We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Hotel And Holiday, Highly Recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in San Agustin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel And Holiday, Highly Recommend”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We returned last week from the Gloria Palace and wish we had booked the two weeks instead of just the one ! We booked the holiday at the last minute due to thomas cook pulling out of belfast city and as my Fiance' had stayed there many many moons ago. The holiday cost us £1800 and was all inclusive and we chose it based on a quiet location away from the commercial madness of Playa del ingles.
ROOM: We got a junior suite, which was situated on the 4th floor (if you havent got kids i would highly recommend one of these rooms, the one we were in had a four poster bed and living room, with a suite which had a fold out bed in it if you had just the one child i guess this would be fine) room was spacious and very clean on arrival and evey day our maid 'Julia' couldnt have kept the place cleaner and was very polite and always happy, but this can be said about all the staff who were fantastic. You can pay for the safe in your room which was 15 euro's and a 5 euro deposit which you get back. We didnt opt for the mini bar due to prices so there is a small shop at the bottom of the road we went to to keep are fridge full of drink and supplies. One other suggestion to the hotel would to be to have an ironing board in the room.
HOTEL: The whole hotel was clean and always being cleaned, even the pool cleaner never seemed to stop polishing something around the pool area. The receptionists were always helpful and if you need help look at their badges as they display which languages they speak so you can get someone who can help you. A cash machine is just behind the reception and a few drinks machine if you need a nibble in the middle of the night. There is an internet cafe setup if you need to go on the web, but ask the receptionist for a WIFI pass and they will give you a password for the free WIFI in the hotel which if like me you are never off facebook this comes in handy to avoid expensive roaming charges.
POOL: The pool areas were great, you had the choice of three on the lower level and one upstairs on the roof (which i will get to later) the two lower pools, one of which is the kids pool, i would be slightly worried about if i had young children who couldnt swim as it is right beside a deep pool, there are always plenty of staff around the pool watching but no dedicated life guard so if you have wandering children you would need to keep a careful eye on them.
FOOD: As we were all inclusive all our food was 'free' (i did notice this dosent include icecreams at the pool for the kids, so give them money rather than the card as this will get charged to you room if it gets swiped) the breakfast has an excellent selection of eveything you could wish for from the healthy options to the full on fried breakfast, lunch was the same although one minour complaint was that a lot of the vegetarian options stated as 'V' did have meat in them and hidden fish on one occasion and as my Fiance is a vegitarian lunch had to be careful looked through before choosing anything, but this is only a small complaint as there was still always something for her to eat. Dinner, although a bit chaotic at times, was excellent mountains of food to choose from (although the descriptions could be a bit better some times, one stating 'COW', which part was my next question) there are 2 sittings, which you can book one of if there is a certain time you prefer, this will get you a reserved table waiting for you on your sitting, the tables are a bit close to each other and you tend to squeeze your way in and out if you are at a table at the side of the room. Also in between the main meals you have a food bar which has, pizza, chips, burgers and hotdog food and salads and toasties if you get hungry. Only one could be if you have fussy eating kids, there is very little in the way of plain food for them, although there is always pizza and chips if they wont touch anything else.
DRINK: All the local drinks were available on your all inclusive package which were fine, for a little extra cost you can pay for the branded drinks, a bottle of san miguel, bud etc about 1.70 euros (you get half price on all drinks if all inclusive), if you are up on the rooftop bar no drinks are available on the all inclusive option you have to pay for everything 50% discounted. Do be careful if getting drinks after the 11.30 cut off, i know a couple of people got caught out, when the all inclusive finishes and you hand over your card to pay for drinks they get charged to your room and at full price, so be aware of the last orders and what time you are getting drinks at at the end of the night.
ROOFTOP: The rooftop bar and pool area is amazing, we spent most of our time there and in the evenings the bar is open to 2 a.m. You have to pay during the day for a lounger and no children are allowed (there where still kids upstairs) its 5 euros for a lounger which gets you a towel and a bottle of water and the staff really look after you. The drink upstairs is all branded and you have to pay for it 50% off if all inclusive, but worth every penny (veuve cliquot is 37 euros a bt !!), the pool upstairs is salt water and freezing so dont go up thinking you can swim about a lot unless you can handle the cold, great for cooling off though. In the evening there are beds to lie on and again the staff trip over to help you and are great.
POOLBAR: Friendly and fun staff with a pool table if you want to pot a few balls while having a few drinks or sitting out of the sun for a while.
ENTERTAINMENT: The kids seemed to love the mini disco and shows in the evening, we watched a few, they are a bit limited in appeal but perfect to unwind in the evening and all day there are activities on for both the adults and kids.

We loved this hotel and will be booking again for next year and taking my son as well, dont go here expecting to go out a walk around the town and shops there is very little about and very little to do, it is a very sleepy resort (what we wanted) but if you are looking for nightlife outside of the hotel there is nothing close, you need to get a taxi. There is one supermarket which is a bit run down 10 minutes down the road and you are about 20 mins from the beach walking. The hotel has free buses on to go to the main beaches if you need it. In summary if you want a relaxing no hassel, no need to leave the hotel holiday, i recommend a stay here, we really did enjoy our time. Richard & Karen

Room Tip: Try and go for the 4th floor up for best views and if you can i recomment the junior suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2016
Dear guest,

From Gloria Thalasso & Hotels, we thank you for choosing us to spend your holiday in Gran Canaria and for using a few minutes of your time to share your experience.

We are glad that we met your expectations and will be an honor to have you in future holidays.
If you need anything do not hesitate to contact us.

Sunny regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,866 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,435
    882
    364
    118
    67
See reviews for
928
1,296
74
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Horsforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
246 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Here's a brief review of our holiday at the Gloria Palace.

Firstly the hotel, clean, really helpful friendly staff ( have breakfast outside and look for Rosi, the most cheerful person you could hope to find )

Meals - food plentiful and adequate, always enough to choose from and of a good quality. The two sitting system seemed to cause a few headaches for staff but in our opinion this was down to guests trying to bend the rules to their own needs rather than errors on behalf of the hotel. You get allocated a table for either the 6.30 or 8.30 dinner sitting and stay there for the duration of the stay - a few guests we saw had others sitting at their table when they arrived for dinner which on some occasions caused some heated debate.

Drinks ordering a little of a messy process at dinner but nothing to spoil your stay - a bottle of house white although not on the menu card cost 10 Euro - ask for Mirabueno ! If you don't finish the whole bottle they will hold over for you for the next evening if you ask them too and it will be waiting for you the following evening. All staff friendly and helpful although constantly busy and running around clearing tables.

Pool area large and beds plentiful - no need to reserve. Pool warm and inviting

Rooms - you need one from the fourth floor upwards, overlooking the pool area and over towards the sea - we had a fourth floor room which was just about right. Room was large and comfortable, cleaned every day and had coffee and tea with a kettle and cups. Fridge also but avoid asking for it to be stocked by the hotel but instead buy your own drinks from outside the hotel - a perfectly acceptable bottle of white approx 2 Euro at the Spar down the road was more than sufficient Also room safe is available at 2.50 Euro’s per day plus 5 Euro deposit.

San Agustin - very quiet with few bars and restaurants. We found El Capitan to be the best - 4 Euro for half a litre of house white, food plentiful there with huge portions which although we did not have dinner there, did have lunch which was nice. Best way to find El Capitan is to follow the road opposite the hotel where the bus turns round all the way to the bottom (follow the Nito's restaurant sign).
Cross over the road by the hospital and head down towards the beach front - you will come to El Capitan right on the beach front. Avoid Loopy's which is also down that way we found it to be very expensive, nearly 9 Euro for half a bottle of white wine.

Another of our favourites was La Terraza situated on the front as you walk towards Playa Del Ingles, just on a wooden bridge across the sands - very friendly owner who taught us many Spanish words from the menu and how to order - well worth a visit for lunch

The walk to Playa Del Ingles is really too long in the heat of the day - take the hotel bus which was excellent and goes to Playa and Maspalomas and brings you back later in the day. Maspalomas well worth a visit and much nicer than Playa in our opinion.

Other places to visit - Mogan on a Friday for the market which is huge, also a lovely little harbour and beach front. Go on the public bus, the coastal road is an experience and will cost just over 4 Euro each from San Agustin to Mogan which is much cheaper than organised excursions and you can also stay as long as you want. Puerto Rico - to busy and hectic for us but worth a visit anyway, again go on the public bus, 2.75 Euro.

A couple of minor suggestions for the hotel - firstly, have an entrance near to where the staff entrance is so as you don't have to walk all the way round the back into reception to gain entry - it is quite a slope all the way up and round so this would be a nice touch we thought. Also free WIFI would have been good rather than having to pay but that’s a very minor gripe.

Overall a very enjoyable holiday and I would recommend this hotel to anyone - we had a fabulous time there and I'm sure if you choose to go, you will also.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the fourth floor and up
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Sue_and_Andy_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2016
Dear guest,

From Gloria Thalasso & Hotels, we thank you for choosing us to spend your holiday in Gran Canaria and for using a few minutes of your time to share your experience.

We are glad that we met your expectations and will be an honor to have you in future holidays.
If you need anything do not hesitate to contact us.

Sunny regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Just returned from Gloria palace. Hotel was nice and clean. Food was fine. Evening seating arrangements kept changing which was confusing for guests.
Pool area was well maintained and plenty of sun beds.
Family rooms very spacious and nice, however had to pay extra for a safe which was a let down as this I feel should be included within all inclusive room.
All inclusive a little confusing and little explanation although you soon get the hang of it I.e band issued however not required? As you needed a room card to get drinks etc.
Surrounding area was a let down however. The hotel was is on an elevated position which made it difficult to enjoy a walk to any local amenities. Local area was run down. To make up for this a little the hotel provided a free bus to maspalomas and playa de ingles which are well worth a visit.
Evening entertainment required some work given that due to local area you are a little stuck in the hotel on an evening when on holiday with a young family.
Hotel would defo visit again if it was in a different location. Met some nice people on holiday and enjoyed it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UkHonesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2016
Dear guest,

From Gloria Thalasso & Hotels, we thank you for choosing us to spend your holiday in Gran Canaria and for using a few minutes of your time to share your experience.

We are glad that we met your expectations and will be an honor to have you in future holidays.
If you need anything do not hesitate to contact us.

Sunny regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Very nice place to stay. Good swimming pool area with things to do.. only gripe is the buffet restaurant area, it was very chaotic with lots of people eating at the same time. Also the tables are way too close to each other. More space please!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caerwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2016
Dear guest,

Thank you for such positive feedback after your stay at Gloria Thalasso & Hotels.
Our aim is to ensure that each and every guest has a memorable stay with us and it is wonderful that we did this for you.

Thank you for mentioning some points that we could improve. We have taken notes of your comments. It is important for us to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve and maintain our standards.

We look forward to welcoming you again at our hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

just come back from gloria palace ,and cant find faults with anything about this hotel,on arrival staff were great and very quick ,glass of bubbly at the desk,gave us plenty of advice and a great room on 5th floor and a big bottle of bubbly ,lovey feeling to our holiday,then went for our evening meat be be told what sitting would we like early or late and they give you that table all the time,great idea no rushing abut for tables,and the staff take you to your table and get what drinks you like,they are great looking after you and they are always makeing sure that everything is to your satisfactoin, the food is very good quality and plenty of it to siut everybodys need,plenty to do in hotel if you stay in the hotel all the time,all the staff from desk,cleaners/waiters,cheffs all were spot on,this hotel is a must ,try it and you wont want to come home

Room Tip: main rooms but there is no sun on them in the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank graham728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2016
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

May I take this opportunity to thank you personally for the very high scores you have awarded us across all departments within the Hotel.

Kind regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Just come back from 10 day stay in the Gloria Palace last week in June, I had previously stayed in their sister hotel in Puerto Rico. We stayed all inclusive, had a room on the 7th floor overlooking the stage. I have to say that I couldn't really find fault with this hotel, yes it is a little bit older than it's two other hotel's on Gran Canaria but it was spolit clean, staff could not do enough for you, very friendly. Food was excellent, plenty of choice. Myself & my son used the spa which was excellent, if you do the tour of the spa you get a 20% discount on some of the treatments. Bar staff great although they were run off their feet at night time. We did go out on a couple of nights to Maspalomas taxi €7 & Playa del Ingles taxi €4 just for a change. Beach is about 10min walk down a small hill. Plenty of sunbeds everyday at all times of the day, although I was there for two Sunday's and on those two days it seemed to be very busy but I think it was because people who were not residents of the hotel used the facilities, but any other day no problem getting a sunbed. We are going to go back to this hotel next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Adrienne186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2016
Dear guest,

From Gloria Thalasso & Hotels, we thank you for choosing us to spend your holiday in Gran Canaria and for using a few minutes of your time to share your experience.

We are glad that we met your expectations and will be an honor to have you in future holidays.
If you need anything do not hesitate to contact us.

Sunny regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

just come back from the gloria palace San agustin!!!!!! the food has improved 100%. The new stage and bar area is great! the bar staff as always fantastic especially Jefe Pepe!! and Carlos on the pool bar, not forgetting marietta !!! oh the bar staff are a credit to the place !
my only beef is with some of the restaurant peeps! not all of them !! I see the lady who owns the place is still there keeping them all on thier toes, but she too seems to have a great rappor with the staff!!
If you want somewhre clean, good staff , good food and a general 1st class holiday look no further!!!!

Room Tip: higher up is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIA_TH, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this review, October 15, 2016
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

May I take this opportunity to thank you personally for the very high scores you have awarded us across all departments within the Hotel.

Kind regards,

Jorge Montañez
subdirector
Gloria Palace San Agustín Thalasso & Hotel****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Agustin
0.3 mi away
Melia Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos
#6 of 19 in San Agustin
1,577 reviews
10.6 mi away
Gloria Palace Amadores Thalasso & Hotel
2.2 mi away
Occidental Margaritas
Occidental Margaritas
#22 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
4,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Gloria Palace Royal Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Seaside Sandy Beach
Seaside Sandy Beach
#3 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,186 reviews
1.9 mi away
Gold By Marina
Gold By Marina
#1 of 135 in Playa del Ingles
1,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel

Property: Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
Address: C/. Las Margaritas, S/N | San Agustin, San Bartolome de Tirajana, 35100 San Agustin, Maspalomas, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Maspalomas > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Agustin
#1 Family Hotel in San Agustin
#1 Green Hotel in San Agustin
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Agustin
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Agustin
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Agustin, Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel is a 4-star establishment built in 1989 and fully refurbished in 2007. The spacious hotel has sea views, top quality cuisine, facilities specially designed for families, a thalassotherapy centre and family-oriented, friendly service within an atmosphere of a family business. In 1998 the Talasoterapia Canarias centre was opened, in an emblematic building consisting of more than 6.000M2, to provide health and wellbeing services. A real oasis of comfort. A dream within your reach. You can be sure of fine food and exceptional service at the panoramic a la carte restaurant Gorbea, which specialises in Basque cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Palace San Agustin Hotel San Agustin
Gloria Palace Hotel San Agustin
San Agustin Gloria Palace
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing