC66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:
We would like to thank you for your opinion written on this page after your stay at our hotel. We deeply regret that you were not completely satisfied with our service and entertainment. Every evening we have live music and professional shows performing in the Bar. This programme is alive so that we can introduce changes all the time depending on most of our guests likes. Once again, thank you very much for your comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you backon a future occasion. Warm regards from Gran Canaria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This hotel is on the cusp of a 4 star level. I am positive that you cannot find a better deal than this hotel. I was impressed with the quality of the room, the service, and the food. I would stay at this hotel again if we saw a few improvements:

Positives:
-Has a pool and is right on the beach. Pool towels are included and they ask that you don't use them on the beach but I think it's hard to enforce that. San Augustin has a great black sand beach that is soft and has very little shells or rocks. There is the occasional nudity because Europeans are just okay with that, but it was only a couple of women doing it.
-You can choose Half-Board or Full-Board, I recommend Half-Board so that you can venture out for lunches on the promenade or at Nitos across the street.
-The food was really good, but can be hit or miss at times. It is buffet style so you can always go back and get something else if it isn't to your liking. The food at breakfast is phenomenal, the dinner meals have chefs available to grill meats and fish and has a chef to cook brick oven pizza. They always have fresh fruit and tasty desserts. The desserts are typical french/euro style and has great ice cream. I see some brits on here complaining that they didn't serve the food to you... but its a buffet people.
-The weather was good even in November. The hotel has lots of places to relax and catch the nice breeze.
-The hotel offers the ability to directly charge drinks and food to your room so that you don't have to pay each time you eat an included meal. I wish more places did this.
-The wait staff and hotel staff are top notch and offer great recommendations on places to visit and eat on the economy.

Negatives
-The beds have a combination box spring and mattress which means you can feel the metal springs.. ouch. They offer a "pillow menu" to get a higher quality pillow when they should offer some sort of latex/foam mattress topper.
-The hotel has a casino but is very small. They have an ATM in the casino but my card didn't work there so I had to go 2 hotels down to find a working ATM.
-Free water is not served at the buffet at dinner so you have to order a drink. They only serve bottled water at dinner time. Tea and coffee are free at breakfast.
-The spa services was hit or miss. I did a lomi-lomi massage and it was incredible but my wife's french manicure was terrible. They left dirt under her nails and didn't even cut the nails right so they all looked uneven.
-They were doing construction when I stayed, so when you were relaxing you had to listen to lots of jack hammers. They should have waited till January or February when there are less guests.

So all in all, there are some negatives but this is a great hotel. I certainly hope that the management listens to the negative comments so that they can boost this hotel to a true 4 star level.

Room Tip: Get a high up room, sea-side, so you can enjoy the breeze and the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_sentinel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:
Thank you very much for taking your precious time to write such a complete description of your recent stay at our hotel. We are very happy to read that you liked the room, our service and the food. We are also delighted to know that you enjoyed our pool area and our location right next to the beach. We take very good note about the points described on the second part of your review. We would like to express you our most sincere apologies for the inconveniences we may have caused during the necessary scaffolding works, which are by now about to be finished. We would like to thank you once again for all your comments and we truly hope to welcome you very soon. Warmest regards from Gran Canaria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This luxurious hotel ticked all of our boxes. clean, comfortable, and relaxing - and really, only a few steps from the beach. The rooms were well proportioned, although we were sorry we did not pay the small surcharge to have a sea view - it would have been money well spent. The food was excellent and there was food for every taste.
I'd certainly consider visiting next year.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8Leslie_v8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:
We wish to thank you for posting a review on Tripadvisor after your stay at our hotel. We are very pleased to learn that you spent a lovely holiday among us and that you are considering visiting us the coming year. We would also like to express our gratitude for giving us the highest valuation and we all look forward to welcoming you the soonest possible!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My family and I went here during the Halloween holidays. In my mum and brother's room they found a cockroach. Also in the restaurant we didn't enjoy having to get up between each course to get our own meals when you are trying to relax. My mum told me before we went how good it was at dinner because you had to dress up and wear something formal, when we went all the men had to wear was "long" trousers. I have to say it was a dead let down to the pictures on there website. Also the bedroom I was staying in I hardly got any sleep because the balcony door was loose and i could hear all the traffic outside at night.

Room Tip: Get a room that over looks the sea or a suite and high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gemma-louise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are very sorry that your stay did not completely fulfil your expectations. Concerning the Restaurant service, we must kindly inform you that both, our breakfast and dinner services are on a buffet basis. This is in any touroperator brochure as well as in our web site. We understand it is not the same having to get up every time but our guests are very satisfied because they find a huge variety. We are also very sorry to read that you could not have a proper sleep because of the balcony door. We could have mended it right away. We would like to thank you once again for all your comments and we truly hope to welcome you again very soon. Receive warmest regards from Gran Canaria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

This hotel does not deserve the 5 stars it has! I would give not more than3! It is very much run down and is in an urgent need if renovation, which you can notice as soon as you enter the lobby! For us the worst was the service of the staff, absolutely apalling! The waiters at the main restaurant as well as the pool bar/restaurant have no idea about service, at any level whatsoever! Unless you are Spanish speaker, I think they were a bit luckier. The only good thing I can say about the hotel (in light of it's 5 star status) is that the gardens were nice. The pool is a bit dangerous, quite slippery on the edges. On the beach you can find no sunbeds from the hotel, not even paradols! In my book this is absolutely unacceptable! The area of the hotel is also not very nice. It is very quiet, no restaurants and shops, only in s shopping centre about 10 min away or in the nearby resorts! I wouldn't recommend, only the value was OK. I suppose you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vessi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor. We are awfully sorry to read that you did not fully enjoy your holiday among us. We are aware that our hotel is in need of a refreshing, but has nevertheless been kept in good conditions by our Housekeeping and Technical Staff. Concerning our waiter service, we would like to express our surprise for this comment as it is usually the most valued item by our customers. We do apologize if you did experience any uncomfortable situation during your stay regarding this matter. Unfortunately, the sunbeds and parasols at the beach can only be run by the Town Council. We agree with you that San Agustin is a very relaxing area, much quieter than Playa del Inglés and Maspalomas. Actually, most of our regular and also new guests are thrilled with the hotel location. We understand that Playa del Inglés is more vibrant. We are glad you liked our huge garden and we do hope to welcome you again in a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel has everything you need for a relaxing winter break. The pool is a decent size with a lot of sun loungers - though people do bag some of them early in the morning. Access to the beach beyond the pool is very easy and it is a good quality clean beach which is not busy. Sea swimming, important to us, was good.
We came on a bed and breakfast basis and did not regret it. There are a number of reasonable restaurants close by and the buffet based dinner looked a bit busy for our taste. Breakfast was good and haf a decent range of food.
There are a large number of experienced staff working at the hotel which underpins service quality though it can mean they are a little more off hand than a younger group of staff would be though service levels are good. Also the level of English spoken is less than one might expect but this is not really an issue.
I would strongly recommend a sea view room - those at the back are susceptible to road noise as several bus routes go along the road at the back of the hotel.
My only critical comment is the level of supervision around the pool where a noisy large British family group spoilt the enjoyment of others (it was close to half term) as their children ran around the pool. Also the children used the treadmills in the gym and cannot have been over 10 let alone the 16 required by the notice outside. I appreciate this is not that easy to control.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobeTraveller46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:
Thank you very much for taking your precious time to write a review on Tripadvisor after your stay at our hotel. It is a great pleasure for us to read that our hotel fulfilled all your expectations for a winter “sun” break. We are happy you enjoyed our location, just in front of San Agustín beach, and our breakfast buffet. Thank you for your comment about our experienced staff; we are very sorry to read that you found poor the level of English spoken. We have taken very good note of your comment about supervision of children by the pool and in the gym. The whole Meliá Tamarindos staff looks forward to welcoming you at our hotel for your next “winter sun break”!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Agustin
0.3 mi away
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
2.4 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,593 reviews
27.0 mi away
NH Imperial Playa
NH Imperial Playa
#4 of 43 in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
AxelBeach Maspalomas
AxelBeach Maspalomas
#8 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,571 reviews
4.0 mi away
Seaside Palm Beach
Seaside Palm Beach
#4 of 216 in Maspalomas
1,093 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
#7 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Tamarindos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Tamarindos

Property: Melia Tamarindos
Address: Calle de las Retama 3 | Playa de San Agustin, 35100 San Agustin, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in San Agustin
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Agustin
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Agustin
#5 Family Hotel in San Agustin
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Tamarindos 5*
Number of rooms: 279
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 1 minute walk from the beach. Set in large gardens, the Meliá Tamarindos overlooks Gran Canaria's San Agustín beach. It offers a spa, fitness centre, 2 outdoor pools and has its own observatory. The air-conditioned rooms feature a pillow menu, satellite TV and plenty of natural light. They also have free Wifi. Hotel Meliá Tamarindos has 2 outdoor hot tubs, and the spa offers a sauna and massage services. There are also tennis and squash courts on site. Meliá Tamarindos' restaurants offer buffet dishes prepared in the show kitchen, including Chinese and Italian dishes. The bars serve snacks and drinks throughout the day. The Level services are available in some rooms, and include a private lounge with free snacks, cafeteria services, private solarium for adults, Nespresso machine in the rooms, and 30-minute daily access to the spa. The hotel is 500 m from a shopping centre and 3 km from Playa del Inglés. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Tamarindos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Tamarindos Hotel San Agustin
Melia San Agustin
Melia Hotel Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos San Agustin, Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing