We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All amazing apart from first night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plazamar Serenity Resort
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“All amazing apart from first night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

I've just returned from a fantastic 4 day girlie holiday, staying at Plazamar. Everything would have been rated 5 (bearing in mind that it is at the budget end of accommodation) if it weren't for the cock up on our first night. We arrived really late from our flight as the transfer coach took us all around the houses first - Magaluf and Palmanova beofre Santa Ponsa. Arriving at 1am, we were told by the rather cold man at reception that there was no room for us and we'd have to go to another hotel in Palmanova for the night. As expected, we were very cross as we had done our research and did not want to go to Club Tropico and certainly not in Palmanova! The people who arrived after us were also told the same thing and we heard that it was a regular occurence.
Anyway, to cut a long story short, the Plazamar paid for our taxi to and from the Tropico and we got a breakfast there before returning the Plazamar at 10.30. There was still no room till midday but a very lovely woman at reception called Rachel let us use the phone to complainto England and was very apologetic and helpful. She gave us a free meal at the beach bar and a bottle f wine. We were able to use the pool untile then.
Overall, the roms were clean and well supplied with a nice balcony, the hotel wasn't too noisy, there was 24hour reception that was usually very friendly and spoke great English, the pool area wa lovely, if notbusy, it was a 5 minte stroll to the beach, we were given our room till 6 on the last day because of the cock up. The food in the beach bar was pretty awful, but our 1 meal there was free. We didn't stay for any of the evening entertainment.
Santa ponsa had a lovely big beach that was surprisingly quiet, considering the number of people and there are some really nice bars and restaurants if you go off the beaten track.
All in all, a great girlie holiday. I'd go again.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonKatastrophe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    269
    122
    71
    90
See reviews for
405
179
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

On arrival (6am), they only had one room booked for our party, we had booked 2. Initial 2 bed studio room we were given, could have been cleaner (toilet roll holder was in kitchen utensil holder!), complex was of reasonable standard and staff were pleaseant, after a few hours room problem was sorted and we were given two rooms in better part of complex that were of a better standard. Some groups of same sex youngters were boisterous on occasions, but thats partly to be expected. Effort was made to provide some enttertainment, but usually had a commercial edge...i.e. fashion shows trying to sell you poor quality stuff, reptile show 10-15euro for picture with snake, young girl trying to sell you sun cream products under the guise of safety... but to be fair, Adele with the bingo and quiz did provide good entertainment.

Adele also seemed popular with the kids in the kid club.

Major issue with the place was the amount of people turning up for their booking and not being provided ANY rooms and sent away to an other hotel in a taxi for 1 night before their rooms were ready the next day (due to overbooking). With clients arriving at all times and with young children this was not an oversite, on our day of departure this happened to at least 4 couples! If you are staying here or planning to, I would confirm direct with them the day before you leave the UK to make sure you have a room. We would not go back simply for this reason, other than that we had a nice holiday here with basic accomodation.

Internet access we purchased was intermittent at worst and very slow at best... Aircon controller in one room didn't work - has to use manually.

Room Tip: Try and get the rooms at the back of the complex, they are newer or have been refurbished more recen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jedek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2011

This was our 3rd stay at the Plazamar in as many years. We have 4 children and they absolutely love it year after year and this is mainly because of Adele the kids entertainer. She is brilliant and is always on 1st name terms with the kids.
We stayed in the 2 bed apt which are very spacious, clean and well maintained. Great holiday - as usual.
We love it!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martins-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

You plan, book and then look forward to your holiday for months, so to be as disappointed as we were when we arrived at Plazamar is a massive blow and a terrible start to the holiday.
We had a late flight so didn´t arrive till around 1am. in the morning. The first thing we saw was a lad throwing up outside the reception....lovely welcome. Then the receptionist was super rude and practically threw the key at us. The room smelt dampish once we got in it and there was noise all night from the neighbouring room, so as you can imagine, first impressions were pretty dismal. Things didn´t really get that much better all week with groups of lads and girls making noise and to be honest I was counting the days till we were leaving. One saving grace was the beach. Took about 5-10 mins. to walk to and it was gorgeous. Also there are loads of bars and good restaurants in Santa Ponsa, so I would say it is a good resort to visit, but just don´t stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank green186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran_Isla_Manager, Manager at Plazamar Serenity Resort, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Dear Green183564,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad that you liked and enjoyed the beautiful resort of Santa Ponsa. During peak summer months the occupation can be high and , even though it is a family hotel, there can be some families with teenagers that like to enjoy the nightlife of Santa Ponsa. We can assure you the staff does everything in their hands to keep the noise out of the venue. We apologize if you had issues with some guests’ behavior.

Hoping you had a great vacation, we wish you the best,

The Gran Isla Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Ponsa hotels

liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

After reading some bad reviews about this hotel i went there with a open mind about what it would be like,and i am happy to say it was a great place to stay in a quieter part of santa ponsa away from all the hustle and bustle of the bars it was ideally situated a couple of minutes was walk to the clean spotless beach there is a good range of bars and resteraunts we found that BAR NO 8 BAR AND GRILL served lovely fresh food the decor in the resteraunt was very modern and the staff really friendly there is a option in the plazamar hotel to get your drinks all inclusive from 10am til 10pm this option is well worth the money its 12 euros per day for a adult and 7 euros a day for a child you can get all soft drinks local lager and spirits slushes for the kids and lolly ices the entertainment at night was very good they had a kids club aswell in the day the hotel staff were very polite and helpful and i would definitely go back

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kevin1980Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

Everithing you expect you've got it from A - Z and for the Kids it's fantastic entertainment , relax really a nice resort to stay

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachboy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

We have never stayed in such a horrible place and this is not a hotel but a noise machine with horrible dark rooms.The pictures on the net must be from a different hotel.Drinks over priced and served in glasses with someone elses lipstick on. uurrghh!

Please do not stay at this horrible place. It should be shut down.

Noise starts at 4am and goes on till early morning and there was vomit and blood on the stairs at our doorstep one morning at 10am, and next day dirty condoms at the door of our room at 11am.

What sort of place is this? Pay more and stay at a real hotel and not this horrible dirty filthy place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank 528791Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gran_Isla_Manager, Manager at Plazamar Serenity Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Dear 528791Mary,

We would like to thank for taking the time for writing a review. We hope that overall you had a great stay at the beautiful resort of Santa Ponsa with your family. We take good note of your issues and will act accordingly.

Kind regards,

The Gran Isla Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.4 mi away
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
#4 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pirates VIllage
Pirates VIllage
#7 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Aparthotel Holiday Center
Aparthotel Holiday Center
#11 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
0.8 mi away
TRH Jardin del Mar
TRH Jardin del Mar
#24 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
1.1 mi away
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plazamar Serenity Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plazamar Serenity Resort

Property: Plazamar Serenity Resort
Address: Avenida Golf 4, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Plazamar Serenity Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated in 2015 with a strong Mediterranean character, Plazamar Serenity Resort is a complex to relax and enjoy your holidays in a chilling atmosphere. Located in the beautiful resort of Santa Ponsa only 300m from its sandy beach and city centre, Plazamar Serenity Resort is the perfect spot for couples and families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plazamar Serenity Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Plazamar Hotel Santa Ponsa
Plazamar Hotel Santa Ponsa
Plazamar Serenity Resort Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing