We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel with a nice value.”
Review of Ona Surfing Playa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ona Surfing Playa
Ranked #24 of 35 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Stayed for one week. Hotel is nice, very basic and clean. Room was pretty large with a small bathroom, nothing to complain. Beach is not too far away and you can easily walk there in a couple of minutes. Neighborhood is peaceful, staff didn't spoke good english but were understanding.

Pretty nice hotel if you need hotel only for sleeping and you don't require any special activities. Basic hotel with a nice value.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KuHz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
There are newer reviews for Ona Surfing Playa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 229 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed here with my family in July 2011, for two weeks. Room was of a fair size and living room was quite big. Pool was quite small, and the shallow end does not last long. Sunbeds are easy to get if you wake up early enough! Ground floor apartment, as we arrived at approx 6 am. had a sea view and a decent sized veranda. Staff very friendly. No complaints except the Wi-Fi. It is free however, it only lasted one day when requested for 10 !
A taxi from 'The Square' (Los Jardines) to Surfing Playa costs around 5 euros, otherwise 20-30 minutes on foot, if you walk at my pace!
Overall, a nice quiet & relaxing getaway, close to the marina & beaches, with veyr few English speaking families.

Room Tip: Arrive before 5/6am !
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelalucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Just returned, fantastic value, exceptionally clean, the room was cleaned 3 times in one week, the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, brand new secure doors, with a key card for the door and the electric so we were able to leave one card in the electric and leave the air con on while we were out so nice and cool when we came home. We had a great room with a pool view, although if you are on floors 1 to 4 there are no lifts but this wasn't a problem for us. we sat and watched the guy clean the pool and tidy up the beds every morning. Also free wifi, just ask at reception for the key code. There is a bar/cafe open until 6pm, and probably best it shuts at 6pm as you don't have drunks hanging around all night !

Probably the last hotel on the road, but you are within 5 minutes walk to the first bar/restaurant, we thought this was the main area of Santa Ponsa but then realised it's about a 15 minute walk passed all these bars etc to get the main part, of which we visited once but wasn't our cup of tea ! Too loud, cheap and brash for us so we stayed nearer the places to our hotel, but that just might be our age ! Also a supermarket right opposite the apartments.

The only thing we noticed for some strange reason, we were the only british in the hotel and the guy in reception told us that as well, mainly swedish and german but this was good as mainly families with small children and not large groups of single men/ladies on a stag/hen do !!

Overall fantastic value, simple apartments (ie kitchen facilities very simple), but clean, air con, television, full size fridge for our wine and a brand new water heater in kitchen so we had plenty of hot water, would definetly use Surfing Playa again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinah2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We stayed here for 7 nights in August and we had a great time. Good budget hotel and great as a one star hotel. The staff are very friendly and very helpful and the rooms are kept clean. The only downside is that its a bit far from the pubs and nite clubs but for everything else we can not complain. We really enjoyed our holiday and we loved Santa Ponsa. Drinks are very cheap and there are over 100 pubs in Santa Ponsa.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stan1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We have just got back (Sept 10) from staying in this apartment for a week.
The reviews can be seen as mixed, with a few detailing some problems. We were expecting some of the problems that have been mentioned before and so had some trepidation on booking. As on TA it has only 1 star !! why is this ? I have stayed at 4 star apartments that were worse than this one.
The rooms are large, the bedding and towels were changed 3 times in a 7 night stay. The floors were swept but not cleaned, you have to do that yourself, with the aid of the brushes and mops provided... if you need to, we didn't.
With the apartment being located close, to both the main Santa Ponsa beach (10 min walk, if you can avoid the shops and bars !!) and whats called the 'small beach' (5 min walk) there were plenty of sun beds around the pool and we never had a problem with not find one in the sun.
The pool area was clean with the water quality checked every day. There is a shallow end for young kids and showers to rinse off before and after swimming.
You will possibly not do better for the money by booking this apartment. We paid less than £280 for a week each and it's the best £280 we have paid for a week in the sun.

Local bars and resturants cater for the english/german tourist. If you want typical Spanish food it's very difficult to find. There is a reseaonable number of resturants within 5-10 min walking with a good number of bars. We sampled most of the local ones, but tried to avoid the ones that served burger and chips. The Refuge was very good with Tapas on offer and locally caught fish.

I now have to tell you about the down side of this apartment and location.
The towels in the rooms are rubbish, yes clean and replaced but they are very thin and not very absorbant, i think the bath mat absorbed more !
The pool bar shuts at 6pm sharp, so make sure you are stocked up otherwise you will have to walk across the road to the nearest supermarket. There are 4 supermarkets close by, one being a Spar.
The location is on the quiet side, so if you are looking for all night drinking, dancing.. you are in the wrong place and the wrong side of Santa Ponsa bay. Plenty of Irish/Scotish bars are on the other side of the bay at a 25 min walk away and are worth the walk for just having a drink and watching the world go by or the football, which ever suits you.

There is a sign that said 'Free WiFi' in the reception, but i never knew before so left my laptop at home. There is a very old pc in reception that costs 1euro for 15mins... it will take you 15mins to locate anything as the pc i'm sure is windows98 ! so take your own and see if the WiFi works.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tomo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

I was very happy with the choice I made, clean appartments, quiet at night and the all important air-con

There is a mix of nationalities here and the pool area although not huge, is very relaxed. There are always beds available and its nice and quiet. The pool does get deep very quickly but the childrens section is plenty big enough, my two year old loved it.

The bar closes a bit early at 6 o'clock but i guess this discourages any chavs, so I can see why they do this. Obviously because of this there is no entertainment, get in!!!!

But you dont come to Santa Ponsa to sit by the pool when the beach is as good as it is here. Its a ten minute stroll but well worth it. Other reviews have mentioned the spanish beach, which is closer but personally I found it a little dirty, so we only went there one day.

If you want a base to use the stunning beach and a good nights sleep come here, if you want a full on pool scene, where your kids can show off and you can air your bingo wings for the usual British entertainment, youd be better off heading for the other side of the bay, the Irish Quater.

We loved it as ideal accomodating the needs of ages 2 to 65 in our group.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank layboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

My partner and I went to stay at the Surfing Playa apartments for one week in June. We got a pretty good room, spacious, but not clean when we arrived... Dusty bathtub and floor.A bit dissappointing I would say. The cleaning staff came in every day to make the beds and change towels. No cleaning of the floor for a whole week, but I guess we couldn't expect that for the price we paid.
We were hoping for a king or queen size bed, but instead we got two separate beds next to eachother.But that was actually OK I must say. However, the beds were way too hard, which made it difficult to get a good night's sleep.
The kitchen part of the apartment was good, it had everything we needed to cook. The nearest supermarket with a greater selection of food was quite a walk away, but there were several smaller shops with basic things like water.
The location of the hotel was great, in a quiet area away from all the pubs and restaurants, but only a short walk from the city centre. The city of Santa Ponsa was OK, the beach was very, very nice and the view over the bay aswell. However, as Scandinavians we felt a bit out of place, as all of the British tourists really have left their mark among many of the restaurants and bars. We felt a bit tired of Santa Ponsa after a couple of days, and went on day-trips to Palma and Sóller. We can highly recommend eating tapas at one of the restaurants in Sóller! Such a lovely place to spend a day.

The hotel staff at Surfing Playa (both reception- and cleaning staff) were unfiendly and weren't exactly service-minded... We were surprised over how rude they were when we were asking simple questions about timetables for local buses and other things of interest for us as tourists. But luckily, we didn't have to talk very much to any of the staff, as we were taking care of ourselves the entire week.

All in all, the hotel was very quiet and felt safe, an we enjoyed sitting on the balony at night for a glass of wine! The cleaning was not very good and staff not very nice, but if you are willing to look away from that, you will have an overall good experience!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank butterfly_58_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel y Apartamentos Casablanca
Hotel y Apartamentos Casablanca
#12 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
Playas del Rey Hotel
Playas del Rey Hotel
#4 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
447 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Plaza Santa Ponsa Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Delfin Mar
Hotel Delfin Mar
#26 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
204 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tryp Mallorca Santa Ponsa
Tryp Mallorca Santa Ponsa
#18 of 35 in Santa Ponsa
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ona Surfing Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ona Surfing Playa

Address: Calle Rey Jaime I, 83, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Surfing Playa Apartments)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range: $68 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ona Surfing Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is 2 minutes walk from the beach. Surfing Playa Apartments is surrounded by garden areas and has an outdoor swimming pool. The complex is in a residential area of Santa Ponsa, 100 m from Calo d’en Pellicer Beach. The main beach of Santa Ponsa is 400 m away. There is free WiFi in public areas of the Surfing Playa, including the terrace and reception. There is also a bar. All apartments have a small terrace with a table. The kitchen has a microwave, a fridge and coffee maker. Air conditioning and heating are also included. WiFi is available for a supplement in the apartments. Safety deposit boxes are offered at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ona Surfing Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfing Playa Apartments Hotel Santa Ponsa
Surfing Playa Apartments Santa Ponsa
Ona Surfing Playa Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing