We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap n chearful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Park Apartments
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Had a great holiday with my 13 year old daughter . The best part of Holiday Park Apartments were the bar & entertainment staff such a good laugh & friendly. The money we paid for our holiday I expected a higher standard. The room was only just adequate. No safety deposit box in it, this was located in the reception area & chargable. Also air conditioning chargable. These charges immediately added to the cost of our stay. The room was only cleaned once & I had to ask for clean towels after the cleaned removed ours & didn't replace. The room was ver tatty & mattresses very uncomftable, I even cut my elbow from the springs which if any pressure applied at all hurt your body. There were no brollies around the pool for shade which made 40degrees unbareable so visits to the beach were needed for that & again that added to the cost for the hire of beds & brollies. The pool was clean but had had lots of repairs carried out in the past, an under water light was floating around it one day. The holiday was sold to us as a family destination, yet several groups of young girls & boys were present & whilst no problem during the day between the hours of 3am - 6am were horrendous with loud & noisey behaviour, foul language & general inconsideration for others. The general condition of the apartments from our room to the rest of what was visible, in my opinion needs a complete overhaul & to be brought up to modern standards. I would not recommend this accomodation to anyone unless they were prepared for shabiness & didn't mind not getting much sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginibol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,582)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Park Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,428 - 1,434 of 1,584 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2009

We arrived in the early hours of sunday 19th july after a very slow transfer from the airport. we were greeted by friendly staff who invited us to go to the bar while they got our romm ready. We were pleased that the bar was still open as we were gasping by this stage. We paid for the air con which is 5 euros a night, (well worth the money) and the safe which was located in reception but only really big enough for money and jewellery.

When we got to the room it was a good size, clean and basic, towels changed twice during the week and bedding once. there is a kettle and two cooking rings we just made sandwiches at lunch so it was adequate for what we needed. The supermarket across the road is cheapest as 5 litres of water was 1.25 euros and further down the road at the next one it was 3.50 euros.

on the first morning we went exploring and came back around lunchtime and were still able to get a sun lounger, there are two levels for sunbathing, the one round the pool and the bottom layer which is a bit quieter. The downside is they have no parasols and it does get very hot, you can sit in the bar for shade or go back to the room for a break, our room was on the first floor overlooking the pool so easy to keep nipping back to.

The pool is cleaned every day but i would not vouch for it being the cleanest pool as they did get called several times to remove debris so everybody had to get out during the day.

There were a lot of large groups of young adults who come down to the pool late in the afternoon and splash around and chuck balls and generally have no consideration for anybody around them, this can be a bit of a problem. We did mention it to the reception and they said they do put them right up the top out of the way but unfortunately this means they have to walk past everybody else to get to bed at 5 or 6 in the morning and can be very noisy. One evenng we did witness a singing balcony competition between a group of male and female guests while the hypnosis show was going on downstairs in the bar .

Eating out, there is a wide choice of restaurants and you are spoilt for choice. there are definietly a couple worth a mention. Scrumpy Joe's which is turn right from hotel and go down to the shopping centre and turn left and walk down the slope and they are near the end on the right. They do gorgeous BLT and home made chips, they were so good we went back on our last day. Toni's Pizza restaurant is brilliant, they do a set menu fo 8.90 which ncludes starter, main, dessert and drink, my drink was 1/2 bottle of white wine, hubby had large beer and son a large coke, the pizza'a are lovely and then he brings you out a huge portion of cake for dessert. Briliant. The other one worth mentioning is Fat sams which is about 10 - 15 mins from the hotel, past the beach an up the other side to the right. This is a uk equivalent of TGI's , you may have to wait for a table and it is a bit pricey, it came to 51 euros for three and that was only main courses and two rounds of drinks.

The hotel does have its own wi fi and if you want to use it they will sort you ot a rate for the week..

We did go to the beach one day but as they charge you so much for the beds and parasols you do feel like you have bee riped off. it was 15 euros for three beds and a parasol which you obviously couldn,t do every day.

It did get very hot while we were there, they were having a heatwave. the air con is an absolute must and it works brilliantly and you can leave it on when you are not in the room. a couple of evenings it was very hot and humid and where we ate depended very much on who had air conditioning as it amazes me that a lot of them dont.

Would I go back, possibly but having been to other areas of Majorca this is generally more for the youngsters as there is not much entertainement going on before midnight and to be honest we are ready to go back to bed by then.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mingomango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

i have jus returned from a week stay at the holiday park aprtments and to say that it was great would be an under statement. it was our fourth year returning to the hotel and as always we were greeted by lovely pleasant staff. we were travelling with a woman in a wheel chair and the staff could not do enough for us. the hotel is very wheel chair friendly. the apartments are clean and also spacious with plenty of room for teenage girls getting ready. the towels are changed often and the rooms cleaned. the maids were lovely. the pool is cleaned every night and its the cleanest pool ive ever been in. there is activities running throughout the day for kids and older people including hoi bingo which is played twice a day . the hotel is close to all the pubs and bars but not too close as ther is no noise at night time from the lively town. this hotel caters for all ages as we have travelled wit a girl in a wheel chair , kids , teenagers and an older woman. this is a great hotel to stay in in santa ponsa.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gemmaliciousxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2009

We spent 8 nights at the holiday park apartments in July and had a brilliant time. The staff at these apartments are fantastic and the entertainers Jue and Sherry work really hard to make sure that everybody is having a great time. Kids of all ages absolutely love them as do the adults. The reception staff are very friendly and when we had a problem with our transfer to the airport Lesley went out of her way to help us get it sorted. Entertainment consisted of things like water aerobics, poolgames, karaoke,flip flop game, rifle shooting, bingo, quiz nights, treasure hunts etc.
The apartments are on the same road as the pubs and clubs but to be honest we were never disturbed by them. There are a lot of young single groups stay at the apartments as well as families and couples and there was not one single time during our stay that we heard or saw any problems with the mix of holidaymakers. During our stay 9 children had ear infections, my son being one of them, and the general feeling was the pool was causing this. However the pool WAS cleaned every single day and somethimes these things happen with the amount of time spent in the water.
The apartment was bigger than we expected and pretty basic but was very clean. Bathroom was spotless. We had our sheets changed once and towels were changed twice. Maid came in once and cleaned the bathroom then left. This was fine by us as we are quite capable of sweeping the floor when we make a mess of it.
We went to Katmandu which was good the 4D simulator ride was excellent. Also went the Fantasia Golf which is well worth the money. Having been to pirates a couple of times before we decided to try something different so we booked the Medival Show. We were not very impressed with this and felt that it was not worth the money. It is narrated in spanish first and then english but have no idea what the storyline was as the cheers from the spanish speakers drowned out what was being said in english. I think once you have seen pirates nothing else is really going to top that.
All in all we really enjoyed our stay at the holiday park apartments and would definately stay there again. Best thing about these apartments were the entertainers and staff.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hibbyfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2009

Dont get me wrong, we had a nice holiday and enjoyed our 10 days but unfortunately these apartments really need to decide who their target market is.
We booked as a family with 2 young children aged 3 & 1 yrs into what was billed as a family hotel. If your idea of family is getting completely smashed out of your face on booze all day by the pool whilst letting your kids run wild then topping up the alcohol level till the early hours whilst the poor little mites try to sleep on lilos at your feet then go right ahead and book.
Huge gangs of teenagers on their first trip away without parents, doing what teenagers do, drinking, shouting, naked swimming, throwing up in the pool, peeing in the childrens pool, throwing pizza boxes, chairs and anything else not nailed down into the pool on their way back from the (very nearby) clubs in the early hours etc etc. I could go on but think you get the picture. These are not isolated rowdy families but the majority. Fair enough the staff do speak to them about behaviour, but that’s as far as it goes.
During our stay, Paul the night manager was punched and pushed down the concrete stairs, breaking his arm requiring 3 hrs of surgery, 6 weeks before he can move again and 3 months before going back to work. Thoughts to his family. We are disgusted that his family were allowed to stay to continue to terrorise the other guests whilst he was imprisoned. Their appallingly behaved little boy of around 7yrs pushed my 21mth old into the pool, luckily my husband was right there to catch her. Mothers excuse? He has behavioural problems! No s..t Sherlock! – that means he needs closer supervision and properly structured activity, his mother had not been seen by the pool for hours (occasionally looked out over her balcony) great parenting skills, I feel for the poor lad, he doesn’t stand a chance.
It all goes on to the beat of the never ending and extremely loud 'entertainment' which began to feel like groundhog day very quickly. There is absolutely no escape from the incessant noise of the entertainers as all action goes on in the bar which all apartments face onto. Bingo twice a day - I mean come on, I ask you? Karaoke –does it really need to be every night? Really crude party games – why would anyone want to stick a (communal) penny up their bumcheeks whilst waddling along to the chicken song? Please be warned it is very loud, there is no escape and stays that way until midnight when thankfully we managed to get an hour or so of relative peace (bearing in mind the bar stays open) I say an hour or so as then the next phase of trouble starts.
The Apartments are right in the heart of the Irish sector and attracts a majority Irish clientele. On our daily escape from this chav-laden hellhole, we had to pick our way through vomit strip, avoiding the broken glass in our sandals and sidestepping the ‘everything with chips’ restaurants where people were ordering pints with breakfast (but hey, at least they were lining their stomachs)
Once you turn the beach corner, its like a different place, almost tasteful. The further away from the apartments you go, the nicer, friendlier and more attractive Santa Ponsa is. The beach is fabulous, multinational, great for building sandcastles and has a lovely pine walk at the far end. It does get busier at weekends but still has masses of room. The sea is calm and shelves gently allowing little feet to paddle.
In all, the apartments are cheap, with very basic cooking facilities – kettle and 2 rings, aircon is 5 euros per day, safe deposit 3 euros per day, toaster 10 euros per week. Its basic but enough to make breakfast and picnics for the beach. The rooms are clean but the pool area needs looking at. There is no shade for little ones (not even a parasol). Most of the children I saw there had earplugs in to prevent their ear infections from getting worse. I had to report rubble in the childrens pool one morning (they promptly fished the big bits out, but left the really sharp shards) apparently this was caused by them jetwashing the side down the night before to wash away the sick (straight into the pool?) NICE
If you looking for a hen/stag party, an alco-fest or a place for teens then you will probably love it at the Holiday Park. If you have young children, want a relaxing break or find tourette levels of swearing and bad tattoos a turn off, then please please pay the extra and book somewhere nice.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4Thompsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2009

Last minute booking! Booked Tues, flew Saturday so was expecting the worst really! Surprised tho, lovely complex, stayed a week, bedding, towels & bins done 3 times. Very clean tho basic. "Nice basic" tho!! Staff lovely, especially the entertainmers - Julie & Sherry, my teenagers thought they were brilliant and had a good laugh with them both all week. Aircon was extra but then the holiday was cheaper than a hotel with aircon so evens out really. Entertainment finished at 12 each night and all was quiet after that, no noise heard from neighbouring bars and I'm a light sleeper!

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
2  Thank Shelley66Stockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2009

Before arriving to Holiday Park apartments, I read another review on here and to be honest wondered what a football star like Scott Brown was doing in such a "normal" hotel like Holiday Park, rather than a flashy 5 star place, but having just got back myself I now get it. In fact there were 2 other Celtic players staying there while I was there. I guess it´s a quiet get away for them, where nobody bothers them and they can have a good laugh and drink without worrying. I noticed that there was a good mixture of people staying at the hotel, Irish, English and Scottish and everyone got on well together which is nice to see. It´s true that the staff are simply the nicest bunch of people you could come across, and it´s a comfortable down to earth place where you can relax by the pool and if you don´t make dozens of friends at this hotel, it´s because you don´t want to! Everyone chats to everyone, and you somehow feel at home after one day. We got talking to loads of people that had stayed there before, so that must be saying something.
The room was fine. Simple, but plenty of room and we had found it had everything you might need. Eating out in Santa Ponsa isn´t expensive, so most nights we ate out or brought in take away food and then joined the party down at the bar, except the night we had the bar b que at the hotel, which was fab and very good value.
Last year we went to Magalluf after hearing so much about the place, but were pretty disappointed with it. It´s not as nice as Santa Ponsa and the streets at night turn into a meat market, if you know what I mean.
Holiday Park was recommended to us by our next door neighbour and it really is a good place to stay, and somewhere that we are now recommending to our friends.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulGrey21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.0 mi away
Aparthotel Holiday Center
Aparthotel Holiday Center
#17 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
1,150 reviews
0.8 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
0.2 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#35 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel
0.9 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
1,844 reviews
0.4 mi away
Globales Apartamentos Verdemar
Globales Apartamentos Verdemar
#11 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Park Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Park Apartments

Address: Ramon de Moncada 35, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#1 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range: $70 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Park Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Park Santa Ponsa Apartments is a friendly and welcoming self-catering hotel with maid service, situated a short walk from the award winning beach and at the very heart of Santa Ponsa close to great restaurants, live music venues, rental car, large supermarkets, banks and popular attractions. The one bedroom self-catering apartments; each comprising living area, kitchenette (all one bedroomed apartments have fridge, double electric stove, electric kettles and toaster), bathroom (all bathrooms have hairdryers) and a balcony or terrace. Cots are offered at no extra charge (for your comfort please request them in advance though hotels site). Hotel offers courtesy shower-room and luggage room for your comfort. Distance from the airport is 13 Miles. Hotel does not accept hen and stag parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Park Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Park Apartments Hotel Santa Ponsa
Holiday Park Santa Ponsa
Holiday Park Apartments Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing