We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple Apartments in Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sol Jandia Mar Apartments
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Morro del Jable
Wales
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Simple Apartments in Good Location”
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Booked with Travel Republic so had some arrangements to sort out ourselves which was no problem. The Sol Jandia Mar has good facilities for self catering although we only used for breakfast. It is necessary to hire a kettle (7 euro ) and TV Control (free) - both with refundable deposits. - The rooms were of good size and clean. Cleaners came 5 days a week. Externally there is a good size pool with lots of sun beds. The grounds are well kept and maintained daily. The apartment complex is well positioned for access to both Morro Jable (old town) and Jandia (new development) as well as the vast Jandia Beach.
As for the resort, we found excellent restaurants in both Morro Jable and Jandia 'Strip', providing a wide range of food at reasonable prices. Nightlife is low key, with some music in bars. Most bars have a German emphasis, although English and Spanish is spoken virtually everywhere. You should try to speak some Spanish as this is Spain afterall, and they do appreciate it. Although this was a fairly quiet time it was still pleasant not to encounter any loud English Lager Louts.
The beach at Jandia is vast and can be a little exposed. Be aware that the tide can come in a long way and swamp the whole beach. We hired a car and visited the fantastic Sotavento Beaches, which are very quiet and almost desert island in appearance. Also be aware that all beaches are clothing optional - with the exception of right in front of hotels. If you prudish about this I would find somewhere else to holiday. Otherwise join in - its quite liberating.
During our 14 day stay weather was generally sunny and warm although we did have rain on 2 occasions. Clouds can build up, but usually dissipate or move to the mountains.
In conclusion, I would recommend the Sol Jandia Mar. We found the many nationalities great to mix with, and did not experience any "problem" with so called German dominance. Yes this resort has a 90% German clientele, but this only dictates that standards are that much higher as they stand for no crap.
We will return.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SpinxWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

817 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    266
    205
    63
    53
See reviews for
282
358
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

We travelled as a family of 6 with two teenagers, an 8 year old and my mother who is 73 so we had really varied needs!
It takes over an hour to get from the airport which may put some people off but we booked a ResortHoppa minibus which was great.
This is a great complex with roomy apartments and we managed to get 3 separate 1 bed apartments which was fab and meant we had lots of space.
The hotel photos are exactly what you get so no surprises but no air con or fans so will be hot in summer.
Good sized bedroom, lounge and balcony/terrace (all with flowering plants) and a small galley-style kitchen which was adequate unless you plan to cook all of your own meals (not my idea of a holiday).
Pool bar serves drinks and snacks from a small menu and there is a featured meal every day for 6 euros each e.g. paella or BBQ (both were really good).
Beautiful well tended gardens, water features and pools with loads of sun beds and umbrellas and we never had a problem getting any even when the hotel was full in August as the beach is so close and lovely that a lot of people go there.
The Half Board option is 15 euros per day per adult on site and the food was varied and very good quality with lots of choice per meal (half price for children under 12). Normally a different soup every day, at least 4 hot dishes (fish and meat) cooked on the grill by the chef, loads of salads, vegetables, pasta, fruit, desserts and bread. Less choice for vegetarians though and my daughter is almost vegan but she managed with the amount of choice to get a meal when we ate at the hotel just don't expect an official veggie option.
The maid service was quite good but sometimes we had to ask for clean towels as they forget to change them but the rooms, towels and bedding are clean.
We do think the hotel would benefit from more staff though as the reception is always manned and the staff and multi lingual as we were at one point the only English people there while everyone else was German, Dutch or Spanish which to be honest was fine as it tended to make the place seem a bit calmer and quieter.
The bar is open at the pool until 5pm and has a happy hour 4pm - 5pm every day but service is sometimes a little slow as they use minimal staff. There was a kids club daily and adult activities, e.g. tai chi, water polo, water aerobics and varied evening enetertainment most days. This was quite good but sadly most people watch this and then seem to go back to their rooms so the bar doesn't do very well from it and it is only open when there is entertainment on which was a bit odd. This could be down to staffing or because most people who stay here don't use the bar.
It is a few mins walk to Jandia beach which is incredible, white sand, clear blue water which isn't too cold and has beach cafes for a drink or snack and a lighthouse you can go to look at along the beach. There are some naturists on the beach further along so be aware as they are quite carefree and most are elderly and overweight but each to their own.
You can walk to numerous shops, bars and restaurants as quickly as within 5 minutes or you can walk further for more choice. My teenagers did go to a "club" but again this was more European than English so don't come here for wild nights out.
You can also walk along the "prom" to Morro Jable" which is the next small town so don't get the bus as it cost us 7 euros and you are on and off in mins so we walked home which was pleasant even in the heat. It also means that you can see the chipmunks that live in a stone wall facing the beach.
Oasis Park is well worth a visit and the bus is free from close to the hotel. It was 18 euros per adult and 10 euros per child and is a lovely tropical garden and zoo with 4 live shows per day to see. You can also pay 10 euros per adult and 5 euros per child to go on the camel safari which goes up a mountain and give you fantastic views of the island.
Overall a great holiday and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank graykelLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Had a fab time hotel staff friendly but it caters for German, Spanish and then English guests. I brushed up on both languages though but my partner felt out of it ... Not good for people with mobility issues they should have the trolleys at the top of the stairs for when you arrive we found them lying about everywhere after luggin them about. Cleaned the apartment and made a fan out of my nightdress which was sweet although there was a hole in one of the crisp white sheets, however it did get changed. Tip - definitely get a safe for your passport and money etc as one day cleaners had left our door open all day. We did report this though and it never happened again!!

For salseros try the Tango Tanzhalle - the owner is a friendly Argentine and every Saturday they have live music we danced till the small hours and there was a real party atmosphere :) Playa Paradiso is worth visiting if you want to sunbathe in private in a stone cairn but watch out for the Canarian stripey squirrels they're very inquisitive!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turtletracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

We last went to the Sol 21 years ago with our 2 young children and returned on our first holiday together without them!! It had'nt changed a bit...some would say thats a bad thing but its just what we wanted! We lugged our cases up the spiral stairs in the dark giggling like teenagers....the rooms, decor and kitchen were unchanged it was like time travel (backwards).
The hotel was less than a quarter full which is a bit surprising in mid June but meant that we had the pool and loungers virtually to ourselves also there was no childrens club or children for that matter, no entertainment in the evenings and the two main bars didnt even open!!! The pool bar was excellent and catered for the English world cup fans (us) with a telly, unfortunately in german but never mind.
The maid service was excellent with visits five times a week and various creations of bedspread art in the form of swans and fans!! The whole place is spotless and well cared for despite its obvious age.
We didnt eat in the restaraunt but it looked good value...instead we chose the local places, the very best being LA SERINA the food was wonderful and reasonably priced, the staff are fantastic and speak very good English and the sangria is lethal!! It was my husbands 50th whilst we were there and Abdul, Ramon and the boss at LA SERINA brought him a huge concoction of desserts in a massive bowl with sparklers and other bits and bats and all sang Happy Birthday. they really made our holiday special.
Lastly......the fantastic beach!!!!! It goes on for miles and miles, is safe and spotlessly clean.....there are a lot of nudists there, we had a bit of a giggle but didnt join them!!
All in all a wonderful holiday, thankyou Jandia xx

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank merryhell1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2010

We were placed at the Sol Jandia Mar as part of a package deal with Thomas Cook so the cost of the accommodation was effectively 'hidden' from us, however, I suspect most of the expense went on the flights!

I'll focus on the negatives as they will probably be more useful for people. Overall we had a good holiday, but I won't be going back for the below reasons.

Just about everything the other people have said is true - it's very basic to the extent that you have to pay to rent a (pretty cheap and nasty) toaster and kettle at the cost of a euro a day for the two (which during our 10 day stay amounted to more than their combined value, I am sure). You get 2 hotplates, no grill or oven. No cooking utensils to speak of, nor a bottle opener (should you be wanting wine in the evenings). We didn't even have bowls or a sharp knife in the first apartment (more on that in a sec...) . Given the fairly limited range of food available from the local supermarkets, it is quite difficult to self cater here - if indeed you intended to do that anyway. The TV (for which you need to pay for the remote too) didn't have any English channels so wasn't much use. Again - not a problem if you are able to go out in the evenings. However we found local food to be extremely variable - expense certainly isn't a good indicator of quality.

I've not been on a 'resort' kind of holiday before so don't have anything to directly compare the other facilities to - they weren't great, but suspect you could do worse. There are two pools which are both fairly small, one of which has a very small paddling area for the little 'uns. My guess is you may find more variety elsewhere. The bar by the pool wasn't open for very long, although they did a good barbecue on Tuesdays and Thursdays. The Pool (table) by the bar was in such a state of disrepair, nobody used it.

The complex itself is a bit of a concrete horror, but they have done a decent job of hiding it with the 'garden' - however, first impressions as you leave reception (up two flights of stairs) into the complex itself are not great. Also, although it is close to the beach, there is a fairly substantial road that has to be navigated to get to the beach, and it is far enough that popping back to the apartment when you have forgotten the sunblock is a real hassle. It's also worth noting that while we were told that we were at the best beach on the island several times, when we hired a car we found there are plenty of other nice beaches all over the island some of which are slightly better for small children.

The apartments themselves are clean, but quite old and very basic. Also the apartment you are assigned is fairly important. We ended up in p116 for our first night, and the 'view' from the balcony was basically of a wall, and a fence. As we were there with young kids, we were stuck in the apartment with nothing but a view of a wall and a load of German TV! We were moved on the second day (although they were very reluctant to do so). Beds not very comfortable either.

One last thing - the primary tourist group is German and about 60 - which is absolutely fine, just another thing worth noting, especially as a fair few of them fully de-robe on the nearby beach! While not a plus point, it's arguably better than being surrounded by drunken yobs.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamheadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Very good location with views of the sea. Clean and comfortable accommodation. Yes it is basic, but you get what you pay for. If you want a nice clean bed, clean bathroom etc this will fit the bill. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Cleaners efficient. Regular linen change. Kitchen equipment is basic - but hey I can manage to boil a saucepan for my cup of tea. I certainly don't want to cook anything on holiday! You don't need to rent a remote for the telly if you've got legs to walk to the tv and touch the buttons! There are lots of slopes and steps so very aged or disabled people would have problems here. Remember it is only 3* but good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pollypin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
felixstowe
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2010

I was 14 at the time and now 17 stayed in 2006 (but wont let me put it back that farr!). Quite a long drive from the airport to the resort, but bare in mind this resort is nearly at the southernest tip of the island. When you get to jandia however, you really don't care how long it took you to get there. The hotel receptionist was extremely friendly, the hotel itself was clean and looked very well kept, walking in on the left was the restaurant and the right down the corridor was the bar/entertainment room.
The apartments are 3 floors up on some whilst 2 floors on others, the apartments right by the pool get the best views, they get that of the sea and jandia itself, just behind the hotel also is a huge mountain ! Really nice views. Bathroom was well kept and maid would KNOCK before she entered, there is a safe there too, no insects in my apartment which was lovely. Kitchenette, with fridge, 2 hobs.
Staff were extremely friendly, bar by the pool, activites going on through the day where EVERYONE was encouraged by one of the staff named lucas. childrens club, when i was there was okay but as it wasnt high season, me and my sister were the only ones who spoke english, however we can now speak a little spanish! i recommend a spanish phrase book no matter how silly you may feel, helped us loads! as the locals know a little or alot of english but sometimes they dont understand and sometimes its nice for them to be able to point out something to help communication!

We were self catering on this holiday so didnt eat in the restaurant, we used local restaurants for our evening meals most nights and during the day for that really nice sandwich we used GINA'S CAFE which i must say was really nice. The night entertainment when i was there was particularly good, where one night they done the riverdance! very nice!!

The hotel itself is like 2 minutes from this immense stretch of beach, lovely!!! There is a lovely promenades to walk along in the evening, and also there is a large wall along the promenade walking away and south from the hotel, where there are chipmunks living in the wall!! and tourists and locals stand there and feed these little creatures monkey nuts! (how cute! my sister loved it). Also the apartment i stayed in was close to a palm tree (funny that!) but a parakee lived in it! ( tiny blue bird similar to a parrott!) and it would sing, not squark, and once it came and sat on the balcony. Jandia has a definate german tourist presence but does that really matter?!! Walking along the main road there are plenty of bars and restaurants, cant remember the name of the restaurant however, we were invited in and then forgotten about!! so obviously we left after 30 minutes. There was a really nice english bar too, shopping is good, and there are arcades and assortments of shops selling perfumes and everything really!!
So, accomadation, brilliant, beach... AMAZING, jandia itself?.. A true gem. My holiday overall was lovely!!

Bring hairdryers and extra towels and stuff, the beds in the room weren't a double but could be moved as a double, nice kitchenette with 2 hobs, limited cutlery though, obviously dont drink the water the shop about 2 minutes from the resort done a good price on those really big big bottles of water! Check the milk dates in the shop though and be careful because of the heat (even in may) it may go out quicker than normal no fault of the hotels though.

Hopefully you will come and stay here as there is many activites to do at the hotel, and don't see my age as maybe me lying about the place and over exaggerating, because im not in all honesty this hotel was really nice, and me and my family enjoyed our stay immensely!.. Will be returning to jandia and this resort.


But... the real major but, the only downside to this holiday i felt that was, you wont really want to leave jandia, everyone is so welcoming, and the place is amazing, no walk about is the same! i enjoyed this holiday so much, my family likes taking walks so we would walk miles in a day seeing new things, to see fuerteventura, walk, or hire a car, dont just stay at the hotel, experience jandia :D !!!

thankyou.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank F_stoweLadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morro del Jable
8.5 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
1.2 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Faro Jandia & Spa
Hotel Faro Jandia & Spa
#3 of 16 in Morro del Jable
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jandia
Hotel Riu Palace Jandia
#2 of 16 in Morro del Jable
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
55.9 mi away
Surfing Colors Apartments
Surfing Colors Apartments
#15 of 45 in Corralejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alameda de Jandia Aparthotel
Alameda de Jandia Aparthotel
#16 of 16 in Morro del Jable
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Jandia Mar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Jandia Mar Apartments

Property: Sol Jandia Mar Apartments
Address: Calle Bentejui 8, 35626 Morro del Jable, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Sol Jandia Mar Aparthotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Morro del Jable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Morro del Jable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Jandia Mar Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Apartamentos Sol Jandía Mar are located in Morro del Jable, on Fuerteventura's south coast. 150 m from Jandía Beach, the complex has 2 swimming pools, squash courts and a supermarket. Surrounded by greenery, all Sol Jandía Mar apartments have a private balcony or terrace, most of which have panoramic views. They consist of a bedroom, lounge area, kitchen and bathroom. Free WiFi is available throughout the property. The hotel's buffet-style restaurant serves breakfasts and dinners. There is also a pool bar and a German-style bierkeller bar, open in the evenings with music and entertainment. The Sol Jandía Mar puts on a varied entertainment programme for children and adults. Other facilities include a petanca court, table tennis and a giant chess set. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sol Jandia Mar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Jandia Mar Aparthotel Hotel Morro Del Jable
Sol Melia Morro Del Jable
Morro Del Jable Sol Melia
Sol Jandia Mar Apartments Fuerteventura/Morro Del Jable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing