We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in San Agustin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 23, 2013

It was our first stay in this Gloria Palace hotel, but won't be our last, staff are wonderful, helpful and very pleasant.
There is a bit of hill to walk up, so might not suit people with walking difficulty, but there is a courtesy bus just outside and taxis are not badly priced. It's only a 10-15 min walk down to beach and a nice pathway along the sea front which brings you all the way up to Playa del ingles. Would recommend this hotel, and would recommend the keep fit pool very relaxing.
Entertainment was fantastic, and was held outdoors, different show every night suitable for all ages and lovely place for families with young children. We went half board but would go all exclusive next time, as they have a good choice of alcohol drinks included with all exclusive, if you like a jar its worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank breda52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

May I take this opportunity to thank you personally for the very high scores you have awarded us across all departments within the Hotel.

Kind regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,111 - 1,117 of 3,320 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

Lots to like about the hotel. Quiet location, nice reception, lounge and bars , wifi throughout, lots of sun beds around the pools. Superb staff. A very nice stay. But the food is mixed and is heavily pork-based, so if you can't eat pork , then choice is limited. Even veg dishes tended to have ham or sausage in them, and some very strange dishes such as baked bananas wrapped in bacon and pineapple soup.
Rooms are reasonable size, comfortable rather than luxurious, but beds not the best.
Location is close to the beach, but not much else around , only a shopping centre which was somewhat run down with a couple of bars and restaurants
Overall, we enjoyed it, and it was good value, but would class it closer to 3* than 4*. It also has a large spa complex, which looked impressive, but we didn't use, and a roof top restaurant, again not used. I suspect these add to the * star rating

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaymartian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Gloria Thalasso & Hotels to spend your holiday in Gran Canaria and of course for taking the time to write a review of our services and facilities.

Thank you for mentioning some points that we could improve. We have taken notes of your comments. It is important for us to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve and maintain our standards.


It would be an honor for us to seeing you again in our hotel and to make your rest time as pleasant as possible.

Kind regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Would highly recommend this hotel; very clean and comfy, very friendly staff and good choice of food. Also only about 25 mins transfer time from the airport which is a bonus.
We had a room on the 6th floor which gave us a good view out to sea. Immaculately clean and effective air conditioning. Only problem was the wait for the lift which could sometimes be a while at busy times. Had a kettle and coffee etc in the room which was a bonus for a foreign hotel. Blurb stated satellite tv but unfortunately it was all in Spanish, even retuning didn't sort it out although 2 other guests did say they could get sky sports news.
It was about a 10 minute downhill stroll to the beach which meant an uphill trek back so we used the pool. Never had a problem getting sun beds even during the 2nd week of our stay when the hotel was busy ( be aware pool/beach towels from the hotel require a 10 euro deposit each plus 50c each time you want to change them). A nice bonus was that although there were loads of activities going on the animation team weren't in your face to join in.
Good choice of food, although sometimes it was cold and the 'hot plate' options in the snack bar left a lot to be desired- even hubby who is extremely fussy and usually ends our holidays on bread, cheese and chips was happy ( especially with the ice cream). Be aware men have to wear trousers to eat in the (self service) restaurant in the evening although you can collect your dinner and eat in the outdoor snack bar (which is actually quite nice as the tables have cloths on and are laid up properly).
Good, varied evening entertainment suitable for all ages.
Free bus from outside the hotel to 2 local towns, all taxis are licensed and very cheap plus local bus service cheap and easy to use so getting around the Island was a breeze.
Overall we would recommend this hotel for a relaxed, comfy break in the sun.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bellskent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2016

Dear guest,

From Gloria Thalasso & Hotels, we thank you for choosing us to spend your holiday in Gran Canaria and for using a few minutes of your time to share your experience.

We are glad that we met your expectations and will be an honor to have you in future holidays.
If you need anything do not hesitate to contact us.

Sunny regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have just returned from a week's holiday's at the Gloria Palace Hotel. We can fully recommend this hotel. Great Staff, Great food, Very good nightly entertainment, Great location, not too near any noisy roads, so is perfect for a peaceful nights sleep. The bedrooms are very spacious. The hotel is spotlessly clean throughout. Go there, you will not regret it

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MunstermanCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2016

Dear guest,

From Gloria Thalasso & Hotels, we thank you for choosing us to spend your holiday in Gran Canaria and for using a few minutes of your time to share your experience.

We are glad that we met your expectations and will be an honor to have you in future holidays.
If you need anything do not hesitate to contact us.

Sunny regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

just come back from two weeks at this hotel , staff the friendliest we have ever seen from reception to maintainence, could not do enough they bent over backwards. the food is great plenty of choice & if you have a sweet tooth you will love it right down to the chocolate fountain, also all the drinks we had on all inclusive were branded.The entertainment was good every where soptlessly clean good size bedrooms & a good view.The only downside was the hotel is on a steep hill & really only a shopping centre at this resort however they do have a courtesy bus that takes you to playa de ingles & maspalomas,worth a visit is morgan beautifull place, we went on the bus but hire cars are reasonable, also fab weather & nice walk back along the prom from playa de ingles back to sanagustin. if you leave towel on sun beds they throw them off if not back within two hours so no saving beds which was good you get the odd ones who cant read but not to worry plenty of beds,also they came round in afternoon with melon kebabs & candies for every one which i thought was a nice touch.

Room Tip: ask to be in main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank annn253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2016

Dear Ann,

From Gloria Thalasso & Hotels, we thank you for choosing us to spend your holiday in Gran Canaria and for using a few minutes of your time to share your experience.

We are glad that we met your expectations and will be an honor to have you in future holidays.
If you need anything do not hesitate to contact us.

Sunny regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My partner and I decided on Gloria Palace after a friend’s recommendation and reading the reviews on tripadvisor.

We arrived late afternoon and were greeted by friendly and efficient staff at reception, our room was clean and spacious on the second floor (we were aware that the higher rooms had a better views but this one was nice). A plan of the hotel layout would have helped to get your bearings and find out what’s where.

Overall the hotel is very, very clean with friendly hard working staff and food in abundance (we were all inclusive – so ate lots). The food was varied, of good quality and lots of it, only negative here was the lack of salt and pepper on the tables, every time you wanted some you had to go hunting for it.

The pool area is nice with lots of sun beds and umbrellas, one negative here is there are too many sun beds for the time of year, they were crammed in with hardly any space between; suggestion remove every third one to give move space when the hotel isn’t fully occupied.

I indulged in 45 minutes massage, which was 50 euros (special price should have been 73 euros) while I thought a little on the expensive side it was very relaxing, after the massages both myself and my partner enjoyed a hour in the hydro/seawater pool, again very relaxing but the set rate is 23 euros per person, luckily mine was included within the massage and my partner was given a 50% voucher from another guest.

The free bus service to Playa del Ingles and Maspalomas was an added bonus.

All in all the holiday/hotel was good and if we were the type of people to return to the same hotel we would probably go back.

Lastly, one day trip I would recommend to the Sunday excursion to St Mateo and Teror markets in the north of the island, un-commercialised locally used markets and Teror has some lovely architecture totally different to the big hotels complexes in the south part of the island.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank njamea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Gloria Thalasso & Hotels to spend your holiday in Gran Canaria and of course for taking the time to write a review of our services and facilities.

Thank you for mentioning some points that we could improve. We have taken notes of your comments. It is important for us to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve and maintain our standards.


It would be an honor for us to seeing you again in our hotel and to make your rest time as pleasant as possible.

Kind regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have just returned (8th Oct 2013) from a 2 week stay at The Gloria Palace San Augustin.

Arrival
We arrived at around 9pm along with around 24 other people. The reception staff were very efficient and quickly booked us in and then ushered us into the dining room leaving our luggage securely locked away in a side room off the reception area. Everything went well and when we eventually went to our rooms we were delighted with the room facilities, lovely décor, bathroom with double sink, large comfy beds with mattress toppers, TV, desk, chair and comfortable 2 seater settee and lots of drawer and wardrobe space for clothing. A pretty impressive start the holiday.

However there was a downside to our first night. We had requested a room on one of the higher floors but we were given a room on the 2nd floor. Also we were not happy with the ridiculous charge for using the safe in our room. Most good hotels we have used provide this at a modest cost or even a free service. Not here, they wanted €35 for 2 weeks. We complained but the manager wouldn’t budge on the price.

Having said that we had a great holiday and we couldn’t fault the hotel and staff. Everything else was near perfect and I would definitely recommend the hotel.

Reception.
The Reception area is small for the size of the hotel but the staff seemed to cope pretty well. As well as being on the small side the reception area didn’t seem to have any air conditioning so spending any time there was not a good experience.

Food
Meals in the restaurant were excellent. We had no problems finding something to suit our varied tastes, everything from caviar to mashed potato. The food was well seasoned but if you do like pepper you had better bring your own or find a waiter because there never seemed to be a pepper pot anywhere. Some tables were a little tightly packed together and the manager who selected the restaurant wines needs to be re-deployed. OK if you are all inclusive but not if you are paying for the privilege.

Room Made/Service
Room service was excellent with daily towel change and regular bedding changes.
The only problem was that the swipe cards for unlocking the room door seemed to fail on numerous occasions. (7 times in 9 days) We eventually had the electronic lock mechanism replaced and that cured the problem.

Entertainment.
The evening entertainment was pretty good and varied.

Pool Areas.
These areas were very good. Plenty of sunbeds – in fact in some areas there were too many, with dozens of beds packed in together with only and inch or less between each one.

Half Board or All Inclusive
We choose half board because we like to get out and about during the day. The San Augustin area is pretty quiet with very little going on locally in the evening which is a good reason to think seriously about the All Inclusive option.

Out and About.
There is a free bus service from the hotel to Playa del Ingles and Maspalomas. In addition there are regular service buses to other resorts. The bus stop is just 10 minutes walk from the hotel so there are plenty of options to explore further afield. The charges on the service buses are very reasonable as are the local taxi cabs.
The local beaches are good but they do have unattractive dark sand. Better sandier beaches can be found further along the coast. The best of which were - Maspalomas, Puerto Rico and Amadores. If you have children then it may be a good idea to avoid Maspalomas beach – apart from the nudist element there seemed to be some pretty strong tidal currents along this stretch of beach. Puerto Rico and Amadores beaches were very safe for bathing but were a 30 minute bus ride from San Augustin.

If you fancy doing something completely different well away from the sea. Take the local service bus from Maspalomas to Tejede. It takes nearly 2 hours to Tejede and the bus fare is about 6 Euros each way. It is an exceptional journey through rugged ravines and over high mountain passes. If you don’t like long white knuckle rides – give it a miss.

Summary

If you have read my review this far you might be thinking we had a few adverse comments about this hotel. This is true but we have to remember that the hotel management will no doubt read each comment. They need to know what needs doing if they are to achieve something near perfection. In general all of our small party had a great time at the Gloria Palace and if we ever returned to this area we would come back to the Gloria Palace.

For the management I would say – Get your act together, the cost of a room safe is a complete rip off!!!! Sort it out.

Room Tip: Room numbers 800 to 1000 all have good sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Limpalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Gloria Thalasso & Hotels to spend your holiday in Gran Canaria and of course for taking the time to write a review of our services and facilities.

Thank you for mentioning some points that we could improve. We have taken notes of your comments. It is important for us to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve and maintain our standards.


It would be an honor for us to seeing you again in our hotel and to make your rest time as pleasant as possible.

Kind regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Agustin
0.3 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,836 reviews
10.5 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
2.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
5,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
10.0 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,266 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
Bungalows Club Maspalomas
#15 of 217 in Maspalomas
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel

Address: C/. Las Margaritas, S/N | San Agustin, San Bartolome de Tirajana, 35100 San Agustin, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Agustin
#1 Family Hotel in San Agustin
#1 Spa Hotel in San Agustin
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Agustin
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Agustin
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range: $101 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Agustin, Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel is a 4-star establishment built in 1989 and fully refurbished in 2007. The spacious hotel has sea views, top quality cuisine, facilities specially designed for families, a thalassotherapy centre and family-oriented, friendly service within an atmosphere of a family business. In 1998 the Talasoterapia Canarias centre was opened, in an emblematic building consisting of more than 6.000M2, to provide health and wellbeing services. A real oasis of comfort. A dream within your reach. You can be sure of fine food and exceptional service at the panoramic a la carte restaurant Gorbea, which specialises in Basque cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Palace San Agustin Hotel San Agustin
Gloria Palace Hotel San Agustin
San Agustin Gloria Palace
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing