We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 week stay at The Gloria Palace San Augustin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in San Agustin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have just returned (8th Oct 2013) from a 2 week stay at The Gloria Palace San Augustin.

Arrival
We arrived at around 9pm along with around 24 other people. The reception staff were very efficient and quickly booked us in and then ushered us into the dining room leaving our luggage securely locked away in a side room off the reception area. Everything went well and when we eventually went to our rooms we were delighted with the room facilities, lovely décor, bathroom with double sink, large comfy beds with mattress toppers, TV, desk, chair and comfortable 2 seater settee and lots of drawer and wardrobe space for clothing. A pretty impressive start the holiday.

However there was a downside to our first night. We had requested a room on one of the higher floors but we were given a room on the 2nd floor. Also we were not happy with the ridiculous charge for using the safe in our room. Most good hotels we have used provide this at a modest cost or even a free service. Not here, they wanted €35 for 2 weeks. We complained but the manager wouldn’t budge on the price.

Having said that we had a great holiday and we couldn’t fault the hotel and staff. Everything else was near perfect and I would definitely recommend the hotel.

Reception.
The Reception area is small for the size of the hotel but the staff seemed to cope pretty well. As well as being on the small side the reception area didn’t seem to have any air conditioning so spending any time there was not a good experience.

Food
Meals in the restaurant were excellent. We had no problems finding something to suit our varied tastes, everything from caviar to mashed potato. The food was well seasoned but if you do like pepper you had better bring your own or find a waiter because there never seemed to be a pepper pot anywhere. Some tables were a little tightly packed together and the manager who selected the restaurant wines needs to be re-deployed. OK if you are all inclusive but not if you are paying for the privilege.

Room Made/Service
Room service was excellent with daily towel change and regular bedding changes.
The only problem was that the swipe cards for unlocking the room door seemed to fail on numerous occasions. (7 times in 9 days) We eventually had the electronic lock mechanism replaced and that cured the problem.

Entertainment.
The evening entertainment was pretty good and varied.

Pool Areas.
These areas were very good. Plenty of sunbeds – in fact in some areas there were too many, with dozens of beds packed in together with only and inch or less between each one.

Half Board or All Inclusive
We choose half board because we like to get out and about during the day. The San Augustin area is pretty quiet with very little going on locally in the evening which is a good reason to think seriously about the All Inclusive option.

Out and About.
There is a free bus service from the hotel to Playa del Ingles and Maspalomas. In addition there are regular service buses to other resorts. The bus stop is just 10 minutes walk from the hotel so there are plenty of options to explore further afield. The charges on the service buses are very reasonable as are the local taxi cabs.
The local beaches are good but they do have unattractive dark sand. Better sandier beaches can be found further along the coast. The best of which were - Maspalomas, Puerto Rico and Amadores. If you have children then it may be a good idea to avoid Maspalomas beach – apart from the nudist element there seemed to be some pretty strong tidal currents along this stretch of beach. Puerto Rico and Amadores beaches were very safe for bathing but were a 30 minute bus ride from San Augustin.

If you fancy doing something completely different well away from the sea. Take the local service bus from Maspalomas to Tejede. It takes nearly 2 hours to Tejede and the bus fare is about 6 Euros each way. It is an exceptional journey through rugged ravines and over high mountain passes. If you don’t like long white knuckle rides – give it a miss.

Summary

If you have read my review this far you might be thinking we had a few adverse comments about this hotel. This is true but we have to remember that the hotel management will no doubt read each comment. They need to know what needs doing if they are to achieve something near perfection. In general all of our small party had a great time at the Gloria Palace and if we ever returned to this area we would come back to the Gloria Palace.

For the management I would say – Get your act together, the cost of a room safe is a complete rip off!!!! Sort it out.

Room Tip: Room numbers 800 to 1000 all have good sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Limpalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Gloria Thalasso & Hotels to spend your holiday in Gran Canaria and of course for taking the time to write a review of our services and facilities.

Thank you for mentioning some points that we could improve. We have taken notes of your comments. It is important for us to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve and maintain our standards.


It would be an honor for us to seeing you again in our hotel and to make your rest time as pleasant as possible.

Kind regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,323)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,119 - 1,125 of 3,323 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013

I always think there is an element of luck when choosing a holiday. My partner and I decided on Gran Canaria and then I started by selecting from the criteria we wanted. Star rating, all-inclusive, location, facilities etc. then read Tripadvisor reviews on several. I kept getting drawn back to the Gloria Palace so booked it. We were not disappointed - the Thalassotherapy centre is truly wonderful - we booked massages and then enjoyed the seawater pools with all their hydro-massage jets. The fitness centre is well-equipped with free use between 1-2pm. The choice of food was very varied and plentiful, our room was of a good size with a large balcony and twin sinks in the bathroom. The staff were friendly, the entertainment was enjoyable. It was a very clean hotel and on the several days we left the hotel we either took the shuttle bus into Maspalomas or booked trips - did an inland island trip and went to Mogan on market day. I would just like to say that I don't understand the criticisms of some holidaymakers - breaking down all the components of the trip would work out to cost considerably more and also each year we are all probably guilty of hoping and maybe expecting each successive holiday will be better than the last. Not possible! The Gloria Palace is a great choice so just enjoy it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2016

Dear guest,

From Gloria Thalasso & Hotels, we thank you for choosing us to spend your holiday in Gran Canaria and for using a few minutes of your time to share your experience.

We are glad that we met your expectations and will be an honor to have you in future holidays.
If you need anything do not hesitate to contact us.

Sunny regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Have stayed in San Agustin before so was fairly sure where the hotel was situated and didn't have a problem with it being back from the beach. Good check in at reception with a glass of fizz on hand. Room was very nice quite large with desk & chair, two beds and sofa with coffee table. Plenty of wardrobe and drawer space. Room was kept very clean and towels changed as required. Did not like the fact you had to pay for using the safety deposit box. Nice balcony, we had a room on the fifth floor, but most rooms overlook the pool and towards the sea. Plenty of sunbeds and umbrellas so no need to rush down early to reserve a bed although people did. Two nice swimming pools. Animation team have plenty of activities on if this is your thing, I got a free massage one day by the pool bar and also tried the aqua aerobics. Pool bar gets busy only gripe here is the pool bar does not serve branded drinks, if you want these have to go to the main bar and ask for take away drinks (in plastic glasses). Free wifi in all parts of the hotel - get a code from reception to log into this. Food was plentiful and good quality and fairly good choice of everything you can imagine. If being picky would like to see fresh omelettes made to order at breakfast time. When having lunch or dinner, wine was served by the glass, in the evening especially when the waitresses are very busy would like to see them leaving the bottle on you table, not for you to have to try and catch their attention if you wished a second glass of wine with your meal, never did they see your glass empty and offer more to you, had to ask every time. Entertainment not our thing but only had the one main open air bar to sit at where the entertainment took place, would have been nice to have a separate quiet bar to sit with a drink and chat. This was available on the rooftop chill out bar but you had to pay for your drinks here (a bit cheeky to do this when paying for all inclusive, understand the same was the case if you went to the disco!!!). We would take a couple of drinks up to our balcony but again can still hear the entertainment from here, it finished at 1130 each evening. Took the public bus from the main road down to Puerto de Mogan, this was very easy and cost 4 euros 20 each way, takes about an hour to get there but worth it as very nice place to see. Also took a taxi (ask reception to call you one and they then allocate a taxi number to you which is on the side of the taxi when it arrives at the hotel) to Meloneras - this is the in place to be and plenty of restaurants to try. I would say anyone travelling to this hotel will have an excellent time and thoroughly enjoy themselves as we did. When we travelled it was very much an international crowd of people.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for a better view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sunny017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2016

Dear guest,

From Gloria Thalasso & Hotels, we thank you for choosing us to spend your holiday in Gran Canaria and for using a few minutes of your time to share your experience.

We are glad that we met your expectations and will be an honor to have you in future holidays.
If you need anything do not hesitate to contact us.

Sunny regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week trip to Gran Canaria. This was my first time on the island.
The hotel was fantastic. From the moment we arrived at reception the staff couldn't have been more helpful.
The food was well cooked and there was a wide variety for every meal.
The evening entertainment was good outside but half way through my holiday they moved it indoors, not a good decision for many holidaymakers as it was far too hot indoors and took ages to get a drink from the bar. This move indoors also led the management to close the outdoor bar at 2200hrs, again lots of people not very happy.
There are plenty of sun beds around the pool and terrace.
Housekeeping and maintenance staff were 2nd to none.
Although there is a small shopping centre quite close to the hotel there is not a big selection of shops and it's a fair old walk to anywhere else (or get a taxi). There is also quite a steep hill to climb back up to get to the hotel.
The room was roomy, well furnished and air conditioned. The bedding and towels were changed often. There is also tea/coffee making facilities in the room.
Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2016

Dear Lynda,

Thank you very much for choosing Gloria Thalasso & Hotels to spend your holiday in Gran Canaria and of course for taking the time to write a review of our services and facilities.

Thank you for mentioning some points that we could improve. We have taken notes of your comments. It is important for us to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve and maintain our standards.


It would be an honor for us to seeing you again in our hotel and to make your rest time as pleasant as possible.

Kind regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just spent a week at this hotel and may i say what a very pleasureable stay we had..the staff were very helpful, pleasant and very informative..even the lady who cleaned our room was charming..the whole complex was kept really clean..the food on offer was exellent..the waiters did a great job on the evenings keeping the drinks flowing nicely..all in all a very nice hotel to stay..so much so weve booked to return there next year..

Room Tip: defo a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank md9bs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2016

Dear guest,

From Gloria Thalasso & Hotels, we thank you for choosing us to spend your holiday in Gran Canaria and for using a few minutes of your time to share your experience.

We are glad that we met your expectations and will be an honor to have you in future holidays.
If you need anything do not hesitate to contact us.

Sunny regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks at this hotel and it was fantastic. The hotel is big but half way through September it wasn't too busy. The pools are big with one specially for children which tends to keep them out of the main pool which is good. On a Tuesday they ask you to do a feedback form & would hope they would take some notice of the couple of issues. There is a safety deposit box in the room & I think it should be free of charge, maybe a deposit of 10 euros or so to make sure you don't lose the wee key but to charge 2.50 euros a day is a bit much. The food was very good and being vegetarian there were plenty of choice however they do seem to add meat and fish to most dishes, ie rice, chickpeas, lentils, peas, etc all with meat or fish added. Not sure why they couldn't have one platter without. As others have mentioned the smoking is the worse I've ever come across, so that's not the hotel's fault, but you can't get away from huge clouds of smoke. About 80% or more of people, young and old, were smokers - horrible. Apart from this it was a great holiday & would recommend this hotel. The staff were the friendliest I've come across for a long time.

Room Tip: We had room 710, which was on the 2nd floor & wouldn't have liked to have been any lower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Owly13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

May I take this opportunity to thank you personally for the very high scores you have awarded us across all departments within the Hotel.

Kind regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This was our first visit to Gran Canaria and the Gloria Palace - a very enjoyable experience on both counts

ARRIVAL:
There were three couples checking in early evening of the 9th Sept. We were all offered a glass of champagne or orange juice (nice start!). Check in was quick, efficient and very halpful. We sorted out towels (10 Euro deposit + 0.5 Euro for each change) and safe (5 Euro deposit + 2.5 Euros per day). The receptionist gave us a run down of the All Inclusive and pointed out where everything was located and asked if we needed help with our bags. Room was very spacious with a balcony and view over the resort to the sea.

FOOD:

there was ample choice of hot and cold food for dinner with a "guest" cuisine every night (from memory - Spanish, Italian, Mexican, Cuban, German). There was plenty of fruit and desserts to choose from too. There was plenty of it and it was well cooked. Breakfast was the usual mix of cooked (fried eggs, boiled eggs, omlette, spanish omlette, bacon, sausages etc), cold meats and cheeses, fruit, yoghurt etc etc. We only had lunch once in the restaurant on the last day but the food was fine.

Meal times in the main buffet were: Breakfast 7.30 - 10.30, Lunch 1-2.30 & Dinner 6.30 - 10.00

If you go on a day drip you can ask the hotel to provide a packed lunch - sandwiched, fruit, yoghurts, water.

There was also food available in the snack bar from 1-3.30

There is an a la carte restaurant on the roof which you have to pay for (all guests get a 10% discount). The food was very good here.



DRINKS:

There are all inclusive menus at all the bars which indicte what is included. Most things are covered except some branded drinks. The cocktails are particularly good!

ENTERTAINMENT:

This is as always a bit hit and miss. Some of it was very good, some of it not so good. There was one very good Cuban variety act and some good music shows. The daytime activities are varied but not intrusive. The animation team is very energetic and work very hard. The all speak several languages (as do most of the staff) and are very helpful. There are cooking "shows" during the week - how to make Canarian mojos and paella - all good fun and useful.

OTHER USEFUL INFO:

The spa is huge - we went on a tour to have a look around. They provide a large number of treatments (all payable) but by joining in the daytime activities you can win discount vouchers. there is a gym which is only available for free between 1-2pm (otherwise you have to pay 8 Euros)

All inclusive finishes at 11.30pm and not a second later!

Whenever you order anything in the bars and restaurant they swipe your room key (for control purposes) - make sure you have it at all times.

Make sure you are very clear when you order water - still or sparkling

Late check out can be booked - we paid 20 Euros to extend for 4 hours

All inclusive runs out at midday on the day you leave - even if you extend the room. They will give you a voucher for lunch and a drink.

Sunbeds - there are loads. The ones around the pools are very close together. We went up on the terrace which goes around the pools - there was always room up here and the beds are much furhter apart.

I think I have just about covered everything! If you need any information just email.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors give a great view over the resort to the sea (we were on the 6th floor room 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank rainbowsix1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

May I take this opportunity to thank you personally for the very high scores you have awarded us across all departments within the Hotel.

Kind regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Agustin
0.3 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,845 reviews
10.5 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
2.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
5,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
10.0 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,274 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Dunas Suites and Villas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel

Address: C/. Las Margaritas, S/N | San Agustin, San Bartolome de Tirajana, 35100 San Agustin, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in San Agustin
#1 Green Hotel in San Agustin
#1 Spa Hotel in San Agustin
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Agustin
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Agustin
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range: $99 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Agustin, Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel is a 4-star establishment built in 1989 and fully refurbished in 2007. The spacious hotel has sea views, top quality cuisine, facilities specially designed for families, a thalassotherapy centre and family-oriented, friendly service within an atmosphere of a family business. In 1998 the Talasoterapia Canarias centre was opened, in an emblematic building consisting of more than 6.000M2, to provide health and wellbeing services. A real oasis of comfort. A dream within your reach. You can be sure of fine food and exceptional service at the panoramic a la carte restaurant Gorbea, which specialises in Basque cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Palace San Agustin Hotel San Agustin
Gloria Palace Hotel San Agustin
San Agustin Gloria Palace
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing