We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good located golf hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in San Agustin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good located golf hotel”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The location is very near to the golf courses. You can reached the Maspalomas Golf Course within 10 minutes by taxi and the price will be around 7 euro. The personel are very friendly and give you an excelent service. The pool area is very nice with lot of sun beds. The All inclusice concept give you an exelent opportunity to taste different food.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMV1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2016
Dear guest,

From Gloria Thalasso & Hotels, we thank you for choosing us to spend your holiday in Gran Canaria and for using a few minutes of your time to share your experience.

We are glad that we met your expectations and will be an honor to have you in future holidays.
If you need anything do not hesitate to contact us.

Sunny regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,435
    882
    364
    118
    67
See reviews for
928
1,296
74
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is a large hotel. a LARGE hotel. Honestly I didn't know this kind of stuff existed outside of the US... Anyways. You get the kind of experience and crowd you'd expect in such a huge facility, nothing more, nothing less.

Pros:
- 3 perfect swimming pools, nice, clean, clear, huge, perfect facilities, pool chairs not scarce
- Nice, clean rooms
- Interesting "all-inclusive" offer with food and drinks (more on this below)

Neutral:
- The food... calibrated for a HUGE hotel. HUGE buffets, HUGE crowd. The food is there, not bad, but not truly enjoyable either.
- 10mns walk from the ocean

Cons:
- It's HUGE... not sure I've mentionned it yet ;)
- there's LOTS of people. From all horizons. Not sure how to say it differently without sounding offensive.
- The "mini-club" (for kids) is a bit pathetic... Very basic. Obviously not a hotel priority, which is a shame as the activity leaders are motivated and eager to do better.
- Lots of broken processes. Check-in took more than 1hr behind manual operations, room clean-up schedule was erratic and never as expected.
- The beds are a total joke - it took us three days and many complaints until we had something we could sleep on without feeling like thirld-world prison inmates.
- Bathroom not well laid-out, shower/bath not practical, only sachets for shampoo/bath, ...
- The spa is massive... but feels nothing special, and certainly outdated.


Net - In the end we still had a good vacation, mostly because the kids truly loved it as the pools were just fab. In isolation there are many things and cut-corners that the hotel is lacking to claim 4* status, but for a 3*, it's ok.

On the all-inclusive thing: be are that it doesn't include any entrance to the fitness room, and that the drinks are not the same you'd get "a la carte". Alcohol contents are lower, mixes are pre-done, don't expect your cocktails to taste "normal". Then again it might very well be not just to cut costs but also to prevent too many of the northern-european/German/Brit tourist to get too intoxicated and ruin the pool area too often ;)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PenibleMaisJuste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2016
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Gloria Thalasso & Hotels to spend your holiday in Gran Canaria and of course for taking the time to write a review of our services and facilities.

Thank you for mentioning some points that we could improve. We have taken notes of your comments. It is important for us to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve and maintain our standards.


It would be an honor for us to seeing you again in our hotel and to make your rest time as pleasant as possible.

Kind regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

lovely room Cleaned every day too a high standard good views to sea good beds good food good entertainment at night all staff pleasant and professional lovely surprise of wine in room for my birthday which I had not mentioned will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jlhaughian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2016
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

May I take this opportunity to thank you personally for the very high scores you have awarded us across all departments within the Hotel.

Kind regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Problem with room allocation: We booked two separate rooms. However, we were only allocated one family room. We complained and were told by Reception staff that the hotel was full and this was the only room available that night, and if we didn't like it we could go elsewhere. The Reception staff also blamed the tour operator, which was not the case, as the invoice stated we had two booked two separate rooms. The room situation was resolved the following afternoon and we were given compensation. However, we had another problem as our key was deactivated too soon for our late checkout. Service from Reception staff: 2 out of 10.

We booked on an all-inclusive basis and our opinion of the hotel is as follows:

Food:
Breakfast buffet: 9 out of 10, fried eggs and bacon cooked as you wait, with plenty of choice of food, although sometimes a little on the cold side
Lunch buffet: 9 out of 10, lovely salads, good choice of puddings
Snacks: 7 out of 10, the same options every day - burgers, pizzas and ice cream, quality ok but could have done with a bit more variety
Dinner buffet: the first week 6 out of 10, food sometimes was cold, however, we had nice duck breast, chicken breast and pork leg on three nights. Unfortunately, the choice of cooked meat went downhill during the second week, when 5 nights out of 7, the only meat choice was pork, so 4 out of 10 during the second week.
Restaurant ambience: nice sophisticated ambience and not too noisy
Restaurant staff: some were pleasant, some not

Drinks:
9 out of 10: All inclusive blue menu cards very clearly state the drinks included, a good drinks package with branded options, cocktails, hot drinks. No complaints here.

Room:
7 out of 10: Quite large, with a pool view. Bed was very hard. Wardrobe space not adequate. Cleanliness good. Kettle in the room, with teas and coffees provided. Air conditioning not adequate and very noisy. Bathroom very nice, two sinks, good lighting, shaving mirror, plenty of hot water. Cleaning staff very friendly.

Pool areas:
9 out of 10. We spent most of the time in the naturist roof top area. Nice area, with around 50 sunbeds (and mattresses available). It was about half full, and no reserving of sunbeds in the morning, which was welcome. Nice and quiet.

Public areas: quite modern, very clean. They also had Sky Sports 1 available on the tv at Reception and the tv outside the hotel entrance.

We would return but there is room for improvement, particularly with Reception staff, and the choice of meat at dinner.

Room Tip: Be prepared for problems with Reception staff. Majority of twin rooms are very similar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunshinedays50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2016
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Gloria Thalasso & Hotels to spend your holiday in Gran Canaria and of course for taking the time to write a review of our services and facilities.

Thank you for mentioning some points that we could improve. We have taken notes of your comments. It is important for us to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve and maintain our standards.


It would be an honor for us to seeing you again in our hotel and to make your rest time as pleasant as possible.

Kind regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tralee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2013

On checking in we were greeted with a glass of Cava which was a pleasant surprise and asked to bring our check-in cards back at our own convenience. We happened to come in before a large group and found the receptionist to be quite long winded in the hotel facilities.Would have preferred a sheet with everything written on it to ponder on at our own convenience. Reception staff need to know when they can and when they can't.
Service was average. The staff do love to talk to each other. Silence is definitely golden in this hotel. If only their personalities shined on the guests and not on each other. Quite tiresome. Overall there are better quality hotels with nicer staff. A few fun personalities definitely need to be employed to bring some spirit to this place.
It is a privilege to sit outside for eating when you don't get the opportunity at home. Flying rats are a big issue expecially when you leave a plate with some food on it and go into the main restaurant for more food. When you are gone the pigeons will land on your table, on your cutlery, drinking glasses and by the time you come back with more food your previous plate is taken away by a waiter and you are left to drink and eat from where a pigeon landed. I did inform other guests on what had occured but do not expect the staff to do so. The pigeons have a tendancy to sit on a ledge overhead and they certainly aimed well on me one day. Maybe this is a lesson to guests, only one plate of food per meal or else suffer the consequences. Whatever you do don't look ontop of the dividing walls of your rooms. The flying rats seem to strike everywhere
On one morning at 7 am I lost a valuable contact lens down the sink. My own stupidity I know and informed reception. Maintenance was to arrive at 8 but alas I would still be waiting for Mr Maintenance man 5 days to checking out and still no sign of him on departure.
Breakfast was excellent but for Lunch and Dinner a bit of a nightmare as they have not the same dishes on bothsides of the buffet tables so you have to queue on both sides. Hot food is always cold so position yourself at the entrance of the restaurant where you like me will have two weeks of microwaved 2-3 minute food. It was worth it if you don't want to have cold food. Don't be a bit embarrassed. I wasn't. Soup and main course x 2 x 14. Alot of microwaving.
The spa was excellent but was expensive to go to so allow a few times only a week.
Location of hotel is bad. Up a steep hill from a shopping center which has seen better days and recession is defo in San Agustin. Slit the wrists job. Made you feel there is a worse recession than your own back home. Deary and sad.
Overall will definitely not be going back to this hotel and San Agustin. Will stick with Maspalomas and in all its badness Playa del Ingles.
It was also nice to come home to a good shower. I hope someone in room 836 is reading this right now. I didn't complain as I was left waiting for Mr Maintenance man so hope you have better look.
I will compliment the Duo each night who entertained on piano from 7 and again later in the main Bar. If only they would stay longer at the piano. They were super especially the lady who engaged with everyone with her smile and wave.
The evening entertainment was also excellent each night and especially the Tramps left the audience with two encours. A memorable night.
The main pool was very nice and as I was up early found it good to have a choice of chair
Would have definitely worried for a senior parent at this hotel. Steps everywhere and confusing eventhough they definitely cater to seniors with the amount that were their.
I know this review may seem harsh but in all it was my honesty which leaves this Management Team with alot to review and realise if you are not willing to do a job well, don't bother trying. Organisation was a key element missing from this hotel and I truly do hope it succeeds. It starts from the top. Yours Michael From Ireland.

Room Tip: Ask for main hotel and from 4th Floor upward if you seek a sea View. up to --22 on each floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2016
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Gloria Thalasso & Hotels to spend your holiday in Gran Canaria and of course for taking the time to write a review of our services and facilities.

Thank you for mentioning some points that we could improve. We have taken notes of your comments. It is important for us to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve and maintain our standards.


It would be an honor for us to seeing you again in our hotel and to make your rest time as pleasant as possible.

Kind regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at the Gloria Palace for a week all inclusive in October.The rooms were very clean but the decor was only of a 3 star standard.The food was generally good but one evening the chicken served was raw.When we asked to speak to the restaurant manager,his reply was that he wasn't the chef & it wasn't his fault.We didn't want to make a fuss,just point out that this could make people ill and his response was very disappointing.Bar service in the evenings was very slow and sometimes we had to wait 20 minutes to get a drink,due to a lack of staff on duty.Men aren't allowed to wear smart tailored shorts although women can wear anything & this is not mentioned by Thomas Cook.We feel that the 4 star with style rating given by Thomas Cook is unjustified and probably given as there is a chill out pool area and spa,although these are not included in the all inclusive price.Many of the guests we met also said the same.Overall,an average hotel but not worth the 4 star rating.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenda223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2016
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Gloria Thalasso & Hotels to spend your holiday in Gran Canaria and of course for taking the time to write a review of our services and facilities.

Thank you for mentioning some points that we could improve. We have taken notes of your comments. It is important for us to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve and maintain our standards.


It would be an honor for us to seeing you again in our hotel and to make your rest time as pleasant as possible.

Kind regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

arrived 3.30pm had to wait 25 mins for our room as the BABY COT was not ready so thought ok, get to the room clean nice all happy but no COT 3 hours later had to ring reception to ask were it is, it arrived 5 minutes after this call, 1st night food seemed ok as someone mentioned before if you like PORK u will love it, went outside to the seating area ordered drink our little girl went playing so I ordered another drink with a waiter 15 mins later no drink, ordered another with a DIFF waiter 20 mins passed no drink, another waiter came over and I asked to speak to the manager he quickly said I will get you a drink but I wanted to speak to the manager who came over.....his excuse was It wasn't me blah... blah.... we get you a drink.... by this time our daughter was sleeping in the buggy so we went to bed, next day we went to the pool the CHILDRENS pool area, were we were told no inflatable's which a hotel to be considered a FAMILY HOTEL for KIDS etc. was ridiculous. We left the pool area 12.30 lunch time, we were starting to find it lower than the 4 star rating it advertises.
That evening our daughter was violently SICK from 8pm - 2am we were in shock and thought no it cant be the food which to this day we are unsure if it was or not, I was sick 2 days later too which knocked me for six and I am never ill. FOOD? not sure but if chicken is cooked and still has RAW bits then surely ALARM BELLS are ringing.
Can honestly say we are so glad to be home, we dreaded evening meals! breakfast is fine if you stick to what you know but don't be surprised to see the nights before left overs....CHIPS, PEAS, CARROTTS.....come on this is just not 4 STAR QUALITY.
We have stayed at ELYISUM in paphos 5 STARS, coste adeje gran in Tenerife 5 STARS
(all inclusive), this is at most 3 stars, like someone mentioned maybe the SPA facility makes it a 4 STAR.
The hotel has 1000 rooms which we found out THOMAS COOK has only 100 of these rooms the left are filled with 80% of GERMANS who many are RUDE, 10 % SPANISH who are pleasant.
The maid service are great work very hard and deserve credit, reception staff 90% very nice, on checking out I went over to hand the key cards back and thought he may say how was your stay etc but I got nothing he was like 'all done' I thought me too never again even if it was free.
THIS HOTEL IS NOT A FAMILY HOTEL FOR KIDS SO DO NOT VISIT IF YOU HAVE KIDS AS YOU WILL BE DISAPOINTED.

Room Tip: level 3 upwards for best pool & sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank andymc33b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2016
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate our services and facilities, in addition to choosing Gloria Thalasso & Hotel as your destination in Gran Canaria.

We regret that you have been inconvenienced during your holidays; however, we note that not happen again in the future and invite you to check back often and demonstrate that we strive to make our customers enjoy a wonderful holiday.

Kind regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Agustin
0.3 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#6 of 19 in San Agustin
1,577 reviews
10.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
2.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#3 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,186 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel

Property: Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Address: C/. Las Margaritas, S/N | San Agustin, San Bartolome de Tirajana, 35100 San Agustin, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Agustin
#1 Green Hotel in San Agustin
#1 Family Hotel in San Agustin
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Agustin
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Agustin
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Agustin, Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel is a 4-star establishment built in 1989 and fully refurbished in 2007. The spacious hotel has sea views, top quality cuisine, facilities specially designed for families, a thalassotherapy centre and family-oriented, friendly service within an atmosphere of a family business. In 1998 the Talasoterapia Canarias centre was opened, in an emblematic building consisting of more than 6.000M2, to provide health and wellbeing services. A real oasis of comfort. A dream within your reach. You can be sure of fine food and exceptional service at the panoramic a la carte restaurant Gorbea, which specialises in Basque cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TravelUp, Travelocity, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Palace San Agustin Hotel San Agustin
Gloria Palace Hotel San Agustin
San Agustin Gloria Palace
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing