We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the last resort” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Golf Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Golf Beach
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“the last resort”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

one word "don't".found this place on internet and after reading some reviews decided to give it a go.been to santa ponsa many,many times and will return but not to this.they keep telling you while you are there that it is only a 2 star establishment therefore anything you need you have to dig deep for it.if you had to hire everything that you needed you would soon be out of pocket.the little spaniard who works during the day is a little obnoxious noname.the manager who came on in the afternoon was a nice,pleasant chap who would go out of his way to help you.the usual practice now is when you submit a review they are on with their reply straight away as they cannot stand any criticism.i know that if the manager employed another couple of staff who had his manners and got rid of the rude staff it would be a more pleasant hotel in which to visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roisin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSantaPonsa, General Manager at Hotel Golf Beach, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our HOTEL GOLF BEACH in Santa Ponsa.
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We understand that the same Hotel can be valued in a different way by different guests, we not agree with some guest reports where is said we are like a 5 stars hotel, but we not agre as well when is said we are a terrible hotel.

In our hotel we strive to provide a cheap, budget, low cost, good and quiet experience to all clients, therefore your opinion is very important to us. We have taken all appropriate measures to address the inconveniences you encountered.

But as you may know, a 2 stars hotel means that you get basic services for a basic price you paid.

About the boy (Spanish) you say in your report working during mornings, he is Toni, a very good employee with a 18 years experience with us. He can make mistakes, as can happen with everybody but he informed us during your stay about your behaviour and actitud in our hotel, where every morning you were complaining about extra services not available in any 2 stars hotel, and when you got the answer from him about the cost to hire any of those extra services or goods, you were complaining and we had to explain you that you were accommodated in a 2 stars hotels, not in a 5 stars hotel.

So we think you were in a misunderstanding when you booked us, thinking to find all those extra services. All that information showed to you at the time of your booking, so we are not able to understand about what are you complaining about.

We recommend you to check the information about services provided by an hotel before you book it. Specially the official category of the hotels. From 1 to 5 stars.

Anyway, we are going to continue trying to give our best work to improve every day.
Thank you for sharing your impressions; it gives us the opportunity to improve and offer better service on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
The Management.
Hotel Golf Beach
Santa Ponsa-Mallorca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    76
    19
    13
    13
See reviews for
41
144
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Having booked this hotel l wondered what i was going to expect, given some of the bad reviews.
I need not have been concerned as from the time we arrived we were made most welcome,
Peter and Tony work very hard and are always helpful.The hotel is kept clean at all times,food is very good considering this is a 2 star hotel and i find it hard to find fault with this hotel.
Will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MICHAEL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here for 11nights in sept and really enjoyed our stay. I just want to say for those's who are complaining about no air con or no amenities etc well you simply haven't done your research about the hotel properly which is not the hotels fault, its a 2star hotel and it deserves much more than that. When we arrived i was pleasantly suprised, we were waiting at reception for about 10-15mins before a man came over but he did wave at us to let us no he'd be a few mins, only for we new there was only two or three working there we didnt mind at all. Our room was great, the fan was grand we wouldn't have used air con if we had it.

The pool area is very nice and so clean, lilos there if you want to use them. The food is fab, the best toasted sandwiches we had during our stay just the same as at home, my partner said the cheese burgers were great 2 and also very cheap. The man behind the bar was very friendly and funny, even just walking to your your room he'd make sure to wave.

The only bad points i would have is.......after about a week we had enough of the beds and had a few pains. It was a lil noisey where our room was from the bar and road and in the mornings you couldnt sleep pasted half 9 with banging of cutlery. would defo go back without a doubt. Think im after writing a book haha.

Room Tip: Prob on the second or third floor to avoided the noises we got on the 1st (we were on the bar side)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beanalishous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had read all the reviews, good and bad and hoped for the best. Lets start on a positive note the room was clean and with it being a budget hotel it was not a huge expense. It was really hot, hitting 30 and above most days and with no air conditioning all of us found it unbearable, so we spent a lot of time in the bar as it's the only place with air conditioning. We're not big drinkers ( compared to most of the other guests ) and it was not the ideal place to spend an evening ! Lots of sad losers thinking they still had it ( Doutful they ever had it ! ).
The food was basic, reminded me of college. The beach at Santa Ponsa is a pretty one and was a real plus on this holiday, close to coffee shops, bars and restaurants. Heading back to the hotel became a real drag, a bit like going to work on a Monday morning, you know you've got to go but you don't want to.
Noise at night was a big issue, the other guests seemed to use thier balcony to hold loud shouting matches to other guests and when we went down to reception to complain we found the night porter having a nap on a sofa ! so much for being safe.
It was obvious that we were not the right sort of guest to enjoy all the Golf Beach has to offer and will make sure we don't make such an expensive mistake again. When I say expensive, I mean wasting our precious weeks holiday in such a sad hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lucy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerSantaPonsa, General Manager at Hotel Golf Beach, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our HOTEL GOLF BEACH in Santa Ponsa.
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We understand that the same Hotel can be valued in a different way by different guests, we not agree with some guest reports where is said we are like a 5 stars hotel, but we not agre as well where is said we are a terrible hotel.
In our hotel we strive to provide a cheap, good and quiet experience to all clients, therefore your opinion is very important to us. We have taken all appropriate measures to address the inconveniences you encountered.

In fact, We confirm you we have had lot of problems during your stay with the worst August ever, the worst in 21 years of experience with this hotel, with a 30% of customers very rude, or absolutly drunk or drugged every night. Our night porter had to fight against those behaviours during some of August nights, for that reason we are receiving during last weeks lot of bad reviews inside Tripadvisor website, all those people that have been advised and threaten by us during their stay about their behaviours inside our hotel, they are now writing against us, our management and against our night porter trying to damage our reputation, they have the shame to write a bad review of us after we have thrown out them from inside our establishment during their stay due their unacceptable behaviour. We give you our apologise about we couldn´t stop the bad behaviour of the 100% of those customers who have been disturbing you during your stay.
And we explain you that our night porter is working hard during 10 hours every day (7 days a week) and he is not a machine, and we allow him to rest a bit in the chairs of the bar area or reception when there is a moment of a quiet time, but is not possible and not true you found him having a nap on a sofa, because we don´t have any sofa in our hotel, we have removed from our hotel the sofa we had last years in the reception at the beginning of the season and we don´t have any sofa anywhere, we just have chairs.

Anyway, we are going to continue trying to give our best work to improve every day.
Thank you for sharing your impressions; it gives us the opportunity to improve and offer better service on your next visit to Santa Ponsa.

Yours sincerely,
Francisco
Hotel Golf Beach
Santa Ponsa-Mallorca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed for 4 days mid September. The hotel location was ideal for us, a few hundred metres from the lovely sandy beach and entertainment. The hotel and pool were spotlessly clean. A little noisy in the morning as we faced the main road into Ponca, no A/C but the ceiling fan kept us cool, a lovely big comfortable bed in a good sized, neat clean room. We received a very warm welcome on arrival at the hotel and this same friendly, helpful attitude continued throughout our stay, some of the best hospitality we have received anywhere. I can see why people return year after year. As for Santa Ponca, it has an attractive bay, great for swimming as the pedelos have a roped channel to send them far out. Meson del Mar is a lovely waterside restaurant with spectular sunset views, great salt crusted sea bass. I'd recommend the Old Vienna cafe for a light meal/drink and pleasant service. Stay away from the grill in the centre of town, looks nice from the outside with the chef apparently cooking to order, our experience was reheated kebabs and old prawns.

Room Tip: Request a room not facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have just returned from golf beach hotel for the 3rd time in two years, and cannot express enough how fantastic this hotel is, and how our stay there is made even more enjoyable because of the staff ther. Peter, Tony and Richard. They make the hotel what it is. Strongly disagree with the comments made against the staff. It is a quiet hotel, with not many children around. The pool area very clean, and quiet with sunbeds and umbrellas available at any time of day. The food is excellent, and portions very big. Peter and Tony excellent hosts , always happy to help . Richard works from midnight to keep the hotel running . He is not a bouncer so shouldnt be held responsible for any bad , loud behaviour from people during the night. He wants all guests to have a restful stay. He likes to have chats with guests who are having a late night drink.
Rooms are spotlessly clean, with daily maid service. There is no air con, although is available for hire which Tony or Peter are only too happy to arrange. We will return to this hotel next time we are wanting to have a chilled , quiet holiday in S.P. Hotel Great value for money.
P.s Want to just highlight how brilliant a host Peter is , one of the worlds most genuinly nice people.

Room Tip: we prefer the rooms not facing the terrace as they seem to be bit cooler. although view from terrac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evelyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Golf Beach for one week from 26th Aug and we can honestly say this was one of the best holidays we have had. We felt very welcome by Peter, Toni and all the rest of the staff. The hotel and the rooms are exceptionally clean, the room we stayed in was very spacious but was hot (but the week we stayed it was very hot and we were aware that there was no air con in the rooms) so we couldn't complain. The food was really nice and received large portions especially if Peter made it. The location of the hotel is ideal, it is just a short walk to the bars and restaurants, the irish bars are just another 10 min walk if you require a livelier night. The pool was very clean and tranquil, it was like having your own private pool at times until our last day when a group of people from Scotland decided that they thought it would be fun to be obnoxious and loud, constant swearing, smoking in the pool, if they wanted to act like this why not go to the deya apartments or magaluf where they would blend in nicely but this would defo not put us off from staying again because this is not the fault of the hotel. My husband is looking to go again next year with his golfing buddies. Thank you to all the staff for our brillant holiday!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClassyladyNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.4 mi away
Playas del Rey Hotel
Playas del Rey Hotel
#7 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
0.5 mi away
Globales Verdemar
Globales Verdemar
#9 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
H10 Playas de Mallorca
H10 Playas de Mallorca
#16 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
0.1 mi away
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
Viva Rey Don Jaime & Spa
#4 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Miranda
Hotel Miranda
#30 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golf Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golf Beach

Property: Hotel Golf Beach
Address: Avenida Rei Jaume I 106, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golf Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golf Beach is a 2 star-family hotel. For the Best Available Rate book us in our web site. Situated in the heart of the Santa Ponsa main avenue, one of the best turistic resorts in the island, 18 kms from Palma. The hotel stands within walking distance from the comercial centres and night leisure areas and at only 100 meters from the famous sandy beach. 1 Km from the fantastics golf courses of Santa Ponsa 1 and 2 and 15 minutes away from Bendinat golf, Ponent, Son Vida and Andratx golf courses. The hotel has been completely renovated, making it one of the best in its category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Golf Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Hotel Santa Ponsa
Hotel Golf Beach Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing