We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Winter Break”
Review of Club Santa Ponsa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Club Santa Ponsa
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Staffs
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely Winter Break”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is our second visit for a short winter break and this time we stayed between 22 and 25 November. The hotel is a little dated, but I still found this quite charming. We had apartment 101, which is the lowest and furthest away apartment there is. We were concerned about the amount of steps, but as we were only there for 3 nights and we need the exercise, we stuck it out (although we did park near to the room & drove up to the hotel a couple of times!). It was quite funny to spot the newbies trying to work out where their room was from the map (that included us). In spite of the dated appearence, the hotel is one of the cleanest I have been in. There was not a mark on the walls or furniture and the room was spotless.
The hotel is not large and has to cater for various nationalities, mainly English and German, but I think they generally do a great job with the food given these restrictions. If you are a very fussy British food eater, you may have a restricted choice, but we enjoy trying different foods.The chefs often stood out in the restaurant so you could ask any questions if you were not sure. The restaurant staff are friendly and efficient and keep the restaurant clean and tidy and there is a nice outside area to eat.
The indoor bar is a bit like a social club, but we had a laugh and everyone got on and chatted to one another. The bar closed dead on 11 and you then have to sit on the terrace. This is a great place to sit at any time of the day chilling with a drink and enjoying the fabulous views over the bay (the up side to the hill top location). The wi fi is free in the main areas, often not even the case in more expensive hotels. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. At this time of year it was all hands to the pump and even the lifeguard did a bit on the bar. All in all we had another great stay at this friendly little hotel. Many people were returners and we intend to make this a regular little out of season treat. Big up to the Liverpool girls.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Valiantsat43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    420
    171
    56
    39
See reviews for
458
309
36
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

had a great time, rooms large with up stairs with terrace over looking the beautiful bay cleaned most days with regular fresh towels and sheets If you did'nt: allready know there are quite a few steps on the complex where we were, but no problem to us.Food was very good lots of choice allways hot, great salads with mussels, mini pies,sliced meats ect. loads out door eating. Entertainment was ok but we can take it or leave it. all inclusive drinks ,good measures usual local brands sometimes a que at the bar but not for long,limited seating at times but when restaurant closes theres all the room you need chilling and over looking over the bay . It was the first time we had been to santa ponsa we thought it was really nice, compact, lots of bars, restaurants, large beach we were there early sept when the week long festival was on with live bands, street markets,marching bands ect, well worth going at this time of year. Santa ponsa club is up a hill but still a pleasant strole lots of shops bars ect on the way.15mins to the beach quicker by using the steps.overall good hotel great resort, will go back again we paid £550pp for 11 days we thought that was Quite cheap?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank davederbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

i went to santa ponsa in october 2011 this year and i went to club santa ponsa for food what a place it was lush and you could eat as much as you wanted and drink as much as you wanted would recommend to anyone

Room Tip: would recommend it for first time travellers and loooking for all inclusive
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roy-c
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

This was our first experience of all inclusive and we suspect we will try it again

We spoke to others with more experience and they confirmed that this place was above average and offered some very good deals, which could be unbeatable at certain times of year

It appears to be a standard set of apartments built in several separate buildings, low rise and on a headland

Some fantastic views with great sunsets, but is a bit of a walk into Santa Ponsa which was OK but nothing special imho

The food was good, we especially liked the fruit and salads, and were able to obtain a packed lunch when we went out for the day. Would strongly advise any couples to wait till half way through serving the evening meal before dining as the restaurant vibe was much better

Not the poshest establishment regarding some of the clientele (we had a bit of culture shock in the first hour or two) but we thought the staff were really friendly and helpful - a big plus

All in all worked out extremely successful in the end. Would recommend

Room Tip: Would recommend a separate bedroom for 2 rather than a studio
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roy-c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feltham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights from the 1/11/12 - 4/11/12 and I was very impressed, yes the hotel is a little dated but it makes up for this in cleanliness and the friendliness of the staff.
Yes sometimes you did have to wait a bit to get a drink at the bar, but if your on holiday why worry and it was only when bar staff had to help to get the retsaurant ready which was around 4pm, other times there was no problem. The food was good with a wide selection something for everyone. I went there with 3 friends and we all left saying that we would definately return.
The only word of advice I would give to any would be travellers is that this hotel is in an elevated position so would not be suitable to people who cannot handle hills but the hotel does provide a shuttle bus service to and from the beach, also try to avoid Santa Ponsa in November as most of the hotels, restaurants and bars are closed and it is the same in Magaluf.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a sea view if you can, the views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r0gerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here for the school October week and enjoyed our stay , as with most hotels , it had its plus and negative points.
The rooms are a bit dated with a roof fan in both living quarters the only meams of air conditioning, must be boiling in summer , the toilet could do with a makeover with a few broken tiles and a semi operational shower (new shower head required) ,which would sometimes run out of hot water. The room was kept spotless by the cleaners who regularly changed the towels and bed linen.
The restaurant was nice with lovely views over the bay , the food area was quite tight and although the food was ok ,it ran out of the main a few times , so early dining was essential , it would also have been nice if the show grill had been used more and not only when the reps arrived to review the hotel for a travel firm !!!
The pool area was v nice , with plenty of loungers .
The bar area was good and a special mention to the two barmen who work hard to serve and keep the bar area tidy .
The tennis and basketball/football courts are based over the road from the hotel and on inspection looked as if they needed a bit of a makeover and a tidy.
On the downside is the hotels local , it is based at the top of a giant set of stairs (122 my kids told me !!!) so being able is a benefit otherwise a taxi to the hotel from the hub of the resort is essential .
Overall we all had a good week in Santa Ponsa , would we come back here ? Maybe , as other reviewers have stated , You get what you pay for after all

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eightball1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This Hotel was, again, great value. We went with our family (from 13 to 72) to celebrate our golden wedding. Everything was just as we wanted. We did not have sea views but as we live close to beach it is not a problem. The food was suitable for all tastes, we especially liked the sea food. The entertainment was what we expected it would be for the money. This time there were no stag parties (hooray) in fact we English were much in the minority, no problem. If you want a no frills all inclusive holiday at a terrific price this hotel must be for you.

Room Tip: Go to the marineland. Truly amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank doremouse22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.4 mi away
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
#3 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
1,768 reviews
0.3 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
0.5 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#22 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
Zafiro Rey don Jaime
#6 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
2,170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Globales Verdemar
Globales Verdemar
#11 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
353 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Santa Ponsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Santa Ponsa

Property: Club Santa Ponsa
Address: Nunyo Sanc, 14, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Santa Ponsa 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Santa Ponsa is located in the northwest coast hill of Santa Ponca's white sand beach. The complex is naturally and in harmony distributed with its forest environment; this circumstance makes a very nice direct contact with the nature that surround us. This soft composition is bringing from over 25 years, repetitive visits of families, couples and groups of persons interested in sports, rest and good gastronomy. We offer 142 units, distributed in 93 modern one bedroom apartments, and 49 new and practical studios, all of them fully equipped with furnished terrace, independent full bathroom, central heating and a experienced and professional 24 hours backup service. From our hotel there is an easy connection to other near by additional services like: Public bus transportation at 50m, commercial shopping areas and of entertainment at 200m, equipped sandy beach of Santa Ponsa 900m., Doctor services outside or inside de hotel, sportive port including nautical and sub aquatic activities, programmed local excursions and excursions around the island, walking areas, Golf, thematic and aquatic parks, etc. Everything is right in the line of your budget, with a very professional, permanent and satisfactory service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Club Santa Ponsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Santa Ponsa Hotel Santa Ponsa
Hotel Santa Ponsa
Club Santa Ponsa Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing