We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Jandia
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Morro del Jable
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“fabulous”
Reviewed October 28, 2008

excellent hotel. fantastic rooms. large luxurious bath, double sinks, spacious lounge area. good choice of food. staff very friendly. can swim into reception!! - the pool area stretches into reception.
good location. near to morro jable, excellent area for drinks or meals. nice little old town with a local atmosphere.
hotel pool area large, protected by a glass screen. fabulous views of the beach, sea and lanzarote and los lobos.
only downside is the many steps, therefore not suitable for wheelchairs, disabled people or push chairs. ie not suitable for leaving without using a car/ taxi.
maid service superb. everywhere was kept clean.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — steps
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ssandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    143
    39
    12
    5
See reviews for
87
299
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2008

What a stay at this hotel...the staff are so friendly and helpful nothing is too much bother to them.
The rooms are great as they are all suites with sitting area down a couple of steps from the bed area. Always book a sea view though as you dont want a view of a Shell garage.
Now talking of steps there are many many of them! So not suitable for disabled people at all and far too hilly for wheelchair users.
Food is excellent a varied choice. We found the resort itself a bit lacking so I think a week is long enough in Jandia...but well worth a trip if you like the beach as it goes on for miles!

  • Liked — the staff
  • Disliked — the steps
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank eurpoetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2008

We have just returned from the Riu Palace Jandia ,this was one of the best holidays we have ever had,the staff couldn't do enough for you ,the rooms were large and airy as well as spotless .The food was great as we can both testify having put on nearly half a stone each.We really liked the 2 sittings idea this allowed us extra time on the beach and gave the meal times a relaxed atmosphere as opposed to the usual mad stampede you get at other hotels at mealtimes.The hotel is geared towards couples it doesn't have the noisy animacion teams encouraging water polo etc,so not recommended for people with lots of kids to keep amused.I read on a previous tripadvisor review that this was a mainly German hotel and not many people could speak English including the staff ,we found all the staff could speak English,but I speak Spanish and found everywhere we went in Jandia we were mistaken for Germans this could be down to the shout and point brigade which we witnessed in bars and shops .We would definately go back to the Riu Palace and would highly recommend this hotel to family and friends

  • Liked — The size of rooms and bathrooms also the staff
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything but wouldn't recommend for people with any mobility problems as situated on top of hill
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Zonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vera, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2008

Just returned from a week at the Palace Jandia. Booked with Thomson and very pleased with the value for money. Make sure you get a sea view (supplement payable) as the side sea views look out onto the Shell station next door. When we arrived, we were greeted with sparkling wine and very pleasant reception staff. However, Thomson had wrongly reserved a side sea view, rather than full-on, so we had a room change on the first day and a further change to a better room on the second day. The staff were very hepful which is more than we can say for Thomson's 24/7 helpline!

The rooms are very large and well equipped and cleaned to a very high standard; only gripes being the basic TV service... BBC World being the only English Channel, no pay TV, no tea and coffee making facilities and, the worst feature being the beds. They only have twin beds in this hotel (albeit large singles) and, as we like to sleep together, we spent the entire week cramped in a 3'6" bed. The beds are pushed together but, even if you ask, they don't have the linen to make them up as doubles. So, if you prefer double beds this place is a no-no. The pillows are also very poor.

The hotel has been built into the rocks and getting about through a variety of corridors and up and down many steps does make you feel like a hamster in a run, but it is fairly easy to find your way around.

We are veggies and hotel food in foreign locations is often challenging. That said there is plenty of choice, overall one of the best buffets we've had, but we don't like the ambience in buffet restaurants so we ate out most evenings. That's another challenge as there are very few decent restauarnts in Jandia as most tourists seem to eat in the hotels. Thus we have a Catch 22 situation, because it seems to us that most restaurants in Jandia are either on their last legs or trading at the margins so there was little choice, so the tourists eat in the hotels on a HB basis and rarely venture out, so the restaurants do worse still and so on and so on. I hate to think what it must be like to get a decent meal or drink in the immediate vacinity of an All-Inclusive hotel!

The pool is smallish but very warm and as the clientele are mainly older couples it never felt busy. Special mention to the pool staff who were very efficient at serving drinks, large portions of G&T's with nuts and olives all day.

Most guests are from Germany, so the evening entertainment was very reminiscent of a Eurovision song contest, if you like that sort of thing.

The hotel is situated directly on a large sandy beach that seems to go on for miles. Walk a few hundred metres to the left of the hotel and the mix steadily becomes more clothes optional. It's a very relaxed atmosphere and no-one genuinely seems to mind whether you bare all or not... it's up to you to please yourself.

Taking all things into account... great staff, good rooms, great position on the clothes-optional beach, good food and drink, good atmosphere, no bingo or birdie song, almost no kids, year-round sun... then the Place Jandia offers very good value.

  • Liked — Location, service and standard
  • Disliked — Beds
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveRiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2008

We booked through sovereign holidays as it was cheaper than booking flights and hotel separately. The hotel has many steps and is not suitable for people disabled or less mobile...having said that most guests were over 60. Its the place to go to relax the food is the usual Riu quality. The rooms are spacious with a separate living area. Everywhere is very clean and the pool is great you can actually have a good swim in it!
We found 14 days too much and suggest a 10 day trip for your first visit although some hotel guests were staying for more than 6 weeks! The hotel looks onto a fabulous beach so if you love sunbathing all day this is the place for you.As for the bar you are allowed to smoke but only around the bar area so ifyou hate smokers you can sit inside and be served with drinks away from the smokers. The staff are outstanding....nothing is too much trouble for them and they always greet you with a smile. I feel the destination itself is more suited to honeymooners or mature guests...it certainly isnt for young party animals or children as they will be bored. We will return because it gets you like that!
oh one more thing get a sea view room it is really worth it!

  • Liked — The staff and accomodation
  • Disliked — The steps
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank classytravellerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth Shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2008

STILL SMOKING!

Unbelievable, this hotel allows smoking in the Bar - Entertainment area. Completely ruined our evenings.
If you like your clothes to smell like an ashtray, this is the place for you.

We do agree we all of the plus reports for this Hotel.

  • Liked — Friendly staff. Nice clean environment.
  • Disliked — STILL SMOKING in the Bar/Entertaiment area (December 07)
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steamtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for a relaxing week in November. We wanted a hotel on a nice long beach where we could walk for some distance and we were not disappointed. The hotel sits next to a narrow pedestrian promenade which is bordered by the beach on the other side. Access to the promenade is through a gate at the bottom of all the hotel steps and we had a room on the nearest floor to the last flight of steps so a perfect situation.
The reception is at the top of the hotel which is where you also go to breakfast (and evening meal if on half board). From our room this involved 176 steps and a short lift ride which was fine for us but if you can't manage steps very well this could be a problem. You can stay closer to reception however you would then have to negotiate all the steps to reach the beach.

Our room was very clean and a good size with a separate sitting area and large bathroom. The good sized balcony directly overlooked the beach and was great for sitting on with a glass of cava watching the sunset and activities on the beach prior to going out to eat ( We booked B&B as we prefer to eat out at night although we found the buffet breakfast in the hotel very good with a wide choice and excellent service). We found all the staff we encountered to be pleasant and they responded well to a smile and the odd 'hola'.

The hotel is a few hundred yards walk along the promenade to Morro Jable with a cluster of small restaurants close to the seafront, the italian up one of the side streets was our favourite.
To the other side of the hotel and a slightly longer walk is the centre of Jandia which is more commercialised.

As stated ealier the beach is wide and very long ( a few miles) and there are a number of beach bars / restaurants along its length and groups of sunbeds and parasols which can be rented (9 euros per day for 2 beds and a parasol). There is lots of additional space if you want to just lie on your own towel without paying for a bed. The Riu hotel supplies beach towels free of charge from reception.

The pool area has lots of beds and many of the favourite spots with the best sea views are 'reserved' with the obligatory book and towel for the day however with the beautiful beach so close to hand it would seem a waste to spend all the time at the pool.

All in all a great place to go to chill out in warm weather in winter and enjoy a relatively quiet break.

If we went back to Fuerteventura we would have no hesitation staying at the Riu Palace Jandia.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Pool area
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jasperparklodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morro del Jable
0.7 mi away
Hotel Faro Jandia & Spa
Hotel Faro Jandia & Spa
#3 of 16 in Morro del Jable
620 reviews
55.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
55.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
1.3 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
0.1 mi away
Sol Jandia Mar Apartments
Sol Jandia Mar Apartments
#5 of 16 in Morro del Jable
873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Jandia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Jandia

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Jandia
Address: Playa de Jandia | Jandia- Fuerteventura, 35625 Morro del Jable, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Morro del Jable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Morro del Jable
#2 Luxury Hotel in Morro del Jable
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Morro del Jable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Jandia 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Morro Jable. 3-Storey building. Situated on Jandia beach (several steps lead to the beach). 600 M from Morro Jable. 400 M from various shops. 90 Km from the airport. 200 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Jandia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Jandia Hotel Morro Del Jable
Riu Palace Jandia Peninsula
Hotel Riu Palace Jandia Fuerteventura/Morro Del Jable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing