We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in San Agustin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We have just returned from a week in this lovely hotel. Although we did experience some difficulty with check-in and room allocation, this was sorted out to our complete satisfaction. From the Chill out terrace on the 9th floor to the dining room on -1st Floor everything was perfect. Thank you to Candy for all the help and advice and a special thank you to Almudena who looked after us so well each evening in the dining room. The Hydro Pool is a must try. Also it is lovely to have a good hairdresser on the premises as San Agustin is a steep walk back up hill to the hotel. We will be returning again next May.

Room Tip: Look for a room above the 6th Floor for best views
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lohlri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

May I take this opportunity to thank you personally for the very high scores you have awarded us across all departments within the Hotel.

Kind regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,250)
There are newer reviews for Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,308 - 1,314 of 3,250 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

My friend and I returned on Saturday 27/10/2012 from a week at the Gloria Palace San Augustin.
I had stayed in the sister hotel in Amadores, which is fantastic on every level, so wanted to try another resort.
We are English, and we found it to be 75% German/Swedish.
There was a lack of information, nothing in the bedrooms, to say meal times, pool times, and general information about the hotel
On the Activity board, it would say Aqua 11am, but did not give a location, and as there are several pools, we missed the class.
The free bus from the hotel to Playa De Ingles, did not say where it stopped, so another morning wasted as it was the driver who told us beach only, and we wanted the shops, which he said we could not walk to
The Restruant said to reserve a table for the first sitting, and on all 3 occasions when we tried to book, they said no need, but we saw people being turned away, if they did not book.
They changed the dining times, without giving guests any notice.
The nearest shop to buy water is a 10 minute walk away, down a steep hill.
The Evening Entertainment, was in a large room inside the hotel, with limited viewing due to large pillers.
There is a wonderful stage outside, but is only used by the children.
On the positive side
The hotel is nice and clean, with friendly chamber maids, and Animation team
The room was large, too big bedrooms, with joining bathroom, and Balcany
A kettle and limited supply of Tea/Coffee is in the room, with a Refridgerator.
The food was first class, and a fantastic variety.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nicky123tennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for such positive feedback after your stay at Gloria Thalasso & Hotels.
Our aim is to ensure that each and every guest has a memorable stay with us and it is wonderful that we did this for you.

Thank you for mentioning some points that we could improve. We have taken notes of your comments. It is important for us to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve and maintain our standards.

We look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed in the Gloria Palace in October 2012. We have visited San Augustin once before and fell in with the area, the peace and quite and the beautiful beaches. The first time round the hotel we stayed at was a little bit of a disappointment. I am glad to say that this was not the case this time. The Gloria Palace was beautiful, the grounds, the rooms and most of all the view. The rooms where spacious and clean and the main restaurant served food of a standard and a variety not usually associated with an All inclusive establishment.
The roof top terrace/bar was the stuff of dreams spectacular views and friendly attentive staff.
All in all a fantastic holiday and looking forward to returning for some late sun next year.... and the year after that... and the one after that........

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coatesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

May I take this opportunity to thank you personally for the very high scores you have awarded us across all departments within the Hotel.

Kind regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The best hotel I have stayed at. Food as good as on most of the cruise ships. staff all so very friendly. runs free bus to other neaby resorts. outside space excellent so never overcrowded Comfortable sun loungers with umbrella if needed.Will definitely stay there again. Thank you Staff Gloria Palace

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

May I take this opportunity to thank you personally for the very high scores you have awarded us across all departments within the Hotel.

Kind regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

Been here for a week could not fault anything food fantastic. Plenty of activities for the children. spa pool great for the adults.
Atmosphere fantastic. Family rooms. So big.
The hotel staff so helpful

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank glenjackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

May I take this opportunity to thank you personally for the very high scores you have awarded us across all departments within the Hotel.

Kind regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Gloria Palace in San Agustin. It is a very nice hotel. This was our first visit to that particular hotel although we have stayed several times in its sister hotel in Amadores, Gran Canaria, which is an absolutely fantastic hotel.

Overall our stay was very pleasant. However, just to get a couple of negatives out of the way first. We had particularly requested a room on a high floor when booking a couple of months in advance but on arrival we were allocated a first floor room. This despite the fact that I had even emailed the hotel directly a few days prior to our arrival to confirm our special request. The room was not what we were expecting, it was quite dark and directly overlooked the children's play area. The member of staff who checked us in wasn't particularly helpful. He just said there was nothing he could do about the situation as there was no other room available. We agreed to stay in that room for the first night provided they would see if they could allocate us another room the following morning. This they did and we eventually got a room on the 4th floor.

Second negative point we would like to make is the quality of their cocktails. They are by far the worst cocktails we have ever had! Surely a good cocktail is a basic requirement in any decent hotel?

Apart from the above two points we found the hotel staff to be friendly and efficient, particularly Candy at the cusomer relations desk who was always ready to help with any query. The quality and choice of food is very good and the entire hotel is very well maintained. A very enjoyable holiday overall.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer the best views
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Weavers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for such positive feedback after your stay at Gloria Thalasso & Hotels.
Our aim is to ensure that each and every guest has a memorable stay with us and it is wonderful that we did this for you.

Thank you for mentioning some points that we could improve. We have taken notes of your comments. It is important for us to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve and maintain our standards.

We look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We went to this hotel for a week at the beginning of October.

We booked this holiday direct with the Gloria Palace website, and we booked the transfer from the airport via this site. Full instructions were emailed to us, and upon arrival at the airport, once we had collected our bags, a gentleman was waiting with our names on a board and we were promptly taken to his waiting car for the trip to the Gloria Palace. We were very impressed this this service and would definitely recommend using this, the cost was 35 Euros.

We realised that this hotel was an older design to the type I would normally pick, but don't let this put you off, because what is inside this hotel is absolutely fantastic.

Check in was very prompt, I requested a room on a high floor, and we were given a room on the 8th floor (which is the highest floor for accommodation). The room was very nice, it was spotlessly clean, and the view from the balcony was great. The bathroom products were plentiful and were topped up everyday. We hired a safe, I know people complain about having to pay for this facility, but we have paid in every hotel we have been in.

On our last day for some reason the safe wouldn't open, we called reception and within minutes the maintenance men came up and opened the safe.

The food was lovely, I am a fussy eater, but there was always something I liked, they have a section where they cook various meats fish, and there was a always a good variety of all types of food and desserts.

We went all inclusive, and you do have to pay for named wines and branded drinks, most of them at 50% of the cost, and you have to pay 50% for drinks at the rooftop bar.

The pool area was very nice, we didn't have to get up early to get sunbeds, it was starting to get busy as we were coming home, and I would imagine it would be hectic in the school holidays, as the hotel seemed to cater well for children. We didn't participate with the animation team, because we just wanted to relax, there was no pressure to join in, but for those that did it looked like they had a good programme of events.

In the evenings the entertainment was held indoors, we are led to believe that during the summer months it is held outside, where they have a stage set up. Most of the shows we saw were enjoyable.

There was a lovely roof top pool area, where you could pay to have a sun bed for the day, which included a towel and water. We didn't actually sunbathe up there, but we did go up and have a drink several times, it was lovely. As stated previously if you are all inclusive you do have to pay 50% for all drinks, it was a good idea to do this as kept this bar area quieter. There is a nudist area on the roof as well, we didnt use this and understand that you dont have to pay for this.

The staff and the service at this hotel were first class. There is a lovely lady called Candy - Public Relations - who has a desk in the reception area, she was so helpful and knowledgeable, and is a real asset to this hotel.

The pool bar staff were excellent too, never had to wait long for drinks, all the staff were great, especially the head barman and a young lad that was working there during our stay, they made it a pleasure to go to the bar.

Wi-fi is more or less everywhere in the hotel, this is a big plus for us as we like to keep in touch.

We went into the Thallasotherapy for a couple of hours one day just into the pool, having never been in one before it was great and a nice experience.

The hotel is set up a hill about a 10 minute walk from the beach and a local shopping centre, which does look a bit run down, but unless you like going out there is no reason to leave this hotel.

Well done to the Management at this hotel, all the staff everywhere in the hotel appeared as if they enjoyed working there and made dealing with them for the customer a pleasurable experience.

We would highly recommend a visit to the Gloria Palace at San Augustin and intend returning as soon as possible!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a sea facing view, it would just depend whether you like being high up.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CaroleFz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

May I take this opportunity to thank you personally for the very high scores you have awarded us across all departments within the Hotel.

Kind regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Agustin
0.3 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#5 of 19 in San Agustin
1,794 reviews
10.5 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
2.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#18 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
4,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
10.0 mi away
Marina Suites
Marina Suites
#2 of 68 in Puerto Rico
3,211 reviews
1.7 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#6 of 134 in Playa del Ingles
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel

Address: C/. Las Margaritas, S/N | San Agustin, San Bartolome de Tirajana, 35100 San Agustin, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Agustin
#1 Spa Hotel in San Agustin
#1 Family Hotel in San Agustin
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Agustin
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Agustin
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range: $111 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Agustin, Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel is a 4-star establishment built in 1989 and fully refurbished in 2007. The spacious hotel has sea views, top quality cuisine, facilities specially designed for families, a thalassotherapy centre and family-oriented, friendly service within an atmosphere of a family business. In 1998 the Talasoterapia Canarias centre was opened, in an emblematic building consisting of more than 6.000M2, to provide health and wellbeing services. A real oasis of comfort. A dream within your reach. You can be sure of fine food and exceptional service at the panoramic a la carte restaurant Gorbea, which specialises in Basque cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Palace San Agustin Hotel San Agustin
Gloria Palace Hotel San Agustin
San Agustin Gloria Palace
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing