We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, horrible ending”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in San Agustin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent new years eve at Gloria Palace San Agustin, and enjoyed it very much. We had All inclusive Gorbea, and we were very happy with this choise. The main course at dinner were always great, the starters were ok, and so were also the desert. The breakfast and lunch buffé were fantastic. Although we had a good stay, it was all clouded with the horrible ending.

When checking out of the hotel, the reception had trouble since they had "double charged" every guest on drinks new years eve. They claim that they informed the guest of this, but that was not the case. The price list on New Years eve and the price on the checkout bill was doubled. There were many guest checking out with this problem, and they managed to fix it. We did not. We wanted the same solution as the other guest got, but the management became so incredible rude- I have never experiensed anything like this.

We felt incriminated, and the staff had no interest in hearing our side of the story, and kept interrupting us when we tried to explain. Not ever have I experiensed such bad service, and outright harassment.

This could have been solved very easily, if the hotel gave us the same solution as the other guest got regarding this mixup. However, since this did not happen- the hotel went as far as threathening us with the police if we did not pay the extra charge. The extra charge was only 30euros! Of course we could have pay'd that, but the whole point is that is was wrong. We never should have been charged the extra 30 euros.

I have written a long complaint to the travelagency this trip was ordered through, and are waiting for their reply. We ended up paying extra, so we could get to the airport on time.

Room Tip: The beds are very hard, so if you have back problems, you might want to choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Mari E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to evaluate our services and facilities, in addition to choosing Gloria Thalasso & Hotel as your destination in Gran Canaria.

We regret that you have been inconvenienced during your holidays; however, we note that not happen again in the future and invite you to check back often and demonstrate that we strive to make our customers enjoy a wonderful holiday.

Kind regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,610)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,403 - 1,409 of 3,611 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

we just came back from this hotel, we was here for twelve days. new year eves was good with a nice meal then upstairs to the lounge bar we had a bottle of champange to bring the new year in and fire works show to. the hotel food is good and breakfast is nice to. the starf here are a credit to the hotel they make you feel welcome and always try thier best to help you. if you are half board basis, watch out for your bar bill, i found they change thier prices for the same drinks some are cheaper and some are very dear i don't know why but they do, always arsk for a reciept and pay your bar bill every two days. pool is nice and pool bar is great with a cheeky bar man mister fantastico good bloke. roof top pool bar ok to. the ajoining spa and gym was amazing, we had a lovely time thier. the only negative comment is the evening entertainment was poor very poor. san agustin has no proper entertainment in town not like neighbering town playa ingless is lively full of people having a good time .the hotel failed on this ! as an adult i don't want to see parrot shows silly fashioned shows and stupid snakes,on top of that we had to put up with stupid staff shows that was realy poor they looked like they have'nt got a clue. rooms are cleaned every day and the rooms are nice with a lovely bathroom, all rooms are sea facing with a spaceous balconey. there is a little greek resturant at the shopping mall food is very nice at good prices.
if you want steak go to playa ingless the bull resturant lovely t bone with great veg. cab to airport should cost 35.00 euros cab to playa de ingless 5 euros.

Room Tip: go for high floors as it gets a bit noisey at night rooms 1211 1213 are just out side the lifts on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 94travelboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Gloria Thalasso & Hotels to spend your holiday in Gran Canaria and of course for taking the time to write a review of our services and facilities.

Thank you for mentioning some points that we could improve. We have taken notes of your comments. It is important for us to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve and maintain our standards.


It would be an honor for us to seeing you again in our hotel and to make your rest time as pleasant as possible.

Kind regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Just returned from a week here (Jan 3rd-10th) and have to say it was the best value break had for a long time . Decided to try there all inclusive deal and having gone all inc before in the same area, didn't have too high of an expectation, but was totally impressed with not only the service and surroundings but the food on offer as well. Have to compliment the staff involved in this well oiled operation,everyone we came in contact with was superb, always a smile to give even at the very busy times when they are run off their feet, they are a credit to the hotel.
The food on offer was of a very high quality and lots of it, you would have to be a very fussy eater indeed to go hungry here and let's be honest, if you are, then you should'nt be going all inc, there really is something for everyone.
Drinks wise, its a mix of bar and waiter service here according to time of day and etc but one tip i would give is give a few euros tip to these guys and you won't be ignored. they were fantastic.
Good sized pools with lots of sunbeds available, but like anywhere, you will always get the morons who comandeer their favourites with their towels before the poor staff can sort the place out .
If you fancy some peace and quiet then i reccomend the 9th floor chill out area,great for kicking back with a good book, grat staff and amazing views, it has a small pool as well as loungers and even an area where you can get that all over tan(out of view of course)
this is not part of the all inc but 5 euros each gets you a lounger and towel all day and thy bar will give you a 50% discount on all branded drinks ( and they're big drinks) averaging 3 euros .
Its a great way to spend the day away from the crowd.
Entertainment wise, it's the usual type of holiday stuff, tribute acts and comedy shows etc but it is what it is, great for young family's and people with nothing to do for a bit but sit and chill out.
The hotel is well situated up a hill and overlooks the Atlantic ocean, small shopping centre nearby and around 5 Euros to Playa del ingles in a taxi if you want some nightlife.
All in all, we would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel for a break, had a great time .
Thank's to all involved at the hotel for their professionalism and look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: Higher floor has better view and less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kevinwine69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

May I take this opportunity to thank you personally for the very high scores you have awarded us across all departments within the Hotel.

Kind regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Just got back from a 7 night stay at this hotel and it was excellent. We were all inclusive and i am a particularly fussy eater but the food for breakfast, lunch and dinner was varied, plentiful and very well presented and cooked. All the facilities were very good - we could swim in the pools each day because they were heated. Kids club was great and our 9 year old loved the kids disco each night. Kings day on the 6th January saw the 3 kings parade through the grounds and present each child with a present, sweets and a fiesta bag - a lovely touch. I'm with other reviewers this place is made very special by its staff who are all polite, friendly and helpful. We run a golf holiday business and get to stay in a lot of hotels but this was definitely one of the best, would not hesitate to recommend it. Our daughter did not want to leave and nor did we! But we will definitely be back.....

Room Tip: Family rooms are on the far side of the hotel and with only families staying in them tend to be quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

May I take this opportunity to thank you personally for the very high scores you have awarded us across all departments within the Hotel.

Kind regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

just back family holiday where we spent new year and have to say this hotel must be as close to 5 stars as you can get really well laid out,pools nice staff very friendly.food was really good maybe could be bit repetitive in second week but if stuck person there to make your own pizza .cant be bad.health spa which is extra out of this world we upgraded our room to a family one near pool area very nice indeed all in all a very nice hotel it did not disapoint

Room Tip: designer shopping in maspolonas really good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank alanlivy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

May I take this opportunity to thank you personally for the very high scores you have awarded us across all departments within the Hotel.

Kind regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed at Gloria palace for the New Year. It has great reviews and I saw why.

It was occupied by a lot of families, couples of all ages and mobility abilities. It's facilities were great (restaurant, bars, entertainment day and night, gym, several swimming pools, children's play area and spa)

Used the gym and water therapy pools facilties and they are great.

The staff were very helpful in arranging trips, keeping aware of services, pointing you in the right direction.

The rooms were a good size and fully equiped (but no irons?) rooms were cleaned daily

The restaurant offered great choice of different meals for breakfast and dinner.

The area is windly great for walking and good local buses - the hotel offers transfer services to two local resorts.

Would gladly recommend and would return in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The higher the better for ggreat views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rosebud699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

May I take this opportunity to thank you personally for the very high scores you have awarded us across all departments within the Hotel.

Kind regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

From the moment we arrived to the checking out on departure day was fantastic. Fabulous reception area, very helpful reception staff, full of information. The hotel is very clean, excellent pool areas, food was excellent, catered for everyone. The seven nights we stayed had great entertainment in the eveings Throughout the day they had activities for all ages. The room with balcony and sea view was breath taking.

Booking to good back again soon.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

May I take this opportunity to thank you personally for the very high scores you have awarded us across all departments within the Hotel.

Kind regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Agustin
0.3 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,971 reviews
2.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
5,535 reviews
10.9 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
1.9 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,680 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#8 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel

Address: C/. Las Margaritas, S/N | San Bartolome de Tirajana, 35100 San Agustin, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Agustin
#1 On the Beach Hotel in San Agustin
#1 Green Hotel in San Agustin
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Agustin
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range: $100 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Agustin, Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel is a 4-star establishment built in 1989 and fully refurbished in 2007. The spacious hotel has sea views, top quality cuisine, facilities specially designed for families, a thalassotherapy centre and family-oriented, friendly service within an atmosphere of a family business. In 1998 the Talasoterapia Canarias centre was opened, in an emblematic building consisting of more than 6.000M2, to provide health and wellbeing services. A real oasis of comfort. A dream within your reach. You can be sure of fine food and exceptional service at the panoramic a la carte restaurant Gorbea, which specialises in Basque cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Palace San Agustin Hotel San Agustin
Gloria Palace Hotel San Agustin
San Agustin Gloria Palace
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing