We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does not warrent ''A La Carte ''status.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Jandia
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Morro del Jable
Certificate of Excellence
Largs
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Does not warrent ''A La Carte ''status.”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Have just returned from a week at this hotel.Overall impression.
Rooms.(On arrival allocated block B) slept for a total of 4 hours due to noise from bars and traffic
from busy road) Moved to Block A. an improvement,.but rooms tired and need upgrading.
Food in hotel very good, with a good selection of meats and seafood.
Staff very attentive.
Evening entertainment not impressed.
Location good for beach but bad location of hotel pool with it hardly used during our stay.
Not impressed with surrounding area and feel some investment needed.
Only met a few British people during our stay as the vast majority of visitors were from Germany.
No intentions of returning..to this hotel or resort.
.

Room Tip: Advised by the Thomson rep. to e-mail the hotel a few weeks before you go to request south side room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotsmanLargs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    144
    40
    13
    5
See reviews for
90
301
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Returned 23 jan after a fantastic week,food was excellent,staff so friendly ,nothing to much trouble.Pay extra for sea view room ,views of the beach worth every penny.Poor entertainment at night only fault.

Room Tip: Sea view room a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LINDA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were always able to find a parking spot for our car.
Next to the beach, not even 10 minutes walk, were many restaurants on the beachfront. If you arrive late and there is no food anymore in the hotel, Coronado is a good place for dinner next door.
Breakfast was plentiful. We did not have dinner in the hotel.
Although some ageing Germans put their towels on beds near the swimming pool, there were always enough beds available.
Free wifi was available in the lobby.
The hotel is about 1-1,25 hours drive of the airport. It's not far from the hotel to the trail to the highest hill of the island. It's a nice, pretty easy hike up and the same way down
If you want to run, it's also easily possible from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YvonneMoscow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent Christmas and New year at the the Riu Palace Jandia although the room last year was good with a great view we paid the extra for a full sea view. Some things were even better than last year free Wi Fi in reception was good although a bit slow. The food and service was terrific with both Gala dinners outstanding. Christmas was quiter than New Year. The hotel never seemed crowded. There were four of us brits plus I would say about another six the rest of the guests varied with the largest number being German. Its got a kinda bit exclusive feel to the hotel with most of the guests when we were there being oldish hardly any kids and the ones there were well behaved. Entertainment is limited as there is only a small stage area. Service was very good at breakfast although buffet service, you had a pot of coffee on your table within moments of you sitting down and should the trays of fruit including Papaya run out they were replaced strait away. At breakfast its ok to wear shorts but in the evenings we wore smartish clothes a long sleeve shirt and linen trousers and my wife enjoyed dressing up a bit. You can go down the steps then the lift and go for a stroll on the prom. I would say the food, rooms, and service would be why I would go back again. There are steps and steps and more steps. I would be very careful about leaving your balcony door open especially at night as we had an intruder my wife woke up at 4.30am and scared them off and nothing was taken but still a traumatic experience. The resort itself is great apart from being a bit smelly you get wiffs in the hotel sometimes, there is a pumping station by the beach. Also all the way along the beach in Jandia they have these space age toilets but they are always broken or a mess. They are replacing all the beach bars/cafe's with a new standard model? they all look the same, boring but they do have toilets. Why dont they replace the toilets? Anyway great hotel.

Room Tip: dont leave your balcony door open
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andythetillman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

travelled with my partner for a week of relaxation after the xmas frivolities and chose the Riu Palace based on trip advisor reviews.the community never seems to let us down as the stay was comfortable and enjoyable.
not a lot to add to other reviews but for what it is worth here are my thoughts
reception area very pleasing and staff welcoming
room clean and comfortable but no coffee making facilities -- a bit of a shock to a caffeine junkie
pool and leisure area both very good plenty of room to relax with good views across the ocean and good waiting service without being intrusive
the food in the hotel was very good and well presented plenty of choice to suit all tastes and even though i dont usually like buffet style restaurants i did enjoy the food here.
the only point i would make is that the house wines were only good if you went for the slightly more expensive options
the basic wine was very ordinary
a special mention for new years eve gala which i thought was superb and a big thank you to all the staff for their efforts.
the hotel is only a ten minute walk from the town and you can choose the beach front walk or the main road way and there is plenty to do if the weather is not brilliant.
it is a german tourist haven both in the hotel and the town but i did not find this a problem though i know some guests and reviewers have found it disconcerting but i think that says more about them than the german tourists
all in all a very worthwhile break and i would recommend the hotel for anybody wanting a quiet relaxing trip
im not sure if i would take children if i had them as it didnt appear to hold a lotof interest for younger people

Room Tip: b block overlooks the main road and my room had direct sightline with the working lighthouse -- di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronnieredneck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We decided to seek a bit of winter sun in that dull period just after Christmas & selected Riu Palace mostly on the basis of Trip Advisor reviews. Well once again the community has steered us well & we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay.
Most of what needs to be said has already been mentioned in previous reviews, so I'll limit myself to facts and views that I consider may be helpful.

Reception

Large fairly typical area with various scattered seating arrangements. Reception staff and Concierge were both welcoming and helpful.

Room

Large comfortable room with seating area and decent sized balcony. The wardrobes have "real" coat hangers (a treat this) and plenty of storage space.
We were given a complimentary half bottle of sherry and a fruit basket which I thought was a nice touch. There are however no tea or coffee making facilities in the room - which forces the descent to breakfast a tad earlier than I would have liked.

Pool and Loungers

The pool is a decent size and importantly for me....warm! Lovely. There are many comfortable loungers and we never had an issue finding somewhere to sit. The area is pleasant, overlooks the sea, all in all a good place to be.

Service

The waiting staff, the maids, concierge and receptionists were all unfailingly polite, professional and above all pleasant.We never had to wait a moment longer than necessary for service of any kind.

Food

We went half board and both the included meals are buffet. Buffet is not my favorite as I always pick up things I like and usually end up with a motley assortment of flavours rather than a meal. However that is my problem not the hotel's. The food on offer was all well cooked, appetising and tasty. There is an immense selection, I'm sure most people could find something to enjoy.
The real bonus for me was the freshly made juices at breakfast- absolutely delicious. The coffee too was really good. I have stayed in many hotels, some considerably pricier than the Rui and many have failed in this respect, so well done and thank you to the Riu Palace.

And another thing

I couldn't finish this review without mentioning the New Years Gala Dinner, which was without question superb. There was an exceptional and extravagant display of wonderful food. We were given complimentary wine and Cava. The whole thing was very low key but really well done. I can't commend the staff and hotel enough for the time effort & expense in putting together a memorable New Year celebration.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank genavive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed early December for 10 days. Relative to most package hotels this is towards top end quality for comfort, food and ambiance. There are certainly a lot of steps and we didn’t particularly rate the swimming pool area; but the location compensates for this. There’s a stunning long clean beach to walk along and some reasonable restaurants just a stroll away.

If you travel with Thompson make sure you upgrade to sea view. Rooms in block B, the ‘basic’ block, can get traffic noise and the outlook isn’t appealing. The rooms themselves are quite spacious with good balcony areas. Vast majority of guests are German and perhaps the evening’s entertainment is more to their liking; but it seemed very dated to us.

We did have an issue with the room towards the end of our stay when a technician called in and looked at the sofa; he said something along the lines ‘problem’ (in Spanish) and walked out with what appeared to be a board from under the seat cushions. The real problem was that this made it uncomfortable and we suspect the part was taken for use where a sofa was to be converted to a bed. When he didn’t return we complained, twice, but the sofa was never reinstated.

Other than this instance we found the hotel staff attentive and helpful. Chances are we’ll visit again.

Room Tip: upgrade - block D probably best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morro del Jable
0.7 mi away
Hotel Faro Jandia & Spa
Hotel Faro Jandia & Spa
#3 of 16 in Morro del Jable
625 reviews
1.3 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
55.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
55.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
0.1 mi away
Sol Jandia Mar Apartments
Sol Jandia Mar Apartments
#5 of 16 in Morro del Jable
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Jandia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Jandia

Property: Hotel Riu Palace Jandia
Address: Playa de Jandia | Jandia- Fuerteventura, 35625 Morro del Jable, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Morro del Jable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Morro del Jable
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Morro del Jable
#2 Luxury Hotel in Morro del Jable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Jandia 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Morro Jable. 3-Storey building. Situated on Jandia beach (several steps lead to the beach). 600 M from Morro Jable. 400 M from various shops. 90 Km from the airport. 200 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Jandia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Jandia Hotel Morro Del Jable
Riu Palace Jandia Peninsula
Hotel Riu Palace Jandia Fuerteventura/Morro Del Jable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing