We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Riu Palace Jandia
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Morro del Jable
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We had a fantastic stay last year, food very good, service excellent, cleanliness excellent location was good, beach fantastic 6E per lounger a day bit steep but okay not part of the hotel. Only downside is people reserve loungers and aren't there all day which is annoying.

Last day there is a shower room which made it possible to shower before our flight back.

The shops in resort are not cheaper than the uk we allowed 1000E for the week and came back with over half.

Wood i go back definetley!!! Cant wait!

Room Tip: Have a cocktail before bed in town
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Standeasytim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Palace Jandia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 477 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2011

We have been to the Riu Palace Jandia three time now and it never fails to dissapoint, It is a relatively small hotel compared with most but it is spacious and comfortable, The rooms are hugh , the one we have had are sea facing and the room is on two levels , bath/bedromm then down two steps to the lounge area where there is a sofa and two arm chairs and table,
very large balconies too.the hotel rear entrance leads via a flight of stairs to the rear door and onto the beach promanade, great.No for the down side, if youcall call it that, the pool area and sun deck is quiet small, although relative to the size of the hotel, the hotel is perched on top of a large rocky out crop, and many of the lower room are off what are liked to caves, we loved it some minght not, the hotel is all up and down so not suitable for people who are not that fit,
The hotel resteraunt is down some stairs, but it is served by a lift, the food is what you would expectfrom a Riu Palace.
The hotel when we stayed is starting to look "lived in" and could do with a face lift
Its near to shops and the most magnificent beach what more do you want.

Room Tip: Pick a lower room over looking the sea you wont be dissapointed.
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roaminggeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

This hotel is situated in an imposing elevated position on the rock just ahead of the old town of Morro Jable at the end of the dual carriageway which passes through the tourist orientated commercial part of Jandia. The entrance is a surprisingly modest affair reached via a rather untidy approach road. This is in no way not the fault of the hotel and any misgivings created by it will be rapidly swept away when entering the hotel.
The reception on arrival was to the usual Riu high standard greeting and immediately sets the right mood. As with other Riu hotels there is slight bias in language skills toward German guests - and as they are in the majority that is not unreasonable and for us that did not distract
We had requested a room in a particular section of the hotel, but this was not actually met.
We were in block A on floor 1 overlooking the pool/bar which was a little noisy via a combination of well oiled late night guests at the bar and insomniac swimmers at 4 am, plus the nearby table football which could become a little boisterous at some quite late times.
Most noticeable and potentially irritating was the sound of the pool filtration system which 'gurgled' day and night. These issues were most noticeable on the first night, but as we had been travelling etc for around 20 hrs we probably needed to recover somewhat to judge fairly.
We raised our concerns re these issues on the first morning and were told that it would be possible to move but in the event as we recovered we felt able to stay put - the positive being that it was possible to watch the evening entertainment (there is a regular duo, who whilst a little repetitive after several nights are way better that a lot we have seen) from our comfortable balcony.
The room itself was spacious and well cleaned with a reasonable sea view across the balcony. The layout of bath/shower and wc in separate enclosed room and wash basin shaver point etc in the small corridor between the wardrobes (plentiful space) and bathroom within the overall open plan may not suit everybody.
The sun terrace was slightly smaller that may have been initially expected but there was never any problem with loungers, there was the inevitably early reserving of the best spots (notably by the minority of Brits!). The availability of loungers is well pitched given that there is relatively easy access down to the excellent beach/promenade. It should be note though that the hotel does actually stand on a rock some way above the beach, but, importantly, the access arrangements are very good..
The breakfast/dining arrangements are good - breakfast time to choice and dinner at two pre booked sittings. There was one minor detraction here in that the service at dinner just occasionally slipped a little - we felt that there was perhaps a greater desire to ensure that service to the German guests was maintained even if it was at our expense.
The food was of a very good standard, as ever with a two week stay that can be an element of repetition but the Hotel makes effforts to come to terms with this.
Staff were, with the occasional isolated exception, universally pleasant and helpful with some of the dining room staff having exceptional interpersonal skills.
Overall an excellent hotel in a great location, we can happily recommend with one proviso - if you are not comfortable with aspects of German culture (the 'dive-bombers' at the buffet etc) you may just need to bear in mind that Germans dominate here. However, our experience has been that if you make the effort there will be many Germans who will respond favourably and that can be a real positive.
This hotel for us was a 4+ marking, and very good value - the reservations are listed above and are of necessity pointed out in the interests of reviewing objectively.
It is perhaps enough to say that we are planning an early return!.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CheshirePlumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We also went with Thomson, booked a full sea view room which is exactly what we got. Food was great , location beautiful and we would go back again. However this hotel is not suitable for any one with mobility problems.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Disposition
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

stayed 19th to 26th October. This was part of a two-centre package with our first week based at RIU Palace Tres Islas (see my other review) RIU Palace Jandia is the worst RIU hotel we've ever stayed in and we would not return under any circumstances. The only good thing it has going for it is the size of the rooms. The bathroom is overwhelmed by an unneccesarily large and very environmentally unfriendly bathtub which we only used to shower in, at the expense of lacking a bidet.
Try and avoid being in B block at all costs. Even though our room had a side seaview the constant traffic noise is horrendous. If like us you like peace and quiet forget it. This hotel, perched directly above a Shell garage no less is like staying in a city.
Good point: compared with other RIU's the dining room is spacious with tables well separated, having said that the food selection - especially salads - are limited and the quality wasn't always brilliant.
The buliding is ugly and has a confusing labyrinth of corridors and stairwells made up of hideous broken tiled floors. It takes a good day or so to remember just where your room is. Reception area bland and unimpressive. Entertainment area is dire. The bar beside the pool resembles and has the ambience of a works canteen. A large flat screen TV constantly playing sport that no one takes any notice of really doesn't add to any five star experience one might expect.
The inside entertainment area we didn't even get to see. On the night they were going to use this they suddenly decided to hold it outside around the pool again - another cramped and dated affair. Because this hotel was built years ago and is packed tightly amongst others there is little outside space. I really cannot find a single thing to commend it. As all Thomson A La Carte rooms are side seaview they are all situated in B block. A mention of this to the Thomson rep brought nothing but an inept and negative response. I have to say she was pretty useless. She never even presented us with a welcome pack. If we'd known what this hotel was like we'd never have chosen it for our second week. It certainly didn't deliver the five star experience we were looking for to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary.

Room Tip: Avoid B block at all costs
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victrory_EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

I have stayed in some lovely hotels but this one is so profesionaly and quietly run it was a pleasure to be there. I was in A120 thee room was fantastic. The service and standard through out the hotel is some of the best I have had in many years. I use to stay for many years in the LaGeria & Los Jamoes in Lanzorote but as soon as "All Inclusive" came to these hotels service from the great staff had to much to do and service went out the window with the mentality of I must get my money's worth
The Rui Palace is excellently run, the food in my view was also excellent. There is always fresh fish, meat pasta and veggie dishes. I never had a bad meal, the soup's were a meal by its self. The service was fantastic, there was never a night I couldnt find a great meal. The weather was roasting but all of Spain was in a heat wave. The resident duo stop on the dot @11-00pm every night if you go into the inside bar they have other entertainment if you dont like the usual duo singing whilst you can dance. 98% of the people there were German the rest English & Dutch I personally think the standard is so high because it is such a well run hotel and because of the German influence, this was not a problem for me or my wife. Staff are some of the best I have encountered. The resturant is run to a high standard, the outside bar area is run by Angel & Monica is a sheer star. Front of house staff are great and the cleaning of the hotel and rooms are fantasic. The manager Snr Perez walks about and regulary asks you how you are, real nice touch. There is no doubt this will be mine & my wifes place until we see the "I have got to get my money's worth" ALL INCLUSIVE brigade comming up the road. I have seen so many hotel go down the tubes with this. If you want a very well run professional place to stay you will go a long way to find a better hotel than this one. If you do let me know. Great hotel Great staff Great place.

Room Tip: We stayed in A120 fantastic room with lounge and one of the bigest corner baths I have ever seen AC...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Freshfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Stayed here from 8th to 15th October - nice hotel, spacious room A108 with a sea view. Food was good and varied, and waiter service excellent. The hotel also gave my husband a bottle of sparkling wine on his birthday - a nice personal touch we thought.

My first time to fuerteventura, and will be last as I could not cope with the heat! 35 C + !!
We went to Correlajo one day in the north, and were really glad we booked the Riu in Jandia. If you like hot sunshine and are happy to spend all your time lying around the pool or beach, and don't mind lots of naked bodies parading on the beach then the Riu Jandia is perfect for you.
I agree with other posts that the steps would certainly be a problem for some people. My only other critism would be that for 6 nights out of the 7 the evening entertainment was the same resident couple, singing pretty much the same set of songs for 3 hours.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ania42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morro del Jable
0.7 mi away
MUR Hotel Faro Jandia & Spa
MUR Hotel Faro Jandia & Spa
#3 of 16 in Morro del Jable
628 reviews
1.3 mi away
Occidental Jandia Royal Level - Adults Only
1.3 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
55.3 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Tres Islas
55.7 mi away
Gran Hotel Atlantis Bahia Real
0.3 mi away
XQ El Palacete
XQ El Palacete
#6 of 14 in Playa de Jandia
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Jandia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Jandia

Address: Playa de Jandia | Jandia- Fuerteventura, 35625 Morro del Jable, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Morro del Jable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Morro del Jable
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Morro del Jable
#2 Luxury Hotel in Morro del Jable
Price Range: $202 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Jandia 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near Morro Jable. 3-Storey building. Situated on Jandia beach (several steps lead to the beach). 600 M from Morro Jable. 400 M from various shops. 90 Km from the airport. 200 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: MasterCard, Visa, Diners ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Jandia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Jandia Hotel Morro Del Jable
Riu Palace Jandia Peninsula
Hotel Riu Palace Jandia Fuerteventura/Morro Del Jable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing