We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel would recommend to everyone”
Review of Club Santa Ponsa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Club Santa Ponsa
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“excellent hotel would recommend to everyone”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

just came back today, cannot fault any part of this hotel, it is beautiful, spotlessly clean, food excellent, restaurant is cosy and relaxed, waiters quieitly tending the tables without a fuss, the bar is run very well, the ambiance is relaxing, the rooms are huge and kept very clean. the view across the bay is tremendous, the apartments are little bungalows cascading down the hillside it is very quirky, some don't have the views across the bay. a free shuttle bus runs every hour into the town with no fuss, we walked down the hill and back up with no problem, overall a great holiday booked through on the beach with no hiccups whatsoever,

Room Tip: email hotel for a sea view up at the top of the hill near the reception, don't get a low level r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    372
    420
    170
    56
    39
See reviews for
456
309
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hawick Scottish Borders
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have just returned from ten days at Club Santa Ponsa and mostly was impressed but there were a few issues re cleanliness. The area around the pool and on the terrace outside the bar were never cleaned once the ten days we were there. By the amount of cigarette ends lying on terrace I do not think it had been touched for a while. The outside stairs to our apartment were only swept once and there was an empty plastic cup on them for two days which we eventually lifted ourselves and put it in a bucket. Other places we have been to they are cleaning and hosing down around the pool everday.

Apart from the above details we had a lovely apartment(which was nice as we booked a studio) above the reception looking over the mountains and it was very clean. Sheets were changed twice in the ten days we were there. Tha maids were very friendly and always spoke to you.

The bar staff and dining room staff were super especiallly the chinese lady in the dining room. She was always smiling and very pleasant when you spoke to her.

The lady on the reception who booked us in was also very pleasant. As our room was not ready she gave us our all inclusive bands so we could get a drink or a coffee.

We did not think much of the entertainment did not last very long.. Went one night but never bothered after that.

The hill did not bother us to much and there was also the minibus which ran every hour and we used it a couple of times.

All in all we had a good holiday but do not think we would go to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms above reception are best and not to many stairs. Most of the other apartments have a lot of st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Brenda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

After staying in Peguera we stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during an 18 day holiday in August spent with extended family. We had booked for 5 nights!!!

So first to the overbooking;-

When we got in the taxi from Peguera the driver asked "Who's paying this, you or Club Santa Ponsa"? Strange question we thought at the time and.........in retrospect we wish we'd said "Club Santa Ponsa"!! We would soon begin to speculate on why he had asked the question. Arriving at the hotel we were, after queueing, greeted by an ashen-faced Andy who was "very sorry but your room will not be ready until 10am the following morning but I have upgraded you to a larger 1 bedroom apartment and we could have free car hire, free tickets to the Waterpark or to Westernworld"..........or words to that effect.

Neither my wife or myself have ever been known to have been lost for words in such a situation but after only a little emoting - HONEST - we agreed to the transfer to the Rey Don Jaime Hotel for one night and keep our powde.....erm thoughts on the matter until later on. (See later on.)

Next morning after returning from the Don Jaime - which we have also reviewed - we were very pleased with our upgraded apartment which was indeed huge for 2 people. It could have slept at least 4.

Seeing our room, belatedly, got our short stay off to a good start.

Apart from the lack of air-conditioning, which my wife found more of a problem than I did, I could not fault this hotel in any way.

The views here are even better than the Iberostar Suites Hotel Jardin del Sol because....well you are higher up.

The main pool is mainly for youngsters I'd say but fine. Although I only swam in it once or twice. We preferred the second pool behind the restaurant and it had a nice atmosphere and was as picturesque as the restaurant and.....well every other beautiful view from and in the hotel!

The AI food and drink was A1, if you follow my drift. A wide range of very palatable drinks were widely available on tap, literally at meal times and via an efficient bar service the rest of the time.

The only thing wrong with the drink was that there was no rose wine and the ONLY thing wrong with the buffet food was that the soup was a bit tasteless a couple of days. Hardly disastrous!

There is a good mix of nationalities at this hotel and a VERY friendly atmosphere.

There's a friendly animation team with a range of games, sports etc. And some quite passable night time entertainment if you bother with that sort of thing on holiday.

The regular free shuttle bus to the beach was great. Sometimes it had to do two journeys at particular times if busy but so what.

We booked our stay through Travel Republic for £55 per person per night All Inclusive right at the end of the Scottish school holidays. We stayed in Peguera for the 1st 3 nights as staying at CSP was prohibitively expensive to book during the Scottish school holidays. Something to look out for. Now this may have contributed to the overbooking.

This hotel, not unreasonably, wants to maximise its capacity and indeed its profits and this seems to have contributed to its......let's just call it "flexible booking system".

We met a young Irish couple on the day we were leaving who had also been over-booked and were shipped off to another hotel for a night.

Our family are frequent visitors to Santa Ponsa and we are aware that this hotel allows visitors to dine in the hotel for 12 euros per person in the evening. All you can eat and drink. Excellent value this if you are staying in one of the many nearby apartments.

We had 4 family and friends come up to eat free of charge one night to compensate for the overbooking. Fair dos.

In my opinion if you are overbooked here I would keep calm and consider your compensation appeal over time. Santa Ponsa is not exactly Baghdad so if you are relocated to another hotel for a night it should hopefully not blight your holiday too much. Like any other hotel the staff will not want you going on to TA and slating them......like we haven't, so they'll want to make it up to you. Ach every circumstance is different but that's my tuppence worth on this.

Finally this hotel is probably not for people with walking difficulties and everyone should be very careful walking on the stone stairs especially if carrying glass. The hotel would not recommend or probably allow the taking of glasses back to your apartment so it'd probably be best to take plastic glasses to your room. In our room, as with alI I think, there was a fridge and, rather unnecessarily, a cooker! Probably an idea to store some AI drinks in the fridge if you can get away with it as my wife woke with a terrible thirst on our first night and.....we had left ourselves refreshmentless.

We would definitely return to this hotel in the right circumstances but I would end with expressing some sympathy with reviewers who stayed here in July this year. The lack of air conditioning during a heatwave would be a major negative I am sure. As they expressed.



(Btw my room recommendation below is cheekintongue. :-)



:-) If you get a room here for the duration of your booking you are doing v well!

(Just kidding! We loved it! :-)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisandJayneann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I visit this hotel a lot as we live near, my brother and his friend came for 3 days so we had an over nighter the apartment was lovely clean and roomy, lovely outside, views lovely and so quiet. The food was delicious both evening, lunch and breakfast, always filling trays and nice and hot and plenty of choice. All the staff in the dining area and bar are always pleasant and chatty, would recommend anyone to go here, groups or family

Room Tip: the apartments are better located than studios
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sueandytipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here for 3 nights with 3 other friends. Having been to santa ponsa before at another hotel we were keen to come again. The hotel can not be faulted. The two guys who run the bar do an excellent job, always welcoming, bar was always clean, so polite. Drinks and coffees and tea available from 10am till midnight also ice cream. The restaurant provided food for many different Tastes. Our room was huge, very clean. Many steps though so if u struggle I wouldn't suggest this hotel. All staff and cleaners were very polite throughout the stay. Pool lovely and I just can't find a fault :) will 100% stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophie1989x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

If you are a all inclusive type of person then this is the hotel for you, the food was average always something to eat but we never looked forward to meal times, other people there waited patiently for their next meal as if that's all they wanted from a holiday. We found all the staff to be excellent and the cleaners were very good, we had a problem with ants in the toilet, bedroom and kitchen but we sorted that with some spray from under the sink, we reported a dodgy toilet but that was fixed the same day, the views were brilliant as was the size of the balcony, the only thing which would prevent me returning is the other guests no-one replied when you said good morning or hello, we said it in German, Spanish English & French I have never known people to stay in their own little groups and ignore you, This is the first and Last time I will go all inclusive

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view on some rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katieandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bolton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

For a 3 star, this is brilliant hotel, can’t really fault it as long as you know where it is located. The hotel is situated on a pretty steep hillside, which means lots of steps and a pretty hard walk back up the hill from Santa Ponsa. We did it a few times, but got a taxi back to the hotel after a night out on the strip. The upside to its location is the stunning views of Santa Ponsa Bay from the bar & restaurant area, pool and from many of the rooms. The Square is about a 5 minute walk down the hill from the hotel and is great for live entertainment, bars and restaurants, although by the end of September was pretty quiet, we went in August last year and it was very lively. Again you can get a taxi back for just over 3 euros – so well worth it.

Our room (Number 507) was just next to the pool and near reception, so not very many steps, but it can be a little noisy later at night, but hey – you are on holiday. We had a spacious apartment with a huge balcony with a table and four chair and 2 sun loungers and fantastic view of the bay. The hotel has no air con, but the apartment had two big ceiling fans, which we found more than adequate. The fridge was very handy even though we were AI, just for water and drinks. There was a flat screen TV, but we didn’t use it, but it would probably be good if you travelled with children. The bedroom had two very comfortable single beds and plenty of wardrobe space and coat hangers. The kitchen was well stocked with cooking facilities if required, but no kettle, but I always take a travel kettle for that first cup of tea in the morning.
The bathroom was a bit compact, but we had a good shower and clean towels each day, so no complaints there.

The bar area opened at 10am until midnight with a good range of alcoholic drinks, beer on tap, my favourite was the pina coladas and champagne on the last day. There is also a coffee machine – lovely coffee. The waiters work really hard, you may have to wait on occasions as they also have to collect all the glasses. The bar has a large seating area and a small stage inside for kid's activities from 7-9 in the evening and then other acts later on. The terrace was also great during the day, it you want to get out of the sun for a while and sit with a coffee or just take in the view. There is free Wi-Fi on the terrace and the bar area.
Great pool area, we didn’t have any problems getting sunbeds and there were four of us. There is a quieter small pool at the back of the hotel, where kids were not allowed, but we stayed around the main pool area. Had a brilliant laugh with a group of lads from down south – you know who you are.

Couldn’t fault the food, it was very good, always found something. Breakfast was the usual choice of eggs, bacon etc. Loads of croissants, breads, toast machine and fruit. Fruit juices on tap and tea and coffee machines. At lunch and dinner there was plenty of choice of chicken, pork, pasta, potatoes, chips, rice and salads. The fish was excellent. You could also get water on tap, beer and wine.
All in all we had a brilliant 4 day stay at Club Santa Ponsa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anniec1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
1,502 reviews
0.4 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
1,762 reviews
0.3 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
#5 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
2,164 reviews
0.5 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#19 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
1,076 reviews
0.1 mi away
Globales Verdemar
Globales Verdemar
#11 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Santa Ponsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Santa Ponsa

Property: Club Santa Ponsa
Address: Nunyo Sanc, 14, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Santa Ponsa 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Santa Ponsa is located in the northwest coast hill of Santa Ponca's white sand beach. The complex is naturally and in harmony distributed with its forest environment; this circumstance makes a very nice direct contact with the nature that surround us. This soft composition is bringing from over 25 years, repetitive visits of families, couples and groups of persons interested in sports, rest and good gastronomy. We offer 142 units, distributed in 93 modern one bedroom apartments, and 49 new and practical studios, all of them fully equipped with furnished terrace, independent full bathroom, central heating and a experienced and professional 24 hours backup service. From our hotel there is an easy connection to other near by additional services like: Public bus transportation at 50m, commercial shopping areas and of entertainment at 200m, equipped sandy beach of Santa Ponsa 900m., Doctor services outside or inside de hotel, sportive port including nautical and sub aquatic activities, programmed local excursions and excursions around the island, walking areas, Golf, thematic and aquatic parks, etc. Everything is right in the line of your budget, with a very professional, permanent and satisfactory service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Club Santa Ponsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Santa Ponsa Hotel Santa Ponsa
Hotel Santa Ponsa
Club Santa Ponsa Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing