We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL SHAME ABOUT THE FOOD”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Jandia
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Morro del Jable
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This was our third visit and our second since they dropped the table service menu for all buffet.Hotel and staff are still excellent but the food was poor.The lack of hygiene by other guests was appalling.Picking up bread with bare hands,using the wrong serving tongs and even taking the lettuce from the tray with bare hands.We didn't eat much.We will not be returning

Room Tip: Block D rooms 320 to 312 are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 494 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2014

We stayed at the Riu Janida Palace for our 10-day family summer holiday (with a 1-year old child).

We didn't know (and really failed to check that out before the trip) that the hotel is located in a considerable distance from the airport - a coach ride (with some intermediate stops at other hotels) took just over two hours. So, we were quite tired after the flight and the long bus transfer when we finally arrived.

Unfortunately, the first impression was not too good. There was strange oily smell in the lobby which was quite overwhelming. We were given welcome drinks which was a nice touch, the problem however was the quality of the drinks. It was some sort of orange squash, tasted really artificially. We later discovered that for breakfast they serve the most fantastic freshly squeezed fruit juices, so why they don't serve them as a welcome drink is difficult to understand.

Luckily, from this point things improved considerably. We really liked our room overlooking the internal courtyard (with the swimming pool) and a partial ocean view. The room was large, well maintained and prepared for our arrival, including a bad for the baby. There was a mini-bar in the room (which we did not use) but no tea/coffee tray (which I missed a bit but I understand it is not common in this part of the world).

The daily housekeeping was efficient and non-disturbing. The maids always tried to do our room when we were gone for breakfast and made cute animal like arrangements with towels in the baby bed.

The only disadvantage of the room was a daily evening musical performance at the swimming pool which was sometimes quite loud and, occasionally, of a questionable quality (admittedly, it is a matter of personal taste). The performance was usually going till 10:45 pm. We asked the reception about changing rooms, it was offered to us without any fuss but the alternative room had no view. So, we decided to enjoy the music.

Both breakfast and dinner buffets were superb: the choice of food fantastic, the food was fresh and tasty. The waiters were attentive and very friendly.

The access to a very nice beach involves a bit of trip through a maze of corridors, stair cases and two lifts. It is a bit unfortunate but totally understood due to hotel's location on the cliff above the beach.

There are several shops in a walking distance from the hotel. Free Wi-Fi was provided in the lobby (worked quite well) and with a bit of luck we could also get the signal in our room close to the balcony.

The biggest asset of the hotel was its staff members. All of them were very friendly and customer focused. Thumbs up to all of them!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrincePolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This is a really lovely hotel with great food and helpful staff, As other reviewers have said there are steps everywhere, even in the bedrooms, so it is probably unsuitable if you have mobility problems. It was fine for us and the exercise from going up and down stairs helped as we were eating lots of fabulous food !
The majority of the guests were German which meant there were not many English speaking people to socialize with in the evenings.
I would definitely recommend paying extra for a sea view room. Ours was in block D and very quiet with just the sound of the sea at night.
One little niggle was the set time for dinner. You have to decide on day one whether you want to eat at 6 or 8 pm and then stick to that for the whole stay. We found 6 was too early and 8 was a bit late for us but there was no alternative.
All in all a great, relaxing holiday and a lovely hotel

Room Tip: Sea view room in D block was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SurreyTravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

A truly lovely hotel with very nice rooms and great sea views. Cannot really see why it has recently been downgraded from 5T to 4T. I would agree, however, that visitors need to be "able-bodied" because the number of stairs could really be a problem. This offset by the brilliant attitude of everybody from room staff to senior management at the hotel - certainly the best we've experienced. The food in the restaurant was excellent, as was the lunch menu by the pool. Again, the waiting staff were first class.
German visitors make up the majority of guests, but as far as we were concerned, they were very courteous.

Room Tip: Worth paying a little extra for the magnificent full sea view rooms. We stayed in Block A on the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We stayed for our 3rd year at this excellent hotel having been advised by Thomson that they had downgraded it to a 4T rating. Really cannot understand why, if anything it was better than last year. Management and staff are are brilliant, the food was first class as usual. Some people have been complaining about access and steps. Yes it's not ideal for disabled or people with walking difficulties, but you can manage a few steps it's all fine. We stayed from 22 Jan to 5th of Feb and had good weather. The beach is superb and you can walk for miles on beautiful sand and crystal clear water. Loads of good shops within a few minutes walk and a twice weekly market. To prove my point we have booked our return to this very good hotel again for next January. Guests are mainly German which is no bad thing as they are all polite and friendly and, dare I say it, quite unlike some of my fellow countrymen!
Finally I need to mention that every single member of staff makes the effort and that shows the hotel is well run.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank MajorMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

a nice hotel in nice location- make sure you are ok with stairs!. Food is excellent and facilities good. What makes it special is the care and service from the staff- not sure if its good training or good people- but really special

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ianrmcdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I would have given the hotel a 4.5 score if possible. It was difficult to give it only a 4 given the high level of customer service.

So the low down of what is good and what is not good.

The hotel is in a stunning location. It is very clean and the staff a very friendly and offer an excellent level of customer care throughout the hotel.

The meals at the hotel are amazing. There is fantastic choice of both local and international dishes.

The pool area is also great. Broadband is free in public areas. There are stunning views from the hotel rooms facing the sea and from the pool area. The beach is totally stunning and the hotel is in a perfect location for the beach.

The hotel is not strong in the following areas. There are many steps in the hotel. We don't have mobility issues, but if you do bear this in mind. There is no broadband in the hotel rooms, it is only available in the public areas. There is a charge for the use of the room safe which I think should be free given the cost of the room. Not sure what I can say about the entertainment, but if it is important for you, this hotel may not be for you.

One of the hotels weakest areas is the wellness facilities. There are treatments which are good, but the facilities themselves are less than adequate. There is a sauna which could do with refurbishment, but not really anything else.

We had a sea view room. I have been told that it is important to have a sea view room.

We will return which is a good recommendation.

Room Tip: Sea view room is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TandCBangor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morro del Jable
1.3 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
55.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
0.7 mi away
MUR Hotel Faro Jandia & Spa
MUR Hotel Faro Jandia & Spa
#3 of 16 in Morro del Jable
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
55.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
0.3 mi away
XQ El Palacete
XQ El Palacete
#6 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Jandia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Jandia

Address: Playa de Jandia | Jandia- Fuerteventura, 35625 Morro del Jable, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Morro del Jable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Morro del Jable
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Morro del Jable
#2 Luxury Hotel in Morro del Jable
Price Range: $180 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Jandia 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Morro Jable. 3-Storey building. Situated on Jandia beach (several steps lead to the beach). 600 M from Morro Jable. 400 M from various shops. 90 Km from the airport. 200 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Jandia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Jandia Hotel Morro Del Jable
Riu Palace Jandia Peninsula
Hotel Riu Palace Jandia Fuerteventura/Morro Del Jable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing