We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Riu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Jandia
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Morro del Jable
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Top Riu”
Reviewed November 29, 2010

I've stayed at quite a few Riu hotels and this one is right up there. The staff are amazing, the service is faultless, the food and choice fantastic.
Just a couple of things to point out. The hotel is built into the side of a hill and even with the lifts there are still quite a few steps and long walkways to negotiate. You have to go down a spiral staircase to get to the promenade and beach, so not really for the less mobile.....................and talking about the beach, it's fantastic and goes for miles, but not recommended if you are offended by geriatric Germans who've turned whole stretches of it into a nudist colony!!! I'm no prude, but found some of the "sights" quite horrible, but at least there's plenty of places to park a bike (sorry, very old joke)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RiufanLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    142
    39
    12
    5
See reviews for
87
298
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2010

This is our third stay at the Riu Palace Jandia. On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff who gave us a glass of cava and an orange juice while we were checked in. We were upgraded to a suite....still don't know why. We had booked the room direct with the hotel. Our cases were taken to the room as we were speaking with reception. The rooms were very clean and a wonderful large balcony overlooking the sea.
Breakfast was superb. Plenty to choose from. Cava to start with!! All food was freshly prepared and of excellent quality. Lots of different salad, ham, cheese. Different types of bread. Lots of diffent fruit and cereal. Show cooking of eggs and omelettes. Steak was available most morningsl, along with various omelettes, bacon, beans, sausage etc. The rooms were cleaned to an exceptional high standard daily and towels were made into swans/elephants/snakes. The cleaning was then checked daily by the supervisor. The air conditioning is quiet and effective. The large bath with shower is great. There is plenty of space in the rooms. Beach towels are provided. There is table tennis, table football and a billiards table in the public area. Plenty of comfortable sun loungers over a large area. Lovely pool. Amazing uninterupted views of the beach and sea. We had a slight problem with the safe and informed reception. Maintenance soon arrived to rectify the problem - our son had input the code in incorrectly too many times. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The dinner was super. It was buffet style - plenty to choose from and plenty of variation daily. Again, all fresh and cooked to a high standard. There is the option to have table service if you do not want to have the buffet. Can't comment on this as we always had the buffet. The service is fantastic. Every member of staff work hard to please and a very efficient whilst remaining friendly. The majority of the guests are German and were very nice friendly. Can't comment on the entertainment. The hotel is between the new part of Jandia where there are plenty of bars, restaurants and designer shops and shopping centres. The other part of town is Morro Jable which we preferred. Lots of local character. It is a port that is still used. There is a fish restaurant there that has amazing freshly cooked fish that is not expensive and of excellent quality. The other restaurants and bars in the old town are all of good quality too. The beach was not overcrowded as it is very long!! The sea is crystal clear. The resort is clean and tidy. Our son loved building sand castles and swimming. Fantastic place - wish we were still there. There are quite a lot of steps in and around the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ssandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

First impressions weren't particularly favorable as the general area outside the hotel looks a little bit run down as it's at the end of a slightly scruffy street. While the inside of the hotel is very clean and well kept it did look like needed a refit as to me it's just a bit too 1990's. The lady that checked us in was extremely friendly and helpful and we were quickly heading off to our room which was exactly as requested – a clear unobstructed sea view – in fact we were directly over the beach which was perfect. Our room was very large with a separate living area – sofa and chairs etc – a sleeping area with two extra large single beds pushed together – dressing and sink area, and a big bathroom and shower. Everything spotlessly clean, very well stocked and organized, and the air conditioning was both quiet and effective. We also had a large balcony with sun chairs and small table. Our room lady, Eva, kept the room perfect clean and tidy everyday.

There are two restaurants, one inside that does mainly buffet style service and one outside that is full service. As independent travelers we were told we could use the outside restaurant 5 times during our 10 night stay at no extra cost, but I don't know if the same applies to package tour guests. The food in the buffet style restaurant is absolutely fine - if you like buffets - with great choices and everything fresh and different at every mealtime. Breakfast is particularly impressive and there really must be something there for everyone. Personally I hate buffets as it feels like you're trying to have a meal in the middle of a busy and brightly lit shopping mall, but I was happy that we could spend half our evenings outside where it is completely relaxed and peaceful.

It was my wife's birthday while we were there and completely unprompted they gave us a bottle of champagne in our room and another one with dinner. The next day was our anniversary and they gave us more champagne - that was a nice and very unexpected touch.

The hotel is dominated by Germans – not really a problem - who assume you are too, so if you're not (like us) you need to get used to the fact that everyone, including the staff, will assume you are unless you make it clear you're not! Of course many were up to their usual trick of towels on the sun beds at dawn and then not actually appearing until about 11:00am, but it was just a few. The German guest domination seems to have the slightly unfortunate side effect of dinner being quite formal and somewhat of a fashion parade every evening with quite a bit of clothing oneupmanship taking place all around. Because it's quite formal we were surprised to see that shorts and/or t-shirts were not allowed in the dining room for dinner – we are supposed to be on vacation and having fun aren't we? But maybe it's a Spanish thing?

Walking along the strip of shops going east of the hotel you're confronted by a lot of very tacky shops selling a lot of what looks like mostly junk that they really will be happy to see the back of. There are also lots of camera and watch shops – with very push sales teams and implausibly low prices that in some cases that made me seriously wonder if the goods were always the genuine article - how could I tell? There are also a lot of shops selling perfumes but I think the prices were mainly the same as the UK except in a few cases were they we're doing specials.

Turning right out from the hotel takes you into the (slightly run down) town of Morro Jable and past a lot of unglamorous but friendly bars and cafes – I'm sure they're fine but they don't always look too inviting.

The beach is simply amazing and just seems to go on forever to the east of the hotel. It's extremely wide and flat and even if there were a million people out there I'm sure it still wouldn't look particularly busy. There are lots of naked sun worshipers to look at if you're into that sort of thing but most of the people that are naked are the one you'd probably prefer to see only when they're fully clothed.

Overall I guess I have to say that the Rui Palace is good value for money and we had a great time, mostly because the food is so good, the rooms are nice, and the staff are absolutely great. By booking this trip independently (two of us) we saved £600 on the cost in the Thomsons brochure and we were there for 10 days and not 7, plus we had a rental car the whole time. Not bad eh?

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLKmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

This hotel works if you dont have any problems/requests, dont ask for help as they dont want to know, by the time they address anything you've gone home. Simple, no problems.
Pity you have to eat indoors in that heat with net curtains on the dining room windows.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bmw50o4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

My wife and I have visited Fuerteventura regularly for the last 20 years and enjoy the laid back and restful peace of the island. We are not great lovers of hotels and generally stay in private villas to attain that peace and tranquility. I had pre booked the Riu Palace Jandia prior to our holiday as we were only staying for two nights at the hotel to explore the the south of the island. We drove to the hotel from Lajares and found the hotel with no problem even though road signs were limited in Morro Jable. On arrival we had hardly got out of the car when we were greeted and our luggage taken from us and into the hotel. We were offered seats in reception and a welcome glass of champagne or orange juice while organising our paperwork. Check-in was a breeze and the staff really helpful and welcoming. The room was very clean and spacious, large comfortable bed. Spacious bathroom and dressing area with more than adequate cupboards for clothes, cases etc. Sitting area and a balcony over the pool looking out to sea. Breakfast was great and varied (buffet style) we did not eat our evening meals at the hotel so cannot comment. I would not recommend this hotel if you do not like steps, though adequate lifts take you from rooms to beach, pool and bars. My only negative comment would be that I felt miffed having to pay for a room safe on a per night basis. This is after all a quality hotel with a quality price tag. To end on a positive note the hotel catered for most needs, the staff were exceptionally helpful, our stay was very restful and nothing was too much trouble. I will mention two people by name as they were the epitomy of customer service, Nidia at reception and Manilu who happened to recommend two of the best retaurants on the island.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PlymouthArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Have just experienced a first class hotel in a first class resort and position. The hotel is exellent in all aspects with friendly staff, endless selection of food and the location on one of the worlds finest beaches. The entertainment is fairly low key but this was exactly what we wanted. You could just relax about the hotels pool area with plenty of sun beds for everyone or go to the beach area right in front and we enjoyed the fact of being able to run along the pedestrian promenade every morning and stroll along it every evening to Morre Able. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michaelwilliamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Staffordshire
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We stayed here the first week in July after having spent the first week of our holiday in Corralejo.
Rooms - We booked a sea view room and requested a sea/pool view, that's what we were allocated, top marks to the reception staff for acting upon our e-mail, room 220. The rooms are large with a separate seating area, huge beds, separate dressing area with floor to ceiling mirror, plug sockets, great for getting ready. Very large bath, easily big enough for two. Air conditioning works 24/7 individually controlled. Maid service daily, excellent. Large balcony with lounger chairs.
Restaurant - you are allocated your own table for the duration of your stay, food selection is vast and prepared to a high standard, you also have the option of having your meals served to you. Waiter service efficient and professional.
Entertainment - low key, band played every evening 7pm until 11pm, great for a relaxing evening / drinking / dancing al fresco. Alternatively take a walk (10 minutes) along the promenade to Morro Jable where there's a selection of traditional bars/restaurants.
Location - overlooking the wonderful Jandia beach which goes on for miles, there are lots of steps in this hotel, even though there are lifts you will need to access steps.
Good points - there are very few English people at this hotel, don't let that deter you. You are asked daily if everything is to your satisfaction, they want your custom. and they have a genuine desire to make your holiday enjoyable. The bedrooms are inspected after they have been cleaned (great idea). Most importantly you are made to feel very welcome by the hotel staff and it is the staff who make this hotel such a wonderful place to stay. No bad points. Perfect.
Please note the photographs have been joined together so may not appear perfect, unlike the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jojojoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morro del Jable
0.7 mi away
Hotel Faro Jandia & Spa
Hotel Faro Jandia & Spa
#3 of 16 in Morro del Jable
618 reviews
55.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
55.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
1.3 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
0.1 mi away
Sol Jandia Mar Apartments
Sol Jandia Mar Apartments
#5 of 16 in Morro del Jable
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Jandia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Jandia

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Jandia
Address: Playa de Jandia | Jandia- Fuerteventura, 35625 Morro del Jable, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Morro del Jable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Morro del Jable
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Morro del Jable
#2 Luxury Hotel in Morro del Jable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Jandia 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Morro Jable. 3-Storey building. Situated on Jandia beach (several steps lead to the beach). 600 M from Morro Jable. 400 M from various shops. 90 Km from the airport. 200 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Jandia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Jandia Hotel Morro Del Jable
Riu Palace Jandia Peninsula
Hotel Riu Palace Jandia Fuerteventura/Morro Del Jable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing