We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“noisy but close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aparthotel Holiday Center
Ranked #17 of 33 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Reviewed October 15, 2008

Having read previous reviews i more or less knew what to expect
from these apartments however the noise throughout the night be it traffic, dustbin waggons or late night revellers was a little to
hard to bear.I Did not get one nights full sleep in the week i was there and the music from the pool bar untill 12 oclock at night was deafening especially if you have children with you with i did my 1 year old grandaughter. In the apartment there is a notice to say it is a family complex and if you were noisy you would be asked to leave so why did they let groups of young males on stag
dos in the apartments when obviously they will be drinking to excess and making noise in the early hours of the morning. The apartments were basic with a lot of steps leading around the complex with no lift which makes it difficult with a buggy. Santa Ponsa itself is ok try rendezvous for some good home cooked meals and also tonys with a cheap set menu. The beach is lovey
and only about 5 minutes from apartments and the bars and resturants are less than that so if you can do without too much
sleep and want to be near all that Santa Ponsa has to offer go to the Holiday centre but if not go else where.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lowtongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,182)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,108 - 1,114 of 1,182 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2008

We have just returned from the holiday centre after an 8 night stay there, after reading some of the reviews I must say that I was rather scared to go, Even after staying there I dont think I would stay there again.

On arrival we were checked in quite quickly but the receptionist was to say the least not very friendly all we got was 'passports, room 115' On arriving at our apartment they had put us on the ground floor which I am not too keen on but I suppopse you get what you pay for, Me and my partner were there with our 2 children ages 12 and 8 and the apartment on arrival looked quite small and cramped, the 1st bad sign was on inspecting the room my daughter opened the storage cupbard and a baby cockroach was scurrying about, my heart jumped to say the least! the apartment had a kettle, toaster, microwave, and all your basic utensils to use but everything had to be washed before using them as they were filthy, then when pulling out the sofa bed (which was very shabby and worn, cigarette burns in it and not too clean) later there was still rubbish under there that hadnt been removed before we arrived and under our bed in the bedroom was one smelly sock, I was nearly sick!!

On the Wednesday after we arrived about 6 small cockroaches had to be removed from our room and then on Thurday night after a nice meal out we came home to find the biggest cockroach ever scurrying about our bedroom, by this time I had just had enough and my partner went up to reception to be greeted by a far nicer night receptionist who swiftly apologised and changed us to the 3rd floor, I must say this this apartment was better than we had had downstairs although I will say the bedding and towels had rips and cigarette burns in them, some of their stuff really did need updating. On the wall there is a sign to say about noise late at night as it is a family complex, everynight from all different times from early midnight till nearly 6am the younger ones would be coming in singing, banging doors and generally keeping you awake, I was just glad my children were good sleepers!

The apartments do not have a tv or radio so I would recommend that if you are going with children that they have something to amuse them, we had one bad day which was rain and very overcast and they were very bored.

I dont know what the opening hours for the supermarket next door to the apartments were as it never seemed to open very much although we found a cheaper supermarket on down the road beside Mrs Murphy's kitchen which was cheaper and kept a better variety of things.
The pool bar did offer food although we didnt eat there as we had found so many nice restuarants down from the apartments, the pool bar also done some entertainment some nights and our 2nd night there they had a reptile show which the kids enjoyed and felix who organised and ran the entertainment was great and kept everyone laughing.

Even thought there was not many staying in the apartments when we were there, I cannot see how the pool and sunbathing terrace could accommodate everyone in peak season, we always had problems getting sunloungers in the morning as everyone seemed to go down very early to put their towels onto the beds, the pool is very small and even looked crowded with a few people in it. On the up side we were given fresh towels, toilet rolls and tea towel every 2 days although our bedding was not changed, and we were only given 2 large and 2 small towels for the 4 of us which wasnt good especailly after a day at the pool or beach were everyone is getting showered.

One other thing that I would say anyone with walking difficulties or young children if you are up the stairs there are no lifts and no help with your baggage and you have to go down a flight of stairs to get to all of the apatments, so it wouldnt be very easy. I am always very open minded no matter were we stay but these apartments dont seem to have much order to them.

Santa ponsa was nice enough although even out of season it is still very lively and with children we tended to stay in the restuarants and bars close to the apartments at night as in the centre is were all the clubs and late night bars are. A few resturants that we found excellent was Tony's Pizzeria facing the dubliner bar we actually ate there twice in out 8 days there as the food and service was excellent, also scotts bar served a lovely sunday dinner, Mrs Murphy's kitchen was lovely also el ciebo on up the street done lovely steaks cooked on the barbecue in front of you, it was quite reasonable too. one thing I would say was we went to bar aloha which done hawaian cocktails was very expensive, 30 euro for 2 non alcoholic and 2 ordinary cocktails we nearly fainted, as you can imagine it was our one and only time there!

One great bar to go to if you have kids is Burlington Berties above Tony's, they have a kids club which is supervised with a bouncy castle computers, playstations and all sorts of toys to keep your little ones occupied while you can sit and chill for a while, Our 2 wanted to go everynight and its were we always ended up, they do the most tasty vodka smoothies I have ever had so def try one if you are there, the owners and staff are all english and very nice, they never forget a face and alway have time to sit and chat to you.

The beach itself in Santa ponsa is lovely and it worth walking downa bit and seeing all the native green parrots that nest in the trees off the promenade.

You cannot buy cigarettes in any of the supermarkets now and my partner had to walk away down to the beach for a tobacconists to get them although on the last day we found one on down the same street as the apartments just past the roundabout. Taxis are alway available at the roundabout at daniels pub and are quite reasonable, we had got a few trips from the shop just to the left of the holiday centre and he seemed to be the cheapest, we went to western world aquapark which was excellent and you could spend all day there and we went to Marineland which was considerably smaller than we had expected there is no way you could put a whole day in there.
The kids enjoyed the shows though.

On the whole we had a nice holiday although I think that santa ponsa is maily directed towards the irish and was a bit lively for families, I do not think that we would return here as we have had many other holidays which we all enjoyed more. If anyone has any questions do not hesitate to contact me.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Sam28Nireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2008

this was my first holiday i went with my two children 2 and 4 it i was based on the top floor even though i had to carry a pram up and down the apartments were full of scangers and druggies it was filthy and noting for kids of my childrens ages the entertanment was afful . we never once in the two week stay had clean bedding and my mobile was stolen from the apartment it was really a waste of hard earned money

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank marcellaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2008

Firstly we missed out on a full day of our hoilday due to the whole flights situation but i was thankful the whole trip wasnt cancelled. This time i left the hubby and eldest kid at home so off i went with my 3 younger kids aged 10, 7 and 6. I had arranged to meet up with some friends from home in the holiday centre who would be there for 3 days of our stay, they approached the desk and requested we be put in a room next to them and after a wee moan from the desk clerk the request was honoured and we all had rooms next to each other on the ground floor next to the pool.This was a relief as i couldnt imagine being on the 4 th floor with 3 small kids, The rooms were very very basic, dull but sufficent, it took a day to get used to it. The noise at night up till 12am was loud, while trying to get the kids to bed at a decent hour i edventually gave up and just let them join in the activities untill it compleated as they couldnt have slept through the music anyway!!! Then the noise at 7am in the morning was intorrible, my room was next to reception and i dont know what the heck was going on but there certenly was no concideration 4 the guest!!! the centre was ok for a last minute cheep holiday but if i had booked liked my friends in advance and paid the higher cost i would not have been a happy camper, i came to the conclusion u get what u pay for so i couldnt moan too much . the pools were grand but very cold initially when entering the water, i dont know is this the location of the pools that the sun doesnt get a chance to properly heat them so maybe a heating system wouldnt go astray! the playground was fab , and there were daily activities for the older kids, shooting , pool comps. ping pong etc. felix was great with the guest although his gift as a bingo caller or dj is to be desired..........not that i play bingo!! the ground outside is slippy when wet , my kids slipped many a time so like i said earlier thank god we wernt on the 4th floor!!! one chap slipped on the wet steps and had 5 stitches for his trouble ( no alcohol involved) the sun loungers had no cushions , and if i heard my 7 year old use the word filthy again i thought i would gage her, but in fact this was how i would have described them!!! many were broken and abused, not only by guest but also by the attendent who stacked them nightly with little care and attention. the inflatables in the pool would be burst by him if left there over night, The towles supplied are not sufficent for a four person appt. with everyone using the pools and showering every day!! There was a mixed crowd , some may be described as rough but many very friendly , i was told by some not to worry about my girls as lots of people were keeping an eye out for them , which i though was nice, ....not that i wouldnt be watching them myself!!!.... the place was so compact that i could keep an eye on them from outside my room and give them a wee bit of freedom without being on a lease so this was a good point!!! the bar was expensive enough and food was ok .....my kids devoured the chicken kievs every day!!! even after having a meal down town, they just loved them!!!! the town was very close , beach lovely , sun fab!!! one pointer about the shops if you have small kids is there is explecite porno material on the bottom shelves of the shops sitting next to toys which i was absolutly disgusted with!! now im no prude but hey there are limits , i know its a differnt culture but hey , kids are kids nomatter what country you are in!!!! so just beware with a sharp eye, for those of u in2 that sort of stuff you wont have any hazzle finding it!!!! the allcohol in shops is so cheep its rediculous! the duty is already paid so u can bring home as much as u like once u can prove it is for ur own use..... vodka...10 euro a ltr bottle!!! 200 fags 31 euro, so be prepared to hang ur liver out on the line to dry when u get home!!
long and short .. would i go back again????? yeh i think i would , santa ponsa is a lovely place!!! although the spanish people themselves are a bit ignorent with little manners which i have to say was the most irritating part of the trip!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sexyvio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

Myself and 3 friends stayed in theses apartments the beginning of august. I had heard bad reviews about these apartments and was a bit dubious about staying in them but the apartments were lovely. i could not fault much about them. we never stayed at pool side as we always went to the beach, so i dont know what it was like during the day. the accomadation is basic but clean. i would recommend it to any one. if i ever go back to santa ponsa i would stay there again

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank missfuscia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2008

We went to the holiday centre on 16th july for 1 week. Myself ,partner , daughter and her friend ,ages 13/14.After leaving the torrential rain of Ireland, we didn't mind where we got. Our holidays alway are all inclusive,but as we left it till last minute this is all we got.I read the reviews,as i always do, even with 5* places,i like to check them out. Mixed views all round.
We arrived in morning, greeted by sun,wow,we didn't see or feel that in a while.apartment was on ground floor overlooking pool,very handy to access pool and keep an eye on girls.
Apartment was basic,but we never used kitchen as we always ate out. ( our choice) no reflection on place. Staff were more than helpful especilly felix.We spent all day in complex ,by pool,bar,and room,plenty of young people around,but when drink or bottles were around the pool they were quickly asked to remove them.The girls met so many teenages from everywhere and they want to go back next year.
We overlooked a back wall to the rear of the apartment ,but who spends their holiday looking out windows??? We had noisy boys a few doors down,and we heard of a few apartments been trashed, but from having to pay 30e for a replacement plastic shade thet fell off the wall, i'm sure they didn't get away without paying up for damage. I would go back,and as for the noisy louts as others wrote on reviews, its santa ponza, we all knew before going ,its wild for drink,and parties. It was a break from home,and the rain ,and we enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank JandP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

Apartment was spacious,well equiped and clean-we were there 10 days and the maids came plenty of times to give new towels/sheets/toilet rolls and asked if we needed them to clean,we never needed them to.
We stayed in room 401 (top floor)if climbing 4 flights of stairs is not a problem i would say this was one of the better views.A little sea on the corner,large football pitches(which my son used)and tennis courts directly in front(neither owned by apartments)Overlooking volley ball court and swings/slides.
Pool was not too large so you could easily keep your eye on the children.Bar right next to the pool(but supermarket just outside much cheaper!)Quite a few sunbeds but u needed to hire cushions 2 euros! Air con was available but u also needed to hire that 30 euros per week+20 deposit! It was needed in august,would hav been better on room price.
Kids club could hav been much better,children made their own fun,and night time entertainer was not much good either!On the talent show night he was letting children up to tell jokes that would hav embaressed chubby brown!!!needless to say we spent as little time in the bar as possible(though tommy merlin the magician was good).
Apartments were at the end of a strip that could only b described as Very Irish,nothing wrong with that if its wot u r looking for but dont expect any tapas bars-thers non!
Santa Ponsa beach about 10 mins walk away,beach is lovely,umberella+2 beds 30 euros,also pedalos 10 e/hour.
If u r planning any trips the shop just a few doors down to the left of apartments is cheaper than reps.
A trip to palma is a good shopping day,buses about 15 minswalk away,along beach,past tourist info at the roundabout.You can also get buses here to malaga although taxi to malaga is cheap.
In the evening we went to the Spanish Square,this is down strip+turn right,about 20 mins walk.This is great if u have kids as they can wander round safely,there are lots of tables+chairs to sit at + watch entertainment.
All in all an o.k holiday,i would say the apartments were hit+miss,lovely for children but location(all the bars)encouraged a young20,s/teenage crowd.so it neither really catered for one or the other.If u could pick it up ,move it a bit away from the noise and improve kids club/entertainment it would be ideal for families as the facilities were all there, just underutilised
There was no-one at the apartment bar in the evening as the young crowd went clubbing and the children were bored as the entertainment was bad.
Couldnt finish without a warning about the older man on reception at night,he nearly had a fit when i asked for sheets as none had been left,his reaction had 2 be seen to b belived,my daughter said it was the best part of the holiday!!!
kids enjoyed holiday,made lots of lovely friends.
mum+dad thought it was so so

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cassieLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 33 in Santa Ponsa
1,615 reviews
0.4 mi away
Globales Apartamentos Verdemar
0.2 mi away
Sun Beach
Sun Beach
#21 of 33 in Santa Ponsa
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
TRH Jardin del Mar
TRH Jardin del Mar
#22 of 33 in Santa Ponsa
1,255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bahia del Sol Hotel
Bahia del Sol Hotel
#27 of 33 in Santa Ponsa
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
H10 Casa del Mar
H10 Casa del Mar
#33 of 33 in Santa Ponsa
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Holiday Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Holiday Center

Address: Avda Ramon de Moncada, 40, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#12 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range: $57 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Aparthotel Holiday Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aparthotel Holiday Center Santa Ponsa is an apartment complex in Majorca fully renovated in 2015 where to enjoy your family holidays. Holiday Center Aparthotel are Mediterranean-style apartments that have been completely refurbished and are equipped with all the commodities needed for a family holiday. A large sunbathing area with a swimming pool and views overseeing the area of Santa Ponsa in addition to a wide offer of activities outside as well as inside the hotel, will make your stay in our resort in Majorca wonderful. No hen and stag parties are permitted at Holiday Center . Also, if you are a large group of any kind intending to reserve more than 3 apartments, please contact us first. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aparthotel Holiday Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Holiday Hotel Santa Ponsa
Holiday Centre Apartments Santa Ponsa
Holiday Centre Apartments Hotel
Holiday Centre Santa Ponsa
Aparthotel Holiday Center Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing