We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Melia Tamarindos
Nearby Hotels
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Dunas Don Gregory(San Agustin)
$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Hotel Folias(San Agustin)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
El Chaparral(San Agustin)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (2,034)
Filter reviews
2,034 results
Traveler rating
805
757
313
91
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
805
757
313
91
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslevel loungesea viewpillow menupool areagran canariafive star hotelhalf boardmini barevening buffetbit dateddirect access to the beachjunior suitestandard roomaqua aerobicsa la carte restaurantreception staffwinter sun
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
534 - 539 of 2,034 reviews
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just returned from a 2 weeks holiday at the Melia Tamarindos and we could not have wished for more, ie location - right on the beach. Food - excellent with a good variety. Cleanliness - superb. Staff - very well trained, courteous, helpful and always had a smile. Entertainment - very good. All in all this is a well run hotel, where the guests come first. Thank you very much Melia Tamarindos, we are definitely going back next year. Room 320 - Eve and Derek

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank therustlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Eve & Derek:
Thank you very much for taking your precious time to write a comment regarding your recent stay at our hotel, Meliá Tamarindos. It is a huge pleasure to read that the whole experience among us was to your full satisfaction, which is exactly what we try every day harder. These positive feedbacks are the strongest motivation for us to continuous improvement in all areas. We really look forward to welcoming you the soonest possible. Receive warm regards from the whole Meliá Tamarindos staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is a great hotel where staff go the extra mile! One staff member who deserves a special mention is Lorena Rodriguez - she always seems to be there to help should you encounter a problem and always with a smile!
We are returning once more in early November and are really looking forward to our visit.
Barry Bailey

Stayed: October 2011
5  Thank munrobailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Dear Mr. Bailey,
Thank you very much for your comment regarding your stays at our hotel. I also wish to express my gratitude for including those kind words in your review. We already look forward to welcoming you in November at our hotel and will be happy to pamper you once more. Warmest regards from Gran Canaria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is great perfectly located, good service good value , was gay friendly made us feel right at home. Thanks Melia. Specially Lorenna. Will defintly visit again. Already planning my trip for July to August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sabre67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:
Thank you very much for writing your recent experience among us on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to know you felt welcome and very comfortable at our hotel. I personally would like to thank you for your kind comment about myself. We hope you have already booked for next summer; in the meanwhile, receive warmest regards from the whole Melia Tamarindos staff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The hotel is one of the few around Maspalomas (San Augustin) that actually lies on the beach. Most of the others might be close to the water but the beaches are far. So this one has a very good location. The beach itself is very good too, not too crowded but well maintained. You need a key to get in and out of the hotel facility which made it a little difficult when we went swimming (where to put the key when you have nothing with you?) but we managed.
Another thing we liked about this hotel was the beautiful garden. It was like being on a tropical island, all the different exotic plants beautifully arranged. The poolside looked really nice too. The beachfront has some sunbeds and umbrellas, also a secluded area which was kids free :) It might sound bad first but it can be very useful when someone is trying to relax. Beach towels were provided in the rooms and could be exchanged during the day by the pool.
We only had breakfast service but it was great. A huge selection of various meals and everything nice and fresh. There was a lot of staff walking around and helping with anything the guests needed. They were also very flexible with the breakfast, when we went on trips and wanted to have an early breakfast a lot of food was already out and we could freely eat even before the restaurant opened. Also, the breakfast is available until 11 a.m. which is really nice when people want to sleep in. Not just the restaurant staff but staff in general was very friendly and helpful.
The rooms were comfortable too, the AC worked fine and the curtains were really good to, we managed to get several good nights sleep without waking up. There is also a safe where you can keep your valuables when you are away and a big screen TV with lots of channels in various languages.
There is a spa section which we didn't have time to use but it looked very nice and they offer a huge selection of services. Bathrobes and slippers are also provided for the guests in the rooms.
Some more info about the location: most of the main bus lines stop right on the other side of the street so it was really easy to go and see other cities in the area. A note: bus schedules are for information only, buses usually come at random times, but quite frequently and they are a cheap means of transport. Taxi service is also widely used especially at night when buses don't run. San Augustin is a small place with little entertainment and only a few restaurants. If you want a busy evening/night you need to travel to Maspalomas.
One very special comment in the end: the hotel reception area smelled very very good. I'm not sure what it was but it was very pleasant and unique, similar to sandalwood, it was great walking in and out :)

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view looked great
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 0Ella0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:
Thank you very much for taking your precious time to write this complete description of our services and facilities; we are convinced that this will help other people to have an idea of our hotel. It is a great pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed our location on the beach and our huge garden. We try to provide our guests the best experience possible during their holiday among us; our staff works hard and tries to accomplish our guests wishes. It is a pity you did not have the time to use our Spa; it provides exquisite treatments and it counts on high qualified professionals. We are also happy to read that you liked our “Blue Velvet” aroma; you will find it in all MELIA Hotels around the world...Take it as an excuse to come back very soon! Warmest regards from Gran Canaria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed in this classic hotel beguinning August 2012. We got a room with a fantastic view over the sea! This was the big plus of our stay in the hotel. We were there on half board regime: both the breakfast and the dinner were outstanding, e.g., natural orange juice and choice in the breakfast and fresh high standard food in the dinner. Swimming pools were quite and clean. We also got access to the VIP part, with direct view to the beach. There is also a direct access to the beach, you have just to cross the nice promenade.
There are parking facilities (by free) in the hotel, something which is very convenient in the area. Last but not least, all the members of the staff of this hotel are highly professional.

Room Tip: Corner rooms to the right and sea side give you a view to both the sea and the dunes of Maspalomas.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Astur67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2012

Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:
We would like to thank you for your kind opinion written on this page after your stay at our hotel. It is a great pleasure to hear that you fully enjoyed your holiday among us, specially the views from the room and our buffets. The Melia Tamarindos staff also would like to thank you for your nice comment about their service. These positive feedbacks are the strongest motivation for us to continuous improvement in all areas. We do hope to welcome you very soon at our hotel. Warmest regards from Gran Canaria!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews