We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favourite Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sol Jandia Mar Apartments
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Morro del Jable
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Our favourite Hotel”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I don't know what people are complaimg about, we had our first holiday at this hotel and we have been back there loads of times. we had another week there in may this year and we are going back for a week in november. cannot fault this hotel at all. the best bit is you can have your lunch at the pool bar which i very much enjoy.the staff are all excellent.

Room Tip: If you are disabled in any way ask for a ground floor apartment if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Glenys D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    267
    205
    63
    53
See reviews for
283
358
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We arrived here from a fantastic, not expensive apartment in El Cotillo where everything was new (Ikea furniture/big fridge etc), pools were great and empty and wifi was free - saw this and grimaced - the buildings (bar reception) are all a bit old and beaten, the pools were stuffed and again dated/nothing like as nice looking as the pictures and the apartment we had looked like something you may find in a campsite i.e. very basic/dated outlook.

Kitchen: (we were self catering) - there were 2 rings only and to boil a pan of water for pasta took about 30 minutes minimum they were so slow (for frying you need to have them on max - no worry about burning oil here). The catering stuff provided is the barest minimum - no sharp knives for example and pan wise you only get 2 huge ones which are so big they wont fit on the hobs at the same time making cooking even more difficult. The freezer part of the fridge dripped water all the time and we didn't change as we were told the others weren't so good and were smaller (this was the smallest I had ever used anyway so the others were - toy ones?). No shelves in one cupboard meant hardly any room to store any food either.

Bedrooms/loo - OK I guess.

Outside balcony - there was a kind of planter running across the front of the balcony containing bare earth filled with flies (presumably flowers once) - not very attractive.

Prices - 11 euros a day for wifi when it was previously free and most bars/shops offer it free anyway is ridiculous (even the supermarkets)!

Entertainment (kids) - kids club in the day kept them occupied for a few hours (though for how many days it would have lasted I'm not sure - we sent them for 3). In the evening there was a half our session each night - bit repetitive again but the kids liked it. At the end of the week also they did a kids magic show which was really good.

General - no major walking as I think some have griped about (pensioners?) though there is no ramp next to the first set of steps in the hotel making it a bit of a pain with the pushchair/heavy bags. Difficult to find parking if you have a hire car like us but nothing really bad.

Beach - very near and pretty nice though depending on the tide there can be a sharp slope/drop off/big waves making it potentially dangerous for small kids if you aren't diligent.

Area - lots of shops etc - fully fledged resort, 20-30 mins to Costa Calma and also placed for a nice drive through wilderness to the most southerly point.

Wouldn't go back though - better beaches elsewhere, hotel was shabby as mentioned and the area a bit built up for us.

Room Tip: Scout around for somewhere nicer or ready yourselves for a 2 star not a 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpikyPoisonousMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Morro del Jable hotels

Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had a sunny week in lovely Jandia early March this year. Booked at Sol Jandia Mar. The best thing is the location of the hotel. Close to the lovely beaches of Jandia, close to town center and close to the small restaurants at the waterfront in Morro Jable.
We booked a room with sea view, and paid extra for this. Yes, we were able to see the sea - a small strip in the distance when standing up close to the balcony railings when stretching our neck. When sitting down the only things we saw were trees, other buildings and lovely bougainvillea, but no sea. The extra money we paid for the small sight of sea was totaly wasted, and could rather be spent on eating good food at some of the exellent restaurants in the area. Apartment was very basic and in need of a renovation. We had to struggle with the door locker every time we entered our apartment - in time for a new one ?
Cleanliness OK, but not more.
Pool area OK at first sight, but I could wish much more space between the sun beds. Not tempting to spend much time at that crowded area, so we used the beach instead.
Breakfast was OK, warm and cold dishes, and plenty to choose from.
I think Sol Jandia Mar could be a very nice place to stay if the apartments were refurbished, and got some new furniture both inside and out on the terraces. Perhaps some of the vegetation between the buildings could be removed to allow more light and air around the apartments and balconies ?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BenInDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOL JANDIA MAR F, Gerente at Sol Jandia Mar Apartments, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear BenInDa
We appreciate and thank you for your feedback which is very useful to us.
on the other hand, please except our apologies for not acheiving your expectations on this occasion.
We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and it will be our pleasure to welcome you in the hotel whenever you should choose to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

So long as you understand that you get what you pay for, you shouldn't go far wrong with Sol Jandia Mar.

I have stayed here more times than I can count and I've just booked a 14 night late deal starting 16th June 2013. - Maybe this isn't the jewel in the crown of the Sol Melia group and compared to the newer and more modern hotels along the 'strip' it may appear to be drab but the whole Team will work tirelessly to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

People with mobility problems should note note that the walk up from the main road is a steep hill and that there is no guest lift from the reception area to next level.

What attracts me ?: -- It's virtually on the doorstep to a superb beach (6 minutes walk) ; the commercial centre with shops bars and restaurants is just across the road. A twenty minute walk along a pedestrian walkway to the old town of Morro Jable with everything that goes with 'Old Towns'.

I'm looking forward to staying at the Sol Jandia Mar next week.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOL JANDIA MAR F, Gerente at Sol Jandia Mar Apartments, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Mike P
Firstly ,we would like to thank you for your feedbeck, helping us to identify problems and make improvements.
Also we would like to thank you for your positive comments about the care provided, which we have communicated to all our team. This is definitely our best reward for us
We will pay close attention to your comments and look forward to having you to stay again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avoch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Went here on the basis of self catering. Was not expecting much for the price, other than a working kitchen & a comfy bed. Rooms dark and dated with bad lighting. Curtains hanging off curtain rails. Tiles broken. Bath has seen better days (stained & marked). Kitchen consisted of a 2 ring hob. Dirty glasses in cupboad, crockery & cutlery. No microwave. Not even a KETTLE. So as you can imagine... that left not much in the self catering department. Had to eat out mostly. Nothing worse than having to get up & out to get your morning cup of coffee!

Room Tip: Choose a apartment over looking the pool or over reception. You wont feel boxed in then. Ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angies_Adventures_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOL JANDIA MAR F, Gerente at Sol Jandia Mar Apartments, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Angies_Adventures_13
Your opinion is very important to all of us, the Director and all the Staff of our hotel. We use each of your comments to improve our services and ensure a pleasant stay for our customers.
on the other hand, please except our apologies for not acheiving your expectations on this occasion.
We sincerley hope that you will soon have the opportunity to visit us agian with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

The Sol Jandia Mar is situated in a good location and is opposite the beach.

On our arrival which was during the hours of darkness we were checked in by Junior who was friendly and laid back. We were not given the room allocated initially due to a missing safety deposit key and were given room 216 instead in block A. Trying to find this room was proven very difficult due to the poor lighting, numerous cats and staircases. Once in our room we found it to smell uncleaned and as soon as we entered the bedroom my daughter and i started to itch. There was no way we were staying in that room as we didn't think it had seen a cleaner for sometime and the amount of cats outside was unnerving in the dark. We hauled our suitcases back to reception and requested another room which was accommodated without even a raised eyebrow. We were given d201 which would be no good for anyone who didnt do stairs as it was up a spiral concrete staircase which kept the cats away at least.

Whilst the second room was identical to the other it was at least cleaner, we unpacked. The rooms are adequate but much in need of renovation and despite the fairly new units in the kitchenette we couldn't use even a glass as it was over run with tiny ants which started to move into the bathroom until i purchased a spray to kill them all with! Hot countries bring ants and creepy crawlies we know but. They can at least be controlled with a good clean and a bit of care and attention to detail.

On the first day one of the plastic chairs on the balcony broke whilst i was sitting on it, my husband reported it to reception who, showed no regard as to my welfare and said that they would send another chair up - it never arrived! I am not a large lady and anyone elderly or larger could have been far worse than me.

The beds were changed once during our stay and the towels twice but the interior cleaning leaves much to be desired. We observed the cleaning one day as it was cloudy and we sat on the balcony. It was very poor and little cleaning products were used. The maid was grumpy also.

The reception areas have recently been modernised and whilst they are lovely they do not reflect in anyway the rest of the hotel which is very early 80s i would say which has been used every-week since and not touched.

I think the hotel would benefit from more cleaning staff. We didn't find the reception staff apart from our arrival day very helpful or happy to help.

The age range during our visit was over 65s and mainly german and dutch visitors, i think we may have been the only english.

I wouldnt recommend staying at this hotel at all, it needs renovating desperately.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank JDYN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOL JANDIA MAR F, Gerente at Sol Jandia Mar Apartments, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Firstly ,we would like to thank you for your feedbeck, helping us to identify problems and make improvements.

I would like to apologise on behalf of my Hotel team for not meeting your expectations. Our objective is to always offer the best service to our guests and in this case we have not accomplished our aim.

We are looking forward to you visiting us again soon. We will be delighted to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have just spent a week at Sol Jandia Mar Apartmenthotel.
When I got there late in the evening another new guest was just complaining about the dirty bathtub that, in his view, had not been cleaned for ages ..... well, well .....
I finally got my key and went to my apartment. My advice - a torch will be very helpful to find your apartment if you arrive there after sunset -.it is really dark there and there are lots of stairs .....
I entered my apartment and noticed that the bathroom looked very dated and to make matters worse thick black hair everywhere (on the floor, toilet, bathtub).
The bathtub looked dirty - I guess it had not been cleaned for months. Therefore, I guess that that must be a common problem over there.
On the next day the apartment was cleaned - but not the bathtub! Finally, I tried to clean it myself and after a while it looked 60% better. On the next day I left a note for the cleaning lady to please clean it and I guess that she did the best she could do - it looked even better (but far from perfect).
They provide towels but not more than necessary (bring a beach towel). They also provide bathroom tissue - but not enough. Therefore, you'd better buy some just in case ...
If you are a smoker you will like it a lot. A lot of heavy elderly chain smokers enjoy the swimming pool area. If you don't like inhaling fumes you will not be happy. Maybe there should be a smoking area for those who can't live without cigars (!!!) and cigarettes - an area where nobody else will be forced to inhale the smoke (it is really unpleasant).
Neverless, Sol Jandia Mar Apartmenthotel is quite nice - if you are not longing for a luxury resort.
Good location, very friendly staff at the reception, wonderful breakfast selection, and very nice flowers and plants everywhere. My compliments to the gardener - great job.
If they renovated and modernized the apartments (some paint, modern furniture, better fridge, a microwave) and would be better at cleaning the apartments it would be a perfect place. Therefore, I will return (with bathtub cleaner in my suitcase ;-) )

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Bi Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOL JANDIA MAR F, Gerente at Sol Jandia Mar Apartments, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Mr. Bi Q

Firstly ,we would like to thank you for your feedbeck, helping us to identify problems and make improvements.

on the other hand, please except our apologies for not acheiving your expectations on this occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morro del Jable
8.5 mi away
Melia Gorriones Fuerteventura
1.2 mi away
Occidental Jandia Playa
0.6 mi away
Hotel Faro Jandia & Spa
Hotel Faro Jandia & Spa
#3 of 16 in Morro del Jable
4.5 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Jandia
Hotel Riu Palace Jandia
#2 of 16 in Morro del Jable
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
55.9 mi away
Surfing Colors Apartments
Surfing Colors Apartments
#15 of 45 in Corralejo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alameda de Jandia Aparthotel
Alameda de Jandia Aparthotel
#16 of 16 in Morro del Jable
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Jandia Mar Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Jandia Mar Apartments

Property: Sol Jandia Mar Apartments
Address: Calle Bentejui 8, 35626 Morro del Jable, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain (Formerly Sol Jandia Mar Aparthotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Morro del Jable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Morro del Jable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Jandia Mar Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 294
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Apartamentos Sol Jandía Mar are located in Morro del Jable, on Fuerteventura's south coast. 150 m from Jandía Beach, the complex has 2 swimming pools, squash courts and a supermarket. Surrounded by greenery, all Sol Jandía Mar apartments have a private balcony or terrace, most of which have panoramic views. They consist of a bedroom, lounge area, kitchen and bathroom. Free WiFi is available throughout the property. The hotel's buffet-style restaurant serves breakfasts and dinners. There is also a pool bar and a German-style bierkeller bar, open in the evenings with music and entertainment. The Sol Jandía Mar puts on a varied entertainment programme for children and adults. Other facilities include a petanca court, table tennis and a giant chess set. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sol Jandia Mar Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Jandia Mar Aparthotel Hotel Morro Del Jable
Sol Melia Morro Del Jable
Morro Del Jable Sol Melia
Sol Jandia Mar Apartments Fuerteventura/Morro Del Jable

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing